Jeffersonville, VT 
Smugglers Notch - Brewster Ridge Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #9 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 450ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Super fun course

2-4    6/10/2015   6/20/2015
Review By: Armandov
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Where do I even begin??

- Beautiful location, set in the forest with views of Mt. Mansfield

- Super friendly staff, gave me some tips prior to my round

- Challenging, fun, and extremely well maintained

- Really nice pro shop with a snacks, bevs, and a HUGE selection of discs and apparel

- Great patio area to chill in before or after your round

- Bring your own beer! Can't go wrong at Brewster

Cons: Hard to find any!

I did notice a couple tee boxes that could use a little more stone, but looks like that is being addressed currently.
Other Thoughts: This course as something for everyone. Four different tee locations on each hole means that even if you are a newb like me you can still compete with experienced friends!

Brewster is a must to check out while in the area!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Everything You Want In A Course

2-4    5/25/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 24  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: * Well Maintained
* Stocked Pro-Shop
* Awesome Variety of Shots, Woods & Field
* Professional Course, Need I say more?
Cons: * No Camping on The Slope
Other Thoughts: This course is a true disc golfers dream, the woods are amazing with a ton of intricacy and variation, amazing flow and just an overall great time. 4 different tees on most holes. Oh and Uncle Mike Got a Hole in One on 16 so there's that haha. Get out and play, then head over to Brewsters Pub and grab a barrel aged Saison and Putt from the balcony!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

My favorite place to play!

5+    5/25/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: NHov64
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love how clean and manicured this course is. You can tell the grounds crew put in lots of time and effort to get things right! The course itself is challenging, but well laid out with many opportunities to throw those long, sweet shots. Pathways between holes are also well taken care of, making for an enjoyable experience, even if you're just out for a walk. The pro shop is a great spot to snag any new plastic you could need as well, they have a great selection, and carry lots of other DG related items.
Cons: No complaints here, love coming to play this course!
Other Thoughts: I heard rumors of an addition to their Fox Run 9 hole course, can't wait to see what these guys put together!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of the North

5+    8/22/2014   8/22/2014
Review By: MyHorseFlicker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Amazingly well maintained.
+Mowed weekly.
+Wooded nature of course is beautiful from the fruit blossoms of spring, thru the verdant green of summer and right into the explosive colors of fall.
+Despite the proximity to the thousands of guests of Smugglers Notch Resort the course never feels crowded and wildlife sightings are common.
+Surrounding area provides numerous secondary reasons to visit including; restaurants/bars, breweries, distillery, winery, outdoor recreation, stunning natural beauty of Smugglers Notch.
+Separate tees allow for players of different skill levels or ages to be competitive.
+While course is well established, subtle things change from year to year and even within the season creating new and fun challenges.
+Multiple basket locations also keep things fresh week to week.
+Well stocked and knowledgeably staffed Pro Shop ensure that you will always have the disc or snacks you need for your round.
+A diversity of holes and challenges keep a player on their toes.
+After 18 holes, the option of another 9 awaits across the road on Fox Run Meadows. Its open meadow shots provide a different experience and can be played a little later in the day as fading light makes the wooded Brewster Ridge to dark.
+Finally when it comes to events Brewster Ridge starts off the season with the Brewster Ridge Open in the spring, and sets the bar with the Green Mountain Championship in September. Not to be missed, either as a participant or spectator!
+Best $5 you can spend, a "Must Visit".
Cons: -In the early spring before the course opens mud can be an issue.
-On occasion I have had to either wait to get the maintenance crews attention while they had hearing protection on and were working on the course or had to skip a hole do to more serious course work.
Other Thoughts: Don't feel like I can deduct points for my Con's so 5.0 it is!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very, very good course

5+    6/30/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: neapolitan
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, in the woods but plenty of open space and lanes to throw. We'll kept, up to four different tee boxes at each hole, very nice landscaping, great pro shop
Cons: Maybe the pay to play but you can really see your money is being put to good use
Other Thoughts: I have had a membership for the past to summers and have yet to find a better course in Vermont. Well kept and every time i come they have done improvements. Wish hole 11 was still where is used to be but I can see why it was moved

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Vermont's best?

5+    6/22/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: justinvt
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wow. Manicured tees. Diverse terrain. Excellent amenities. This mostly-woods course looks beautiful and offers different tee boxes on each hole. You'll really love this place if you've never been here.
Cons: Cons? Sorry, I can't think of any. It is pay to play, but it's worth every penny.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/8/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: dtolbert17
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful location, excellent and consistent course work. The layout provides plenty of challenges and variety. The length usually means you won't see many other players during your round. The Pro Shop is a great resource for plastic and accessories.
Cons: Could benefit from better signage/directions from the resort and within the course.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course that sets the bar for the region.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Meticulously maintained course

5+    10/28/2013   1/14/2014
Review By: rclements
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Extremely helpful staff & well stocked pro-shop
- Staff is always making improvements to course
- Large variety of wooded holes; balanced play
- Gold adds significant difficulty over blue
- Red & white tees are perfect for newbies
- Excellent signage; it's easy to navigate
- As much time as we've spent in the woods there has been no sign of poison oak/ivy
- Course never feels unfair
- The new 9-hole course that was installed for the August tournament really emphasized placement and distance; a different feel for sure. Hopefully this will be back in 2014!
- $5 to play is more than fair considering the quality of this course.
Cons: - Can get extremely muddy during spring (due to being at the base of the mountain)
- Some hikes between holes can be a bit on the longer side
- Original 18 is missing large open holes to really air it out on (however the new 9 really makes up for this!)

These complaints really are negligible though!
Other Thoughts: Brewster Ridge is my favorite course to play in Vermont. It's not the most difficult (Black Falls is), but playing the golds will significantly heighten the challenge (I average -2 on blue and +8 on gold!). Takes me roughly 60-90 minutes to play through a round with a friend.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A+ course

1    9/29/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: Riords
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Was such a great place, played 2 rounds on the Gold tees. Which are extra long well maintained tees. Most shots are thru tight fairways. Awesome signage, perfectly maintained land. All 18 had awesome baskets. Mountain course provided a well balance of up hill and down hill shots, but also crossed the mountain nicely, to offer different looks on each 18.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: I left a disc out on the course, and got it back after my second round via lost and found. awesome :)

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 world-class destination

5+    8/8/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: wallawalla
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've been playing the course since it was redesigned in the spring of 2013, and it's better every time I come up. The maintenance staff are up there laying down woodchips, adding more signs and walkways, improving drainage, and clearing everything from the fairway to the roughs. I wish every course was maintained to this level!

The course layout makes good use of the available terrain with technical woods, open fairway, and up and downhill elevation changes. Most of the holes have multiple lines of approach lending themselves to different playing styles and tactics.

I've had a ton of fun going up with my friends who do not play. The course designer did a great job making the course approachable to all skill-levels. Each hole has three or four tee-boxes. I run across quite a few families playing with kids because of this as well.

The new pro-shop has the best selection of innova, discraft, and prodigy for hundreds of miles.

Brewster is probably the most scenic course I've ever played. Tucked up in smugglers notch, you play through old growth maple glades, around old stone walls, and in sight of the craggy smugglers notch pass.
Cons: Some walking trails intersect with the course, but that's rarely a problem as the trails do not get heavy traffic.

Some of the holes really make you work for par. Particularly holes 7 and 10.
Other Thoughts: Disregard the older comments, the course is night and day better than previous years, and like I said, it's being improved on a daily basis. Also, while there is a lot of mud this year, it's hard to blame it on the course; Vermont just came off the rainiest May and June on record.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.