Springfield, OH 
Buck Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #2 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 197ft.   3 / 197ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
An excellent course!

5+    8/15/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: jesscat606
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An excellent mix of short/long, wooded/open, left/right, up/down.
More elevation changes than are usual in mid Ohio!
Very scenic in some spots. Holes 12 and 14 are really nice 'off the bluff' shots.

occasional deer/racoon sightings; it IS a state park.

Plenty of parking.
Cons: some of the wooded holes lack any kind of grass; they get muddy quickly.

Watch for poison ivy and ticks in the rough.

The rough on the open holes 12-17 can sometimes be VERY rough. Spotters are recommended for 12, 14, and 17 especially.

New trash cans have been added this summer; they aren't emptied extremely often, though, so bring a trash bag to pack out what you pack in.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of my favorites. Buck Creek will test every shot in your bag. There are a wide range of required shots, from straight tunnel shots to sharp doglegs; uphill and downhill; wooded and open. Unless you can drive a disc 400+ feet, some holes are nearly impossible to birdie, and a 3 is difficult.

Do be mindful of people just out for a walk, or sitting at a picnic table in 18's fairway, or fishing at the bottom of 12's fairway, or riding horses through the rough on 15-17.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    6/8/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: Moosejuice
Played: 56  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first nine are really fun, beautiful, forested shots with great use of elevation and trees to add variety and challenge.

I had no problem losing discs in this area as the vegetation wasnt too dense.

The shorter holes work really well in this setting. i could either see the basket from the tee or see it by walking a short distance ahead to scout it out. With the shorter holes, my family would like this course so thats a bonus.

The lake views and use of hills on the last half was really nice.

Flush toilets where holes 11, 12 and 18 meet.
Cons: The last half, especially hole 14 and 17 suffer from tall grass that hides discs.

Hole 14 could be a cool shot as it has you throwing a somewhat long shot from a hill, but you throw into all tall grass and only the area around the basket and the walking path are mowed. Good recipe for losing discs.

Hole 17 was a pain due to tall grass. Be sure not to let your disc stray too far left on 17 or you will be hiking down the steep hill through bushes and tall grass.
Other Thoughts: While the tall grass hides discs somewhat, its not horrible. I was able to find some errant discs without too much trouble. I have seen much worse disc eaters such as tall prairie grass or dense vegetation along the sides of other courses. Still, the pattern on the last half of mowing only certain areas is too common on courses and detracts from the enjoyment.

I would rate this higher if the grassy areas were mowed better. Overall i loved this course!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great place to play

2-4    4/18/2015   4/18/2015
Review By: therevjoe
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of trees, easy to follow course, need to be able to make various shots, a lot of fun to throw here
Cons: no complaints
Other Thoughts: The course is usually open, so you can get in a few games in just a couple of hours. Very scenic place to play

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

1    12/19/2014   1/3/2015
Review By: dj3k
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, really like the innova discatchers.

Great layout. Like the wooded terrain.

Good use of elevation.

Good signage. I had no problems navigating as a first timer.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely stop off and visit this one again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

sweeeet dooood

1    10/7/2014   10/7/2014
Review By: murf1087
Played: 144  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: excellent use of the land with a wonderful variety of shots, very easy to follow and minimal walking required between holes. This course will test your accuracy on the front and your ability to fight the wind on the back. Great views of the lake and a clean park overall.
Cons: If only the holes were a little longer.
Other Thoughts: The real reason I'm writing this review - I shot a round with a local today and he told me the new park ranger is quite strict. Be smart on the course as he has been known to walk throughout the park looking for suspicious activity, pot, booze. Be wise, and don't speed! Rangers have the authority to pull vehicles over and had one pulled over as I left at 8pm.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/13/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: W7amf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: big and open
great scenery
well layed out and designed
Cons: big and open
not for the beginner
easy to loose a disc if you aren't willing to really look for a while
LOT OF TICKS at buck creek
Other Thoughts: great course, thats big and open. play with friends in case you toss a disc into tall grass or the woods or lake. i have spent a to of time at buck creek boating, hunting, camping and disc golfing. there are a lot of ticks so wear bug spray and do a tick check after you play. great course, lots of fun and big enough to not be to crowded.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    5/19/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Bachmann_3
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety
Moderate-low traffic
Amenities and other tourist spots located on site, (boating, camping, fishing, swimming, horseback riding, etc.)
Beautiful scenery
Fair course for all playing levels
Cons: The only critique I can make is of the heavy grass and foliage on the back nine. Can make finding your disc very difficult, but the fairways are clearly cut and easy to hit.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome! One of the most beautiful Ohio has to offer. Great view of the marina on the back nine, that you shoot alongside in the woods on the first half. Some very short holes with huge turn radiuses, followed by longer holes with crazy elevation changes. This is the course I've thrown my longest drive (over 400 ft) downhill toward the marina. Not sure why I don't come here more often but if you have the chance, play buck creek in the summer and go swimming on the beach nearby after. The water is always crystal clean.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good course, but a bit out of the way

2-4    4/9/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: AnimeJ
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On the whole, the course makes excellent use of the terrain. There's good use of elevation, and the course combines technical holes early on with more open shots towards the back of the course.

Teepads are all concrete, with well made signage throughout. Multiple holes have alternate pin positions, with a few holes having an alternate teepad as well.
Cons: Some holes have very narrow or barely defined fairways. Additionally, some of the middle holes are very short and sharply doglegged which makes them somewhat less interesting. Links style holes are good, but not when they're less than 300ft in total length.
Other Thoughts: On the hole, this is a really solid course that can provide a good, technical challenge while having a few holes, most notably 14, where you can really air out a disc. The one major issue however is that it's fairly remote, with the park being well off the beaten path compared to most of the other courses in the area. It's still well worth the trip out, however.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Views!

2-4    3/15/2014   3/16/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 235  Reviewed: 220  Exp: 4.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course boasts a great deal of variety, from woods holes, to a huge hilltop bomb, to an island green, and everything in between. The most beautiful view comes into play on the downhill hole #12 with views across the marina and lake to distract you from the sweeping left to right shot you need to execute there.

Starting at the kiosk sign in the middle of the marked disc golf parking lot, you'll find level concrete tees, trash barrels and seating where needed on the course, and you'll be shooting at Innova DiscCatcher baskets, where the large yellow band will help spot some of the blind basket positions with a short walk up those fairways.

Some of the early holes are fun temptresses, beginning with the hole 1 drop shot, which could be aced if you thread the perfect line through the tight tree gaps. The basket is up a backstop slope, so you won't run by. In fact, there are very few spots where risk/reward greens cause a huge gut-check (the obvious exception being the driveway circle island green on 17 - as played in tournaments). The summertime rough could be a disc concealer in the woods, and in the prairie grass on the later, more open holes.

An Intermediate to even Advanced disc golfer will find plenty of challenge working the variety of shots at Buck Creek. Early woods holes bring out your technical game, the breezes off the lake and the excellent use of elevation (especially on holes 11 through 14) will get your head in the game, and the bigger arms will get a chance to show off coming down the finishing stretch. There are fairways that demand very precise left to right lines (#6), and just the opposite (#8 in the uphill left pin position).

There are several signature holes here. I like the beauty of 4, 12 and 14. But one of the greatest 'pros' at Buck Creek is the beautiful scenery of this state park around an impressive lake. The wildlife drawn to this setting (deer, soaring birds, and everything in between) are wonderful to experience.
Cons: The main issue I have had here is related to the beauty of the site (weird, huh?). There are going to be nature lovers all over this park. There is a lakeside hiking trail which goes from the marina parking lot on around, along the #10 fairway, and folks are tempted to hike up the ravine used for hole 9 and earlier. This is a hazard for the right-turning, blind #9 tee shot. Folks walk up the 11th fairway from the marina lot to the picnic zone (!) on (!) the 18th fairway (an unfortunate circumstance of dual-use space). I didn't see any signs warning non-players that they were entering a disc golf course (as if that would change anything). My last time at Buck Creek, there were maybe ten people in that part of the park total, but I waited for safe clearance four different times.

I have relatively little to complain about with the course itself, except that there are now usually two detailed signs at each tee, for how the holes are supposedly laid out now, and how the 'old' layout looked. These are intended to be helpful, but I thought they were sometimes a little confusing. The tight turners like holes 6 and 8 (upper pin position) aren't at all like either picture. Don't get me wrong, these are fun, tricky holes, but might really frustrate a first-timer.
Other Thoughts: When your navigation system gets you to the park on North Bird Road / Buck Creek Lane, you've still got a ways to go: turn right on Park Road, and go (slowly: watch for deer) about a mile (half a mile past the sign for the Marina & Restaurant), to the sign for the Disc Golf Course (left). Go to the 2nd parking area on the right (that's marked for the DGC), and you'll see the kiosk at hole 1.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Course is fun and noteworthy views

1    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: BBQ SQUID 9
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is probably one of the hilliest in Ohio. There are some pretty views from atop the hills, #12 especially.
There are challenging left/right/straight holes that keep you entertained!
#12 easily was my favorite hole in that you could have a variety of different drives (out right come back left, vis versa, roller all the way down the hill, and even attempting straight at it).
The holes in the woods are forgiving because even if you hit a tree, you should still have a decent shot to make par since the woods holes aren't too long.
Cons: No par on the printed signs.
Printed signs quite inaccurate to the hole locations.
No next tee signs, you can get lost for a few seconds.
#18 could have been made better. It is not challenging nor is it near the hole #1 tee.
Other Thoughts: All in all makes for a fun day where shooting par is quite good for this course. Not a long course, but not terribly short either. Just about right. Not recommended for the first timer as woods holes will make for a depressing day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.