Colorado Springs, CO
Cottonwood Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: J.Kasm Hole #12 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 300ft.   4 / --   3 / 300ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun but crowded

2-4    10/11/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: little oz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in the heart of town. Holes 2 & 3 are fun holes in their own little nook. Requires most shots in your bag, good technical lines through most of the course. Designers did a good job with available land. Pro on site, Well maintained by the local club with multiple pin locations. Excellent, long tee pads.
Cons: The last time i played was Tuesday at noon and it was still crowded. No use playing in front of that group of 5 kids because there was a group of 3 ahead taking "smoke breaks" and in front of them was a family pushing 2 strollers through the course (which is actually cool that they play on a weekday with the family). I used the delays as a chance to pretend i was in a tournament and had to wait and think about my shots, which was good. Back 9 crosses and parallels holes a lot, leading to a lot of discs coming out of nowhere, so heads up. Navigation can be tricky
Other Thoughts: Nice course that is a victim of its own success and surrounding population density. Well worth the time to play if you are in the area. Just expect it to take 2+ hours if it's crowded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in the Mountains

1    8/8/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: jarnson
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A good 18 hole course
- A variety of changes; elevation, and challenges (water hazards, trees for hyzers and anhyzers)
- Distances aren't too challenging with only one hole (9) that is over 400, but the rest of the holes can be completed with normal mid-ranges, putters or even fairway driver.
- Pins for the baskets change constantly
- Each hole has good cement pads
- Along with the good pads are the signs explaining the hole set up and where the basket is relevant to the pad.
- Baskets are in good conditions too
Cons: - Pin placement can be confusing when they move them constantly
- It can be crowed a lot of the time by players
- Hole 4 can be a pain if you throw too hard due to the hill
- The swamp on hole 3 can be annoying, you can lose your disc too easily
- There is a lot of action going on in the park; bike riders, people jogging and running. Just mind them and hope they mind you and it will be fine.
Other Thoughts: OVERALL: the course is great, being my second course played out here, I really enjoyed the challenge and the view once again. The course was great and the changes made this a course to remember! It doesn't cost anything to play and the people are nice, not too crowed when I went to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Home Course

5+    7/15/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: Kytus
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great mix of shots at Cottonwood. Something for everyone. Multiple Pin placements that change about every 2-3 weeks.

Benches are located on many tee pads if you wanna take a break, and there are trashcans throughout the course so you don't have to lug your garbage in your bag.

3-4 Holes are wide open with decent range. I think the longest hole is 540+ft.

Some tight wooded shots present great ace opportunities.

The course makes excellent use of the land it's on. The course has a wide range of terrain types:

Wide open dry fairways.
Tees in swampy reed areas
Dense brush
Low brush mature growth trees.

Rating the course itself on it's own merits and that alone. This is a decently technical course that offers good things for righty's and lefties.

I feel around half the holes require you to think about almost every shot you'll take.

And as an update:
All Tee signs have recently been replaced with high quality new pin placement maps and distances. The local pro shop guy Kurt went the extra mile and screwed down plexiglass over them to help against weathering and vandalism.

The course has a new sign with a great map detailing the layout and flow of the course.
Cons: The initial course design maximized the space they had, leading to some holes playing over each other.

Example:

Hole 6 tee is very close to and faces hole 9 tee. And throws right up on the tee for hole 7.

Hole 7 tee is very close to and faces hole 8 tee, and throws very near the 7 teepad.

Hole 8 tee pad is very close to and faces the 7 teepad, and 8 throws straight up the fairway at the tee pad for hole 9.

These 4 holes present MANY opportunities to be hit when there are less than considerate golfers present. So keep an eye out.

The entire north side of the course borders cottonwood creek, which while cool, has a bike/jogging path along it's perimeter. So many times you might accidentally be throwing near non players.

This path is the OB line, so most experienced golfers know where to toss. However and errant shot can land on the path near folks.
Other Thoughts: Remembering you are sharing the perimeter of the park with non DGers. Be courteous and check before you throw when near any paths.

I didn't want to list this as a CON because it's not a design fault of the course.

This place is wicked popular and smack dab in the heart of a super populated area in the city. It is busy at almost every time of day.

There are leagues there almost every day that start at varying times through the year. The earliest appears to be 445pm.

So the league play on top of non leaguers playing at almost anytime of day means super busy course.

Some folks are young and inexperienced or just don't care and don't call FORE or HEADSUP on tosses.

If you can get by the crowds, or find non crowded times, this course is a dream.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointed

1    6/17/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: autr3518
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Disc Golf Pro on site with a grill and drinks.
Cons: The course is too busy, we had to wait behind a party of 6 or 7 and they wouldn't let us play through. The holes have different pin places however the maps at the tee are very inaccurate and do not have the current pin placement along with that half of the maps are missing and only have the stands. The course holes overlap way too much while playing all you can hear "four" being yelled so concentrating on your game is completely out of the question. The bushes and the trees are way overgrown so seeing the pin from the tee is also impossible. I will never be playing this course again and will not recommend this course to anyone.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Unsatisfied discin

1    6/17/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: ChingyChing
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Disc golf pro on site.
Cons: Map to basket layout is incorrect. Holes overlap. To many people. Trees and shrubs are overgrown. Baskets are hidden. Waiting way to long on huge parties instead of them letting you play thru. You have to back track to the tees.
Other Thoughts: I will never play this or suggest to anyone. Glad there is a course but wish we had more options.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 course is tight

1    5/28/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: mtndiscs11
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good obstacles and pin placement.

Elevation changes and use of surrounding trees, bushes and vegetation is fairly top notch.
Cons: Too many people and no respect from others on the course around you.

Dangerous when you have to worry about the others behind you being so impatient that you have to duck every time you hear "four."
Other Thoughts: Should implement some sort of course rules about allowing others to completely finish a hole before the next group shoots on the same hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great City Park Course

1    5/13/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most technical and diverse city course I have ever played. Considering where the course is, it is almost surprising they have the ability and space for a fairly technical course. There are cottonwood trees everywhere which make up 98% of the obstacles in the park. These trees have been pruned and cut to make about 50% of the holes fairly easy, and 50% of the holes moderately hard, requiring a good amount of accuracy and placement. The course is also fairly 50/50 with long and short holes. Great course it check out in the Springs on a small plot of land.
Cons: This course was very hard to navigate as a first-timer. The signs were old and worn, and I found myself asking other park-goers where the next hole was. Finally, a few holes butt up next to a soccer field for young children, which always makes me feel uneasy about throwing a disc.
Other Thoughts: Awesome for a city course. A fair amount of thought went into the course, however it is easy to tell the course was set up around a fairly unaltered area of trees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

1    4/22/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of long and short technical shots. Great use of trees on most holes. Holes #1-3 are sweet.
Cons: We ended up skiping a hole because we missed it due to the signage. The course gets crowded quickly. You will most likely have some beginners throwing plastic on you.
Other Thoughts: It is a bummer that Denver metro can't figure out this is the way to lay-out a park setting course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mass Confusion

5+    3/12/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Fishy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a few things going for this course, if you haven't played it in a week the pins will probably have changed. Has a very good selection of shots from doglegs to a couple of wide open throws to some skill shots. Blind shots abound, when in doubt look at the sign, the sticker is usually in the correct spot.. that being said..
Cons: half the signs are illegible and even with a sticker if you are new it's just a sticker on a sign. Even knowing where the tees are its a chore sometimes to determine where you should throw at. Get here early if you want a good experience, it is seriously overcrowded. Between the people that all seem to have a prescription for medical cannabis and the other people with no discing manners it can get dangerous and irritating to play.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course with plenty of pin placements to keep it interesting. The local disc seller, Kurt, also acts as a lost and found for discs,(I have left a few with him at their owner's request). There seems to be multiple people with keys to the pins so they change regularly, sometimes daily.
It's a clusterf@*k most afternoons and should be avoided, there always seems to be parties of 6 or more wandering the course.. People walking their dogs, and on Sunday I have noticed a guy with a bicycle riding through the course and running his bike up hills (seems like a nice enough guy, just entitled like most bike riders).
You hear "Fore" so much you tend to ignore it as background noise even after almost getting hit. I have been thrown on by not just the inconsiderates but by the "pro's" as well.
Sunday morning is league here.
All this being said this is my least favorite course in the Springs area unless I can get here before the crowds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, unique, but not impressive

1    10/18/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: passteve
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Unique setting with altitude changes. Very technical.
Cons: Very tight and hard to follow. We got lost several times. The signs are faded or vandalized so you're basically on your own.
Other Thoughts: Needs some upkeep to bring this course back to impressive status. It was fairly busy when we were there but it can be very confusing for first-timers with lack of signage.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.