Montevallo, AL 
University of Montevallo Share



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
beginner friendly

2-4    3/16/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good baskets, beginner friendly, not crowded either day I was there. well maintained.
Cons: Dirt tee pads which are quite "worn" on most holes. Course holds water in several places which could potentially make some holes unplayable after rain. signage is fairly non-existent. Too many wide open holes.
Other Thoughts: It's not a bad course and it has potential but it needs work. The navigation is ok but after #11 you have to go through some bushes to the next hole with no sign and #14 is in plain site so the natural assumption is that it is the next hole. Some signs would definitely be a plus. The layout flows ok but a lot of the holes are just completely out in the open. There are some woods there that are used for a couple of holes but I certainly feel like they could have put a few more holes either in the woods entirely or at least tucked some baskets into the edge of the woods. Nice little course to play if you are nearby but I wouldn't go out of my way to play there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not a destination but pretty

1    10/6/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: rhynoman
Played: 26  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Several nice, easy, recreational holes.
*Great if you live on campus or in Montevallo
Cons: *Not much in the way of design
*Long walks between several holes
*No teepads
*Confusing layout and lack of directions
*Not worth going out of your way to play if you're not in the area.
Other Thoughts: To me, this course suffers from a lot of not really knowing what it wants to be. The back holes play really nice as simple recreational holes, as do the first two, but there's a middle section with longer holes that are mostly wide open. These holes offer little in the way of obstacles which would force any kind of shot management besides "just kill it in the general direction of the basket".

I enjoyed the simpler holes for a casual game, especially since I played it with my 12-year-old daughter. It's a pretty area to have a little disc golf course. However, holes 3 thru 7 were super tedious in full sun, and from hole 3's basket you can basically see what you're in for. They just zig zag in front of you with no variation.

The course finally turns into the woods at hole 8 I think, but there's not much made of it in terms of design. The hole is straight and short, down the hill. Even if you "overthrow", it's just going to hit the opposing hillside for an easy putt. The basket could have been at least placed around the corner a bit.

The rest of the course is a nice recreational course that's not too long in a setting of partial woods which is very pretty.

The design elements which *do* add subtle interest to this course all favor RHBH throwers. For the price of *lunch*, I would imagine someone from the university could probably get a local Birmingham pro to come out and stick some markers in the ground for some new pin placements and tees on some of these holes and vastly improve it. A little concrete...move a few baskets...

Hole 3's basket should probably be placed to make use of the wooded area on the right, either nearer to it or actually in the woods somewhat. You'd automatically have a hole that turns right for a change and add some shot placement decisions to one of these wide open holes.

It would also help a lot to have the course go into the woods after a couple of holes in the open area instead of having to play four of them in a row. Then, maybe move a couple of baskets to bring the road OB or woods into play and to add variation which doesn't favor RHBH.

If the long section wasn't quite as long or didn't have as much walking between holes, I would consider this a nice recreational course to take the wife and kids. But because of the above mentioned reasons and considering that Inverness or George Ward are almost as close, I probably won't make it back.

However, if I was in college at Montevallo I would play every day. I wonder if I would have ever passed my classes with disc golf so nearby. I think that, with a few tweaks, this course could improve a lot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Easy Course

5+    7/5/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Not crowded
*Enjoyable
*GREAT CHANCE FOR AN ACE
Cons: *Not well thought out
*Not really any actual tee pads
*Not technical at all
Other Thoughts: Get ready to unleash your driver! Unless you live in the Birmingham area or close by, I wouldn't plan to make a stop here for disc golf when there is much better out there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 not very challenging

1    11/23/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: DrumPhil
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes, beginner friendly, decent practice course, well mowed grass, easy walking
Cons: only two or three holes had any kind of obstacles, wide open, dirt tees get muddy, no concrete tees, not much challenge, almost every hole gives an advanced player a good chance for birdie.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/25/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: Justin L
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained beginner friendly disc golf course set in a beautiful college campus backdrop. While advanced and open level golfers will find it lacking in challenge it can still provide an enjoyable round and get you some solid mid-range practice. The course designer did a nice job of providing an introductory level disc golf course that has some potential to be lengthened in the future.
Cons: Most players don't mind natural tees, but some tees at this course are unlevel for no apparent reason. Hole #14, the longest hole on the course has a downhill teeing surface. By backing this tee up 50' this problem could have been eliminated. Other minor cons include some course flow issues and lack of benches.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunatly this course has limited potential to rise to a higher level due to the lack of trees and technical terrain. It's still an enjoyable course in a beautiful college setting. It's definitely worth a play, just for the mid-range and putting practice!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: DGADavid
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Great starter course, Good course to see if you can go the distance to the basket, and a lot of chances for an ace!
Cons: Not much of a challenge to play, confusing to find hole 12 and 13. course has a lot of walking in between holes. Tons of cars to hit on the first hole because it plays down the side of the gym parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Good course to build a little confidence and introduce a new player to the game. When you finish hole 11 turn to the woods on the left of the basket ( if you are facing the basket from the tee box ) and walk into the woods to tee box 12

  Fun little course

1    2/15/2010   2/15/2010
Review By: widjit
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great technical couse with lots of elevation change and many chances to ACE. not alot of trees but the use of the elvation makes up for it, and the times that there are trees the holes are pretty technical.
Cons: not alot, tee pads would be nice, and got lost like every one else on between 11 and 12.
Other Thoughts: fun course worth the trip from birmingham or montgomery

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 simple and enjoyable

1    12/11/2009   12/12/2009
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well-used but uncrowded course. I can point out a lot of negatives (see below), but they are mostly ways to improve an enjoyable course rather than things that detract. The course is very well mowed and litter free with a relaxed atmosphere.

Even though there are no signs, the course has decent flow; the white tee-marker poles are numbered and easy to follow (with the exception of #3 & #12). Most of the pins are cleverly placed on or near inclines or in trees to add some challenge. There are two or three long, open holes where you can empty your bag of drivers, which is always fun. And the course wraps neatly around the student activities center so that you are never too far from restrooms or water. The open fairways mean easy recovery shots, but the use of inclines and OBs around the pin do lend the course some risk/reward intrigue. Both make the course a little more enjoyable if not difficult.
Cons: Despite the quality pin placements, the fairways themselves are wide, straight, and obstacle-free with the exception of the very cool (if very short) #11. Even the two fairways in the woods (#8 & #9) feel like open fairway shots on most courses. Where the fairways do bend slightly, they bend in the favor of RHBH throws. There are no signs, benches, or garbage cans (though, as noted litter was not much of a problem). The tees are just dirt patches next to the tee marker poles which can quickly become slippery mud, and cars were parked in the middle of #6's fairway. While there are a few holes that allow you heave your diver, holes #1 and #2 (plus a few others) are so short, straight, and flat, they aren't really fun. The quality picks up with #3, but the first two could benefit from a redesign.

The major con is, however, that we encountered standing water and/or mud (sometimes ankle deep) on 12 of 18 holes. Judging from the footprints, it looks like most of those sloggy areas are standard components of the course. Take away the muddy fairways and slippery tees, and I would rate this course a point higher; it was a significant problem.
Other Thoughts: When you finish #11, follow the little path that appears to enter the woods. We didn't and ended up playing #14 out of order.

This is a recreational course. There are too many short, open holes for advanced players. However, if you're out on a sunny, dry day with friends, take an hour and play Montevallo, it'll be enjoyable.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Quiet Little Course That Could

1    11/27/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is perfect for a good round of casual golf. It comes into it's own by hole #8, and the back nine is very enjoyable. The course is well manicured being on a college campus, and it was virtually empty when we played. Playing here had a relaxing and peaceful silence about it that you just can't get in the big city. Baskets are in decent shape and there is plenty of parking along the rec center side.

BEST HOLE/S: #8
Cons: The course has a few technical flow problems and some unnecessary walks between tees. The tees themselves are natural and marked with a large white post with distances even though many felt off by a number of feet. I really didn't know which side to tee from, but since this isn't really a tournament caliber course it isn't a big issue.

Make sure you go left into the trees after hole #11, since hole #14 looks like the natural progression. #12 and #13 get a little boggy in the low grass. A big complaint that many veteran players might have is that the holes feel very short with few trees and only a minor water obstacle on hole #17. There are also trailers parked along #3 making this hole look like a construction site.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #2
Other Thoughts: If you are in the mood for an isolated serenity filled round of disc golf then the University of Montevallo is your place. While George Ward Park and Civitan Park (John LeMaster DGC) offer a much greater challenge and tournament caliber experience, I found this course to be very satisfying. I loved the isolated feel of holes #8 and #9 playing into a treed depression in the land making feel like I was the only person for miles. This course doesn't make you be perfect, it simply helps you relax and enjoy the game.

Birmingham has proved to have a diverse array of golf with the three courses in the surrounding areas. While the University of Montevallo ranks last among the three in overall course quality, it certainly ranks first if you like courses without a lot of players or high degree of difficulty. This isn't a destination course, but certainly one to consider if you're in for a casual round in the greater Birmingham area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/28/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course sits on nice land that is primarily used for disc golf. The course is mostly open with isolated trees as obstacles, nice lush grassy fairways, some length, and some use of elevation. Water (small creek) in play on 17 and 18. There are several really nice holes here that are fun and challenging to play.

Even though it was on a campus, no parking permits/permission were required. There is a large lot between the student center and hole 1 that appeared to open parking for all.
Cons: There are no teepads of any kind. Just a white post in the ground, so you pretty much just end up just making your own tee on every hole. Navigation was a little tricky with no tee signs or maps available or numbered baskets.

Some of the holes were not that great- some were just a basket in an open field- not really a course in my opinion. One hole had a couple of old semi-trailers in the middle of it which was kind of ugly. Another hole had soccer nets surrounding the basket, which made for a challenge, but is probably not normally part of the course!
Other Thoughts: The course is located on an outer corner of campus surrounding the student rec. center. Everyone here kept to themselves and barely seemed to notice we were from out of state playing disc golf. We had the course to ourselves.

It is quite possible that this course used to only have 9 holes and 9 more came later, as there is a stretch in the middle that seem forced, but the last few holes were really good.

This is a nice course if you happened to go to college here, but definitely not a championship caliber course. I would not recommend going out of your way to play here, especially since Birmingham has a couple of really nice courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.