Sparta, WI
Justin Trails - Big Brother DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 250ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 FUN! FUN! FUN!

1    7/29/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: Bioxena
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a BEAUTIFUL setting for a disc golf course. Both Big Brother and Classic are well worth the time and money to play.
There is a wide variety of throws to satisfy all kinds of disc golfers. There are highly technical alley throws and some wide open long bombs.

The owners of this resort really did a good job utilizing the natural terrain to make some challenging holes. Even the longer holes down hill have a bit of a twist to challenge even the most experienced disc golfers.
Cons: Put your name and number on your disc! It is not uncommon to lose a disc or three on this course especially on the longer open holes where the fairways are lined by VERY tall grass (might have to go back and play in the fall when the grass dies back!)
Other Thoughts: The owners of this place are friendly and even gave us a tour of the facilities. We are seriously considering camping out one night and playing some night disc golf.... bring your glow discs and glow sticks, I think this would be a blast.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of WI's best

2-4    5/26/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 108  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the hardest, probably the the hardest, most physically taxing courses i've ever played. And thats a good thing. There are huge, level concrete tee pads on every hole. All holes have a wood sign next to each tee pad with a map of the basic hole layout, hole #, distances from the long and short tees and par. Perfectly adequate signage, though you may need to walk a fairway or two before throwing to scout the basket location on some holes. They also provide nice maps in the pro shop that show the layout of this course and the classic on one side and the distances of all holes, long and short, on both courses on the other side. Nice Mach 3 baskets on all holes that are in great condition and catch well. There is a huge variety of distance on this course as well. It ranges from 1025 feet as the longest to 235 feet as the shortest on the long tees and 450 feet to 200 feet on the short tees. The views from the top of the hill are spectacular, it reminds me of Highbridge. The elevation here is extreme too. The wind is one of the biggest factors, especiallly atop the hill. Not all of the holes have short tees, but 13 of the 18 holes do. Although I'm sure most people playing here won't be playing the am tees. Hole one is the easiest terrainwise, however it is over 1000 feet to the pin, which sets the tone for the rest of the course. There are a few longer walks between holes but these are well marked and with the map provided not really an issue. There is an outhouse located after hole 14. Very well designed in that it doesn't interfere at all with the classic course. Many holes are very tight tunnel shots through the woods with extremely punishing rough to one or even both sides. You will need to be accurate and use pretty much every disc and throw in your arsenal. This is a PRO style course. It's $5/person per day to play which is too cheap if you ask me. There is a small pond that comes into play on hole 12 i believe it is, again a good job incorporating this natural feature. Many benches located throughout, which you will need on this course. 5 gallon garbage pails located on most holes as well, though if you take it in you should be able to take it out. A must play course for serious players.
Cons: The rough can get out of control due to the hugeness of the course. losing a disc or two is not uncommon here. Use a spotter whenever possible. This can save you A LOT of time searching for discs. Like any WI course mosquitoes and ticks are a problem, but theres nothing the owners can do about this so just be sure to bring bug spray. Other than that, I can't think of anything else.
Other Thoughts: Definatly a top 5 course in WI. If you are a serious disc golfer this place is a must play. The overall rating speaks for itself. The only reson I gave it a 4.5 is because i can't say its the best of the best because i haven't played every course. But out of the 70 or so i have played its the best. Amazing!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My alltime favorite!

1    4/10/2013   4/13/2013
Review By: thomaso
Played: 54  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2013
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful, phisically/mentally and technically challenging. This course takes DG to a whole new level. I can't wait to go back again.
Cons: No Cons!
Other Thoughts: We played in very wet, windy, wintery mix conditions. (Warning!) Do not even consider playing this course with a pull/push cart. The hiking/climbing requires quality waterproof hiking boots, rain/wind suit, a light golf bag preferably with Quad Straps (balance is key). Fatigue is a big factor on this course. Pack energy bars and water. Plan on a four hour round.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Expert

1    9/22/2012   2/28/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large private piece of land, so there aren't going to be many chances for interference around here. Maybe if other people are camping out or hiking something, but it shouldn't be an issue.
- Some of the holes play in pretty much wide open areas, but the lengths are LONG and there are some wicked elevation changes. #1 is a slight uphill megabomber at 1025', #13 is a wide, deep valley at 500', #16 is another bomber at 565' with a nasty slope all along the right side, and #17 is shorter with a big slope behind the pin. Still very interesting even without many trees.
- Very solid holes that have a bit of woods along with open lines. #2 is a cool uphill hole with woods all along the right side, that eventually ends with the pin in the woods. #3 and #11 both shoot out of, and back into gaps in the forest. #12 shoots out of the woods as well, that ends up again in the woods behind a small pond. #18 is a big downhill shot that much clear a gap on top of the hill, and avoid the woods on the right.
- The rest of the course plays in the dense forest, with tight lines, nasty rough, and constant elevation changes. Very tight hyzers and straight shots, long and short hole lengths, these will test any level of player. Ending up off the fairway is big trouble.
- Elevation changes are seriously a major, major factor in many places here. Both for getting up long holes with uphill slopes, and staying on top of the hills with deadly rollaways. Huge addition to both the fun factor and the difficulty.
- Even mix of lefty and righty holes; you better have good hyzer control for #7 and #9, and also navigate some a nasty right turn on #15. Mostly hyzer heavy though.
- Great teesigns, baskets, navigation is easy with a map.
Cons: - The only con here are some pretty wide open holes. Four of them don't have much to worry about except keeping away from some tricky rollaways. That's about it!!!
Other Thoughts: - This course delivers! The holes in the open are great bombers, the holes in the woods are straight up tough, and those in between still give good challenge to hit a gap at the end of the hole. Fantastic mix from beginning to end, no boring spots at all. #18 is a sweet finishing hole that shoots through the woods, off a big hilltop.
- Best suited to more advanced players, beginners will be struggling to hit some tougher lines and stay out of the trouble.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Tough course

2-4    9/15/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: beeyang78
Played: 57  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of variety from long tunnel shots to open bombers to uphill and downhill shots.
Love the hill to hill shots.
Gorgeous view from on top of the hills.
Hole 18 is a great downhill shot that is dueceable even though it is over 600 feet long.
Cons: I can't think of any at all.
Other Thoughts: I fell in love with this course when I first played it and have been dying to go there whenever I can. If only it was a lot closer, it would be my favorite course overall. If you have not gone to Justin Trails to play dg, you have to go there at least once to experience this awesome course. There are a few tournaments that are played at this course yearly so sign up and enjoy it.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Unforgettable Disc Golf Experience

2-4    10/15/2012   12/20/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Both of the courses at Justin Trails are absolutely awesome, I wish I lived closer so I could play them more often. The design of both courses offers a variety of different holes and challenges, which creates a great opportunity to throw plenty of different shots and discs from within your bag. The variety of holes offered at each course also provides plenty of technical shots with elevation changes, shots in the woods, and shots in the open. The combination of all these holes will allow you to try everything from backhands and forehands, hyzers and anhyzers, and shots over the top. The tee pads, signs, layout, and maintenance of both courses are superb and provide a great disc golf experience. Not to mention, the resort itself is awesome and provides a great experience whether you are staying at a cabin, camping, or just visiting for the day.

The Classic is a great course to warm-up on before taking on Big Brother. Everything about Big Brother is bigger, better, and more challenging than The Classic Course, from the elevation changes, to the length and technicality of the shots/holes, and the roll away pin locations. The elevation changes at Big Brother set it apart from many other courses that I have ever played. There are plenty of long, challenging holes and plenty of short, technical par 3's.
Cons: I really have nothing bad to say about these courses, but I hope you're in good shape because it is a lot of walking and a lot of throwing. However, some of the holes could use some maintenance to clean up some of the brush in the woods, which would open up more lanes and opportunities for different shots. The rough on some of the holes is also very thick, but nothing the owners can really do about this considering the size of this course, so just keep your disc in the fairway. Also, the one thing that this course lacks, which BRP offers, is water. Lastly, I wish that there were some other resting areas overlooking some of the scenery.
Other Thoughts: This course ranks in my top 3 favorite courses, along with Blue Ribbon Pines and Bryant Lake(my home course, so somewhat biased). The elevation changes, technicality, and length of this course make it more interesting and challenging than BRP. The scenery and surrounding landscape is amazing and makes Justin Trails an absolutely must play, so if you haven't played it, grab your bag, bring your camera, and make the drive if you want an unforgettable disc golf experience.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Big Brother, Big-Time Disc Golf

1    9/23/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The Justin Trails Resort compound offers (among many other amenities) two world-class disc golf courses side-by-side. The two 18-hole courses sprawl over the scenic Wisconsin hills and compliment each other well. Big Brother offers gold-level challenges while the shorter Classic remains an accessible and fun play for all. The resort offers cabins, suites, and camping. Concessions available on site. Gracious hosts help make the experience one to remember.
- The Classic course adjacent to Big Brother sets the tone: amazing elevation, balance between open and wooded, and tricky pin positions. Big Brother takes each of those attributes, ups them a notch (or two), and then adds gold-level tees and distances to challenge all but the very best discers. Short tees offer mortals a course very similar to Classic, while the long tees throw down the gauntlet right at the beginning: #1 stretches over 1000'. The rest of the long tees range from the mid-200's to over 600'.
- A great mix of wooded technical holes and open bomber shots. Elevation comes into play throughout most of the course, with #18 capping off the round with a spectacular downhill bomb, with a narrow gap through the wall of trees in front of the tee.
- Great pin positions offer spectacular putting risks. #'s 3, 10, 11, 14, and 17 are all standout. #10's elevated pin, located on a wooded slope, is a rollaway waiting to happen.
- Decent signage, concrete tees, baskets, etc. Outhouses located on property.
Cons: - As with the Classic course, at certain times of the year, tall corn can come into play. Definitely fair punishment if you end up in it, but searching a corn field for wayward discs straight up sucks. You think tall grass is a hassle?

Other Thoughts: - Some of the scenery from atop the larger hills is nothing short of breath-taking. Justin Trails offers destination-caliber disc golf and matches it with top-flight amenities. Don't be paranoid about Big Brother, he only has your best interests in mind.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Impressive

1    10/6/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: Urbanator
Played: 52  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big Brother is just plain impressive in every way. The scenery, the design, the distance, the difficulty. The downhill throws were super fun. I chained a shot from 400+ feet. So cool. The hills make the course, great views and scenery. It almost feels alpine. Loved walking through the woods and fields between holes. It's a 3 1/2 mile walk but it's enjoyable unless you're totally out of shape. The course is well maintained, well marked, and has good baskets and tee pads.
Cons: Hole 1 is 1,000 feet straight. I didn't really enjoy throwing five drives to get there. Would be better divided up into 2 or 3 holes. A few too many tight fairways in the woods. The course is pro rated. Many holes were at least a par lower than my capabilities, but I guess played from the longer of the tee options. It's a little too difficult for a mid-level player to fully enjoy. I lost a disc in a water hazard, one of only two on the course. Probably easy to lose discs in the woods too, but I didn't. A windy day would make a few holes truly miserable.
Other Thoughts: The resort shop was nice. Bathrooms, food, discs, souvenirs, tourist info and an awesome cat named Socks. I love the farm setting. Looks like a fun place to ski too.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Big Brother? More like your friends super hot sister

1    6/8/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a complete disc golf experience. It has absolutely everything you could ask for in a course, from super long, challenging par 4's (and one 5) to tight and technical par 3's that offer even the most accurate disc golfer a challenge.

By far my favorite aspect of this course was the elevation changes (Hole 18 comes to mind). Be prepared to watch your discs sore for hundreds of feet across the valleys and from the tops of hills down to the very bottom. I never thought I could pin a 600 ft. hole, but this course allowed me to do so. Hole 18 is just shy of 800ft but is still a legit par 3 because of the ridiculous elevation change.

The views were also incredible. You honestly feel like you have left the regular world and entered into a new land where the only things that matter in life are chains, discs, trees, and wildlife. Coming up to one of the pins a red tail hawk surprised me by jumping out of a giant oak that stretches out over the basket. Made me want to move my Chicago apartment to that exact spot.
Cons: I lost one of my favorite discs in the woods on one of the shorter holes. When I went digging to find it I was destroyed by all the burning nettles on the forest floor. My legs then burned for the remainder of my round. If you're playing a 90+ degree day like I was, jeans are not an option so just be aware of all the nettles in the forest outside of the narrow lanes. Solution: just throw a putter in the woods, it's not worth the burn.
Other Thoughts: After playing my round I went inside to talk to the owner (She offered a hose to take care of the nettles) and I could not stop raving about what an awesome experience their course was to play. She mentioned that the founders of this website had come to play it a few weeks prior and also said the same thing, but commented that there are so few reviews. Moral of the story, if you play this course, REVIEW IT and RATE IT. The owners have certainly put together an amazing disc haven so give them the credit of sharing your experience with the public. This course is a must play for any serious disc golfer that has the opportunity.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!!!

1    5/27/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: Jeffl42
Played: 73  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Super technical course with amazing views everywhere you turn. Despite being 3 hours from where I live I am already anxiously waiting for the next time I can make it out there. The couple that runs it are the nicest people you will meet! A must play for anyone who considers themselves a disc golfer!
Cons: None, I seriously couldnt find anything wrong with this course

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.