Springfield, OH 
Buck Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Boyer Hole #1
3 / 197ft.   3 / 197ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Growing Course.

5+    5/3/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: DG_Josh
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good tees with new signs being installed.
-Wonderful views of reservoir.
-Lots of trash bins and benches.
-Never too crowded.
Cons: -Fairways on the front 9 are not very clear. All for a challenge, but this course seems to be a lot of luck rather than skill. Good throws are not always rewarded.
-Brush is thick and heavy, discs are easily lost.
Other Thoughts: This course took a big step forward with new tees and signs, but then took two steps back with the new layout. Baskets were moved to odd locations that are barely cleared and some are in low brush. Challenge is an awesome thing, but at the same time, courses should offer opportunities for good, skilled shots. Many of the revised hole locations require just as much luck as skill.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

5+    2/7/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 131  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Very challenging. Great scenic views of lake and valleys. The course is easy to follow, it flows nicely. It can be a busy course but generally you won't have trouble getting tee times. Quiet atmosphere, lots of nature. Nice elevation usage.
Cons: There are a few concrete tee pads, the others are in horrible condition. The pads they poured are small. Trash everywhere even though there are trash cans. Lots of trimming needs to be done. Doesn't seem that anyone wants to do any work on it. It looks like a run down course. Strange looking men stare at you.
Other Thoughts: Worth the trip to throw. Overall it is a nice course, it just needs someone to put some work into it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: jd.mackiewicz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of Trees and Elevation Changes, Very Challenging, Mostly Short holes.
Cons: Some T-boxes in bad shape, I hear this spring they will be replaced with concrete. No Distance maps or par.
Other Thoughts: Very much enjoying this course best in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course

2-4    7/26/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: lurchgriffith
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging shots, great views, baskets still have that new smell, never been too busy, not that difficult to find next hole.
Cons: If you go right your searching for your disc, if you go left you've probably lost your disc, tee boxes are difficult for proper footing, some holes are numbered at the tee box but others have worn off, course map available at ranger station is of old course before the remodel, there are men who circle the parking lot looking for you know what.
Other Thoughts: There was a group called Springfield disc golf crew (I think that's the correct name) but they seem to be gone. I would like to start this back up. I play the last four holes as par 4 due to length and because no one is there to argue with me about it. I think it's hole 11 that I play from outside the tee box because I don't want to lose a disc. You drive from behind a huge amount of tall brush into a narrow area. If I have time I will make a new map of this place and post it where I do not know.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your Hiking Gear and Weed Whacker

1    6/11/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent use of natural obstacles.

Great workout hiking in and out of the woods.

The potential for this course is definitely there.
Cons: Tee boxes are gravel-ish and not in good condition.

Course markers are hard to find and not very helpful. Without a map, you could easily miss a couple holes.

Wooded areas are not clear of debris and grassy areas were almost three feet high with very narrow 'fairways' cut through the middle.

Spent more time hunting for discs in the grass then we did actually playing the round.
Other Thoughts: If the park maintains the course a bit more and keeps the grass trimmed, this course could be very nice. It is by far the most difficult course I have played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Help!

2-4    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great baskets, they have a yellow band around the top making them very visible. Mostly wooded so you seem like your in the shade most of the time. Large parking lot.
Cons: Tees are terrible! Almost no hole direction on the course. Some signs or arrows would be helpful. Grass is very high. Maintenance seems nonexistent!
Other Thoughts: A lot of potential here with a little work. I'm sure the weather conditions have effected the maintenance such as grass mowing and tees. Be aware that you could easily loose discs playing this course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but those pads!

2-4    5/5/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Captain Bad
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting:
The front nine is mostly set in relatively dense woods. Success here requires some finesse and a good shot placement strategy. The fairways are tight, but they're there if you look hard enough.

The back nine opens up onto a large hill with a picturesque view of the lake. The holes here are more straightforward, but are considerably longer than on the front. The elevation is used well as you trek up and down the hill. An errant shot could spell disaster on several holes as OBs come into play and as the hill drops off steeply in some areas (i.e. Hole 13).

Equipment:
All holes are equipped with Discatcher baskets that are in good shape. There is also one practice basket near the parking lot with plenty of room for putts.

Course Design:
The course tends to flow well from one hole to the next though it could be improved with better signage (see cons). The variety of holes and the shots needed to play them are a fun challenge. The fairways are tight, but they're there if you look hard enough. The course requires every shot in the bag -- touchy flicks, big hyzers, tommies/thumbers, gentle annys, you name it. The front nine requires some thought into shot selection and placement. Some out-of-the-(tee)box thinking could pay dividends. The back nine will test your wind management skills.
Cons: Setting:
The lake is beautiful, especially near sundown, unfortunately you don't get to see much of it since the front is in the woods and the back works mostly away from it.

Equipment:
And the reason I gave Buck Creek a 3 instead of a 4 should be obvious from all the other reviews: The Gravel Tees. There's so much going for this course, but the tees are an obvious black eye. It's oftentimes too deep and moves too much for good, solid footing. Maybe it's just in my head, but the tees do no instill confidence and that's a recipe for disaster on the box.

Signage is also a big problem. There are posts at each tee, but there's no other descriptors. No hole map. No distances. No par. Getting from one hole to the next can sometimes be a problem. There are some signs pointing out where to go, but they weren't the most noticeable.

All that being said, I understand that tees and signs cost time, effort, and money. I don't mean to knock anyone for their efforts and I'm grateful to have this course, but few could deny that the tees and signage are in need of some major upgrades. If and when that happens, I'd rate Buck Creek at a 4.

UPDATE -- Concrete tees were recently installed on all 18 holes! As promised, I've updated my rating for Buck Creek and now give it a 4. This is probably my favorite course in the Dayton/Springfield area.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a beautiful, challenging, and enjoyable course to play. I highly recommend you give it a visit!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

One of the BEST Dayton area courses.

5+    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: douglowe
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After playing my first back-to-back games here at Buck Creek, I'd have to say this course rates in my top 5 or even 3 courses in the area. This course has it all. Tunnel shots, open shots, right, left, up down, water, etc. The course is challenging, without punishing you. You'll find yourself using most of the discs in your bag as you navigate through the woods, into the fields, and by the lake.
Cons: Gravel tee pads and poor signs. From what I've heard, concrete tee pads are being installed this year. If that is true, and they also ad decent tee signs (with at least hole number, distance, and par info) then this course would be a 5 disc rating for me.

EDIT: Concrete tees have been installed! This course is now one of top courses I've played. It really has a little bit of everything.
Other Thoughts: After playing another very long course in the Dayton area, Buck Creek didn't seem nearly long as I remembered. I played a game here with a friend in under 2 hours. May have been closer to 1 1/2 hours. If you are anywhere within 30+ miles from Buck Creek it's worth the drive. If you come early on a nice summer day, pack a cooler and stay for swimming at the lake.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

5+    11/20/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: whatweretheythinkin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great views of the lake. Wish it was used more. Good mix of "types" of holes. Open, tight, elevation. Has good flow through the woods. Like what they did with the redesign. Good facilities and also a practice basket!
Cons: Tee pads. I was told they are trying to get them in sometime this or next year. Also no tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Would have rated it higher, but without tee pads or signs, i could only give it a 3.5. This is a solid course with a solid challenge for all skill levels. Can't wait to play it once tee pads are installed

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course, terrible tees

1    10/11/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a corner of a nice state park with a large lake. Several of the holes have great views out over the marina and lake from the top of a hill. The first half of the course plays through tight woods with some elevation changes. There is enough underbrush to punish errant shots but not enough to really eat discs. The second half of the course opens up and uses more elevation and wider fairways with brushy rough. This makes for a really fun variety with lots of different types of holes.

There is a nice balance of tight shorter holes and open longer holes with a few that let you open up a little more. The wooded holes call for a great variety of shot shapes, with enough trouble to make you hit your lines if you want to score well. The elevation on the property s used very well to make some fun downhill shots and some tough uphill holes.
Cons: The course feels like it's still a work in progress, and definitely has some room to improve. The wooded holes still need a little clearing and cleaning up, they feel a little unfinished at the moment. The open holes have some tall grass rough, not my favorite kind of obstacle on a course when it eats discs and doesn't do a good job of making your next shot harder after an errant drive.

The tees are terrible. They are loose piles of gravel that shift under your feet and make for really awful footing. They are even poor for stand and deliver shots because they are so uneven and loose. The signage is pretty poor, and doesn't do a great job of showing where to throw or where to go next.
Other Thoughts: The design of this course is really solid, with lots of fun and challenging holes and enough variety to keep it really interesting. With a little work on the amenities, this could be a great course in a cool state park with lots of other fun things to do. Beginners might find it a little tough and punishing. More experienced players will find some really good challenges here, it's not a championship level course but it has enough variety to make it a lot of fun. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.