Colorado Springs, CO 
Cottonwood Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: LeewayeDiscGolf Hole #16 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 254ft.   4 / --   3 / 254ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course in the Mountains

1    8/8/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A good 18 hole course
- A variety of changes; elevation, and challenges (water hazards, trees for hyzers and anhyzers)
- Distances aren't too challenging with only one hole (9) that is over 400, but the rest of the holes can be completed with normal mid-ranges, putters or even fairway driver.
- Pins for the baskets change constantly
- Each hole has good cement pads
- Along with the good pads are the signs explaining the hole set up and where the basket is relevant to the pad.
- Baskets are in good conditions too
Cons: - Pin placement can be confusing when they move them constantly
- It can be crowed a lot of the time by players
- Hole 4 can be a pain if you throw too hard due to the hill
- The swamp on hole 3 can be annoying, you can lose your disc too easily
- There is a lot of action going on in the park; bike riders, people jogging and running. Just mind them and hope they mind you and it will be fine.
Other Thoughts: OVERALL: the course is great, being my second course played out here, I really enjoyed the challenge and the view once again. The course was great and the changes made this a course to remember! It doesn't cost anything to play and the people are nice, not too crowed when I went to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cottonhood Creek

5+    10/7/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: Bmfindley
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pin placement constantly changing
-Elevation changes, lots of trees
-Lots of different shots required
-Since the course is in a valley of sorts alot of times you feel like you are in your own little world
-Benches every couple holes
-Lots of trees = Lots of shade on hot days
-Tee pads are really nice, concrete and long
-Good people, everyone always complains about "punk kids" on this course and I don't think that is the case, don't judge a book by it's cover.
-Pro shop guy almost always on site with, discs, food, drink, etc. He also does alot of upkeep on the course
Cons: -Can get a little crowded, which is especially troublesome on the back 9
-Pins change so often sometimes it is very difficult to find them, which is probably why the last reviewer said two holes were missing pins. I'm sure they weren't missing, but up a hill or behind a grove of trees or something.
-Hole 4 is a pain in the butt because a slice either way and you're all the way down a hill
-Hole maps are faded but the guy puts a sticker in the general area of where the pin is which helps
-Real easy to lose a disc in the swamp on 3.
-Also my dog loves to go into the swamp on 3 and he always ends up REEKING! If this happens to your dog I reccomend washing their feet in the creek to the right of 4, makes a WORLD of difference
-Lots of young kids use this park as a bike park, which I don't really mind, but I always feel like I am going to nail one of them in the face
-As for the walking trails and pedestrians, I don't have a problem with this, simply don't through when someone is walking or jogging on the path, pretty simple
Other Thoughts: Really love this course, try to get there at least three times a week when I can.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    7/2/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an outstanding course. If you are in Springs you need to play this course. The layout utilizes the trees perfectly. There are multiple pin placements for each hole. A perfect throw will get you a birdie on most holes. There is a good variety of long and short holes. There is no way to lose a disc on this course. On several holes you are shooting blind which adds to the difficulty. It is Colorado, but this is a relatively flat course. The course does a good job of using the small hills. I got lost but the locals were very helpful. The course is very easy to navigate.
Cons: The course is compact and several tee pads are in the danger zone. You cannot see the pin from most tee pads so I needed to scout many holes. It was not a problem after the first round. There are many other park users and I had to wait and let them pass. I played on a weekday and it was fairly crowded. Some groups were taking their time and I am sure this course is slow on the weekends/week nights. The course is mostly dirt.
Other Thoughts: How does Denver not have an urban course like this? Whoever designed the course deserves an award because they made the most out of very little. The tight fairways make it an intense experience. #1 & #2 get the ball rolling and the blind shots force you to focus on every drive.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cottonwood...my home!

5+    5/25/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Drew Heintz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 6/11/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~A beautiful course in a beautiful city
~Everything from right-around-the-tree shots, to way-back-there shots.
~Lots of trees make a nice shade in the summer sun.
~Many different variations of terrain.
~Very fun course and at the same time challenging.
Cons: ~446' is a long way for a par three! Maybe you should change hole #9 to a par 4!
~Stupid punk kids that do not know how to play disc golf and ignore all the considerations of other players.
~Beer bottles that losers seem to like to break. USE THE TRASH CANS!!!
This is a beautiful park, stop messing it up!
Other Thoughts: I grew up playing this course. Ever since my high school days in 1993 till now, I use this course to rate other courses with. This is a tough course for anyone, I don't care who you are! At the same time though, if you do happen to not be playing your "A" game, its ok! It has such a relaxing and pleasant atmosphere, you will soon forget about your bad shot. From launching your disk as far as you can throw, to tightly weaving your disc through the forest. From utilizing your tomahawk throw, to putting in an easy shot. This course is definately fun! As far as all the people complaining about too many people, or bees being here and ther, or its too hot, or blah blah blah. It is an outdoor course so yes, you do have to deal with nature. Also it is quite a fun and popular course so if you do not want to deal with a lot of people, don't go at the busiest times! The world does not revolve around you! I guarantee you will have fun!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    2/16/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: coonmanx
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 31 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course and it presents a lot of different shots. We have multiple pin positions so the course plays different every week. Good mix of short, long, hyzer and anhyzer shots. Lots of different looks.
Cons: Losers who want to trash the course. We have to self-police the place because there are too many people who just come out to get drunk, high, etcetera and trash the place. But I guess that happens everywhere. The signs that the club bought suck and have been stripped of the vinyl stickers. Play with a local or scout the shot before throwing.
Other Thoughts: Even though we have to put up with some idiots, this is still a great course. As I said, we try to keep things fresh weekly. Be considerate and watch out for others and you will enjoy Cottonwood!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cottonwood

5+    7/16/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: The Crit Piece
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I recently moved back to colorado springs and this time up north. Im about a 10 minute drive away from this place so its my current home course. I really enjoy this course because every time I go the pins are in a different place. Im a pretty average player so this course offers a strong challenge for me without getting overly difficult. There are a lot of blind shots which add a fun change of pace. Beside what is better than leaning a blind shot up against the pin? This course is very well taken care of. Lots of trees add a challenging element. I usually play with the kid below me (Sean) and another couple of buddies. We always have a great time here and have met a lot of cool regulars we like to play with. Great place for dogs and people actually seem to pick up after them here which is a nice change of pace. The back 9 offers some very challenging holes for all skill levels in heavily wooded areas and a couple longer holes. Just make sure you aren't playing too late as 14 and 15 are so shaded they are pretty dark even during the day.
Cons: The main con here is the fact that you are constantly crossing holes and you really have to be alert or you might hit someone or get hit. A lot of inexperienced players can wonder around and Ive witnessed a few people get drilled but I wont name any names..... sean (not at all his fault) There can be a ton of trash around at times which just makes me sad. Its pretty clear that young kids use this place to sneak off and mess around with alcohol and such at night. Past the issue of overall ambience, the broken glass makes things dangerous for dogs and people wearing sandals and the occasional moron who insists on going barefoot. Never a good idea but its especially bad here. There are a ton of opportunities to lose your disc especially on holes 1 and 2. There's a big area with trees and bushes that splits the two holes and without fail you'll have to play past a group who lost a disc in there. Also, the rocks off to the right by the river are a graveyard so avoid it at all costs or you could end up going home without your favorite disc. There can be alot of pedestrian traffic on the path that runs on the north side of the course. These people tend to be pretty oblivious to whats going on so you need to be aware of that. Its a pretty good idea to let people know you're driving and you need to yell fore on most holes. Not a big issue but it goes a long way to keeping everyone safe. If you play here please please please try to keep your groups smaller and keep up your pace because this place can get seriously crowded on most days. Us home fielders really thank you for it.
Other Thoughts: This is just a great course with great people. It can be pretty challenging at times for all levels. You'll have a great time here but just keep your ears open and your head up and swiveling

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Had A Great Time

1    4/25/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very accessible and popular course, judging by the day I was there. It is has concrete tees that are trapezoidal shaped. I haven't seen this tee box design and thought it was a nice change of pace. You know that you are in for a great hike in the park when the basket for the first hole is at least 30 feet lower than the tee. The elevation changes continue throughout the course and are a welcome change of pace from our very flat south Florida courses. I also appreciated the tee signs. There are at least 3 pin positions for every hole on the course and some have 4. Each tee sign had a sticker on the current position. This made it very easy to find the pins and navigate the course for a first time player. I also appreciated that terrain that appears to be grassless. It was a very different look and feel to the course. There is a good variety of tee shots, from let er rip to tight and technical.
Cons: Many of the tee signs were weathered and appeared to have the top layer peeled off. You could still read the shadow of the original sign, but as these age, it is going to be difficult to make them out. The course was busy on the Saturday afternoon that we were there. The back nine does tend to have traffic issues as hole cross over each other. It wasn't that big of an issue for me, but if it were any more crowded, It could definitely slow down play.
Other Thoughts: This was my second course that I got to play in Colorado Springs and I really enjoyed it. I loved the variety of shots and the elevation changes throughout the course. I had a lot of fun playing this course and wish I was able to get this kind of disc golf experience much more often.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Cottonwood Creek

5+    1/2/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: J.Kasm
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: During the summer, there is a healthy amount of shrubs and trees that provide excellent obstacles. The pin placement seems to change every couple of months or so, changing the courses difficulty. So, one day it may be too easy for those who have been playing a long time, while making it easier to master for newer players like myself. There are several holes that could be a par 4, such as Hole #3 and Hole# 16 (I think). Another reason that makes this course a 4 is its accessability. It's in the middle of the Springs and easy to find.
Cons: During the winter months, this course can become very, very muddy and wet. It recesses in a small ravine. Hole #2 tees off over a small swamp-like puddle of tall grass and mud. I've seen several discs disappear in this part of the coarse, so be careful if you play during the winter months or after a down-pour. The same applies to Holes # 15-17. They are in a seperate section of the course, but can become quite the mud-puddle as well.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course. The only other issue is the accessibility to the course allows a diverse amount of disc golf players. My friends and I have been interrupted on different occassions by other players playing through our game without permission/warning. This is a great course, but beware of players that give no regard to either rules or other players. I only mention this issue because it's happened more than once on several occassions. I'll try and get some pictures and post them when I can.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 You Couldn't Handle the Creek!

4/15/2000   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of nice elevation changes, long and short holes as well, and a massive wash for an O.B. on north end.
Cons: Some seriously long holes stand out here. Pro par of 3 a piece is a tough row to hoe due to a few of these mammoths. I suffered a neck injury that knocked me out for weeks while trying to exceed 500 ft with my drive on hole 9. A par of 3 on this hole feels like a birdie - it takes 2 long, perfect drives and a nice putt.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that I first learned on in 1996. Some great holes long and short. Several pin placements, a large layout and some exciting annual tournaments make this a very active local course. Won't ever forget you, Cottonwood! Thanks for the memories!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.