Winder, GA 
Fort Yargo State Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #3 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid Course

1    3/17/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: BillyChipp
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: -Very easy to navigate, the first time I went I had no trouble finding the next tee after each hole
-Nearly all of the holes were wooded, but most still had a clear path (not many trees in the middle of fairways)
-Not much heavy brush or thorns to navigate through when you throw your disc off the fairway
-Pretty views, a few of the holes have an elevated tee box and you throw downhill towards the lake, nice to look at in the late afternoon
Cons: -Bike trails: Throughout much of the course, bikers are within range of being hit by discs, so I had to wait for them to pass on more than one occasion
-The holes are somewhat crowded into a small section of the park, meaning your disc could wind up in another fairway, or someone else's disc could wind up in yours, making you wait
-Could not find a scorecard

The home course

5+    1/8/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: damtroll
Played: 103  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course, so I may be somewhat biased, but let me enumerate the pros and cons.

1. Nice big trapezoidal tee pads.
2. There is at least one solid line for a birdie or ace run on each hole. I can't think of any holes that are just throw and pray.
3. The course is rarely crowded.
4. The course is out in the woods, isolated from other park activities. Holes 4 and 5 run adjacent to the MTB trail, but I have never run into any difficulty. The hiking trail may be an issue with the 12 tee pad and hole 13, but it has never been a problem when I have played. (over 20 times)
5. The aesthetic value of the course is quite good. As previously stated, hole 6 is quite fun, with a downhill 225' putter shot daring you to go for the basket. The remainder of the holes are in the Georgia woods, with views of the lake, which helps in the summer. The swimming area is just across the access road.
6. With the exception of 17, the holes are in the woods, benefiting accuracy over raw power.
7. Discatchers in good shape.
8. I just love hole 8. It is not extremely long or difficult, but there is an anhyzer/flick line, and I have parked the backhand dead straight line with my Comet numerous times.
Cons: 1. No benches or trash cans except for a few old benches along the hiking trail after 11 and adjacent to 13.
2. Hole 17 is the only real hole to let it rip.
3. Water and restrooms are only available at the start of the course.
4. The lake does not really come into play on any of the holes. On hole 6 and 8 you could conceivably overshoot and get wet, but the chances are minimal. There has been some talk about an alternate tee pad on 13 that would require a shot over the lake. I did actually put my FLX Avenger SS in the lake on 13, but that was just a terrible shot on my part.
5. Holes 1-3 start out somewhat slow, with a simple short anhyzer (for RHBH) on 1 and 3, and a short RHBH straight shot with late fade on 2 for an easy birdie chance. The course does improve after that.
Other Thoughts: The course is pay to play. I don't consider it a positive or negative. I bought the annual disc golf pass and state park pass so I can enjoy the course as much as possible.
There was talk during the summer/fall league at the park about lengthening holes 11 (the downhill par 4) and 17 (the longest (480') hole on the course). Although I am more of a noodle arm, I think the extra length would be great. The par 4 on 11 is a bit of a stretch. I think that extending the pin on that hole would make a par 4 more realistic.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fort Yargo State Park

1    8/14/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Super-wide, tapered concrete tee pads on every hole.
Discatcher baskets look brand new.
Good flow and easy-to-navigate; no map needed.
Most holes are short but very technical.
Lots of elevation (not extreme) in play.
Ample parking & restrooms adjacent to #1 tee & #18 basket.
Clean, well-maintained state park.
Cons:
Worst stickers/thorns/briars I have experienced on a disc golf course.
Pay to play ($5 per car parking; $2 per player per round).
No trash cans or benches.
Mountain bike trails parallel a couple of fairways; be alert.
Other Thoughts: This state park is a hidden gem in the backyard of Atlanta. There are all kinds of facilities such as camping, cabins, mountain biking, pavilions and a huge lake that offers swimming, fishing and a great scenic backdrop for the disc golf course. Based on earlier reviews, my expectations were low and I was surprised to find a very enjoyable disc golf course. There has obviously been some serious TLC applied recently, as the tapered concrete tee pads and Discatcher baskets all look to be brand new. The tee pads are the widest I have seen; we were able to set our bags on the tee pads while we were throwing our tee shots. Many of the baskets are blind, but due to the short nature of the course, you don't have to go very far down the fairway to scout out the target. If you have to go into the brush after a stray disc, you will find the thickest, sharpest thorns and briars I have encountered while playing disc golf. Long pants are a big plus here. Otherwise, this is a solid course that is a lot of fun to play and can be challenging despite its length.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Updated Course

5+    2/27/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: splash_4
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice small wooded course with newly installed concrete tee boxes. These tee's are trapezoidal in shape and have added a nice new dimension to the course.

The dense undergrowth has been cleaned up as part of an overall maintenance program at the park.

There is a nice wash room facility just prior to the first tee pad and at 18 which both end at the parking lot.

All in all, a fun, short, technical course.

02/26/11 Update - After playing DG a little longer, I am starting to understand more and more the enjoyment of this course. There is a good mix of possible shots on most holes, although there are preferred routes.

Cons: Course requires a $5 parking fee and there is a $2 a round per person fee. For a long time this course was ignored by the park and these funds seemed to be a total waste.

The other thing this course desperately needs is multiple pin positions for each hole. This could make the course re-playable again and again.

There is also no garbage cans on the course and this leads to the detritus that disc golfers seem to leave behind on many of the holes. At times it seems that the beer bottles and cans outnumbers the trees on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice challenging course for beginners that are starting to learn to play in trees. While it can be short, the course makes good use of the terrain and the space available to it and one hole will give you night mares! (Hole #6 is a short down hill shot that if you over shoot drops rapidly into the lake!

If you are in the want a nice quiet time on the course without large crowds, this course if for you.

02/26/11 update - The park has done a controlled burn and taken out all of the briars and other undergrowth. The course if very clean now and very enjoyable to play. Most of the 'tiger' traps have now been revealed and it is a much safer park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, wish it was free.

1    6/6/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New beautiful concrete pads on 1-3. Big, wide trapezoidal shape. Hopefully the money from paid play is paying for these and we will see more.
I felt this course used its terrain well, good elevation changes and use of the lake to intimidate.
A couple shots had a few nice lines.
Good signs and direction signs, there is pretty much no way to get lost.
(if you are a lefty) Lots of LHBH holes.
Cons: Most pads are gravel.
$5 to park, $2 to play...not quite sure its worth $7, but certainly worth $2.
(If you are a righty) Lots of LHBH holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, but kind of short course located in the Yargo state park. The new tee pads on 1-3 are absolutely gorgeous and big enough to camp on.
6 is beautiful and intimidating, I really should have thrown about 2x as hard as I did but it looks so close as does the enormous lake.
Lots of fallen trees from storms but none are really hurting play...the one on 8 actually keeps you from throwing into the lake.
We took 2 brand new players out here and had a blast. The fairways were bigger than I expected on most holes (lots of people say they are too small...nah!) though there were a couple that were very tight.
This is a fun course, play if you are at Yargo then take a dip in the lake.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/15/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great scenery with the lake in view on many holes. Nice use of natural trees and landscaping. Away from any busy parts of the park. Constant shade from trees is a good thing for a Georgia summer. Easy to navigate with signage.
Cons: Gravel tee pads are not my favorite. I tend to like courses with fewer trees and this one is heavily wooded (not really a con for some people so take it with a grain of salt). Pay-to-play per round, per person can add up quickly.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a decent course. I would probably rate it a bit lower if it weren't the closest course to my house. If you aren't an accurate driver off the tee, this course will murder you as it is heavily wooded.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sleeper course

1    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 95  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a pleasant surprise. This course was much nicer than I would have imagined. First off the atmosphere on the course is just great. It's tucked in the beautiful woods of a huge state park with views of the lake on many of the holes. It seems obvious to me that it has been professionally installed and probably professionally designed. Besides the tee pads this is a jam up course. The would-be negatives of the short, "too easy" holes are covered by the accuracy of shots needed. Some luck is also needed and welcomed due to the multitude of trees scattered about the fairways. Several holes have multiple lanes to reach the baskets but they are narrow. Others have defined fairways with thick trees on each side and are rather easy. Number six is particularly fun. It is a 225' shot slightly downhill for 125' then steepens off 100 more feet to the blind basket. The lake is just 100' past the basket and too much power will send your disc to a watery grave (I saw it happen while I was there). Number twelve stands out with its lazy "s" shaped fairway. Number seventeen also is memorable with its comparatively wide and long 480' shot. There's a nice mix of uphill and downhill shots. Although some pretty steep fairways could have been laid out it seems the designer went with the gradual elevation changes on most holes.

I think this course would be great for a new player. The whole package introduces the basics of disc golf perfectly without being too terribly frustrating. With that said if a pro wants a break from the same ol' course, he/she could enjoy a good round while brushing up on the short game. I don't think you'll leave you disappointed.

The Innova baskets are in perfect shape and easy to spot in the trees. The tee signs are in great shape and very informative including a map of the hole including distances. Next tee signs are at every basket and it is impossible not to follow this course perfectly. The flow makes enough sense so that even without next tee signs you could easily follow this course. Additionally, besides an occasional bike rider or hiker passing by, this whole area is for disc golf. The trails are too far away to be an issue.

Cons: I can see how some might think the holes are a little repetitive especially if wooded holes are not your thing. Pea sized to an occasional golf ball sized gravel tee pads are never a good idea. Thankfully you don't need to really launch discs on this course or they would be next to unplayable. It did seem that most players seemed to manage to play on them though. With the $2.00 per round fee it would seem that after they recoup the funds for original equipment they would spring for the concrete. I have no idea if that is in the works or not. Let's hope so. $3.00 per vehicle whether you play disc golf or not funds the Ga State Parks in general.

I think some benches would be a nice addition to this course. We waited for a twosome to play through and waited for a larger group ahead of us a couple times. A nice restful seat would have made for a nice break. I do not drink beer while playing but those of you who do will have to leave it in the car. Alcohol is not allowed in the park. The lack of beer cans probably explain the lack of trash cans.

Other Thoughts: Onsite camping is available for those interested. The multiple activities at the park are a great attraction as well. Also, Victor Lord DGC is just minutes away. Sandy Creek DGC is about a 30 mile/45 minute drive into Athens. I think this would make for a great disc golf weekend. On a side note if you live in the area you could always buy a Georgia State Park yearly pass and it will pay for itself in the long run. Also you can use it for all State Parks in Georgia although Clouldland Canyon State Park is the only other state park with a disc golf course to date.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It is nice out there

1    2/17/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a great park with awesome views. The course is also 100% SEPERATED from other park activities! I like the courses layout, it is tough with a good risk/reward factor. Great Innova baskets! It has both forehand and backhand shots in mind. 98% wooded if you like those courses. I never felt overwhelmed by the fairways or holes. WOW, the Exchange Shop at the front of the park has about 150 or more discs ranging from Innova DX, Champ and Star plastics!!! If you need to get or replace a disc, no joke YARGO has you covered if you throw Innova!!!!

Great signage about the holes including NEX-T signs!!
Cons: You have to pay $3 to park, but Wednesday is free parking. You also are asked to pay $2 per person to play the course. I do not really understand that seeing how it is a STATE PARK and the money more then likely does not go to DISC GOLF.They need to take all procedds from Yargo and give it to Victor Lord Park!!!

The course is short, but the 100 trees per holes makes it tough.

Teepads are not good at all.

Some of the fairways are really tight and very wooded. Heavy leaf cover in the winter of course and you definitley need to keep your eyes on your discs.
Other Thoughts: It is close to I-85 and easy to get to, great peaceful and QUIET course. It is worth playing at least a few times if you have five or more bucks to give to the State of GA.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course, Nice Views

2-4    11/18/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: hooboy
Played: 50  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is self contained, in a large state park, but away from rest of park. Winds around a lake (not really in play) with nice views, particularly as the leaves are changing. All wooded holes, shade from sun, wind, rain. Course is well marked. Good variety of distances, with a few par 4s. Need to be accurate here. Quiet and secluded. In the summer I jumped in the lake afterward to cool off. Close access to Rte. 316. With 2 courses in Winder, 1 in Bishop, and Athens, you have 4 courses relatively close to each other. Some rate this course low due to the tee pads, but in my opinion its far superior to Victor Lord Park, which is about 2 miles away.
Cons: Funky tee pads. They are big mounds of crushed stone, rarely level. Some holes very tight, luck involved. Fairways not well defined on some holes, maybe they will be more defined as the course wears in.
Other Thoughts: I like the fact that the course is away from any other part of the park. Quiet with nice views of the lake. The course itself is good, but not great - Better than the two nearest courses - Victor Lord up the road (funky course) and Michael Park in Bishop (short course). Stop here on your way to Athens or other points east.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not great, but not terrible

2-4    11/16/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: rnance7
Played: 71  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very pretty playing through the woods with the lake in the back drop
- great pins
- good tee signs
Cons: -pay to play this course? why pay here when you can go to the many free ones around that are better.
- tee pads suck
Other Thoughts: a good course, it will take up a couple of hours and youll enjoy the view as well

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.