Winder, GA 
Fort Yargo State Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #2 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Sleeper course

1    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 95  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a pleasant surprise. This course was much nicer than I would have imagined. First off the atmosphere on the course is just great. It's tucked in the beautiful woods of a huge state park with views of the lake on many of the holes. It seems obvious to me that it has been professionally installed and probably professionally designed. Besides the tee pads this is a jam up course. The would-be negatives of the short, "too easy" holes are covered by the accuracy of shots needed. Some luck is also needed and welcomed due to the multitude of trees scattered about the fairways. Several holes have multiple lanes to reach the baskets but they are narrow. Others have defined fairways with thick trees on each side and are rather easy. Number six is particularly fun. It is a 225' shot slightly downhill for 125' then steepens off 100 more feet to the blind basket. The lake is just 100' past the basket and too much power will send your disc to a watery grave (I saw it happen while I was there). Number twelve stands out with its lazy "s" shaped fairway. Number seventeen also is memorable with its comparatively wide and long 480' shot. There's a nice mix of uphill and downhill shots. Although some pretty steep fairways could have been laid out it seems the designer went with the gradual elevation changes on most holes.

I think this course would be great for a new player. The whole package introduces the basics of disc golf perfectly without being too terribly frustrating. With that said if a pro wants a break from the same ol' course, he/she could enjoy a good round while brushing up on the short game. I don't think you'll leave you disappointed.

The Innova baskets are in perfect shape and easy to spot in the trees. The tee signs are in great shape and very informative including a map of the hole including distances. Next tee signs are at every basket and it is impossible not to follow this course perfectly. The flow makes enough sense so that even without next tee signs you could easily follow this course. Additionally, besides an occasional bike rider or hiker passing by, this whole area is for disc golf. The trails are too far away to be an issue.

Cons: I can see how some might think the holes are a little repetitive especially if wooded holes are not your thing. Pea sized to an occasional golf ball sized gravel tee pads are never a good idea. Thankfully you don't need to really launch discs on this course or they would be next to unplayable. It did seem that most players seemed to manage to play on them though. With the $2.00 per round fee it would seem that after they recoup the funds for original equipment they would spring for the concrete. I have no idea if that is in the works or not. Let's hope so. $3.00 per vehicle whether you play disc golf or not funds the Ga State Parks in general.

I think some benches would be a nice addition to this course. We waited for a twosome to play through and waited for a larger group ahead of us a couple times. A nice restful seat would have made for a nice break. I do not drink beer while playing but those of you who do will have to leave it in the car. Alcohol is not allowed in the park. The lack of beer cans probably explain the lack of trash cans.

Other Thoughts: Onsite camping is available for those interested. The multiple activities at the park are a great attraction as well. Also, Victor Lord DGC is just minutes away. Sandy Creek DGC is about a 30 mile/45 minute drive into Athens. I think this would make for a great disc golf weekend. On a side note if you live in the area you could always buy a Georgia State Park yearly pass and it will pay for itself in the long run. Also you can use it for all State Parks in Georgia although Clouldland Canyon State Park is the only other state park with a disc golf course to date.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    2/23/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park with great views of the lake, very quiet with no one else around when I played. If you like wooded techinical courses this will be a course you want to play. Overall this is a fairly short course, the first few holes are rather tame then the difficulty picks up. Most holes did not have a real defined fairway. However, you did have multiple paths to attach many of the holes. Do you want to fade the disc right or left?This added a lot to the fun factor for me. Add then the elevation changes and you truly have to think your way thru the course. There is one long hole those of you with big arms, #17 around 500 to 600 feet. This was the only hole with no sign so I am estimateing.
It is nice not haveing to worry about walkers and picknickers. There is a bike path that goes around the perimiter of the course but does not interfere with play. I think my favorite hole was #6. A relitively short hole but down hill with the lake behind it. I strong thow could reach or even roll down the hill to the lake.
Cons: Tee pads are the biggest draw back to this course. Not only are they gravel, but they are also very unlevel. I fell once as I planted my foot an the gravel rolled under me. $5.00 to play is the other negitive. This probably explains the absense of players on such a beautify day. With this fee, gravel tees and no trash cans at all, make no sense what so ever. With a few trash cans around the little bit of litter probably would not have been there.
Other Thoughts: Nice course, fun to play. You do want to be carefull of your footing. Wet leaves can be very slippery and also hide holes. With two very nice course within ten minutes of my home that do not charge, I won't pay the fee often. However I will come back on ocasion.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It is nice out there

1    2/17/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a great park with awesome views. The course is also 100% SEPERATED from other park activities! I like the courses layout, it is tough with a good risk/reward factor. Great Innova baskets! It has both forehand and backhand shots in mind. 98% wooded if you like those courses. I never felt overwhelmed by the fairways or holes. WOW, the Exchange Shop at the front of the park has about 150 or more discs ranging from Innova DX, Champ and Star plastics!!! If you need to get or replace a disc, no joke YARGO has you covered if you throw Innova!!!!

Great signage about the holes including NEX-T signs!!
Cons: You have to pay $3 to park, but Wednesday is free parking. You also are asked to pay $2 per person to play the course. I do not really understand that seeing how it is a STATE PARK and the money more then likely does not go to DISC GOLF.They need to take all procedds from Yargo and give it to Victor Lord Park!!!

The course is short, but the 100 trees per holes makes it tough.

Teepads are not good at all.

Some of the fairways are really tight and very wooded. Heavy leaf cover in the winter of course and you definitley need to keep your eyes on your discs.
Other Thoughts: It is close to I-85 and easy to get to, great peaceful and QUIET course. It is worth playing at least a few times if you have five or more bucks to give to the State of GA.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It's OK but that's about it...

5+    11/23/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: Galahad
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short in length so easy for novice players, nice baskets.

The good part is they have a ton of discs for sale in the registration shop.
Cons: No real fairways, kind of a goofy layout. In the summer the weeds and poison ivy runs rampant.
Other Thoughts: This park has about a million acres and why "they" chose to put this course where it is - ? Could have done a lot better putting it elsewhere with at least some open holes. Lots of way better places to play in the greater Atlanta area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than I expected.

5+    12/6/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: Steve C
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice views of the lake. Not crowded. Quiet peaceful setting. Facilites nearby. About 1/3 of the holes have clearly defined fairways that combined with the distances offer ace or birdie opportunities. Another 1/3 require a combination of skill and some luck and present a good challenge. The last third are so densely wooded that most tee shots are 75% luck and 25% skilll (not much fun.) Holes 4, 5, and 16 come to mind for the latter group.
Cons: Pay to play on a State Park. FU State of Georgia. I already pay taxes enough. Pay to park? See above... I didn't have trouble with the tee pads, but I did spend some time smoothing them before throwing. Wet leaves were a different story. There are some NexTee signs, but there need to be a couple more (7 --> 8 and 14 --> 15, if I recall correctly.
Other Thoughts: Needs fairways! Mark a few trees and drop them! Could use a few longer holes. Only a couple of opportunities for full power throws 17 and 11, for me anyway. Also, a big PLUS for me was the elevation changes. They add an extra leve of difficulty to the shots, and they force me to manage my energy as the round progresses (I'm not young any longer :) )

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course, Nice Views

2-4    11/18/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: hooboy
Played: 50  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is self contained, in a large state park, but away from rest of park. Winds around a lake (not really in play) with nice views, particularly as the leaves are changing. All wooded holes, shade from sun, wind, rain. Course is well marked. Good variety of distances, with a few par 4s. Need to be accurate here. Quiet and secluded. In the summer I jumped in the lake afterward to cool off. Close access to Rte. 316. With 2 courses in Winder, 1 in Bishop, and Athens, you have 4 courses relatively close to each other. Some rate this course low due to the tee pads, but in my opinion its far superior to Victor Lord Park, which is about 2 miles away.
Cons: Funky tee pads. They are big mounds of crushed stone, rarely level. Some holes very tight, luck involved. Fairways not well defined on some holes, maybe they will be more defined as the course wears in.
Other Thoughts: I like the fact that the course is away from any other part of the park. Quiet with nice views of the lake. The course itself is good, but not great - Better than the two nearest courses - Victor Lord up the road (funky course) and Michael Park in Bishop (short course). Stop here on your way to Athens or other points east.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not great, but not terrible

2-4    11/16/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: rnance7
Played: 71  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very pretty playing through the woods with the lake in the back drop
- great pins
- good tee signs
Cons: -pay to play this course? why pay here when you can go to the many free ones around that are better.
- tee pads suck
Other Thoughts: a good course, it will take up a couple of hours and youll enjoy the view as well

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 needs new tee pads

1    11/12/2008   11/12/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice woods, with large trees and hills, often looking out at a lake that isn't really a hazard. Little to no thorns or ivy. Well marked, no map available yet but tees all there and descriptive. A challenge for all skill levels (pros will tear it up but still tough to execute shots exist). Several long holes allow for use of a driver once or twice.
Cons: TEE PADS: As stated before, they are made or LARGE gravel, without a frame. This makes it hard to even throw smooth from a standstill and literally impossible to get a smooth run-up at all, all 18 holes. Good luck not hurting yourself or even getting one great shot off without luck! This NEEDS to be fixed or this course will remain a miserable experience.
Some holes just didn't have a fairway, needed to be re-designed, a couple just need the tee moved 10' one way or the other to open up a great fairway.
Other Thoughts: Cost: 3$/car+ 2$/man. No 'car' fee on Wednesdays, but still go into office at entrance and pay for disc golf everytime, disc for sale there as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/21/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Some pretty views of the lake.
Cons: The tee pads are made out of gravel consisting of huge pieces which really makes them a safety hazard. It is virtually impossible to throw hard off of them. The good and the bad thing though is that virtually every hole is so short that you don't need a run up. So you can stay safe but will be bored by the same 250 foot shot over and over.
Other Thoughts: This course may be good for beginners. For anyone over a 900 rating it isn't worth the time.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 THE FIRST! OMG!

6/6/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: Rhinoflight
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All wooded, so staying cool is no problem. Parking is also for the marina/pool, so bring your swimsuit to cool off in the lake. Good variety of shots, starting off short and easy and getting longer and more difficult. Fairways not yet well defined, that will take a few years of people trapsing thru the woods. Last few holes taper off in difficulty but are still challenging with lots of trees in your way. A few water holes as well.
Cons: Funky mounds for teepads. I hope they go to concrete in the future. Pay to play, but here's a hint: Wednesdays are FREE. I love that word. FREE!
Other Thoughts: Wear boots, lots of low brush like ivy covering the ground. To improve this course, concrete tees, a scorecard, and better signage would help. To get to the next tee-follow the red cedar mulch.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.