Colorado Springs, CO 
Cottonwood Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: J.Kasm Hole #2 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 239ft.   3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Mass Confusion

5+    3/12/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Fishy
Played: 50  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a few things going for this course, if you haven't played it in a week the pins will probably have changed. Has a very good selection of shots from doglegs to a couple of wide open throws to some skill shots. Blind shots abound, when in doubt look at the sign, the sticker is usually in the correct spot.. that being said..
Cons: half the signs are illegible and even with a sticker if you are new it's just a sticker on a sign. Even knowing where the tees are its a chore sometimes to determine where you should throw at. Get here early if you want a good experience, it is seriously overcrowded. Between the people that all seem to have a prescription for medical cannabis and the other people with no discing manners it can get dangerous and irritating to play.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course with plenty of pin placements to keep it interesting. The local disc seller, Kurt, also acts as a lost and found for discs,(I have left a few with him at their owner's request). There seems to be multiple people with keys to the pins so they change regularly, sometimes daily.
It's a clusterf@*k most afternoons and should be avoided, there always seems to be parties of 6 or more wandering the course.. People walking their dogs, and on Sunday I have noticed a guy with a bicycle riding through the course and running his bike up hills (seems like a nice enough guy, just entitled like most bike riders).
You hear "Fore" so much you tend to ignore it as background noise even after almost getting hit. I have been thrown on by not just the inconsiderates but by the "pro's" as well.
Sunday morning is league here.
All this being said this is my least favorite course in the Springs area unless I can get here before the crowds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, unique, but not impressive

1    10/18/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: passteve
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Unique setting with altitude changes. Very technical.
Cons: Very tight and hard to follow. We got lost several times. The signs are faded or vandalized so you're basically on your own.
Other Thoughts: Needs some upkeep to bring this course back to impressive status. It was fairly busy when we were there but it can be very confusing for first-timers with lack of signage.

 Cottonhood Creek

5+    10/7/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: Bmfindley
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pin placement constantly changing
-Elevation changes, lots of trees
-Lots of different shots required
-Since the course is in a valley of sorts alot of times you feel like you are in your own little world
-Benches every couple holes
-Lots of trees = Lots of shade on hot days
-Tee pads are really nice, concrete and long
-Good people, everyone always complains about "punk kids" on this course and I don't think that is the case, don't judge a book by it's cover.
-Pro shop guy almost always on site with, discs, food, drink, etc. He also does alot of upkeep on the course
Cons: -Can get a little crowded, which is especially troublesome on the back 9
-Pins change so often sometimes it is very difficult to find them, which is probably why the last reviewer said two holes were missing pins. I'm sure they weren't missing, but up a hill or behind a grove of trees or something.
-Hole 4 is a pain in the butt because a slice either way and you're all the way down a hill
-Hole maps are faded but the guy puts a sticker in the general area of where the pin is which helps
-Real easy to lose a disc in the swamp on 3.
-Also my dog loves to go into the swamp on 3 and he always ends up REEKING! If this happens to your dog I reccomend washing their feet in the creek to the right of 4, makes a WORLD of difference
-Lots of young kids use this park as a bike park, which I don't really mind, but I always feel like I am going to nail one of them in the face
-As for the walking trails and pedestrians, I don't have a problem with this, simply don't through when someone is walking or jogging on the path, pretty simple
Other Thoughts: Really love this course, try to get there at least three times a week when I can.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Let Down

1    9/18/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: astro_man14
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Good uses of elevation changes and trees
Cons: This is the only course I have ever been extremely nervous to play. The reason for this is it is very over crowded. Numerous baskets were right next to tee pads as well as tee pads right on the edge of the fairway. There was never a time when I had less than two people in view with a concern of hitting them. There were also two pins completely missing, this was my first time through but went with a "guide".

The course is also very run down. I picked up lots of trash as I played through. Poor tee signs, most info is wore off and there was nothing to indicate what position the pin is currently at. With the amount of holes the crammed into a small place there is no signs indicating if your next tee is the one to the right or to the left or which one of the two baskets in the area your supposed to use.

  Cottonwood

5+    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Kilo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -Lots of different hole placements
-Elevation changes
-Foliage challenges
-Large Tee Boxes
-Location!
Cons: -Crossing fairways
-Young and Inconsiderate disc golfers
+Dirty
-Confusing if never played before
-Narrow
Other Thoughts: This is my main course and I've only played two other courses.

 FORE!

1    8/16/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice course with a lot of shots required. None of the holes are prohibitively long, but every one of them is tight.

Where elevation change was possible, its been used.

Good tee pads. Nice and long.

Multiple basket locations make for an easy change.
Cons: With multiple basket locations posted, tee signs are very confusing. Because many of the shots are blind, I had to run up to find the target on many of the holes.

This is a pretty hazardous course, not only for the players (as the links style creates some issues), but for the pedestrians on the crosswalk that parallels the grounds. Certainly, a shot or two that might end up near the walking path if the disc got away from you is understandable.
However, placing a pin DIRECTLY next to the walking path is a horribly misguided idea.

Someone is going to drive that hole, only to find their disc wedged into the temple of some old lady walking her dog...if it hasn't happened already.

It's a potential course killer. Meaning the first vocal pedestrian that takes a disc to the dome is going to get this course leveled.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 looking for a dics

5+    8/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Big Gun
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight, and long. You can par here, but it is tight. lead changes often. Disc pro shop dude on sight usually
Cons: packed, you can get there at 9am and there's 20 plus on the coarse
Other Thoughts: my favorite spot for the night discs. Don't but the night disc, get the light up beacon for yours

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The potential is there, but not utilized.

2-4    7/14/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cottonwood Creek DGC is quite the interesting course. There are some things that suprise me about this course, and then some that really don't.

The course is equipped with concrete tee pads, varying in size by hole. Each tee box has a tee sign, depicting map of hole and distance to basket placements. Mach 3 baskets located at every hole have some use to them, but catch putts well. Trash cans located at about every other tee.

This course has anywhere from 3-5 basket placements for each hole, and are relocated quite often from what I understand. This can give you a different look everytime you play Cottonwood.

There is a technical aspect to the course. Some holes are fairly tight, elevation and vegitation will force certain lines, which brings a degree of difficulty and a different look on each hole. Course is not at all repititious. A mix of short and long holes.

Creek comes into play along a few holes, but would take a really arrant shot to reach.

There is a certain fun factor on this course...
Cons: ...until the people show up.

This is an extremely popular course in town. Get out early to beat the heat/crowds/wind.

The course layout could be much better. There might be some things that can't be helped, but others that should have been avoided when making the course. Hole 11 crosses hole 12, the basket(in the longest position) for 11 being fairly close to 12's tee box. Hole 16 also crosses 17. There's also some areas on the course where natural divides would help. Hole 4 drives along 1 and 3's baskets and 2's tee. Arrant shots from 4's tee could put alot of people in danger.

Tee signs could use a freshening up. Some are very hard to read. No par is listed. Basket locations have been added which are not included on the tee signs. Since the baskets are relocated so often it would be a good chance to get creative with some tee signs that can show which is the current location.

The change of positions also makes it hard to figure out where the baskets are, as its not always easy to see the baskets from the tee. A pretee walk up the fairway will be quite helpful as will playing with a local.

Try not to play this course by yourself if its your first time, there are spots of vegitation where it would be easy to lose a disc if you don't have more than one set of eyes spotting.
Other Thoughts: There is apparantly a problem with inconsiderate DGers as far as etiquitte on this course, but doesn't affect my raiting of the course.

Cottonwood offers some scenic shots, its always nice playing with the Rockies in the backdrop.

This is a fun course with some big shots, but a little crowded for my liking. Cottonwood is definately worth playing if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 it's ok

1    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pros
mix of long and short holes
Good basket placements with little guard trees
tee signs and pads were in good shape
Friendly locals

Cons: Pros
mix of long and short holes
Good basket placements with little guard trees
tee signs and pads were in good shape
Friendly locals


Cons
The course is in a small space and is very crowded that and most holes crossover and overlap which makes the course very dangous
I also had a hard time finding my way around thankfully I meet up with a group of locals who knew there way around ,but even them didnt know which basket was the right one at times
Other Thoughts:



Overall
I had fun and enjoyed the locals but at one point there was 35 people waiting on tee one
Also a few simple pieces of tape are a sign pointing to the next tee would help a lot also a sign for which pins are in play
This course is very unsafe and the one discers that dont yell fore doesnt help any
Would play again if around the area but much earlier in the morning

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    7/2/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an outstanding course. If you are in Springs you need to play this course. The layout utilizes the trees perfectly. There are multiple pin placements for each hole. A perfect throw will get you a birdie on most holes. There is a good variety of long and short holes. There is no way to lose a disc on this course. On several holes you are shooting blind which adds to the difficulty. It is Colorado, but this is a relatively flat course. The course does a good job of using the small hills. I got lost but the locals were very helpful. The course is very easy to navigate.
Cons: The course is compact and several tee pads are in the danger zone. You cannot see the pin from most tee pads so I needed to scout many holes. It was not a problem after the first round. There are many other park users and I had to wait and let them pass. I played on a weekday and it was fairly crowded. Some groups were taking their time and I am sure this course is slow on the weekends/week nights. The course is mostly dirt.
Other Thoughts: How does Denver not have an urban course like this? Whoever designed the course deserves an award because they made the most out of very little. The tight fairways make it an intense experience. #1 & #2 get the ball rolling and the blind shots force you to focus on every drive.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.