Morganton, NC 
Bethel Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #3 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 C- = below average for a 9-holer

1    5/21/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2009
5 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Bethel Park DGC Review 1

5+    10/22/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: billtvshow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are very solid standard Innova baskets with yellow tops.
-Course is marked pretty well and generally easy to follow.
-Scorecards are occasionally provided in the box next to the first tee.
-Morganton's first disc golf course: gets more people into the game.
-Very good beginner course: holes are open for people with less refined throws, but also has some holes with trees as obstacles to give them a taste of how more difficult courses feel. It also has a combination of flat, uphill, and downhill holes to add to the variety. They have also provided recreational pars for each hole, though experienced players will usually consider all of the holes here to be Par 3's.
-The park is typically mowed weekly to bi-weekly. On occasion the grass gets a few inches high, but it is generally very well kept.
Cons: -Pads: The tee pads, while concrete, are very small and you will notice that many players throw from beside of the tee pads instead.
-Interference: Besides the foot traffic on the walking track, you will sometimes encounter soccer (1, 6, 7) & basketball games (8) near or in the playing area.
-Repetitive holes: 1, 5, 7, 8, and 9 all feel relatively similar and the majority of the course is very, very open. Even the wooded holes can be navigated with relative ease.
-Challenge: Overall, when compared to most disc golf courses that I've played, this course is a walk in the park, excuse the pun. If you desire challenge, this is not the course for you.
Other Thoughts: Least Favorite Hole: It has to be #7. It's the most bland hole on the course; completely wide open.
Favorite Hole: It used to be #8 when there was a lightpole directly in the middle of the line to the hole (they removed it, d'oh!), but now I would have to say #3. It has the most character of any hole. You can throw through a few small gaps in the trees to cut a lot of distance off of the hole (huge risk-reward shot) or you can throw out to the right (safe shot) and take the longer approach up the mildly wooded steep hill.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/28/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open course with decent length lets you really unleash some throws. Park has plenty of open space to practice throwing.
- 4 of 9 holes are over 300 feet. Average hole length is more than 280.
- Easy course to navigate, except for #3 (see below). Course flows well, has tee signs and good baskets.
Cons: Course has almost no obstacles. Trees really come into play on holes 2 - 4. There's a creek and overgrowth left of hole #1. It's wide open on the right, so that shouldn't even come into play.
- Course is monotonous with 4 wide open holes (1, 5, 8, 9) all between 270 - 340. You're essentially playing the same shot on these holes.
- The hole layout for #3 was confusing. When you're on the tee, the only basket you see is for #8. There's an arrow pointing to the left, which I wrongly thought meant a mando left. Turned out, the arrow is pointing up the hill toward the basket. If the tee sign had a hole layout, it would fix any confusion.
Other Thoughts: It's a good 9 hole course. 9 hole courses tend to be more for the recreational player than the serious one, and that's true for this course.
- My favorite hole (and the only challenging hole) is #3. It's a sharp dogleg up a hill. It plays longer that its distance and takes a couple good shots to get par.
- It was encouraging to see several other people playing the course on a hot, muggy afternoon. The area really could use another course closer than Glenn Hilton Park in Hickory, which is about 30 minutes away.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.