Springfield, OH 
Buck Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #18 (Taken 12/2012)
4 / 404ft.   4 / 474ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 'B' Tee

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Course is fun and noteworthy views

1    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: BBQ SQUID 9
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is probably one of the hilliest in Ohio. There are some pretty views from atop the hills, #12 especially.
There are challenging left/right/straight holes that keep you entertained!
#12 easily was my favorite hole in that you could have a variety of different drives (out right come back left, vis versa, roller all the way down the hill, and even attempting straight at it).
The holes in the woods are forgiving because even if you hit a tree, you should still have a decent shot to make par since the woods holes aren't too long.
Cons: No par on the printed signs.
Printed signs quite inaccurate to the hole locations.
No next tee signs, you can get lost for a few seconds.
#18 could have been made better. It is not challenging nor is it near the hole #1 tee.
Other Thoughts: All in all makes for a fun day where shooting par is quite good for this course. Not a long course, but not terribly short either. Just about right. Not recommended for the first timer as woods holes will make for a depressing day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    7/22/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 41  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first pro has to be the scenery. I know this has nothing to do with disc golf but this was definitely a plus to me and my family.
-Concrete tees
-tee signs
-clean park with plenty of facilities
-hole 14 is an epic off the top of the hill shot
-great elevation changes
-great mix of wooded and open holes
This course had some great challenges in the woods but also let you air it out. This seemed to be a well maintained course and we actually met some locals doing some work to one of the holes. We drove 1 hr 45 minutes to play this course and definitely did not regret it.
Cons: Very few cons here.
-need a few more next tee signs but it did seem a few have been installed so just a couple more in certain areas would be nice. We just seemed to run into few spots that got confusing.
-rough can be tough but not to bad as we found it to be pretty thorn free
-Open holes have high grass as rough so a spotter is a good option here
Other Thoughts: This course was not on our radar at all but my wife thought it would be cool place to check out and we are definitely glad we did. This park has much to offer including fishing and boating. We will definitely make this trip again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Buck Creek

1    10/6/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 69  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great 18 hole course, with great scenery, good elevation change, though needs signs for the teepads, which were new when I went.
Cons: Only problem was no signs for where the next tees are,nor were there distance signs, but they were easy to find anyway.
Other Thoughts: Hueston Woods has some competition, with Buck Creek as the better state park with a DG course. Easy to navigate, great setup, awesome scenery.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/13/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 86  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Finally got Tee Signs, and they are nice
-Practice Basket
-Concrete Tees
-Discatcher baskets
-Great Course Flow
-Great Layout
-Great Elevation usage
-Great Mix of holes
-Well maintained by locals
-Nice view over the marina and lake
-Plenty of ace runs
-Favors lefty's and righty's
-SOME multiple tee's
Cons: -Rough can be rough on front 9
-Hole 18's fairway tends to have families in it *SAY FORE*
-Casuals from camp ground can slow your flow
Other Thoughts: This course is a WOW! It is such a mix of everything you would want. Bombers off the top of a hill and tight fairway is the woods. Such a good mix of finesse and power holes, pretty well split between front 9 and back 9. Play smart on the front 9 otherwise you will be covered in bogey burrs if you take a bad hit off the trees. Bring your power for the back 9 and a video camera Hole14 is a awesome hole for and acerun!

All in All this course is worth the play and worth coming back to repeatly. But it can wear you out because is not just a flat course.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Buck Creek

1    7/4/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 106  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent use of a nice piece of property for disc golf. The course itself is very well thought out. With a fairly good balance of hyzer and anhyzer tee shots required, slightly favoring the RHBH anhyzer shot. There are plenty of risk/reward decisions available with definite penalty for errant shots. The first nine holes are all fairly short and wooded. Accuracy is must on these holes with plenty of elevation change. There are definite lines available on every hole, but banging of off a tree can really put you in trouble. Good shots will be rewarded with realistic ace runs available for the higher skilled players. The back nine begins to open up and lengthen up, however the longest hole is 480 feet so there is nothing to challenge the truly big arms as far as distance goes. Very good job with hole design and basket placement I thought. There is some kind of challenge on every hole. With baskets placed on the side of hills, behind trees, and even elevated on a mound. The course navigates fairly easily with little need for course map. There are some next tee signs to help, a few more would be great. The few locals we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The people in the office were very nice and even provided a course map for me. There are restrooms not far and all the amenities of a state park right there.
The condition of the course was very good, even considering we were there right after the big storms. Lots of little branches down but no real damage done to the course. The baskets are Innova Discatchers and are in very good shape. The tees are concrete and there are trash cans and benches at every tee. The tees seemed a little short to me but the longer holes had longer tees so the played well. For the most part you are secluded from the rest of the park and won't have to worry about pedestrians. Except for the last few holes where picnic tables can come into play. This is a shame since there is enough property here that this would not have necessary. However we did not have any issues and it was July 4 so you would think this will be a rare occurrence. Great sign at the entrance to the course and a very nice touch is the water fountain; I wish more courses had this.

Cons: The only real con here is signs, more specifically the lack of signs. As you enter the main park there is nice big sign pointing you in the right direction. Unfortunately there is no sign telling you where to turn. Look for the picnic sign. As others have pointed out there no real signs other than number at the tees. Since many of the baskets can not be seen from the tee it would be helpful to know where the doglegs are. Unfortunately the course map did not have any information either. Every hole was shown as being straight with no distance given.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play with many challenges and shot decisions to make. I would not call this a beginner friendly course. Red tees would help in that regard. I missed the alternate tee pads except for 18. This really added challenge to this hole. It appears as though there is an active disc golf community here and they are to be commended on their work. This course is definitely a fun one to play and would be worth going out of your way to do so. I hope to have the opportunity to come back some day.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Growing Course.

5+    5/3/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: DG_Josh
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good tees with new signs being installed.
-Wonderful views of reservoir.
-Lots of trash bins and benches.
-Never too crowded.
Cons: -Fairways on the front 9 are not very clear. All for a challenge, but this course seems to be a lot of luck rather than skill. Good throws are not always rewarded.
-Brush is thick and heavy, discs are easily lost.
Other Thoughts: This course took a big step forward with new tees and signs, but then took two steps back with the new layout. Baskets were moved to odd locations that are barely cleared and some are in low brush. Challenge is an awesome thing, but at the same time, courses should offer opportunities for good, skilled shots. Many of the revised hole locations require just as much luck as skill.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

5+    2/7/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 172  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Very challenging. Great scenic views of lake and valleys. The course is easy to follow, it flows nicely. It can be a busy course but generally you won't have trouble getting tee times. Quiet atmosphere, lots of nature. Nice elevation usage.
Cons: There are a few concrete tee pads, the others are in horrible condition. The pads they poured are small. Trash everywhere even though there are trash cans. Lots of trimming needs to be done. Doesn't seem that anyone wants to do any work on it. It looks like a run down course. Strange looking men stare at you.
Other Thoughts: Worth the trip to throw. Overall it is a nice course, it just needs someone to put some work into it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: jd.mackiewicz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of Trees and Elevation Changes, Very Challenging, Mostly Short holes.
Cons: Some T-boxes in bad shape, I hear this spring they will be replaced with concrete. No Distance maps or par.
Other Thoughts: Very much enjoying this course best in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course

2-4    7/26/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: lurchgriffith
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging shots, great views, baskets still have that new smell, never been too busy, not that difficult to find next hole.
Cons: If you go right your searching for your disc, if you go left you've probably lost your disc, tee boxes are difficult for proper footing, some holes are numbered at the tee box but others have worn off, course map available at ranger station is of old course before the remodel, there are men who circle the parking lot looking for you know what.
Other Thoughts: There was a group called Springfield disc golf crew (I think that's the correct name) but they seem to be gone. I would like to start this back up. I play the last four holes as par 4 due to length and because no one is there to argue with me about it. I think it's hole 11 that I play from outside the tee box because I don't want to lose a disc. You drive from behind a huge amount of tall brush into a narrow area. If I have time I will make a new map of this place and post it where I do not know.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your Hiking Gear and Weed Whacker

1    6/11/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent use of natural obstacles.

Great workout hiking in and out of the woods.

The potential for this course is definitely there.
Cons: Tee boxes are gravel-ish and not in good condition.

Course markers are hard to find and not very helpful. Without a map, you could easily miss a couple holes.

Wooded areas are not clear of debris and grassy areas were almost three feet high with very narrow 'fairways' cut through the middle.

Spent more time hunting for discs in the grass then we did actually playing the round.
Other Thoughts: If the park maintains the course a bit more and keeps the grass trimmed, this course could be very nice. It is by far the most difficult course I have played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.