Sparta, WI 
Justin Trails - Big Brother DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 250ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
justin trails. big course. unreal!

1    11/3/2014   11/3/2014
Review By: ewucrew
Played: 49  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fantastic disc sanctuary with two courses on the property.
Great views. Great difficulty. Mowed tournament style fairways. If you play disc you need to check this place out.
Cons: Long holes
Other Thoughts: Also Nordic activities and hiking available

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

double meh

1    9/5/2014   9/5/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 187  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2014
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: the course is on a great piece of land and you get to wander through a lot of it during your round. the views on a few holes are great. the back nine kinda makes up for the front nine, but not by much.
Cons: I got really annoyed with this course starting on hole three. I found it really strange that the area around the baskets on holes 3-11 were not maintained. I would look down the trail and expect the basket to be along the mowed area, throw my disc where I figured the basket would be just to find it off to the side among the trees and bushes...annoying. I'm not one to walk the length of a hole to see where the basket is. at a course like this, that would have been a few extra miles.
Other Thoughts: overall it is worth the trip

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best Wisconsin has to Offer

1    8/22/2014   8/22/2014
Review By: Iplaydiscgolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holy shit. This course is ridiculous. I've played a lot of courses around the country and this is my favorite. So tough- mentally, physically, emotionally. First of all, you are hiking up and down some pretty significant hills on a long ass course. You will get tired, this course will take 4+ hours to play.

#1 1025 ft of straight up fairway. Bomb it, repeat.

#2 Slight anny uphill but pretty well guarded. Takes an arm to get a birdie.

#3 downhill across the valley. I think 400' but can throw a midrange on because of the elevation. Pretty well guarded but one of the few birdie ops out there.

#4 How do you like throwing anny tunnel shots up about 70'? Tough par 3.

#5 See #4, another tough uphill drive without much clearance.

#6 Par 4, I think 410' that requires a low hyzer approach of the tee then a nice uphill drive to get to the pin. Steep ravine on the right side makes it a "play it safe" hole.

#7 Getting into the woods- this is also a potential birdie as it's 255-ish but you have to hug the right side of the fairway pretty high to get over the oak branch, shot fades left towards the pin.

#8 Ouch. Slight anhyzer on a short pin, but it is extremely well guarded and any mistake can send you off down a hill to the left. Off the fairway here is nasty.

#9 Another potential birdie. Mostly a straight shot at the pin.

#10 A large dogleg left down a tight fariway. Huge hill down the left side so you have to account for that, but one of the few birdie holes at a par 4.

#11 Nice shot across a small valley. Everything is open and the pine rests a few feet in the woods of to the left. Have to bomb this hole, but can be easily rewarded.

#12 Probably the hardest- best designed hole on the course. Low ceiling tunnel shot out into the fairway on this 648' monster. From the fairway you need a huge anhyzer bomb that eventually comes back to get up and over a pond and come crashing into the hill eventually on the left. This hole goes left big, then right big.

#13 Beautiful hole that crosses a steep valley. You shoot about 70' up from the bottom of the valley, about 550' across and up 120' from the bottom to the pin. Very wide open and a great hole to see how far you can really throw.

#14 Long bomb downhill. The green is steep sloping left to right, get prepared for some safe putting.

#15 This hole was a little confusing but it basically goes straight to left down into a valley then up and right (maybe 80' total elevation change to the pin from the bottom) but you need a significant drive from the bottom to get up for your par 3.

#16 What a beautiful hole! Up on top of the ridge overlooking bucolic wisconsin, this 560'hole is straight out in front of you, fairway dips then comes back up, but is a wide fairsay and lets you bomb it!

#17 is a downhill 355' touch shot. Don't want to go too far past this one as it drops off. Definitely one of the few birdie ops, but does drop off 50-60' in that 355' length.

#18 Have fun going for pin on this 600'+ hole. It is reachable and a ton of fun.
Cons: This is not really a con- but some fairways are very tight and the rough is rough. Not a con because it is maintained by such few people and takes a huge amount of effort to do so. Would not mind paying more so they could afford to hire 1 extra person to help out.
Other Thoughts: Best course in Wisconsin- bar none. Would love to watch the best in the game try to tackle this one. It is tough.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

great workout! great golf!

1    5/28/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 120  Reviewed: 19
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can camp and golf in solitude here, in beautiful hilly terrain. But some of the holes on this course will blast a surge of adrenaline through that peaceful easy feeling. Huge elevation changes, tight technical holes, big drives over or into deep valleys, and a couple of small water hazards. You start off with a monster 1025 ft straight hole, slightly uphill. Holes 2 and 3 are beautiful deuce opportunities with elevation changes. Then there are a series of holes along an old road climbing up the ridge. Although several of these look like easy birdie opportunities, they play tougher than they look, winding uphill through the tunnels with finishes left and right. Hole 7 the line to the basket here is over the top of a big oak limb that juts out over the fairway. Hole 9 was one of my favorites, par 4, 445ft on an S-curve through a tunnel. The placement of the par 4 Hole 12 water hazard is beautifully designed to deter mortal humans from considering an eagle attempt -- it's a downhill right to left curving tunnel shot to get out in the open, but to get an eagle chance you have to challenge the low ceiling and then finish left to right over the pond for a chance at a huge putt back uphill. Another of my favorites was Hole 15, a bigpar 4 dogleg with a lefty-friendly tee shot and then a beautiful uphill 2nd drive through scattered trees. After that, several open holes up on top of the ridge are probably punished by wind most of the time, although it wasn't bad when I played. The finishing hole is 635ft downhill and reachable from the tee -- an absolute blast to play!

You have to be prepared for a grueling workout before trying this course. I put this under the "pros" column but not everyone would. Bring provisions, especially extra water if its hot weather. It's a 3.5 mile hike, even without looking for discs.

Overall this is one of the very best courses I have played, and it deserves its high rating!
Cons: As huge as this place already is, there are several places where the walk between holes should be made into more disc golf. As long as you're walking, you may as well be throwing plastic. The best example is the walk between 10-11, about a quarter mile downhill through the woods. Seems a shame not to use that elevation for disc golf. There's also a long walk downhill and back uphill between 14-15, where an access path cut directly through the woods would preserve the elevation. Also a long walk uphill from 15-16. Because I like to maximize the exercise aspect of disc golf, I consider these to be minor cons. There is also a lot more that could be done with the holes 4-10 instead of just playing along the old woods road, but I'm sure the current design makes maintenance more manageable. It would be great to empty my bag on 18, and on some other holes, but the high grass makes it kinda hard to locate discs. Again, a minor con, just keep it in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: The 11 tee could be moved back up that trail about 250-300 ft. There's a decent lane through the trees already, with only a couple spindly trees needed to be removed. This would turn hole 11 from an average par 3 into a really fantastic signature hole, a dogleg par 4, with the current tee location being the new landing zone for the tee shot. A try for eagle would risk getting trapped at the bottom of the valley for a very long tough uphill putt.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ultimate Challange!

5+    5/10/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Fepowerguy8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The most challenging course I ever played, it is worth paying to play this course. Lots of wooded and hilly holes. Lots of technical long drives. Very well marked. Great tee-pads and it maintained very well. It it located at a bed and breakfast and the owners are great friendly people. My favorite course by a long shot, give the Big Brother course a try!
Cons: Takes about 4 hours to play. Takes about 6 hours to play in winter.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 FUN! FUN! FUN!

1    7/29/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: Bioxena
Played: 61  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a BEAUTIFUL setting for a disc golf course. Both Big Brother and Classic are well worth the time and money to play.
There is a wide variety of throws to satisfy all kinds of disc golfers. There are highly technical alley throws and some wide open long bombs.

The owners of this resort really did a good job utilizing the natural terrain to make some challenging holes. Even the longer holes down hill have a bit of a twist to challenge even the most experienced disc golfers.
Cons: Put your name and number on your disc! It is not uncommon to lose a disc or three on this course especially on the longer open holes where the fairways are lined by VERY tall grass (might have to go back and play in the fall when the grass dies back!)
Other Thoughts: The owners of this place are friendly and even gave us a tour of the facilities. We are seriously considering camping out one night and playing some night disc golf.... bring your glow discs and glow sticks, I think this would be a blast.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of WI's best

2-4    5/26/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 152  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 10.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the hardest, probably the the hardest, most physically taxing courses i've ever played. And thats a good thing. There are huge, level concrete tee pads on every hole. All holes have a wood sign next to each tee pad with a map of the basic hole layout, hole #, distances from the long and short tees and par. Perfectly adequate signage, though you may need to walk a fairway or two before throwing to scout the basket location on some holes. They also provide nice maps in the pro shop that show the layout of this course and the classic on one side and the distances of all holes, long and short, on both courses on the other side. Nice Mach 3 baskets on all holes that are in great condition and catch well. There is a huge variety of distance on this course as well. It ranges from 1025 feet as the longest to 235 feet as the shortest on the long tees and 450 feet to 200 feet on the short tees. The views from the top of the hill are spectacular, it reminds me of Highbridge. The elevation here is extreme too. The wind is one of the biggest factors, especiallly atop the hill. Not all of the holes have short tees, but 13 of the 18 holes do. Although I'm sure most people playing here won't be playing the am tees. Hole one is the easiest terrainwise, however it is over 1000 feet to the pin, which sets the tone for the rest of the course. There are a few longer walks between holes but these are well marked and with the map provided not really an issue. There is an outhouse located after hole 14. Very well designed in that it doesn't interfere at all with the classic course. Many holes are very tight tunnel shots through the woods with extremely punishing rough to one or even both sides. You will need to be accurate and use pretty much every disc and throw in your arsenal. This is a PRO style course. It's $5/person per day to play which is too cheap if you ask me. There is a small pond that comes into play on hole 12 i believe it is, again a good job incorporating this natural feature. Many benches located throughout, which you will need on this course. 5 gallon garbage pails located on most holes as well, though if you take it in you should be able to take it out. A must play course for serious players.
Cons: The rough can get out of control due to the hugeness of the course. losing a disc or two is not uncommon here. Use a spotter whenever possible. This can save you A LOT of time searching for discs. Like any WI course mosquitoes and ticks are a problem, but theres nothing the owners can do about this so just be sure to bring bug spray. Other than that, I can't think of anything else.
Other Thoughts: Definatly a top 5 course in WI. If you are a serious disc golfer this place is a must play. The overall rating speaks for itself. The only reson I gave it a 4.5 is because i can't say its the best of the best because i haven't played every course. But out of the 70 or so i have played its the best. Amazing!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

My alltime favorite!

1    4/10/2013   4/13/2013
Review By: thomaso
Played: 62  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2013
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful, phisically/mentally and technically challenging. This course takes DG to a whole new level. I can't wait to go back again.
Cons: No Cons!
Other Thoughts: We played in very wet, windy, wintery mix conditions. (Warning!) Do not even consider playing this course with a pull/push cart. The hiking/climbing requires quality waterproof hiking boots, rain/wind suit, a light golf bag preferably with Quad Straps (balance is key). Fatigue is a big factor on this course. Pack energy bars and water. Plan on a four hour round.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Expert

1    9/22/2012   2/28/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2014
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large private piece of land, so there aren't going to be many chances for interference around here. Maybe if other people are camping out or hiking something, but it shouldn't be an issue.
- Some of the holes play in pretty much wide open areas, but the lengths are LONG and there are some wicked elevation changes. #1 is a slight uphill megabomber at 1025', #13 is a wide, deep valley at 500', #16 is another bomber at 565' with a nasty slope all along the right side, and #17 is shorter with a big slope behind the pin. Still very interesting even without many trees.
- Very solid holes that have a bit of woods along with open lines. #2 is a cool uphill hole with woods all along the right side, that eventually ends with the pin in the woods. #3 and #11 both shoot out of, and back into gaps in the forest. #12 shoots out of the woods as well, that ends up again in the woods behind a small pond. #18 is a big downhill shot that must clear a gap on top of the hill, and avoid the woods on the right.
- The rest of the course plays in the dense forest, with tight lines, nasty rough, and constant elevation changes. Very tight hyzers and straight shots, long and short hole lengths, these will test any level of player. Ending up off the fairway is big trouble.
- Elevation changes are seriously a major, major factor in many places here. Both for getting up long holes with uphill slopes, and staying on top of the hills with deadly rollaways. Huge addition to both the fun factor and the difficulty.
- Even mix of lefty and righty holes; you better have good hyzer control for #7 and #9, and also navigate some a nasty right turn on #15. Mostly hyzer heavy though.
- Great teesigns, baskets, navigation is easy with a map.
Cons: - The only con here are some pretty wide open holes. Four of them don't have much to worry about except keeping away from some tricky rollaways. That's about it!!!
Other Thoughts: - This course delivers! The holes in the open are great bombers, the holes in the woods are straight up tough, and those in between still give good challenge to hit a gap at the end of the hole. Fantastic mix from beginning to end, no boring spots at all. #18 is a sweet finishing hole that shoots through the woods, off a big hilltop.
- Best suited to more advanced players, beginners will be struggling to hit some tougher lines and stay out of the trouble.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Tough course

2-4    9/15/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: beeyang78
Played: 77  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Lots of variety from long tunnel shots to open bombers to uphill and downhill shots.
Love the hill to hill shots.
Gorgeous view from on top of the hills.
Hole 18 is a great downhill shot that is dueceable even though it is over 600 feet long.
Cons: I can't think of any at all.
Other Thoughts: I fell in love with this course when I first played it and have been dying to go there whenever I can. If only it was a lot closer, it would be my favorite course overall. If you have not gone to Justin Trails to play dg, you have to go there at least once to experience this awesome course. There are a few tournaments that are played at this course yearly so sign up and enjoy it.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.