Colorado Springs, CO 
Cottonwood Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: J.Kasm Hole #1 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 363ft.   3 / 363ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
colorado springs vacation

1    6/8/2015   7/3/2015
Review By: dooditsmealfredd
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: I enjoyed the fact that they had multiple pins, u could play the hole over a time frame and if they did it right you could have variance. The pond in 2 and 3 was interesting, the back 9 had some nice tight shots, and a few real fun tee locations.tons of friendly helpful people.
Cons: The tee signs really didnt give enough information, i feel like as an out of towner they didnt really design it flowingly, and without knowledge of what pin was where it slowed the game down a lot.
Other Thoughts: i feel like this would be a 4 for me if they had actually done the sign posts better. experts may avoid this course as most of the holes are short.

A nice challenging course

1    6/21/2015   7/1/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 320  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has good shot variety with both dog leg L and R holes accounted for.
The tees are plenty long allowing for a proper run up.
Signage is adequate and there were benches on or next to several holes.
Multiple pin placements to keep things from getting stale and providing you with a different look.
Water threat on holes 2 and 3 add to the challenge of the round.
There are tunnel shots and low ceiling shots here as well.
There are also a couple of open holes, 1,4, and 9 come to mind.
This course uses the available trees very well. This makes for some fun golf shots.
Cons: This course will get crowded so if you don't like to wait on others you might make different plans. The walking path comes into play on a few holes, 4 and 5 in particular.
Back tracking from 1's basket to 2's tee was a tad lengthy.
Also the fairway for holes 2 and 3 were wet upon my visit so it may or may not be upon your visit. I don't know how deep it was so I layed up and played it safe. There was still plenty of fairway to work with but some players might not care for this. There is a pallet bridge to help you get to 2's basket and back over to 3's tee so that a good thing.
Being as some holes are close to each other you could possibly hit or be hit by a disc. If you pay attention to your surrounding you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: This is a quality course that gets a lot of play. The shot variety is excellent and will make you focus on your accuracy. There are just enough trees to make you shape your shots, but it isn't so tight that you should be frustrated with your round.
I really enjoyed my round here and if you like a good, solid course that provides a good challenge then you will enjoy this course.
Be patient or arrive early as this course will fill up fast.
I would play this course again if I ever get back out to Colorado Springs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

5+    12/2/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: EricBasile
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good course with weekly changes to the basket
hard to lose a disk
right next to a big field that you can warm up on
Cons: Entirely too much traffic going through this place. Some times i have to wait for like 15 minutes each hole because slow people or a bunch of people jogging in the line of fire.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for less traffic i would suggest you take a drive of just hit up wide field instead.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Creek!!

5+    7/7/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the course I started at so I have pro's for days on this one, but I'll keep it short. This course wraps around the back side of open soccer fields. It has some smooth elevation changes to give you a chance to really bomb one. The back nine really tighten up with trees and narrow gaps to shoot through. 17 is by far the grandaddy of this course. You are shooting from the roadside back down into a lower area with the basket sitting up on a mound. The mound can pose a challenge depending on where you land, but it still makes for a great hole. 16 is a tough one, throwing up toward the tee at 17. It stretches across an open area and the tree gap starts way late in the throw.
Cons: Some of the ppl you will find here just havent figured out that there are trash cans every few holes so you will find alot of bottles and crap laying around. Lines can get long here as well since its the only course up on the north end of town.
Other Thoughts: From beginners to experts, this course has a little for everyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Terrain For A Course!

1    7/19/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 720  Reviewed: 671  Exp: 37.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the land on which this course is built. It's a mix of dry high desert scrub area, scattered cottonwood trees, some area that could be swampy after rains and mixed brush throughout. There is a very little bit of elevation (hole # 1) and a large drainage canal comes into play on 2-3 holes. There are benches on most holes, lots of shady places to get out of hot sun, nice concrete pads and older but functunal signs. The course is recreational challenging without killing you. The lines are fair although I did find many of the baskets were hard to spot off the tee. I was lucky to be guided by a local so navigation wasn't an issue although I can see how it would be for the first timer. I was also informed just how crowded this course can get. As the holes are packed in here fairly tight, I could see some issues with discs flying about.
I saw many examples of the work that has been done by people such as steps built, elevated teebox with railroad ties as support and all the benches to rest on.
Cons: I would venture a guess and say with all the use this course gets and the way that this many holes are squeezed into this small area, that safety might be a major concern for some. Although it wasn't that busy the day I played, my guide and playing partner grip locked a drive that landed on another teebox.
Navigation would be an issue for those playing it for the first time. I didn't notice a lot of litter lying about.
Other Thoughts: I love it when courses get this much love and use. This course is a gem and Colorado Springs is lucky to have it. Take care of it by packing out your trash. Don't abuse it and help out when you can.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lumberjackin' it ..

1    5/27/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: SMTouton86
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Great course, very technically based shots with a few distance ones. Well thought out and clearly marked at the tee-off pads where your baskets can be ( has the ability to have basket in 1 of 4 places per hole ). Trees make for interesting curve shots, or you're just going to be lumberjackin' it for most of the course.
Cons: Poorly placed walking trail makes for a slower pace as I'm a RHFH thrower, my discs tend to curve towards said trail, so I have to be very careful. Parking alittle confusing initially as I neglected to look the course up in detail. GET THERE EARLY, place is very popular for both joggers/bikers and Frolfers.
Other Thoughts: I will definitely be going back, and the challenge makes for a fun day.

 Good Home Course

5+    7/15/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: Kytus
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great mix of shots at Cottonwood. Something for everyone. Multiple Pin placements that change about every 2-3 weeks.

Benches are located on many tee pads if you wanna take a break, and there are trashcans throughout the course so you don't have to lug your garbage in your bag.

3-4 Holes are wide open with decent range. I think the longest hole is 540+ft.

Some tight wooded shots present great ace opportunities.

The course makes excellent use of the land it's on. The course has a wide range of terrain types:

Wide open dry fairways.
Tees in swampy reed areas
Dense brush
Low brush mature growth trees.

Rating the course itself on it's own merits and that alone. This is a decently technical course that offers good things for righty's and lefties.

I feel around half the holes require you to think about almost every shot you'll take.

And as an update:
All Tee signs have recently been replaced with high quality new pin placement maps and distances. The local pro shop guy Kurt went the extra mile and screwed down plexiglass over them to help against weathering and vandalism.

The course has a new sign with a great map detailing the layout and flow of the course.
Cons: The initial course design maximized the space they had, leading to some holes playing over each other.

Example:

Hole 6 tee is very close to and faces hole 9 tee. And throws right up on the tee for hole 7.

Hole 7 tee is very close to and faces hole 8 tee, and throws very near the 7 teepad.

Hole 8 tee pad is very close to and faces the 7 teepad, and 8 throws straight up the fairway at the tee pad for hole 9.

These 4 holes present MANY opportunities to be hit when there are less than considerate golfers present. So keep an eye out.

The entire north side of the course borders cottonwood creek, which while cool, has a bike/jogging path along it's perimeter. So many times you might accidentally be throwing near non players.

This path is the OB line, so most experienced golfers know where to toss. However and errant shot can land on the path near folks.
Other Thoughts: Remembering you are sharing the perimeter of the park with non DGers. Be courteous and check before you throw when near any paths.

I didn't want to list this as a CON because it's not a design fault of the course.

This place is wicked popular and smack dab in the heart of a super populated area in the city. It is busy at almost every time of day.

There are leagues there almost every day that start at varying times through the year. The earliest appears to be 445pm.

So the league play on top of non leaguers playing at almost anytime of day means super busy course.

Some folks are young and inexperienced or just don't care and don't call FORE or HEADSUP on tosses.

If you can get by the crowds, or find non crowded times, this course is a dream.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Cottonwood

5+    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Kilo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -Lots of different hole placements
-Elevation changes
-Foliage challenges
-Large Tee Boxes
-Location!
Cons: -Crossing fairways
-Young and Inconsiderate disc golfers
+Dirty
-Confusing if never played before
-Narrow
Other Thoughts: This is my main course and I've only played two other courses.

 looking for a dics

5+    8/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Big Gun
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight, and long. You can par here, but it is tight. lead changes often. Disc pro shop dude on sight usually
Cons: packed, you can get there at 9am and there's 20 plus on the coarse
Other Thoughts: my favorite spot for the night discs. Don't but the night disc, get the light up beacon for yours

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I'd rather be @ Cottonwood than Hollywood!

5+    7/15/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: SeanMeacham
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pros definitely outweigh the cons on this course. I love the different feel and layout you get with different groupings of holes. Holes 1 you are throwing from top of a rock face down to a basket tucked away in the trees (depending on the ever changing pin positions). Holes 1-3 are challenging as you have to weave your way around trees and sometimes the long grass.....if your disc goes rouge. Holes 4-7 are played along the river (sometimes stream depending on the rainfall) and offer a mix of short to medium throws. Hole 9 is a nice long uphill throw back to the top of the plateau...great for a good rip! The back nine here is my favorite part of the course. You have the chance to use every shot in your bag because of all the variance. Especially because of all the hard work that goes into changing the baskets. You start hole 10 with a long huck that has to maneuver through a gap about 30 feet wide, with the basket either in the middle of the field or long...under a tree (par on this hole location feels great!). As you wind your way through the back nine you have a spectacular view of Pike's Peak...which is always nice to look at after a bad shot and remind yourself to relax. I find it hard to list all of the pros of this course, but going back to the basket placements is high on my list. I don't know who is always out changing them, but amazing job! There are at least three different locations on every hole, with many new locations sprouting up as the summer months pass. This is part of the reason I love playing here so much! You come out one day and get a totally different course the next...kudos to the guys that take care of the placements.
Cons: I hate to list the cons because I love this course so much. With that said....ALL OF THE PEOPLE ALL OF THE TIME and most of the people out, are in groups of 8 and really stink! When you have a group over 4, look around and see if you are holding the course up and let groups play through! You would be amazed how many people out here don't understand this concept. THROW YOUR TRASH AWAY, AND STOP BREAKING YOUR GLASS BOTTLES EVERYWHERE! Having a dog that I love to bring discing, this course is dangerous due to all of the broken bottles from the misled youth. Another con...is all of the holes seem to criss cross each other....so keep your head on a swivel!
Other Thoughts: There is a great disc vendor named Kurt who is just off hole 1 most days. Super nice guy and has a great variety of plastic. He also sells beverages if need be. I always try and buy any new disc from him...and if he doesn't have what you are looking for, he will normally get it for you within the week!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.