Colorado Springs, CO 
Cottonwood Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #17
4 / 276ft.   3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 course is tight

1    5/28/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: mtndiscs11
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good obstacles and pin placement.

Elevation changes and use of surrounding trees, bushes and vegetation is fairly top notch.
Cons: Too many people and no respect from others on the course around you.

Dangerous when you have to worry about the others behind you being so impatient that you have to duck every time you hear "four."
Other Thoughts: Should implement some sort of course rules about allowing others to completely finish a hole before the next group shoots on the same hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great City Park Course

1    5/13/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most technical and diverse city course I have ever played. Considering where the course is, it is almost surprising they have the ability and space for a fairly technical course. There are cottonwood trees everywhere which make up 98% of the obstacles in the park. These trees have been pruned and cut to make about 50% of the holes fairly easy, and 50% of the holes moderately hard, requiring a good amount of accuracy and placement. The course is also fairly 50/50 with long and short holes. Great course it check out in the Springs on a small plot of land.
Cons: This course was very hard to navigate as a first-timer. The signs were old and worn, and I found myself asking other park-goers where the next hole was. Finally, a few holes butt up next to a soccer field for young children, which always makes me feel uneasy about throwing a disc.
Other Thoughts: Awesome for a city course. A fair amount of thought went into the course, however it is easy to tell the course was set up around a fairly unaltered area of trees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

1    4/22/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of long and short technical shots. Great use of trees on most holes. Holes #1-3 are sweet.
Cons: We ended up skiping a hole because we missed it due to the signage. The course gets crowded quickly. You will most likely have some beginners throwing plastic on you.
Other Thoughts: It is a bummer that Denver metro can't figure out this is the way to lay-out a park setting course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mass Confusion

5+    3/12/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Fishy
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a few things going for this course, if you haven't played it in a week the pins will probably have changed. Has a very good selection of shots from doglegs to a couple of wide open throws to some skill shots. Blind shots abound, when in doubt look at the sign, the sticker is usually in the correct spot.. that being said..
Cons: half the signs are illegible and even with a sticker if you are new it's just a sticker on a sign. Even knowing where the tees are its a chore sometimes to determine where you should throw at. Get here early if you want a good experience, it is seriously overcrowded. Between the people that all seem to have a prescription for medical cannabis and the other people with no discing manners it can get dangerous and irritating to play.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course with plenty of pin placements to keep it interesting. The local disc seller, Kurt, also acts as a lost and found for discs,(I have left a few with him at their owner's request). There seems to be multiple people with keys to the pins so they change regularly, sometimes daily.
It's a clusterf@*k most afternoons and should be avoided, there always seems to be parties of 6 or more wandering the course.. People walking their dogs, and on Sunday I have noticed a guy with a bicycle riding through the course and running his bike up hills (seems like a nice enough guy, just entitled like most bike riders).
You hear "Fore" so much you tend to ignore it as background noise even after almost getting hit. I have been thrown on by not just the inconsiderates but by the "pro's" as well.
Sunday morning is league here.
All this being said this is my least favorite course in the Springs area unless I can get here before the crowds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, unique, but not impressive

1    10/18/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: passteve
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Unique setting with altitude changes. Very technical.
Cons: Very tight and hard to follow. We got lost several times. The signs are faded or vandalized so you're basically on your own.
Other Thoughts: Needs some upkeep to bring this course back to impressive status. It was fairly busy when we were there but it can be very confusing for first-timers with lack of signage.

 Cottonhood Creek

5+    10/7/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: Bmfindley
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pin placement constantly changing
-Elevation changes, lots of trees
-Lots of different shots required
-Since the course is in a valley of sorts alot of times you feel like you are in your own little world
-Benches every couple holes
-Lots of trees = Lots of shade on hot days
-Tee pads are really nice, concrete and long
-Good people, everyone always complains about "punk kids" on this course and I don't think that is the case, don't judge a book by it's cover.
-Pro shop guy almost always on site with, discs, food, drink, etc. He also does alot of upkeep on the course
Cons: -Can get a little crowded, which is especially troublesome on the back 9
-Pins change so often sometimes it is very difficult to find them, which is probably why the last reviewer said two holes were missing pins. I'm sure they weren't missing, but up a hill or behind a grove of trees or something.
-Hole 4 is a pain in the butt because a slice either way and you're all the way down a hill
-Hole maps are faded but the guy puts a sticker in the general area of where the pin is which helps
-Real easy to lose a disc in the swamp on 3.
-Also my dog loves to go into the swamp on 3 and he always ends up REEKING! If this happens to your dog I reccomend washing their feet in the creek to the right of 4, makes a WORLD of difference
-Lots of young kids use this park as a bike park, which I don't really mind, but I always feel like I am going to nail one of them in the face
-As for the walking trails and pedestrians, I don't have a problem with this, simply don't through when someone is walking or jogging on the path, pretty simple
Other Thoughts: Really love this course, try to get there at least three times a week when I can.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Let Down

1    9/18/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: astro_man14
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Good uses of elevation changes and trees
Cons: This is the only course I have ever been extremely nervous to play. The reason for this is it is very over crowded. Numerous baskets were right next to tee pads as well as tee pads right on the edge of the fairway. There was never a time when I had less than two people in view with a concern of hitting them. There were also two pins completely missing, this was my first time through but went with a "guide".

The course is also very run down. I picked up lots of trash as I played through. Poor tee signs, most info is wore off and there was nothing to indicate what position the pin is currently at. With the amount of holes the crammed into a small place there is no signs indicating if your next tee is the one to the right or to the left or which one of the two baskets in the area your supposed to use.

  Cottonwood

5+    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Kilo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -Lots of different hole placements
-Elevation changes
-Foliage challenges
-Large Tee Boxes
-Location!
Cons: -Crossing fairways
-Young and Inconsiderate disc golfers
+Dirty
-Confusing if never played before
-Narrow
Other Thoughts: This is my main course and I've only played two other courses.

 FORE!

1    8/16/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice course with a lot of shots required. None of the holes are prohibitively long, but every one of them is tight.

Where elevation change was possible, its been used.

Good tee pads. Nice and long.

Multiple basket locations make for an easy change.
Cons: With multiple basket locations posted, tee signs are very confusing. Because many of the shots are blind, I had to run up to find the target on many of the holes.

This is a pretty hazardous course, not only for the players (as the links style creates some issues), but for the pedestrians on the crosswalk that parallels the grounds. Certainly, a shot or two that might end up near the walking path if the disc got away from you is understandable.
However, placing a pin DIRECTLY next to the walking path is a horribly misguided idea.

Someone is going to drive that hole, only to find their disc wedged into the temple of some old lady walking her dog...if it hasn't happened already.

It's a potential course killer. Meaning the first vocal pedestrian that takes a disc to the dome is going to get this course leveled.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 looking for a dics

5+    8/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Big Gun
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight, and long. You can par here, but it is tight. lead changes often. Disc pro shop dude on sight usually
Cons: packed, you can get there at 9am and there's 20 plus on the coarse
Other Thoughts: my favorite spot for the night discs. Don't but the night disc, get the light up beacon for yours

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.