Colorado Springs, CO 
Cottonwood Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: J.Kasm Hole #3 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 380ft.   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

1    10/15/2015   10/15/2015
Review By: djm7411
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
Pros: This is my first time playing on this course. Had a lot of fun, the tees are in good condition. Good course for all levels. A few of the holes can be technical with the trees and a few upwards hills.
Cons: A lot of people play on this course. Big groups, had to wait for groups to move on to next hole. players on almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: Really nice course for this time of the year. I had doubts because of the photos but once you get out and play on it, its a nicer course then the photos. They plan on doing upgrades in the near future for this course. Had a lot of fun playing on it.

Back in the Day

5+    8/13/2015   8/14/2015
Review By: Big_Justin
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2015
Pros: Good for different hole and shot types. Nice elevation changes.
Cons: This place has grown over crowded. Some of the pedestrians on the walking path act entitled and actively cause problems for golfers.
Other Thoughts: This was the best place to play in the late the early 2000's. It was never crowded and everyone had fun. Now with crowding and waiting, it lost its appeal. Who know what will happen with holes 4-7. Its not the same with out the threat of the creek. If the holes come back my rating would definitely go up.
UPDATE: Holes 4-7 have been returned now with better warning signed.

colorado springs vacation

1    6/8/2015   7/3/2015
Review By: dooditsmealfredd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: I enjoyed the fact that they had multiple pins, u could play the hole over a time frame and if they did it right you could have variance. The pond in 2 and 3 was interesting, the back 9 had some nice tight shots, and a few real fun tee locations.tons of friendly helpful people.
Cons: The tee signs really didnt give enough information, i feel like as an out of towner they didnt really design it flowingly, and without knowledge of what pin was where it slowed the game down a lot.
Other Thoughts: i feel like this would be a 4 for me if they had actually done the sign posts better. experts may avoid this course as most of the holes are short.

A nice challenging course

1    6/21/2015   7/1/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 344  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has good shot variety with both dog leg L and R holes accounted for.
The tees are plenty long allowing for a proper run up.
Signage is adequate and there were benches on or next to several holes.
Multiple pin placements to keep things from getting stale and providing you with a different look.
Water threat on holes 2 and 3 add to the challenge of the round.
There are tunnel shots and low ceiling shots here as well.
There are also a couple of open holes, 1,4, and 9 come to mind.
This course uses the available trees very well. This makes for some fun golf shots.
Cons: This course will get crowded so if you don't like to wait on others you might make different plans. The walking path comes into play on a few holes, 4 and 5 in particular.
Back tracking from 1's basket to 2's tee was a tad lengthy.
Also the fairway for holes 2 and 3 were wet upon my visit so it may or may not be upon your visit. I don't know how deep it was so I layed up and played it safe. There was still plenty of fairway to work with but some players might not care for this. There is a pallet bridge to help you get to 2's basket and back over to 3's tee so that a good thing.
Being as some holes are close to each other you could possibly hit or be hit by a disc. If you pay attention to your surrounding you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: This is a quality course that gets a lot of play. The shot variety is excellent and will make you focus on your accuracy. There are just enough trees to make you shape your shots, but it isn't so tight that you should be frustrated with your round.
I really enjoyed my round here and if you like a good, solid course that provides a good challenge then you will enjoy this course.
Be patient or arrive early as this course will fill up fast.
I would play this course again if I ever get back out to Colorado Springs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

ok course, VERY busy

1    12/15/2014   3/9/2015
Review By: floophy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course with decent variety of shots. Some holes have elevated pads that are fun and enjoyable. Lots of challening shots due to heavily wooded areas. good tee pads that are very long so you can get a better run up if needed.
Cons: EXTREMELY crowded. I had to use serious caution when playing at each hole because they are so close together and most cross other holes fairways. So busy when we went i was nearly hit by a few discs from other players on other holes. The course plays along side a large path that is very busy with joggers, bikers, and walkers so it is annoying to sit and wait to tee off on some holes for fear of hitting a pedestrian with a rogue drive.
Other Thoughts: Would be much more enjoyable if less crowded and hole layout was better created. Other than that the holes were fun. Bought a new disc from a traveling disc salesman who hangs out at the first hole tee which i thought was neat and convenient.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Frustrating Course

2-4    7/19/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in good shape and catch well
-Concrete tee-pads
-Nice tee-signs (they show a good layout of the hole, the distance and each pin position. (This is nice to see, the last time I played here several years ago the tee-signs were terrible so this is a big improvement).
-Multiple pin positions on each hole
-There are some nice tight fairways on this course. The tightness of the fairways on this course, force you to throw a variety of shots. Not all of the shots are straight shots, which is nice to see on a course. There are also some more wide open holes to balance out the tight holes.
-The trees were used well to define some fairways and punish bad shots.
-Some elevation change on this course. There isn't too much overall, but they use the elevation they have available pretty well.
-Benches placed throughout the course.
-Holes 14 and 15 are may favorites. They play under a canopy of cotton wood trees and are lower ceiling shots with pretty tight fairways.
Cons: -The biggest flaw of this course is it's crossing fairways. All of the holes of this course are jammed into a fairly small area. Pretty much every hole on this course interferes with another hole on this course. Fairways cross regurlarly, baskets are placed in the middle of other holes fairways. Some of the tee-pads are really badly placed and basically smack dab in the middle of other holes fairways. At times, I was afraid I would hit other people on nearby tee-pads because all of the holes are so close to each other.
-This course gets insanely crowded. Couple this with the crossing fairways and you constantly have to keep and eye out for incoming discs and other people on the fairways when throwing. It can make for a frustrating round.
-There is lots of bad erosion on this course and a lot of sand, both of these can make for some bad footing when throwing.
-There is a very busy walking path that plays right next to the fairways for holes 4 and 5 (7 to a lesser extent). The path is really close to the fairways on these holes and is a major safety issue. Keep an eye out for pedestrians when playing these holes and make sure they are out of the way before you throw.
-Navigation can be very hard at times on this course. It is not always clear which tee-pad is the next one. There are also so many baskets in one area that you never quite know which basket to throw to. The baskets aren't marked very well so that doesn't help much either.
-Some baskets blend in very well with the trees and you will be walking up some fairways to find the basket. They need a better way of marking which pin position the hole is in. It looks like they currently use circle stickers but most of the holes were missing those.
-Not a huge variety of distances. Most of the holes were between 250 and 330. And none of the holes were overly long.
-Hole 4 was a boring hole that felt like a filler hole (not to mention the safety issues on this hole). They should just remove the hole.
-Several holes (especially hole 3) were quite overgrown and you might lose a disc on one of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a very frustrating course. It has a lot of holes that are fun, but the terrible layout with crossing fairways, large crowds and the constant threat of being hit by a disc really diminish the fun factor on this course. This is good terrain for a course, but it needs to be re-designed (maybe with less holes) to take away the crossing fairways and make the course less frustrating to play. Unless you get there super early (at like 6 am or so), I would say skip this course and play one of the other courses in the area.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Lots of Variety of Shots

5+    6/8/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: RDHan
Played: 65  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played my first full roads of disc golf at this course so it has fond memories for me. It is well laid out for such a small area and provides lots of different challenges. When I first played I always went in very early mornings so the park was not so packed though still busy. You did have to wait for pedestrians at times but not such a big deal. There is someone taking time to keep the course up because every time I played at least one of the holes was in a different position.

Tee pads are in good shape. Holes provide good challenge and a variety of shots. There was only one hole (I think it was #16) where it was not clear to me if there was a clear path to the basket (it was more like throw and pray it does not hit the myriads of trees in the way).
Cons: I recently returned to the course for a late morning round. The course was packed. Since these holes are sometimes very close to one another there was lots of shouting "four." Things were slow going as it was so crowded but that usually does not bother me. But I must say the people playing here did not show much disk golf courtesy or etiquette. There was more than one group whose conversation consisted primarily of shouting four letter words the whole course. One individual with lots of experience simply acted like they owned the course and played through everyone. He yelled at us that we were playing too slow. But of course there were groups right in front of us so he proceeded to yell at them after plowing through us. We do not mind people playing through but a simple polite request will do. Anyway, the biggest con of this course is there can be lots of traffic and the holes play very close to one another.

For first timers, finding your way around will not be that easy. But there are usually lots of people to point you the right way. With baskets changing position you sometimes have to walk down first to see where you were throwing to.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a course I would play again because of its fun and challenge. Probably the only way to solve the cons of this course would be for the city to install another good quality disc course in the immediate area. There are lots of people in the area who seem to want to get out and play.

I am giving this a 3 instead of a 3.5 only because of the fact that so many holes are just so close to one another that with the crowdedness of the course the enjoyment goes down a bit.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good course but busy

5+    12/25/2013   1/7/2014
Review By: CDiz001
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice course. There are many different types of shots you will have to use on this course(forehand, backhand, overhand). This is the first course I played on when I started disc golf. The upkeep of the course is great and have found this to be a fun, challenging course.
Cons: Where do I start? First, the course is next to a park and walking trail. I have noticed a lot of non disc golfers strolling through the course having no idea where there at even though there are warning signs posted about flying discs. I have found most other golfers are friendly on this course minus some who think there the best thing that ever happened to disc golf or they have no idea about proper disc golf etiquette! Also since this is the only course in Colorado Springs, it can get packed at times which makes it frustrating to play sometimes. On these days you have to have your head on a swivel here.
Other Thoughts: I really, really enjoy this course but I have found that coming here at certain times is just too crazy. Since I am becoming a regular disc golfer now, I am finding some of the other courses a better option to get away from the traffic of this course. During the warmer months, I have found this course to be a great play in the early morning or as things are dying down in the evening. Still, even after the negative things about this course I will keep playing here since it is close to home and a challenging course. It would be great if the city would add more courses since this one gets a lot of use. It may make traffic lighter at this course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not bad given the constraints

5+    7/7/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: jlangr
Played: 40  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course with many very-well laid out holes. The first 3 holes are great and take good advantage of the natural terrain (essentially a large "bowl"). 4 and 5 provide an opportunity to open up. From there you're challenged with a number of holes that wind through a second tree-filled bowl. 9 and 10 are good uses of different elevation--9 goes from the bowl to the plateau, and 10 back the other way.
Cons: Three of the holes (4, 5, 7) require you to wait for frequently-passing pedestrians on a walking path that runs parallel to each of these holes. Some of the more brazen players don't wait (I saw one guy confident he was throwing the other direction end up hitting an old guy on the shin), and create more ill-will by the neighborhood folks to the course and its players.

The basket for hole 17 is under the flight path of tee 10, and the tee for 18 is in the way of particularly bad throwers from 10. This area can be a bit of a traffic jam on busy days.

The guys who help run the course and keep it clean generally do a good job, but tend to get over-zealous with trying to create new basket positions. (IMO, rotating between three possible positions, clearly marked on a map, should be plenty.)

Given the dearth of courses in the area, this one's a bit too crowded most days.
Other Thoughts: It's fairly hard to lose a disc on most holes. Getting your disc stuck high in a tree is the most likely risk. You also have the potential to lose it in the very thick, swampy reeds in front of tee #3 (I lost one with a throw that sailed left from tee 2).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Head's Up

1    8/13/2012   1/13/2013
Review By: RibDaddy
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging holes, creative basket placement, good use of space and one of the few courses in the Springs currently.

Back 9 has some nice shade
Cons: Loads of people and flying discs so look alive or you might get hit!

Very little shade on the front 9

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.