Disc Golf Center
Charleston, SC 
Tidal Creek Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #13 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 210ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    7/5/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 25  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of shot selection required
- Tight, technical golf throughout
- Good use of a few berms for raised pins with roll away putts (that got me a few times) :(
Cons: - Natural tees, marked by 4x4s on each side are rough in spots.
- No tee signs. This is particularly a problem as there are MANY blind shots that I needed to walk 1/2 the fairway to see where the pin even was. Tight, technical, and blind doesn't go well without tee signs.
- Missing baskets. Holes #7 and #15 look like they should play down their respective roads. I was able to find the tees, but no basket (nor evidence of where it was) for either with quite a bit of searching and armed with a map
- Hole #8. Throwing a FH shot to a basket sitting where people are walking and/or fishing. This one didn't feel safe to me. Also if #7/#15 were where they were supposed to be - I could see safety issues here as there were people walking these trails/roads. This may be why they were pulled...maybe there is a plan for them.
- Some maintenance on the cat tails on #9 would make it a much nicer hole. As it was, the cat tails on the left and right in front of the tee took away all but a steep hyzer shot from the tee. The problem being there are 3 trees guarding a hyzer approach where a hit will put you in the water. Rather than hope I won at plinko on the shot I just overshot it on purpose and took my 3. So boring. The risk / reward just aren't worth going for a 2 as it is. Clean up those cat tails and then there is a decent shot at anny/FH or straight approach to the hole.
- Lots of wet areas of muck off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I had very mixed feelings about this course. Missing 2 holes and a lot of the basics (tees,signs,etc) really detracted from my rating. There are also quite a few holes here that I really liked....and a handful that could be great with just a bit of pruning. On the whole there were very few that I thought were either unfair or too much throw & pray - and this is coming from someone whose home courses are on the open side. I felt with a great line I could have a look for 2 (didn't happen enough), a reasonable throw left me a bit in the rough but a makeable upshot for an easy 3....and a bad throw was just painful.

If you have the time and have already hit the better courses in the area it is worth a swing by - but if you are limited - just go to trophy lakes and enjoy your time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A wooded swamp

1    5/5/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very tightly wooded course that demands accuracy and control of your discs to be successful. If you lack either of those, this course will help you improve them. It's well shaded, so it will be cooler for those hot summer rounds.

Other than the woods, water comes into play on a few holes. An air shot over the water on hole 9, and 8 fairway is sandwiched by it. These holes are a nice change of pace from the wooded shots, but are still equally challenging.

Located in a nice community park, with plenty of parking, rest rooms and walking trails for non disc golfers.
Cons: Even with a map, I found it not exactly easy to navigate. If you don't have a map, it will be tricky finding 15's tee from 14's basket. Piece of advice, print and bring the course map.

A walking trail dissects hole 1's fairway, and it's not easy to see the oncoming walkers, so be aware.

The drawback of this wooded courses is that it takes time to dry out after rains, so there are plenty of swampy areas on the course to avoid. This also breeds mosquitoes, which ate me alive between holes 2 and 3. There is a good chance of losing a disc here with all the trees and other foliage.

Basket 8 position, had me throwing too close to other park patrons. It's a great and difficult position, but made me a little uneasy worrying about not hitting them.
Other Thoughts: Your degree of liking this course will depend on how much you like or dislike wooded courses. As far as wooded courses I've played, this is on the tighter side.

It's not overly long, and can be played rather quickly, if time is a concern. Even when you do inevitable hit a tree and go off line, it's short enough to recover from.

I'm glad I didn't encounter any of the wild life the course map warns about, but I think it would have been cool to see a gator.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 accuracy test

1    6/12/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is tight, but there is some really nice nature to take in with wild palms and other swamp land scenery.
-fun, mostly short holes
-high risk /medium reward
- I had little trouble navigating the course
- had the course to myself
Cons: If you are not an accurate thrower you will have a chance of losing your disc.
There are standing water/ muddy areas along a few of the fairways besides the water holes which becomes a problem because of the tightness.
-better tee signs would be nice
-natural tee pads
-broken glass in a few places
Other Thoughts: As far as the wildlife... I was very lucky. I saw no snakes, and I was expecting the worst for bugs but they really weren't bad for me.
If you can throw accurately or don't get frustrated by tight fairways you can make a good time of it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Just wow.

1    5/12/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: SmittyDisc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: lots of charming nature, a couple of interesting holes, nearby soccer fields for practice throws.
Cons: lots of not so charming nature: mosquitos, snakes, swampland, etc.
ridiculously difficult for all but very skilled players, tight fairways, dense disk-eating vegetation, and pretty hard to navigate at points.
Other Thoughts: nearly all holes play in heavily wooded swamp. the fairway for the front 9 is a 4 foot wide berm with grassy swamp on either side, so prepare to lose a couple of discs. I have to agree with other reviewers that hole 2 is pretty awful to play. This course demands a lot of accuracy and skill, definitely not recommended for beginners/casual players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/15/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2009
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight, tight, TIGHT. If you don't throw straight, you will be in trouble. If you want to improve accuracy on mid-range discs, this is the perfect course for that.
- Course has some fun, and interesting, hole layouts. It has several sharp doglegs, both left and right. Plenty of birdie chances; but, with hole layouts, errant shots will be penalized.
- Good use of the terrain. Water only comes in play on 3 holes- near basket on 8, entire 9th hole, and along left side of dogleg on 13. Of course after a good rain, standing water comes in to play on almost every hole. Rest of course in woods. Be prepared to possibly lose a disc on #9.
- Great location. Beautiful nature scenery. Plus a great family park with ball fields, batting cages, soccer fields, playground, restrooms, trails.
Cons: Course is easily flooded and/or muddy. It takes a long time after raining for the course to dry out. It's frustrating because the rest of the park can be fully dry and most of the holes are swampy. It's discouraging trying to play while dealing with so much mud and standing water.
- Risk of of encounters with wildlife. When the local website's course map includes warnings for bees, alligators and rattlesnakes, that's not an encouraging sign.
-Course seems a little too tight at times. Some holes on the front nine seem to just be walking trails with baskets. Update: Playing the course in Sept '09, I noticed that trees on several holes had been taken down making holes more reasonable.
- Need better signs and more accurate distances. Signs are barely bigger than index cards on wood markers indicating tee areas. The course is listed at 5400 ft, but based on the info on the signs, distance is only 4050. 5 holes in a row are under 200 ft- #8 - 12.
- If you get off narrow fairways almost no chance of recovering to save par.
Other Thoughts: Course is polar opposite of Park Circle. PC is about as wide open as you can get, Ashley Park is about as tight a course as there is.
- Back 9 is more open than front 9. Some holes could stand to have a few more trees cleared out to make it a bit more fair.
- Better signs are a must. They'll be built in time, which will be a huge plus.
- It's a good course with potential to be even better. Lots of holes could be longer, which will make it even more challenging.
- Favorite hole is #9, the course's signature hole. It's the most intimidating 150 foot hole I've played. Shot over water with trees along the bank making it a challenge to get near the basket. It's a minor victory to not lose a disc in the water.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/23/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2009
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, easy to navigate. Requires some technical throws and accuracy. #9 is the coolest hole on the course and it isn't really that great.
Cons: Too short. Many of the holes seem like the same throw was needed. No variety, not many big drives, kinda boring. Charleston is in desperate need of a good course besides Trophy Lakes and it is disappointing this is what they came up with. A few holes are ridiculously stupid, #2 specifically. It's a blind 90 degree turn from the fairway into the woods with swampy water in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I was hoping for much more.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.