Winder, GA 
Fort Yargo State Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #3 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
PB&J's

1    1/13/2014   1/15/2014
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 73  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hell yeah. That's exactly what this course felt like. The most perfect sandwich combination known to man, creamy and sweet, you feel me?

This course completely blew my expectations out of the water. The rating is much lower than it should be and this is definitely the best course in the immediate area, I would consider it much better than alexander.

Pure fun to be had out here. So many fun ace runs, hole 6 is extremely memorable for being such a basic shot. Pretty scenery all around you and there wasn't another soul to be seen our entire round.

Extremely wide teepads are awesome out here, you don't really need a long teepad as you won't really be ripping any huge drives.

Solid balance of shot types. I threw a lot of thumbers and flicks, along with backhand hyzers and straight shots, I enjoyed how it tested all areas of my game.
Cons: This isn't a championship caliber five star course by any means, but it is a ton of fun.

There are a couple of trees that could stand to be removed, hole #15 stands out in my mind as a hole that has a very strange route to the pin, if you throw your disc on the fairway i imagine it's near impossible to actually get in the circle.

Other Thoughts: I didn't mind paying to get in, this course was well worth it, and was just a ton of fun, probably the most fun i've had in disc golf in the past few months.

Definitely ignore the older reviews and come out and form your own opinion, I know there used to be a ton of undergrowth and poison ivy out here but I didn't notice any issues with either of those things.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Under-rated Georgia Gem.

1    8/5/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Deep enough into park to give you some isolation and great scenery to look at.
Good signage, nice concrete tee pads.
Course is tight: numerous opportunities to hit your line or work on your second shot if you miss.
I really like hole 6, short down hill ace run with water behind the basket.
Good flow, easy to navigate.
The $8 fee keeps the chuckers and crowds away.
Lots of non disc golf family activities including a large mini-golf course across the street.
Wooded course gives you shade, to make playing in the Georgia heat more tolerable.
Cons: Cons: First 9 are pretty short and easy. Much of the course was just about hitting tight lines, even if you missed your line it was not hard to maintain par, especially on the front 9. You do not hit a hole over 300 feet until hole 10. There are only 3 holes over 300 on the entire course (average hole 267ft.).
Only single tees and pin position.
$8 to enter the park, while I included this as a pro as well, $8 leaving my wallet is a con, but the course is worth it.
Other Thoughts: There were very few major flaws, it is a very solid course, but it is also 18 short tight holes with single tees, no alternate pins, and not much in the way of signature holes. It is definately worth a stop if you are in the area, I personally enjoyed it as much as nearby Alexander Park.
As far as numerous comments on Briars and Thorns, I was wearing shorts and long socks and never had any issue with violent vegitation.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Fort Report

1    3/3/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fort Yargo State Park is home to a very nice disc golf course. Playing through the woods, the fairways are defined, but are generally spacious, and tend to be short. There are one or two holes that are more crowded with trees, requiring very tight lines to hit the windows. Only one hole over 400 feet, and two over 300. Changes in elevation add another wrinkle on four or five holes. Don't expect to wear out your arm on epic par 4's and 5's. Do expect to score a few birdies and enjoy a well laid out course, in a clean and beautiful park.

The equipment is top notch. The discatcher baskets are all in great shape. Tees are all marked with signage including a hole map, with distance. The transitions from hole to hole are well marked, also. The tee pads are concrete and they are BIG.
Cons: The down side of this course is the cost. A disc pass and park entrance was $8. There are no benches and very few trash cans around the course. I played about noon, right after an overnight/morning, soaking rain. There was some standing water in the fairways, but the footing was surprisingly good and still very playable. There is water near a couple of holes, but it takes a wild roll or serious shank or ricochet to put a disc in there.
Other Thoughts: Fort Yargo DGC was very fun for me. An experienced player without elite control, I was able to score several birdies, and have some looks even after less than perfect drives. A great mix of shot shapes and enough trees to keep it interesting, but not ruin your day.

The state park is also home to other activities, but I didn't look around much. There is a lake, and a historic fort on the premises, as well as campgrounds. Well maintained park with nice staff. I would recommend this course, although elite players would likely find it a bit to easy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ehh....

2-4    3/19/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tee pads are amazing! Tapered to accommodate for multiple shots. Very wide and very flat. Well done FY!
- The recent control burn has provided copius room to find errant shots. Also, it has cleared any and all shule that previously would make the chains almost impossible to find/see from the teepad.
-Encourages you to play various shots and lines.
-The design was clearly made to expliot minor and major flaws in ones game. It really was designed well to compliment a discs flight.
-Very good signage to show "next hole." Easy to find your way around the course.
Cons: Well, I really enjoyed the new teepads and the clearing of the underbrush. Also, the park is BEAUTIFUL! Fort Yargo itself is worth the trip to go see. The course is well designed and difficult. Any weekend warrior will find it overly tough, though more advanced players will embracethe challenge.
Other Thoughts: -Holes need to be lengthened. The course is a short one. Not much of a distance challenge.
- ^^ With that said, the aount of trees on each fairway is ridiculous. Fort Yargo had put so much money, im sure, to build new teepads and do a control burn, why not cut a few trees down and make the course more playable?
- No trash cans!
-Pay to play is lame.

3.5 says very good, but the idea of this course being excellent or better would have been a lie. Its a good course and ill be back alot more, ill probably even use it as practie getting ready for a tourney. The woods here really forse you to through perfect shots and weave your way in and out of the hazards and trees. All-in-all, good course, not the best ive played though.

I didnt mean to put my other thoughts in the cons section... just switch the two till I update on something other than my mobile device.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hi Ho, O Merry O - to Yargo I Will Go!

1    3/12/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: bk_ching
Played: 103  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It should be called The Gem of Barrow County - Fort Yargo State Park in Winder. The disc golf course is just over a mile past the front gate. Such a beautiful scene on a bright, sunny, cloudless Saturday afternoon, and 72 righteous degrees! A nice view of the lake reservoir is within full view for most of the ride inside the park. Tons of spots for camping, fishing, grilling, hiking, etc. Heck, they even have miniature golf right across from the DISC golf course. Now how cool is that??

--- Just park right past the 'Mini Golf / Disc Golf' sign and you can see Teepads for #1 and 3.
--- Super easy to find the next hole. Didn't even need any arrows to point us the way.
--- Nice concrete teepads that are wider in the back and then narrow to the more typical width at front . You can easily lay your golf bag at back of teepad while teeing off.
--- Most of the holes are in the woods and some of them have very defined tight paths to get to pin.
--- To me, it has that that 'old school' course feel to it. Lots of short holes, but technical. Feels like a step back in time to my earlier golfin' days (1989-1995).
--- Holes had a nice flow from one to the next, despite the walks from 9-10 and 11-12, which are worthwhile themselves since you're walking along the lake.
--- A lot of the briars and underbrush have been burned away through a control burn, which must have been done within the last couple months.
--- The bathrooms just after Hole 18 were convenient, and clean too.
Cons: Overall, there were really not a lot of negatives to this course.

--- One obvious thing was the lack of trash cans. Several pieces of trash were thrown down on various holes, which I promptly picked up. Later after my round, I threw them away in the cans at the restrooms just behind pin 18.
--- I wish that a few of the holes were a little longer (such as 1, 3, 5, 9, 16). Hey that's fine with me, allows more for me to birdie ;)
--- Having to pay $5/park fee PLUS $3/round (I guess it went up from $2 to $3 this year). But read on further and I'll tell you how you can avoid paying that $5 daily parking fee (a cool teaser - stay tuned...)
--- There are some walking/hiking trails throughout the course, but for most part they don't interfere with the fairways. Just be wary of pedestrians at times, who may not have any idea of disc golf or the origin of these strange, yellow, metal chain thingies.
Other Thoughts: To sum it all up, I give it a 3.5 - a very fun, 'old school' type of course! The scenery along the lake didn't hurt either. Also it was neat to see at least 3-4 groups of golfers throughout the course. The more foot traffic and exposure for the course, the better! Glad to see park officials are finally putting in time, care and maintenance into the course.

I know a few other golfers who had played it last year, or even in '09. They complained a lot about the lack of maintenance on the holes, cruddy gravel tee pads, and the fact that the briars were sharp and prickly enough to slice your throat. That was then...

This is now... March 2011! After the control burn done recently, the course looks fantastic. There is still some charred ground and dead trees, but all (if not most) of those vines, thorns and briar patches of yesteryear are gone!!! (Sorry Brer Rabbit, you'll need to find another home).

To me, the most scenic hole of the course was #6, a short downhill 225' flick. Just seeing the grand lake behind the pin on the mound was so nice. Tricky hole - if you go too far to left of pin or 20' behind it, your disc will likely be swimming.

After playing 9, look at the edge of the lake, where you will see a wooden bridge. Takes you right to 10. After 11, take the foot path along the lake to 12. The course had a good balance of flat, hilly, lefty, righty, backhand, forehand holes. The designer used the terrain and contour of the land to the best of his ability.

Speaking of Holes 10 and 11, the local par is listed as 4, same with 17. Legitimately, I think 10 and 11 should be Par 3's, with 17 being the only true Par 4 (and even that's a small stretch). I'm not always a Par 3 purist however, and at times, I will keep score based on local par.

Oh, let me tell you the 'teaser' from earlier. In case you don't know, you can go to your local library, sign up for a free library card, and actually CHECK OUT a parking pass for any State Park or Historical Site in Georgia. It will waive the entrance or parking fees. So I went to my local library and did just that. (You can check it out for 7 days). Hung the pass on my rearview mirror and... voila! $5 park fee waived! Only had to pay $3 for my round.

I encourage everybody who reads this review to go check out this course. Well worth checking out, despite the short length. Lots of fun holes and the lake scenery more than makes up for the cost to play. And as you're driving into the park (hopefully with your Parkpass in tow ;) just take in all the wonder and scenery of this beautiful state park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Updated and Fun

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Chukker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, all the online reviews must be old. There are concrete pads on all holes. Very nice, challenging course with lots of cool elevation features which make it a lot of fun. Playing next to the lake makes for nice scenery
Cons: There is a mass of poison ivy. I will be amazed if I don't have some somewhere. It is all wooded and a lot of ivy (regular) so finding rogue discs can be a challenge sometimes.

As others have said, I am not keen on paying an extra $2 after I paid $5 to get into the park.
Other Thoughts: I see that this course received poor reviews. It has clearly seen some TLC as of late. Weeds appear to have been sprayed in several spots. I spoke to a park attendant and she said that the boy scouts have been in there for their eagle projects. Well God bless the boy scouts. The concrete pads are great. It really is a fun course. Not really for the beginner though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Much better course, than it use to be!

5+    2/19/2011   9/6/2009
Review By: genxer36
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Difficult with the trees, which makes it fun. Great signage. 2 miles from my house. Nice lake views.
Nice baskets & Concrete Tee boxes.

As of 2-19-11 Recent controlled burn, burned brush but not the fairways.

Wood chips put down on the fairways for many of the holes.
Cons: Hilly, #17 Tee still missing sign.
Other Thoughts: Since the controlled burn, I'm upgrading my rating to 3.5. Before it was between 2.5 - 3.0. Briars are nearly gone since the burn. It is much easier to get your disc if it is off the fairway. They need to do a controlled burn every year or even fall & before spring.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.