Colorado Springs, CO 
Cottonwood Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: J.Kasm Hole #1 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 363ft.   3 / 363ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Basket in the thick grove of trees to the right.



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Great play, but somewhat dangerous

5+    4/3/2015   8/31/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 48  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 23.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Super fun course with some great holes
-Pretty challenging for a public park course
-Good tee signs showing all the possible basket placements
-Baskets and teepads are very well kept up
-Decent variety of shots needed to weave through the trees and take the various doglegs
Cons: -Despite there being trash cans every four holes, there is trash everywhere INCLUDING broken glass!
-LOTS of crossing fairway's. My group and one other player were the only ones on the course, and we still almost got nailed by wayward discs
-No indication of which basket was active, and some of the baskets were not labled leading to scouting missions on every hole
-Even with the map, we got a little lost trying to find the tee for the 8th hole. Lots of back and forth.
-Instead of different tees, they have different pars for pro and am. Interesting concept, but that didn't help my 7 year old daughter on the two 400 foot holes
-Local yokels think they own this course and are a huge pain to deal with in person and online. They are known for being very unpleasant to "outsiders" and "chuckers" but as long as you look like you know what you're doing, they'll pretty much leave you alone.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a lot of fun, especially the "middle 9" as there is a ton of shade and trees. I parked hole 12 for a sweet bird, but the trees are so thick it was mostly luck. Still fun to play.

With that being said, I was lucky to play on a Friday morning when there was very few players. I can imagine this place just being crazy stupid when its crowded. No way to ever do a tournament here. There have been documented injuries here from wayward discs, including pretty nasty head wounds.

If this course were redesigned to be a nine-holer, I honestly think it could be the best nine hole course in the world. That's not hyperbole, either. But as it stands, it's crowded, confusing and dangerous.



Bottom line: fun course, but go early on a weekday or go to less-crowded Widefield.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 course is tight

1    5/28/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: mtndiscs11
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good obstacles and pin placement.

Elevation changes and use of surrounding trees, bushes and vegetation is fairly top notch.
Cons: Too many people and no respect from others on the course around you.

Dangerous when you have to worry about the others behind you being so impatient that you have to duck every time you hear "four."
Other Thoughts: Should implement some sort of course rules about allowing others to completely finish a hole before the next group shoots on the same hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The potential is there, but not utilized.

2-4    7/14/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cottonwood Creek DGC is quite the interesting course. There are some things that suprise me about this course, and then some that really don't.

The course is equipped with concrete tee pads, varying in size by hole. Each tee box has a tee sign, depicting map of hole and distance to basket placements. Mach 3 baskets located at every hole have some use to them, but catch putts well. Trash cans located at about every other tee.

This course has anywhere from 3-5 basket placements for each hole, and are relocated quite often from what I understand. This can give you a different look everytime you play Cottonwood.

There is a technical aspect to the course. Some holes are fairly tight, elevation and vegitation will force certain lines, which brings a degree of difficulty and a different look on each hole. Course is not at all repititious. A mix of short and long holes.

Creek comes into play along a few holes, but would take a really arrant shot to reach.

There is a certain fun factor on this course...
Cons: ...until the people show up.

This is an extremely popular course in town. Get out early to beat the heat/crowds/wind.

The course layout could be much better. There might be some things that can't be helped, but others that should have been avoided when making the course. Hole 11 crosses hole 12, the basket(in the longest position) for 11 being fairly close to 12's tee box. Hole 16 also crosses 17. There's also some areas on the course where natural divides would help. Hole 4 drives along 1 and 3's baskets and 2's tee. Arrant shots from 4's tee could put alot of people in danger.

Tee signs could use a freshening up. Some are very hard to read. No par is listed. Basket locations have been added which are not included on the tee signs. Since the baskets are relocated so often it would be a good chance to get creative with some tee signs that can show which is the current location.

The change of positions also makes it hard to figure out where the baskets are, as its not always easy to see the baskets from the tee. A pretee walk up the fairway will be quite helpful as will playing with a local.

Try not to play this course by yourself if its your first time, there are spots of vegitation where it would be easy to lose a disc if you don't have more than one set of eyes spotting.
Other Thoughts: There is apparantly a problem with inconsiderate DGers as far as etiquitte on this course, but doesn't affect my raiting of the course.

Cottonwood offers some scenic shots, its always nice playing with the Rockies in the backdrop.

This is a fun course with some big shots, but a little crowded for my liking. Cottonwood is definately worth playing if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One and Done

1    4/2/2003   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 128  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 36.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent variety, open and relatively tight fairways, good disc control required. Great views of Pike's Peak, some elevation and length.
Cons: Crowded the day I was there, and not particularly fun for my younger daughter. We never went back.
Other Thoughts: I had heard so much about Cottonwood, but was disappointed. I though Widefield was much better, especially before they cut down all the trees on the back 9.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.