Medford, NJ 
Freedom Park Share
Uploaded By: valkyriefb11 Hole #1 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Pin placement 1



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Practice Makes Perfect

2-4    5/25/2016   5/25/2016
Review By: Gunslinger82
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
Pros: If you want to practice your booming drives in a wide open field or get a feel for how a disc will behave with no impediments this is the course for you. At sunset there's some really gorgeous views of the sky in such a wide open park. The grounds are well mowed and it's hard to lose a disc here. Really great for putting practice if you don't have a portable. Since I know hole 1 is 273 feet I can tell almost exactly how far my drives are judging by distance from the basket. I usually just throw back and forth to basket 1 and then back toward basket 4 from wherever I land.
Cons: It's only 4 holes with no real challenge obstruction wise. There is no direction or map for newcomers to figure out where to start or end. My first outing ended up with me throwing at the wrong baskets and I didn't realize until I came within sight of the # on the top ring. I've lost 2 discs here due to utter stupidity and extremely dense brush along the edges of the course. After a rain I wouldn't attempt it because the area between basket 1 and 3 becomes mud soup.
Other Thoughts: Hole layout is as follows:
1.Concrete pad to basket directly ahead.
2. From basket #1 wander to the right of the tree clump in the middle and you'll find a concrete pad facing perpendicular to the first. This is a MANDO around the left side of the tree clump with the basket within view to the far right.
3. There's actually a sign on this one with distance and Par. It has a guardian bush on the sign. The only threat here is going long on your approach.
4. Final concrete tee pad faces back toward the first and the basket is on a slight incline. There's water to your right so if your disc turns too hard you will be sunk in the swamp.

If you have a portable you can make this a 5 hole or expand the existing to create your own layout without teepads. Get creative and have fun. Isn't that the point?

 Review from first time disk player

5+    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: jparent
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in between a playground with a few pavilions and on the opposite side is a dog park. There is ample parking and it is very easy to find. Good beginner course since the course is quite small and wide open. Also there are public bathrooms and other things to do in the park. Skateboard park, volleyball, basketball and outside areas to grill.
Cons: Only four holes. Hole 3 is placed right next to the path that people walk their dogs on. Hole four's fairway is flooded for 1-3 days after ANY rain. people walking their dog through hole 4 to get to the dog park. Careful not to bloody your hand on the tee signs that are RIGHT next to the concrete tee pads.
Hole 3 throws over the path that people walk their dogs.
The last two times I was here it was extremely windy, and it is unforgiving since it is just a wide open field.
Other Thoughts: I became interested in disk golf because this park is about 5 minutes from my house. This is the first course I've played on and it is ok for a family to try out disk golf if you're local. If you have no other options or just want to 'grip it and rip it' then check out the course, otherwise drive the extra distance and go to a course with more holes with a little better layout.
I just use the course for putting practice now.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Place to learn the Game.

5+    3/13/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: LeftyToss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For Beginners, Its a great course to learn on because it's very, very open and allows for errant throws without the risk of losing a disc. Tees are concrete so footing is good on them. Baskets are practically brand new and in great shape.
Cons: Only has 4 holes. There are no trees or real opsticles to deal with. Lots of people/dog traffic on Holes 3 and 4. Lots of land mines (Dog Crap) so watch where you step. Hole 2 isn't marked well as to how you are supposed to play it.
Other Thoughts: There really isn't anybody ever at this course so it's a good place to get in some practice. Park is very nice and kept up year round. Public Restrooms available year round (port-o-jon in winter months)

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Designed to appeal to absolutely nobody

1    8/14/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 51  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well mowed. Wide open and windy if you like hucking it far like that. Tee markers are useful, and there are concrete tee pads.
Cons: First tee sign is RIGHT IN FRONT of the pad. Silly! Tee 2 is either not aimed at the basket (a dogleg right) or is aimed because the island is a mando...the only way this hole could be 723 feet. Course is way too long for beginners, and way too lame for the experienced. Woods don't come into play at all; baskets are all wide open.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the trip, but it is the only attempt at a course for miles around. Maybe the community will support a more thorough, well-planned course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.