Charleston, SC 
Tidal Creek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 accuracy test

1    6/12/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is tight, but there is some really nice nature to take in with wild palms and other swamp land scenery.
-fun, mostly short holes
-high risk /medium reward
- I had little trouble navigating the course
- had the course to myself
Cons: If you are not an accurate thrower you will have a chance of losing your disc.
There are standing water/ muddy areas along a few of the fairways besides the water holes which becomes a problem because of the tightness.
-better tee signs would be nice
-natural tee pads
-broken glass in a few places
Other Thoughts: As far as the wildlife... I was very lucky. I saw no snakes, and I was expecting the worst for bugs but they really weren't bad for me.
If you can throw accurately or don't get frustrated by tight fairways you can make a good time of it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 looking for some fun

5+    12/17/2009   1/27/2010
Review By: discchris
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: a nice tight wooded course one of the best ive ever played no course is like it, It will make you become accurate and if you dont have a big arm you can still score good
Cons: There are alot of spiders and snakes but remember you are in sc woods, You can lose some discs here might want to play with some you dont care to much about.
Other Thoughts: Most people do not like this course and i dont understand why ive played quite a few courses from the west coast all the way to the north and i compare every one to this course and have only really lost two discs here and have played 100 times i love it and cant wait to play again

5 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 WEST ASHLEY

2-4    7/12/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: TSchneidz2
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you are looking to work on your accuracy, you are in the right place. Although, if you are having a day in which you cannot throw straight, you will be wading through swamp water, massive spider webs, and many snakes.
Cons: While wildlife is important to the eco-system, you will be very tired of mosquitoes, spiders, and snakes by the end of your round.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for the best round in the area, I would head to Trophy Lakes but this course isn't a total waste of time if you are not a beginner.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just wow.

1    5/12/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: SmittyDisc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: lots of charming nature, a couple of interesting holes, nearby soccer fields for practice throws.
Cons: lots of not so charming nature: mosquitos, snakes, swampland, etc.
ridiculously difficult for all but very skilled players, tight fairways, dense disk-eating vegetation, and pretty hard to navigate at points.
Other Thoughts: nearly all holes play in heavily wooded swamp. the fairway for the front 9 is a 4 foot wide berm with grassy swamp on either side, so prepare to lose a couple of discs. I have to agree with other reviewers that hole 2 is pretty awful to play. This course demands a lot of accuracy and skill, definitely not recommended for beginners/casual players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bad Choice

1    4/5/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: Mgray129
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: None
Cons: To be quite honest, it was one of the worst courses i have ever played. It just seems like someone took a chainsaw and cleared TINY paths and put baskets in. It's literally in a swamp, incredibly wet everywhere, extremely easy to lose discs, almost no signs, and if you get off the fairway, nearly impossible to make par. If you attempt to play it, i would suggest using a spotter on every hole simply to locate your drives. Really has to have a major makeover before i will even attempt to play it again.
Other Thoughts: If your in the area, skip this one and play Trophy Lakes. Extremely fun and challenging and well worth the $5 for unlimited rounds.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 It's called Tidal Creek for a reason

1    3/12/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I can't think of any. Really. I'd rather play an object course on the soccer fields.
Cons: Way too swampy. Many "fair"ways consist of a berm that rises out of the swampy areas, so if you don't land in an area 4 feet across then you're in black water or rolling down into it. The only two fairways are on paths/roads. 4-wheelers have damaged the course badly in places. You must scout your shots, what looks like a dry area ahead is most likely standing black water.
Other Thoughts: If you only have time for one course in Charleston anything but this would be best. Go play Park Circle or Trophy Lakes.
I really feel bad for the people who went to the effort here. It isn't mosquito season yet, I cannot imagine being in this blackwater bog during the worst of summer.

When I hit the trailhead the locals were getting ready for something. When I told them it was my first time on the course and didn't have a map with me I got a lot of raised eyebrows. I did study a map in advance several times and was able to navigate without problems, but what you really need your first round is a guide to tell you where the bogs you can't see from the tee are. FTF-5

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 how can anyone possibly have rated this more than 1 star?

1    11/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.5 Years
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Map is available online (a must get map).
Cons: -Main con: Design. All too tight fairways with no reward and too much risk. Too many sharp blind turns with no fairway to hit- just praying to get a shot through the trees or throw a lame soft putter shot part of the way up a 150' hole. Every shot is punished. Hole #2 is a joke one of the worst holes of all time.
-Too much water in play. Most holes are either lined with murky black swamp water, over water, or have small hidden pools of water just everywhere- #16 is 2/3 water in the fairway, can't even get to the basket without getting wet feet. Good luck not losing a disc, even off a great shot. MUST SCOUT EVERY HOLE or too much risk.
-Bad dirt tee pads, some lined with too-high wooden blocks that a short thrower who likes to throw low will have to think about when teeing, and one had nail-heads sticking out the top which need to be hammered in or someone could rip their arm open when throwing.
-Most 'signs' damaged or gone, weird layout.
Other Thoughts: Just one of the worst experiences I've ever had on a course, an absolute waste of baskets. The land is not suitable for disc golf, and it's not well designed, well marked, or well enough cleared.

It will make the short list of worst courses of all time.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/15/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2009
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight, tight, TIGHT. If you don't throw straight, you will be in trouble. If you want to improve accuracy on mid-range discs, this is the perfect course for that.
- Course has some fun, and interesting, hole layouts. It has several sharp doglegs, both left and right. Plenty of birdie chances; but, with hole layouts, errant shots will be penalized.
- Good use of the terrain. Water only comes in play on 3 holes- near basket on 8, entire 9th hole, and along left side of dogleg on 13. Of course after a good rain, standing water comes in to play on almost every hole. Rest of course in woods. Be prepared to possibly lose a disc on #9.
- Great location. Beautiful nature scenery. Plus a great family park with ball fields, batting cages, soccer fields, playground, restrooms, trails.
Cons: Course is easily flooded and/or muddy. It takes a long time after raining for the course to dry out. It's frustrating because the rest of the park can be fully dry and most of the holes are swampy. It's discouraging trying to play while dealing with so much mud and standing water.
- Risk of of encounters with wildlife. When the local website's course map includes warnings for bees, alligators and rattlesnakes, that's not an encouraging sign.
-Course seems a little too tight at times. Some holes on the front nine seem to just be walking trails with baskets. Update: Playing the course in Sept '09, I noticed that trees on several holes had been taken down making holes more reasonable.
- Need better signs and more accurate distances. Signs are barely bigger than index cards on wood markers indicating tee areas. The course is listed at 5400 ft, but based on the info on the signs, distance is only 4050. 5 holes in a row are under 200 ft- #8 - 12.
- If you get off narrow fairways almost no chance of recovering to save par.
Other Thoughts: Course is polar opposite of Park Circle. PC is about as wide open as you can get, Ashley Park is about as tight a course as there is.
- Back 9 is more open than front 9. Some holes could stand to have a few more trees cleared out to make it a bit more fair.
- Better signs are a must. They'll be built in time, which will be a huge plus.
- It's a good course with potential to be even better. Lots of holes could be longer, which will make it even more challenging.
- Favorite hole is #9, the course's signature hole. It's the most intimidating 150 foot hole I've played. Shot over water with trees along the bank making it a challenge to get near the basket. It's a minor victory to not lose a disc in the water.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

  All about finesse

5/11/2008   5/11/2008
Review By: heysoosejk
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course keeps you honest, your accuracy needs to be in top form. It takes lots of finesse shots to make it to the end in one piece.
Cons: Incredibly easy to lose a disc on some holes. I lost my favorite driver on the second hole, I'm still bummed.
Other Thoughts: Hole #9 is directly over water and people are always fishing right in mid hole, this makes it difficult to concentrate on clearing the big hazard, hence, we skipped it and just called it a par. I had already lost one disc, I wasn't making it two because of some fishing folk.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Brring Discs

3/16/2008   3/31/2008
Review By: mreed12
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.7 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent course to improve throwing technique. Very tight with lots of unfriendly water. Love the water holes very challenging. Several blind shots.
Cons: No arrows to inform you of where to throw or go to the next hole. Needs a lot of work before it is playable year round. This course will be a nightmare in the heat of summer, fairways are to tight for the amount of green that will be present if they do not trim it.
Other Thoughts: Good early spring and fall course! Will be a great course once they open it up a little.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.