Winder, GA
Fort Yargo State Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #13 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Another course in the woods

1    7/10/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: Alan.D
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - 1-3 have nice concrete pads
- Good use of Shots required
-Very Pretty #6 is Amazing
-Nice uses of land and elevation (i was surprised they got so many holes into that small of space)
-Some Fairways were great
-Easy to find, close to parking, in safe sate park
-"Trader shop"(the state park shop) had some nice disc!
-For the most part fun
Cons: -Doesn't get that much play, bugs were abundant, as were spider webs even in fairways.
-Some Fairways were way to small or undefined
-Some holes were repetitive
-Gravel tee boxes... HATED THEM
-Every hole had elevation, good for golf, bad for golfers
-No benches or water (bring some)
-5 dollars parking, 2 for a round, 7 dollars... not worth this course.
-Hole 4, hit a tree, and had to hunt down my disc, I woke up some gnats and mosquito... they stayed with me the whole round.
Other Thoughts: It is a disc golf in a state park. If you happen to be there play it. Then jump into that very inviting lake. It is pretty but maybe a bit under keep. Not worth 7 dollars to play unless you happen to be there anyways. It is a fun course.

Think of it as you would putt-putt in the state park, not the reason you go there but if you are there play a round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise

2-4    7/6/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: hyzerfool
Played: 128  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fair holes, great land. Excellent tee pads on holes 1, 2, and 3. Almost no conflicts with other users of the park (bike trail comes in the vicinity a few times).
Cons: The gravel tee pads are a problem (every hole except 1, 2, and 3). I don't like gravel in the first place, and then these don't appear to be maintained so they have that dip where everyone plants to throw.

I strongly disliked the hole with the 90 degree turn in the fairway with the mando off the tee.
Other Thoughts: I was surprised that the course doesn't bring the lake into play at all (except as nice scenery). After playing the first 3 holes I thought the course would be pretty weak, as they're all forgettable. From there on the holes become much more interesting. There aren't a lot of really memorable holes, but there aren't many really weak holes, either. All in all, the course was a pleasant surprise.

Adjusting the rating from 3 to 2.5 as I start to rate more courses and want to put some at 3 that are better than this one. My review stands, it's a pleasant surprise and I'd happily play it again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    2/23/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 88  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park with great views of the lake, very quiet with no one else around when I played. If you like wooded techinical courses this will be a course you want to play. Overall this is a fairly short course, the first few holes are rather tame then the difficulty picks up. Most holes did not have a real defined fairway. However, you did have multiple paths to attach many of the holes. Do you want to fade the disc right or left?This added a lot to the fun factor for me. Add then the elevation changes and you truly have to think your way thru the course. There is one long hole those of you with big arms, #17 around 500 to 600 feet. This was the only hole with no sign so I am estimateing.
It is nice not haveing to worry about walkers and picknickers. There is a bike path that goes around the perimiter of the course but does not interfere with play. I think my favorite hole was #6. A relitively short hole but down hill with the lake behind it. I strong thow could reach or even roll down the hill to the lake.
Cons: Tee pads are the biggest draw back to this course. Not only are they gravel, but they are also very unlevel. I fell once as I planted my foot an the gravel rolled under me. $5.00 to play is the other negitive. This probably explains the absense of players on such a beautify day. With this fee, gravel tees and no trash cans at all, make no sense what so ever. With a few trash cans around the little bit of litter probably would not have been there.
Other Thoughts: Nice course, fun to play. You do want to be carefull of your footing. Wet leaves can be very slippery and also hide holes. With two very nice course within ten minutes of my home that do not charge, I won't pay the fee often. However I will come back on ocasion.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Better than I expected.

5+    12/6/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: Steve C
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice views of the lake. Not crowded. Quiet peaceful setting. Facilites nearby. About 1/3 of the holes have clearly defined fairways that combined with the distances offer ace or birdie opportunities. Another 1/3 require a combination of skill and some luck and present a good challenge. The last third are so densely wooded that most tee shots are 75% luck and 25% skilll (not much fun.) Holes 4, 5, and 16 come to mind for the latter group.
Cons: Pay to play on a State Park. FU State of Georgia. I already pay taxes enough. Pay to park? See above... I didn't have trouble with the tee pads, but I did spend some time smoothing them before throwing. Wet leaves were a different story. There are some NexTee signs, but there need to be a couple more (7 --> 8 and 14 --> 15, if I recall correctly.
Other Thoughts: Needs fairways! Mark a few trees and drop them! Could use a few longer holes. Only a couple of opportunities for full power throws 17 and 11, for me anyway. Also, a big PLUS for me was the elevation changes. They add an extra leve of difficulty to the shots, and they force me to manage my energy as the round progresses (I'm not young any longer :) )

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 THE FIRST! OMG!

6/6/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: Rhinoflight
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All wooded, so staying cool is no problem. Parking is also for the marina/pool, so bring your swimsuit to cool off in the lake. Good variety of shots, starting off short and easy and getting longer and more difficult. Fairways not yet well defined, that will take a few years of people trapsing thru the woods. Last few holes taper off in difficulty but are still challenging with lots of trees in your way. A few water holes as well.
Cons: Funky mounds for teepads. I hope they go to concrete in the future. Pay to play, but here's a hint: Wednesdays are FREE. I love that word. FREE!
Other Thoughts: Wear boots, lots of low brush like ivy covering the ground. To improve this course, concrete tees, a scorecard, and better signage would help. To get to the next tee-follow the red cedar mulch.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.