Colorado Springs, CO 
Cottonwood Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: LeewayeDiscGolf Hole #5
4 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A Great play, but somewhat dangerous

5+    4/3/2015   8/31/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 24.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Super fun course with some great holes
-Pretty challenging for a public park course
-Good tee signs showing all the possible basket placements
-Baskets and teepads are very well kept up
-Decent variety of shots needed to weave through the trees and take the various doglegs
Cons: -Despite there being trash cans every four holes, there is trash everywhere INCLUDING broken glass!
-LOTS of crossing fairway's. My group and one other player were the only ones on the course, and we still almost got nailed by wayward discs
-No indication of which basket was active, and some of the baskets were not labled leading to scouting missions on every hole
-Even with the map, we got a little lost trying to find the tee for the 8th hole. Lots of back and forth.
-Instead of different tees, they have different pars for pro and am. Interesting concept, but that didn't help my 7 year old daughter on the two 400 foot holes
-Local yokels think they own this course and are a huge pain to deal with in person and online. They are known for being very unpleasant to "outsiders" and "chuckers" but as long as you look like you know what you're doing, they'll pretty much leave you alone.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a lot of fun, especially the "middle 9" as there is a ton of shade and trees. I parked hole 12 for a sweet bird, but the trees are so thick it was mostly luck. Still fun to play.

With that being said, I was lucky to play on a Friday morning when there was very few players. I can imagine this place just being crazy stupid when its crowded. No way to ever do a tournament here. There have been documented injuries here from wayward discs, including pretty nasty head wounds.

If this course were redesigned to be a nine-holer, I honestly think it could be the best nine hole course in the world. That's not hyperbole, either. But as it stands, it's crowded, confusing and dangerous.



Bottom line: fun course, but go early on a weekday or go to less-crowded Widefield.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Creek!!

5+    7/7/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the course I started at so I have pro's for days on this one, but I'll keep it short. This course wraps around the back side of open soccer fields. It has some smooth elevation changes to give you a chance to really bomb one. The back nine really tighten up with trees and narrow gaps to shoot through. 17 is by far the grandaddy of this course. You are shooting from the roadside back down into a lower area with the basket sitting up on a mound. The mound can pose a challenge depending on where you land, but it still makes for a great hole. 16 is a tough one, throwing up toward the tee at 17. It stretches across an open area and the tree gap starts way late in the throw.
Cons: Some of the ppl you will find here just havent figured out that there are trash cans every few holes so you will find alot of bottles and crap laying around. Lines can get long here as well since its the only course up on the north end of town.
Other Thoughts: From beginners to experts, this course has a little for everyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Please re-design for traffic!

1    7/25/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 122  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Near some great recreational areas and resources. Google maps shows the course but the park lacks the signage to direct you to the beginning of the course. Interesting shots and variation. Skips happen often due to sand, hardpack, etc.
Cons: Very poorly designed course. Overlapping fairways, SUUUUPER busy in the afternoons, lots of vandalized baskets, markers, & signs, missing basket tags/markers, too many pin options with little or no indicator of which pin is active. All of these things and more make the course one of the worst I've played. Even the players I've run into that play the course regularly were finding themselves throwing at the wrong baskets. Individual tees are fairly challenging and enjoyable if you aren't stopping to wait for the the players ahead or behind you trying to play across. It's an 18 hole course, do you really need 4 pin options per tee? 2 pin options or alternate tees would double the pin options. If you are going to have that many, they need to be marked accordingly and in a way that can't been easily changed by players or vandalized. Warning signs should not be placed on top of other important course information. Most of the signs warned not to through if other players were visibly in the way (obvious) yet the course was so busy and there was so much overlap that I wasted over an hour just waiting for other players trying to play other tees (previous, next, several before or after). No recommended throw lines to get to each of the pin options. This is very important since most of the baskets are NOT VISIBLE from the tees. I found myself walking through stinky muddy bog because there was no indication of a recommended dog leg. If the course was re-designed to fix these things, it could be a great course.
Other Thoughts: I tried to keep the cons above related to play-ability. Some other things to be aware of; LOTS of loose sand on over 1/3 of the fairways. So many ants! Always smacking them off of my discs, bag, shoes, etc. Fortunately I didn't get bitten but it's probably inevitable if you stood still for long enough. I'm more than happy to help pick up trash and clean up a course while playing but this one is almost a lost cause. There's tons of broken glass everywhere (dangerous) and lots of small trash that will take quite a while to clean up. It's great to see a course that's so popular but I suspect that the main reason is because there aren't any other well known courses near by. Most other courses are out of the way or lesser known. I doubt I'll be playing this course again. Too much waiting and guessing and not enough playing. Until they redesign the course and fix it up again, I'd recommend looking up one of the other courses in the area to play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Terrain For A Course!

1    7/19/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 767  Reviewed: 718  Exp: 37.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the land on which this course is built. It's a mix of dry high desert scrub area, scattered cottonwood trees, some area that could be swampy after rains and mixed brush throughout. There is a very little bit of elevation (hole # 1) and a large drainage canal comes into play on 2-3 holes. There are benches on most holes, lots of shady places to get out of hot sun, nice concrete pads and older but functunal signs. The course is recreational challenging without killing you. The lines are fair although I did find many of the baskets were hard to spot off the tee. I was lucky to be guided by a local so navigation wasn't an issue although I can see how it would be for the first timer. I was also informed just how crowded this course can get. As the holes are packed in here fairly tight, I could see some issues with discs flying about.
I saw many examples of the work that has been done by people such as steps built, elevated teebox with railroad ties as support and all the benches to rest on.
Cons: I would venture a guess and say with all the use this course gets and the way that this many holes are squeezed into this small area, that safety might be a major concern for some. Although it wasn't that busy the day I played, my guide and playing partner grip locked a drive that landed on another teebox.
Navigation would be an issue for those playing it for the first time. I didn't notice a lot of litter lying about.
Other Thoughts: I love it when courses get this much love and use. This course is a gem and Colorado Springs is lucky to have it. Take care of it by packing out your trash. Don't abuse it and help out when you can.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lumberjackin' it ..

1    5/27/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: SMTouton86
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: Great course, very technically based shots with a few distance ones. Well thought out and clearly marked at the tee-off pads where your baskets can be ( has the ability to have basket in 1 of 4 places per hole ). Trees make for interesting curve shots, or you're just going to be lumberjackin' it for most of the course.
Cons: Poorly placed walking trail makes for a slower pace as I'm a RHFH thrower, my discs tend to curve towards said trail, so I have to be very careful. Parking alittle confusing initially as I neglected to look the course up in detail. GET THERE EARLY, place is very popular for both joggers/bikers and Frolfers.
Other Thoughts: I will definitely be going back, and the challenge makes for a fun day.

 Criss Cross Circus of mayhem

1    4/9/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: Leroy
Played: 151  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has nice tee pads, almost all the holes have several trees lining fairways or blind spots to challenge you. A little bit of elevation on two or three of the holes. Decent baskets. This course is located in two bowls of sandy earth. Hole one drops into the first bowl with holes 2 and 3 also in this bowl then hole 4 skirts the river and holes 5-17 criss cross the second bowl with hole 18 leading back up the hill.
Cons: Too many holes crammed into the small area that the course is located on, thus causing fairways to overlap. A lot of the holes feel fairly repetitive in length and obstacles. Even on an early Monday afternoon the course was bursting at the seams with people. There was probably 21 different groups playing the course at once with some of the groups being 5 or 6 players. Discs constantly flying right past your head due to the tight fairways and overcrowding.
Other Thoughts: The people of Colorado Springs really seem to love their disc golf which is awesome but with half a million people and only 2 or 3 courses this place is being loved to death. This was like nothing I've ever seen in the many other courses I've played. I felt like I was in a disc golf war zone with Fore being yelled constantly and discs falling at me from all directions even when it seemed I was no where near another hole. If there were only 10 people on the course this would be a fun challenging place, but with up to 100 people on the course it becomes a demolition derby. I almost wondered if a helmet would have been a good idea. There were tee signs at each hole showing up to 4 different pin placements but with so many people you never had to guess where you were headed next. I heard that in the winter the traffic slows down so if you don't mind a little cold you might be able to relax out here. Someone on the course told me Colorado Springs is going to build 5 new courses around the city and I hope it's true because there's an overwhelming need for more of them.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but crowded

2-4    10/11/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: little oz
Played: 69  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in the heart of town. Holes 2 & 3 are fun holes in their own little nook. Requires most shots in your bag, good technical lines through most of the course. Designers did a good job with available land. Pro on site, Well maintained by the local club with multiple pin locations. Excellent, long tee pads.
Cons: The last time i played was Tuesday at noon and it was still crowded. No use playing in front of that group of 5 kids because there was a group of 3 ahead taking "smoke breaks" and in front of them was a family pushing 2 strollers through the course (which is actually cool that they play on a weekday with the family). I used the delays as a chance to pretend i was in a tournament and had to wait and think about my shots, which was good. Back 9 crosses and parallels holes a lot, leading to a lot of discs coming out of nowhere, so heads up. Navigation can be tricky
Other Thoughts: Nice course that is a victim of its own success and surrounding population density. Well worth the time to play if you are in the area. Just expect it to take 2+ hours if it's crowded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in the Mountains

1    8/8/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A good 18 hole course
- A variety of changes; elevation, and challenges (water hazards, trees for hyzers and anhyzers)
- Distances aren't too challenging with only one hole (9) that is over 400, but the rest of the holes can be completed with normal mid-ranges, putters or even fairway driver.
- Pins for the baskets change constantly
- Each hole has good cement pads
- Along with the good pads are the signs explaining the hole set up and where the basket is relevant to the pad.
- Baskets are in good conditions too
Cons: - Pin placement can be confusing when they move them constantly
- It can be crowed a lot of the time by players
- Hole 4 can be a pain if you throw too hard due to the hill
- The swamp on hole 3 can be annoying, you can lose your disc too easily
- There is a lot of action going on in the park; bike riders, people jogging and running. Just mind them and hope they mind you and it will be fine.
Other Thoughts: OVERALL: the course is great, being my second course played out here, I really enjoyed the challenge and the view once again. The course was great and the changes made this a course to remember! It doesn't cost anything to play and the people are nice, not too crowed when I went to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Home Course

5+    7/15/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: Kytus
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great mix of shots at Cottonwood. Something for everyone. Multiple Pin placements that change about every 2-3 weeks.

Benches are located on many tee pads if you wanna take a break, and there are trashcans throughout the course so you don't have to lug your garbage in your bag.

3-4 Holes are wide open with decent range. I think the longest hole is 540+ft.

Some tight wooded shots present great ace opportunities.

The course makes excellent use of the land it's on. The course has a wide range of terrain types:

Wide open dry fairways.
Tees in swampy reed areas
Dense brush
Low brush mature growth trees.

Rating the course itself on it's own merits and that alone. This is a decently technical course that offers good things for righty's and lefties.

I feel around half the holes require you to think about almost every shot you'll take.

And as an update:
All Tee signs have recently been replaced with high quality new pin placement maps and distances. The local pro shop guy Kurt went the extra mile and screwed down plexiglass over them to help against weathering and vandalism.

The course has a new sign with a great map detailing the layout and flow of the course.
Cons: The initial course design maximized the space they had, leading to some holes playing over each other.

Example:

Hole 6 tee is very close to and faces hole 9 tee. And throws right up on the tee for hole 7.

Hole 7 tee is very close to and faces hole 8 tee, and throws very near the 7 teepad.

Hole 8 tee pad is very close to and faces the 7 teepad, and 8 throws straight up the fairway at the tee pad for hole 9.

These 4 holes present MANY opportunities to be hit when there are less than considerate golfers present. So keep an eye out.

The entire north side of the course borders cottonwood creek, which while cool, has a bike/jogging path along it's perimeter. So many times you might accidentally be throwing near non players.

This path is the OB line, so most experienced golfers know where to toss. However and errant shot can land on the path near folks.
Other Thoughts: Remembering you are sharing the perimeter of the park with non DGers. Be courteous and check before you throw when near any paths.

I didn't want to list this as a CON because it's not a design fault of the course.

This place is wicked popular and smack dab in the heart of a super populated area in the city. It is busy at almost every time of day.

There are leagues there almost every day that start at varying times through the year. The earliest appears to be 445pm.

So the league play on top of non leaguers playing at almost anytime of day means super busy course.

Some folks are young and inexperienced or just don't care and don't call FORE or HEADSUP on tosses.

If you can get by the crowds, or find non crowded times, this course is a dream.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointed

1    6/17/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: autr3518
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Disc Golf Pro on site with a grill and drinks.
Cons: The course is too busy, we had to wait behind a party of 6 or 7 and they wouldn't let us play through. The holes have different pin places however the maps at the tee are very inaccurate and do not have the current pin placement along with that half of the maps are missing and only have the stands. The course holes overlap way too much while playing all you can hear "four" being yelled so concentrating on your game is completely out of the question. The bushes and the trees are way overgrown so seeing the pin from the tee is also impossible. I will never be playing this course again and will not recommend this course to anyone.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center