Colorado Springs, CO 
Cottonwood Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: LeewayeDiscGolf Hole #16 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 254ft.   4 / --   3 / 254ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Lots of Variety of Shots

5+    6/8/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: RDHan
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played my first full roads of disc golf at this course so it has fond memories for me. It is well laid out for such a small area and provides lots of different challenges. When I first played I always went in very early mornings so the park was not so packed though still busy. You did have to wait for pedestrians at times but not such a big deal. There is someone taking time to keep the course up because every time I played at least one of the holes was in a different position.

Tee pads are in good shape. Holes provide good challenge and a variety of shots. There was only one hole (I think it was #16) where it was not clear to me if there was a clear path to the basket (it was more like throw and pray it does not hit the myriads of trees in the way).
Cons: I recently returned to the course for a late morning round. The course was packed. Since these holes are sometimes very close to one another there was lots of shouting "four." Things were slow going as it was so crowded but that usually does not bother me. But I must say the people playing here did not show much disk golf courtesy or etiquette. There was more than one group whose conversation consisted primarily of shouting four letter words the whole course. One individual with lots of experience simply acted like they owned the course and played through everyone. He yelled at us that we were playing too slow. But of course there were groups right in front of us so he proceeded to yell at them after plowing through us. We do not mind people playing through but a simple polite request will do. Anyway, the biggest con of this course is there can be lots of traffic and the holes play very close to one another.

For first timers, finding your way around will not be that easy. But there are usually lots of people to point you the right way. With baskets changing position you sometimes have to walk down first to see where you were throwing to.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a course I would play again because of its fun and challenge. Probably the only way to solve the cons of this course would be for the city to install another good quality disc course in the immediate area. There are lots of people in the area who seem to want to get out and play.

I am giving this a 3 instead of a 3.5 only because of the fact that so many holes are just so close to one another that with the crowdedness of the course the enjoyment goes down a bit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course but busy

5+    12/25/2013   1/7/2014
Review By: CDiz001
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice course. There are many different types of shots you will have to use on this course(forehand, backhand, overhand). This is the first course I played on when I started disc golf. The upkeep of the course is great and have found this to be a fun, challenging course.
Cons: Where do I start? First, the course is next to a park and walking trail. I have noticed a lot of non disc golfers strolling through the course having no idea where there at even though there are warning signs posted about flying discs. I have found most other golfers are friendly on this course minus some who think there the best thing that ever happened to disc golf or they have no idea about proper disc golf etiquette! Also since this is the only course in Colorado Springs, it can get packed at times which makes it frustrating to play sometimes. On these days you have to have your head on a swivel here.
Other Thoughts: I really, really enjoy this course but I have found that coming here at certain times is just too crazy. Since I am becoming a regular disc golfer now, I am finding some of the other courses a better option to get away from the traffic of this course. During the warmer months, I have found this course to be a great play in the early morning or as things are dying down in the evening. Still, even after the negative things about this course I will keep playing here since it is close to home and a challenging course. It would be great if the city would add more courses since this one gets a lot of use. It may make traffic lighter at this course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

not bad given the constraints

5+    7/7/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: jlangr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course with many very-well laid out holes. The first 3 holes are great and take good advantage of the natural terrain (essentially a large "bowl"). 4 and 5 provide an opportunity to open up. From there you're challenged with a number of holes that wind through a second tree-filled bowl. 9 and 10 are good uses of different elevation--9 goes from the bowl to the plateau, and 10 back the other way.
Cons: Three of the holes (4, 5, 7) require you to wait for frequently-passing pedestrians on a walking path that runs parallel to each of these holes. Some of the more brazen players don't wait (I saw one guy confident he was throwing the other direction end up hitting an old guy on the shin), and create more ill-will by the neighborhood folks to the course and its players.

The basket for hole 17 is under the flight path of tee 10, and the tee for 18 is in the way of particularly bad throwers from 10. This area can be a bit of a traffic jam on busy days.

The guys who help run the course and keep it clean generally do a good job, but tend to get over-zealous with trying to create new basket positions. (IMO, rotating between three possible positions, clearly marked on a map, should be plenty.)

Given the dearth of courses in the area, this one's a bit too crowded most days.
Other Thoughts: It's fairly hard to lose a disc on most holes. Getting your disc stuck high in a tree is the most likely risk. You also have the potential to lose it in the very thick, swampy reeds in front of tee #3 (I lost one with a throw that sailed left from tee 2).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Head's Up

1    8/13/2012   1/13/2013
Review By: RibDaddy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging holes, creative basket placement, good use of space and one of the few courses in the Springs currently.

Back 9 has some nice shade
Cons: Loads of people and flying discs so look alive or you might get hit!

Very little shade on the front 9

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Criss Cross Circus of mayhem

1    4/9/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: Leroy
Played: 128  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has nice tee pads, almost all the holes have several trees lining fairways or blind spots to challenge you. A little bit of elevation on two or three of the holes. Decent baskets. This course is located in two bowls of sandy earth. Hole one drops into the first bowl with holes 2 and 3 also in this bowl then hole 4 skirts the river and holes 5-17 criss cross the second bowl with hole 18 leading back up the hill.
Cons: Too many holes crammed into the small area that the course is located on, thus causing fairways to overlap. A lot of the holes feel fairly repetitive in length and obstacles. Even on an early Monday afternoon the course was bursting at the seams with people. There was probably 21 different groups playing the course at once with some of the groups being 5 or 6 players. Discs constantly flying right past your head due to the tight fairways and overcrowding.
Other Thoughts: The people of Colorado Springs really seem to love their disc golf which is awesome but with half a million people and only 2 or 3 courses this place is being loved to death. This was like nothing I've ever seen in the many other courses I've played. I felt like I was in a disc golf war zone with Fore being yelled constantly and discs falling at me from all directions even when it seemed I was no where near another hole. If there were only 10 people on the course this would be a fun challenging place, but with up to 100 people on the course it becomes a demolition derby. I almost wondered if a helmet would have been a good idea. There were tee signs at each hole showing up to 4 different pin placements but with so many people you never had to guess where you were headed next. I heard that in the winter the traffic slows down so if you don't mind a little cold you might be able to relax out here. Someone on the course told me Colorado Springs is going to build 5 new courses around the city and I hope it's true because there's an overwhelming need for more of them.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but crowded

2-4    10/11/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: little oz
Played: 51  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in the heart of town. Holes 2 & 3 are fun holes in their own little nook. Requires most shots in your bag, good technical lines through most of the course. Designers did a good job with available land. Pro on site, Well maintained by the local club with multiple pin locations. Excellent, long tee pads.
Cons: The last time i played was Tuesday at noon and it was still crowded. No use playing in front of that group of 5 kids because there was a group of 3 ahead taking "smoke breaks" and in front of them was a family pushing 2 strollers through the course (which is actually cool that they play on a weekday with the family). I used the delays as a chance to pretend i was in a tournament and had to wait and think about my shots, which was good. Back 9 crosses and parallels holes a lot, leading to a lot of discs coming out of nowhere, so heads up. Navigation can be tricky
Other Thoughts: Nice course that is a victim of its own success and surrounding population density. Well worth the time to play if you are in the area. Just expect it to take 2+ hours if it's crowded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great City Park Course

1    5/13/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most technical and diverse city course I have ever played. Considering where the course is, it is almost surprising they have the ability and space for a fairly technical course. There are cottonwood trees everywhere which make up 98% of the obstacles in the park. These trees have been pruned and cut to make about 50% of the holes fairly easy, and 50% of the holes moderately hard, requiring a good amount of accuracy and placement. The course is also fairly 50/50 with long and short holes. Great course it check out in the Springs on a small plot of land.
Cons: This course was very hard to navigate as a first-timer. The signs were old and worn, and I found myself asking other park-goers where the next hole was. Finally, a few holes butt up next to a soccer field for young children, which always makes me feel uneasy about throwing a disc.
Other Thoughts: Awesome for a city course. A fair amount of thought went into the course, however it is easy to tell the course was set up around a fairly unaltered area of trees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

1    4/22/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of long and short technical shots. Great use of trees on most holes. Holes #1-3 are sweet.
Cons: We ended up skiping a hole because we missed it due to the signage. The course gets crowded quickly. You will most likely have some beginners throwing plastic on you.
Other Thoughts: It is a bummer that Denver metro can't figure out this is the way to lay-out a park setting course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mass Confusion

5+    3/12/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Fishy
Played: 50  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a few things going for this course, if you haven't played it in a week the pins will probably have changed. Has a very good selection of shots from doglegs to a couple of wide open throws to some skill shots. Blind shots abound, when in doubt look at the sign, the sticker is usually in the correct spot.. that being said..
Cons: half the signs are illegible and even with a sticker if you are new it's just a sticker on a sign. Even knowing where the tees are its a chore sometimes to determine where you should throw at. Get here early if you want a good experience, it is seriously overcrowded. Between the people that all seem to have a prescription for medical cannabis and the other people with no discing manners it can get dangerous and irritating to play.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course with plenty of pin placements to keep it interesting. The local disc seller, Kurt, also acts as a lost and found for discs,(I have left a few with him at their owner's request). There seems to be multiple people with keys to the pins so they change regularly, sometimes daily.
It's a clusterf@*k most afternoons and should be avoided, there always seems to be parties of 6 or more wandering the course.. People walking their dogs, and on Sunday I have noticed a guy with a bicycle riding through the course and running his bike up hills (seems like a nice enough guy, just entitled like most bike riders).
You hear "Fore" so much you tend to ignore it as background noise even after almost getting hit. I have been thrown on by not just the inconsiderates but by the "pro's" as well.
Sunday morning is league here.
All this being said this is my least favorite course in the Springs area unless I can get here before the crowds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, unique, but not impressive

1    10/18/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: passteve
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Unique setting with altitude changes. Very technical.
Cons: Very tight and hard to follow. We got lost several times. The signs are faded or vandalized so you're basically on your own.
Other Thoughts: Needs some upkeep to bring this course back to impressive status. It was fairly busy when we were there but it can be very confusing for first-timers with lack of signage.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.