Montevallo, AL 
University of Montevallo Share



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: DGADavid
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Great starter course, Good course to see if you can go the distance to the basket, and a lot of chances for an ace!
Cons: Not much of a challenge to play, confusing to find hole 12 and 13. course has a lot of walking in between holes. Tons of cars to hit on the first hole because it plays down the side of the gym parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Good course to build a little confidence and introduce a new player to the game. When you finish hole 11 turn to the woods on the left of the basket ( if you are facing the basket from the tee box ) and walk into the woods to tee box 12

 The Quiet Little Course That Could

1    11/27/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is perfect for a good round of casual golf. It comes into it's own by hole #8, and the back nine is very enjoyable. The course is well manicured being on a college campus, and it was virtually empty when we played. Playing here had a relaxing and peaceful silence about it that you just can't get in the big city. Baskets are in decent shape and there is plenty of parking along the rec center side.

BEST HOLE/S: #8
Cons: The course has a few technical flow problems and some unnecessary walks between tees. The tees themselves are natural and marked with a large white post with distances even though many felt off by a number of feet. I really didn't know which side to tee from, but since this isn't really a tournament caliber course it isn't a big issue.

Make sure you go left into the trees after hole #11, since hole #14 looks like the natural progression. #12 and #13 get a little boggy in the low grass. A big complaint that many veteran players might have is that the holes feel very short with few trees and only a minor water obstacle on hole #17. There are also trailers parked along #3 making this hole look like a construction site.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #2
Other Thoughts: If you are in the mood for an isolated serenity filled round of disc golf then the University of Montevallo is your place. While George Ward Park and Civitan Park (John LeMaster DGC) offer a much greater challenge and tournament caliber experience, I found this course to be very satisfying. I loved the isolated feel of holes #8 and #9 playing into a treed depression in the land making feel like I was the only person for miles. This course doesn't make you be perfect, it simply helps you relax and enjoy the game.

Birmingham has proved to have a diverse array of golf with the three courses in the surrounding areas. While the University of Montevallo ranks last among the three in overall course quality, it certainly ranks first if you like courses without a lot of players or high degree of difficulty. This isn't a destination course, but certainly one to consider if you're in for a casual round in the greater Birmingham area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Quaint Campus

1    4/2/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Montevallo is a quiet little town with a quiet little campus. The course is very solid for a small college and they use as much land as they had available. There is not a lot of elevation, but what there is is used nicely. Some baskets are perched at the edge of steep drop-offs. The course was well manicured.
Cons: The first few holes were fairly easy with few (if any) obstacles. Natural tees were extremely slippery due to rainy conditions. The town is a little bit of a drive from Birmingham and not very convenient from anywhere. One hole had unused soccer goals in the middle of the fairway which were not appealing to the eyes. There were also some navigational issues as there are no signs and few directional instructions.
Other Thoughts: This course started as a very typical open course. It didn't really jump out at me until about hole 6. Then there were some really solid design elements that came into play. The key element that added difficulty was basket placement. There were multiple holes where putts had to be carefully planned out to reduce the adverse effects of a "blow-by". If I went to this school I would be ecstatic to have a course like this on campus.

Last thing that I will mention is very odd but I distinctly remember. While we were driving around campus looking for the course, we noticed that no one at this school was smiling. They didn't even look melancholy. Everyone had a scowl on their face...and it was Friday! We thought that perhaps Fridays meant something disgusting in the school cafeteria or something else terrible. I am not sure, but in any case I would not be frowning with access to a disc golf course like this.

This is a slightly above average course to me. It is probably not worth driving 500 miles to play, but if you live in Birmingham or happen to be passing through, it is worth the stop.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 montevallo

1    10/12/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: wdemick
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: short holes have challenging pin positions,nice layout, quick play
Cons: too many wide open holes
Other Thoughts: overall I like this course and will return though I prefer more wooded layouts.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.