Jeffersonville, VT 
Smugglers Notch - Brewster Ridge Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #12 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Firm, fair and fun!

2-4    5/24/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: bradharris
Played: 75  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing players notice about Brewster Ridge is the maintenance. The first hole plays through a nice wide fairway with cleanly mowed grass to a pin surrounded by wood chips and picturesquely nesteled under a lone tree. From there, signs guide players along a wood chipped path to the second tee. The next 17 holes play throughout a series of snowshoe and cross-country ski trails. And new for 2014, the "Fox Run 9" has been added as a permanent addition to the course. This gives players an additional 9 holes in a more open setting with tight OB lines to punish errant shots. The nice manicured feel of the course continues through all 27 holes. The resort employs a pair of maintenance workers who keep the course looking great throughout the season.

I use 3 F words to describe how the course plays: firm, fair and fun. Tricky pin locations create the challenge at Brewster Ridge. I was really struck by the fact that the course never gives players a chance to relax and make a lazy shot. Short upshots that can be mundane and boring at many courses are still very challenging at Brewster, with trees, bushes and elevation all looking to wreak havoc on a lazy throw.

These tough pins are fair though. A good tee shot will set up a much easier upshot or putt. The tees themselves are fairly open, giving players the flexibility to choose their own lines off the tee. This also cuts down the frustration (and use of a certain other F word) of having tee shots cut down early.

And that's where the fun comes in. Players of all skill levels will have plenty of chances to see their discs really fly off the tee. Rather than getting cut down early, bad tee shots will find tough lies that force players to scramble and find creative ways to get to the pin.

OB is used well. In the woods, rock walls provide some nice, intuitive OB lines along tree lines. With thick woods beyond these walls, shots that cross those lines are going to be punished harshly one way or another. At least by making those areas OB, players aren't forced to try to play out from there.

In the Fox Run 9, the OB lines serve a very different purpose. They help to create some interest risk/reward opportunities and turn otherwise boring field holes into interesting challenges.
Cons: The course can get very muddy. The muddiest areas are kept out of play, but walking between holes can get very sloppy.

It would be nice to see a bit more variety from the different tees. Currently, each layout plays very similarly, with the major difference being the change in distance. A little more variety in the layouts would help to create more repeat playability.

Some of the wooded par 4s (2,4, and 8) could benefit from better defined landing areas. Currently, they require a good tee shot and a bit of luck to line up the second shot just right. Taking out a couple trees to open up the lanes a bit could help take the luck factor out.
Other Thoughts: Smuggler's notch is quickly becoming one of the top disc golf destinations in the northeast. You can even book a condo at the resort or camp at one of the nearby campgrounds to turn a visit to the course into a family vacation.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

5+    5/18/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: Vtmountainlion
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is nestled in the green mountains. The best course close to Burlington that I have played yet. Its about an hour drive from Burlington.

- Excellently maintained: Great benches, woodchip paths between holes.

- Easy to navigate. Good signage.

- Hole variety, I'm a LHFH and it has some holes that play into the lefty flick and some holes that turn the other way.

- Staff, the person who works the front desk is positive and knowledgeable.

- 27 holes!


Cons: - A drive from anywhere, unless you live in one of the small hamlet towns in North Central Vermont.

- If i am really reaching, there can be some wet ground between 9-10, but they usually put boards down. Nothing boots can't handle!

Number 7 can be tough, not much of a fairway. Pray to the tree gods and huck!


All in all this is a beautiful course I would recommend driving up to 2 hours to play at.
Other Thoughts: Check out the surrounding area! There are some other courses nearby that could make a good disc golf vacation!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great local course, worth the $

2-4    10/24/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: polishedmarvel
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is 18 holes of well thought out, well maintained disc golf in the beautiful green mountains. I started playing dg this spring, and of the 13 courses I've played, this is probably my second favorite.
Cons: It does cost $5 per person, and it's not super close to anything but the ski resorts in Smuggs/ Stowe area. But the $ is worth the nice job they do keeping the course up.
Other Thoughts: Continue to support this course, they're going to build us another one with the money we're giving them!!!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

As challenging as it is beautiful

2-4    10/6/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: JimBailey175
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Clean and professionally maintained.
+Top notch tee pads, signage, and baskets.
+Multiple tees to accommodate different skill levels.
+Beautiful setting nestled in the mountains of Vermont with vistas on many holes.
+Gold layout is very challenging with a combination of length and tight lines.
+Well stocked pro-shop.
+Well-designed with a great mix of elevation, left/right doglegs, and length. You need a well-rounded, controlled game to succeed here.
Cons: Nothing significant but if I'm looking for downsides:
-Like all of Vermont can be VERY muddy in the spring. In fairness I played the course for the first time after a historic spring rainfall.
-Alternate tees don't add variety to the holes, just change distance. More variety from additional tee/basket positions would be a cool addition.
-Bow hunters on-course in October made me nervous.
Other Thoughts: One of the most challenging courses I've played - right up there with Maple Hill. I'd play all the time if I lived closer. Definitely worth the drive from New England and beyond. Our group of 4 rented a condo at the resort overnight and had great accommodations on the cheap.
Check out the "Green Mountain Championship" coverage on Youtube for a great preview of the course as played by the world's best. Look for them to make the adjacent 9-hole "Fox Run" (added for 2013 GMC) a permanent addition in 2014. 27 holes of this caliber would really be outstanding.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Stunning course!

2-4    10/5/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: wpifarmer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Beautiful location
- Excellent variety of holes
- Very clean and tidy
- Multiple tees to accomodate varying skill levels
- Very well maintained.
- Nice rubber tee pads
- Good signage on holes with information and layout.
- It appears that the resort has dedicated real resources to the maintenance of this beautiful course.
Cons:
- A couple spots could use better or brighter signage to point you to the next tee.
- Hunters. Whlie I was there I was taken aback that there were bow hunters on the course. I recommend wearing bright colors during hunting seasons.
Other Thoughts: I wish this course were closer to me so I could play it more often! This is what a disc golf course should be. I played here in the fall during foliage season and it was incredible. This course is pretty centrally located to quite a number of disc golf courses so it is easy to make a weekend of disc golfing.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful

1    10/4/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2014
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout. Good mix of wooded and open shots. Requires accuracy. Several nice long holes. Several great down hill holes.

Although heavily wooded, nothing was ridiculously tight. There was room to work your shots.

Gold tees were in pretty good shape.

When played sept 25- 0ct 10th this is probably one of the most beatiful courses in the world.
Cons: Could use better signs and concrete tees.

Many of the shorter tees were tiny.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Well designed

2-4    8/2/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: Paintray98
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is well designed, has four different tee pads to choose from. Gold - Championship; Blue - Pro; White - Imtermediate; Red - Beginner/Kids. Played the course around 1.5 rounds (rained out the first time through on 8/1/2013 and made it only 10-11 holes)
Cons: Muddy, the two maintenance guys are working hard to solve the muddiness issue but have not as of yet. They were in the midst of chipping up some wood to lay out on the muddy sections when I played through.
Other Thoughts: Stopped by the pro shop at Hole 1 (started playing at hole 12 as it was closest to our condo) and talked to the guy there, they are looking for more people to play the course as they only get around 30 players a day currently and would like to see somewhere closer to 60 players a day. He also mentioned that they are starting to build a small beginners 9 hole course across from the pro shop this week and have plans for 3 more 18 hole championship level courses in the next 5-6 years. I wish I lived closer to the resort (around 4.5 hours from where I live) because I would play this particular course a lot. Really well done even though it is still a work in progress mostly.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great experience

2-4    8/13/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: larry kirk
Played: 668  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 36.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I like the easy basket to next tee box as well as the fairness of the fairways. If you hit your shots you will be rewarded.
Cons: Good course flat out
Other Thoughts: I have played over 400 courses and this is my first review now go play this course

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great Improvements

5+    8/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: mountainrider211
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Tee Pads
Clean Fairways
Fair fairways
Cons: Tweener pars - think it will be fixed with the slight extension of a couple holes
Wobbily benches
Many tee shots are throw straight 300 with a touch of fade(rhbh)
Other Thoughts: A great course. Finally a quality course close to home.Lots of work had been done and smuggs is supportive of disc golf. I look forward to continued evolution of the course.
If you haven't played the new course you have to check it out!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A New Course!!

1    8/8/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: Farmer Maggot
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very nice and accurate T-signs, with level rubber mat layered pro T's. The Am T's are gravel still, but looked playable. Only a couple of the pro T's were gravel, but they are soon to be changed. I played the pro layout.

- Course flows naturally, and challenges you with the elevation. Good mix of right, left, straight, low ceiling, etc holes.

- Awesome baskets and as I mentioned above, course has both Am and Pro T's.

- Design is a good mix of par 3 & 4 holes. Hole 14 (I think) is a 525 up hill dog-leg left, then dog-leg right, par 4. Nuts!!! My first thought was that it should be a par 5, but now that I think about it, I believe it should be left a 4. Every great course has at least 1 par 3 and par 4 that make you work for the par. well done!

- Holes 1 &'18 start within 50 feet of each other. Convenient.

- The course is FREE!!!!

- Course is safe and everyone is crazy friendly. Family enviornment is a major plus.
Cons: - A small thing.... Need trash cans on the course.

- Had to wait on some hikers and a few runners, so heads up, but it also was a small thing and they were patient and friendly.

- Benches need better stability....topple over if sat on without caution---I know the course is still new, even saw guys working on it when we played. Just a heads up.

Other Thoughts: Immediately disregarded the course after reading the 2 year old reviews. Im a visitor here, so it wasn't until I was pestered by a friend to go and re-play it that I realized it had been totally reworked.

Smuggs hired a local pro to come and replan it...he and his team did a very good job!


- Need DESPERATELY to add pics and correct T layout on this review. The 2010 reviews and info nearly kept me from playing the course.

- Pro shop needs more discs.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.