Springfield, OH 
Buck Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #17 (Taken 12/2012)
4 / 420ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Buck Creek

1    10/6/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great 18 hole course, with great scenery, good elevation change, though needs signs for the teepads, which were new when I went.
Cons: Only problem was no signs for where the next tees are,nor were there distance signs, but they were easy to find anyway.
Other Thoughts: Hueston Woods has some competition, with Buck Creek as the better state park with a DG course. Easy to navigate, great setup, awesome scenery.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 FINALLY HASS AWESOME TEES SIGNS

5+    9/13/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 74  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Finally got Tee Signs, and they are nice
-Practice Basket
-Concrete Tees
-Discatcher baskets
-Great Course Flow
-Great Layout
-Great Elevation usage
-Great Mix of holes
-Well maintained by locals
-Nice view over the marina and lake
-Plenty of ace runs
-Favors lefty's and righty's
-SOME multiple tee's
Cons: -Rough can be rough on front 9
-Hole 18's fairway tends to have families in it *SAY FORE*
-Casuals from camp ground can slow your flow
Other Thoughts: This course is a WOW! It is such a mix of everything you would want. Bombers off the top of a hill and tight fairway is the woods. Such a good mix of finesse and power holes, pretty well split between front 9 and back 9. Play smart on the front 9 otherwise you will be covered in bogey burrs if you take a bad hit off the trees. Bring your power for the back 9 and a video camera Hole14 is a awesome hole for and acerun!

All in All this course is worth the play and worth coming back to repeatly. But it can wear you out because is not just a flat course.

PLAY IT, LOVE IT, OWN IT!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Buck Creek

1    7/4/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 106  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent use of a nice piece of property for disc golf. The course itself is very well thought out. With a fairly good balance of hyzer and anhyzer tee shots required, slightly favoring the RHBH anhyzer shot. There are plenty of risk/reward decisions available with definite penalty for errant shots. The first nine holes are all fairly short and wooded. Accuracy is must on these holes with plenty of elevation change. There are definite lines available on every hole, but banging of off a tree can really put you in trouble. Good shots will be rewarded with realistic ace runs available for the higher skilled players. The back nine begins to open up and lengthen up, however the longest hole is 480 feet so there is nothing to challenge the truly big arms as far as distance goes. Very good job with hole design and basket placement I thought. There is some kind of challenge on every hole. With baskets placed on the side of hills, behind trees, and even elevated on a mound. The course navigates fairly easily with little need for course map. There are some next tee signs to help, a few more would be great. The few locals we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The people in the office were very nice and even provided a course map for me. There are restrooms not far and all the amenities of a state park right there.
The condition of the course was very good, even considering we were there right after the big storms. Lots of little branches down but no real damage done to the course. The baskets are Innova Discatchers and are in very good shape. The tees are concrete and there are trash cans and benches at every tee. The tees seemed a little short to me but the longer holes had longer tees so the played well. For the most part you are secluded from the rest of the park and won't have to worry about pedestrians. Except for the last few holes where picnic tables can come into play. This is a shame since there is enough property here that this would not have necessary. However we did not have any issues and it was July 4 so you would think this will be a rare occurrence. Great sign at the entrance to the course and a very nice touch is the water fountain; I wish more courses had this.


Cons: The only real con here is signs, more specifically the lack of signs. As you enter the main park there is nice big sign pointing you in the right direction. Unfortunately there is no sign telling you where to turn. Look for the picnic sign. As others have pointed out there no real signs other than number at the tees. Since many of the baskets can not be seen from the tee it would be helpful to know where the doglegs are. Unfortunately the course map did not have any information either. Every hole was shown as being straight with no distance given.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play with many challenges and shot decisions to make. I would not call this a beginner friendly course. Red tees would help in that regard. I missed the alternate tee pads except for 18. This really added challenge to this hole. It appears as though there is an active disc golf community here and they are to be commended on their work. This course is definitely a fun one to play and would be worth going out of your way to do so. I hope to have the opportunity to come back some day.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Growing Course.

5+    5/3/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: DG_Josh
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good tees with new signs being installed.
-Wonderful views of reservoir.
-Lots of trash bins and benches.
-Never too crowded.
Cons: -Fairways on the front 9 are not very clear. All for a challenge, but this course seems to be a lot of luck rather than skill. Good throws are not always rewarded.
-Brush is thick and heavy, discs are easily lost.
Other Thoughts: This course took a big step forward with new tees and signs, but then took two steps back with the new layout. Baskets were moved to odd locations that are barely cleared and some are in low brush. Challenge is an awesome thing, but at the same time, courses should offer opportunities for good, skilled shots. Many of the revised hole locations require just as much luck as skill.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

5+    2/7/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 158  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Very challenging. Great scenic views of lake and valleys. The course is easy to follow, it flows nicely. It can be a busy course but generally you won't have trouble getting tee times. Quiet atmosphere, lots of nature. Nice elevation usage.
Cons: There are a few concrete tee pads, the others are in horrible condition. The pads they poured are small. Trash everywhere even though there are trash cans. Lots of trimming needs to be done. Doesn't seem that anyone wants to do any work on it. It looks like a run down course. Strange looking men stare at you.
Other Thoughts: Worth the trip to throw. Overall it is a nice course, it just needs someone to put some work into it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: jd.mackiewicz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of Trees and Elevation Changes, Very Challenging, Mostly Short holes.
Cons: Some T-boxes in bad shape, I hear this spring they will be replaced with concrete. No Distance maps or par.
Other Thoughts: Very much enjoying this course best in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course

2-4    7/26/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: lurchgriffith
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging shots, great views, baskets still have that new smell, never been too busy, not that difficult to find next hole.
Cons: If you go right your searching for your disc, if you go left you've probably lost your disc, tee boxes are difficult for proper footing, some holes are numbered at the tee box but others have worn off, course map available at ranger station is of old course before the remodel, there are men who circle the parking lot looking for you know what.
Other Thoughts: There was a group called Springfield disc golf crew (I think that's the correct name) but they seem to be gone. I would like to start this back up. I play the last four holes as par 4 due to length and because no one is there to argue with me about it. I think it's hole 11 that I play from outside the tee box because I don't want to lose a disc. You drive from behind a huge amount of tall brush into a narrow area. If I have time I will make a new map of this place and post it where I do not know.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your Hiking Gear and Weed Whacker

1    6/11/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent use of natural obstacles.

Great workout hiking in and out of the woods.

The potential for this course is definitely there.
Cons: Tee boxes are gravel-ish and not in good condition.

Course markers are hard to find and not very helpful. Without a map, you could easily miss a couple holes.

Wooded areas are not clear of debris and grassy areas were almost three feet high with very narrow 'fairways' cut through the middle.

Spent more time hunting for discs in the grass then we did actually playing the round.
Other Thoughts: If the park maintains the course a bit more and keeps the grass trimmed, this course could be very nice. It is by far the most difficult course I have played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Help!

2-4    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great baskets, they have a yellow band around the top making them very visible. Mostly wooded so you seem like your in the shade most of the time. Large parking lot.
Cons: Tees are terrible! Almost no hole direction on the course. Some signs or arrows would be helpful. Grass is very high. Maintenance seems nonexistent!
Other Thoughts: A lot of potential here with a little work. I'm sure the weather conditions have effected the maintenance such as grass mowing and tees. Be aware that you could easily loose discs playing this course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but those pads!

2-4    5/5/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Captain Bad
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting:
The front nine is mostly set in relatively dense woods. Success here requires some finesse and a good shot placement strategy. The fairways are tight, but they're there if you look hard enough.

The back nine opens up onto a large hill with a picturesque view of the lake. The holes here are more straightforward, but are considerably longer than on the front. The elevation is used well as you trek up and down the hill. An errant shot could spell disaster on several holes as OBs come into play and as the hill drops off steeply in some areas (i.e. Hole 13).

Equipment:
All holes are equipped with Discatcher baskets that are in good shape. There is also one practice basket near the parking lot with plenty of room for putts.

Course Design:
The course tends to flow well from one hole to the next though it could be improved with better signage (see cons). The variety of holes and the shots needed to play them are a fun challenge. The fairways are tight, but they're there if you look hard enough. The course requires every shot in the bag -- touchy flicks, big hyzers, tommies/thumbers, gentle annys, you name it. The front nine requires some thought into shot selection and placement. Some out-of-the-(tee)box thinking could pay dividends. The back nine will test your wind management skills.
Cons: Setting:
The lake is beautiful, especially near sundown, unfortunately you don't get to see much of it since the front is in the woods and the back works mostly away from it.

Equipment:
And the reason I gave Buck Creek a 3 instead of a 4 should be obvious from all the other reviews: The Gravel Tees. There's so much going for this course, but the tees are an obvious black eye. It's oftentimes too deep and moves too much for good, solid footing. Maybe it's just in my head, but the tees do no instill confidence and that's a recipe for disaster on the box.

Signage is also a big problem. There are posts at each tee, but there's no other descriptors. No hole map. No distances. No par. Getting from one hole to the next can sometimes be a problem. There are some signs pointing out where to go, but they weren't the most noticeable.

All that being said, I understand that tees and signs cost time, effort, and money. I don't mean to knock anyone for their efforts and I'm grateful to have this course, but few could deny that the tees and signage are in need of some major upgrades. If and when that happens, I'd rate Buck Creek at a 4.

UPDATE -- Concrete tees were recently installed on all 18 holes! As promised, I've updated my rating for Buck Creek and now give it a 4. This is probably my favorite course in the Dayton/Springfield area.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a beautiful, challenging, and enjoyable course to play. I highly recommend you give it a visit!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center