Disc Golf Store
Jeffersonville, VT 
Smugglers Notch - Brewster Ridge Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #16 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 400ft.   3 / 295ft.   3 / 215ft.   3 / 140ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great local course, worth the $

2-4    10/24/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: polishedmarvel
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is 18 holes of well thought out, well maintained disc golf in the beautiful green mountains. I started playing dg this spring, and of the 13 courses I've played, this is probably my second favorite.
Cons: It does cost $5 per person, and it's not super close to anything but the ski resorts in Smuggs/ Stowe area. But the $ is worth the nice job they do keeping the course up.
Other Thoughts: Continue to support this course, they're going to build us another one with the money we're giving them!!!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

As challenging as it is beautiful

2-4    10/6/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: JimBailey175
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Clean and professionally maintained.
+Top notch tee pads, signage, and baskets.
+Multiple tees to accommodate different skill levels.
+Beautiful setting nestled in the mountains of Vermont with vistas on many holes.
+Gold layout is very challenging with a combination of length and tight lines.
+Well stocked pro-shop.
+Well-designed with a great mix of elevation, left/right doglegs, and length. You need a well-rounded, controlled game to succeed here.
Cons: Nothing significant but if I'm looking for downsides:
-Like all of Vermont can be VERY muddy in the spring. In fairness I played the course for the first time after a historic spring rainfall.
-Alternate tees don't add variety to the holes, just change distance. More variety from additional tee/basket positions would be a cool addition.
-Bow hunters on-course in October made me nervous.
Other Thoughts: One of the most challenging courses I've played - right up there with Maple Hill. I'd play all the time if I lived closer. Definitely worth the drive from New England and beyond. Our group of 4 rented a condo at the resort overnight and had great accommodations on the cheap.
Check out the "Green Mountain Championship" coverage on Youtube for a great preview of the course as played by the world's best. Look for them to make the adjacent 9-hole "Fox Run" (added for 2013 GMC) a permanent addition in 2014. 27 holes of this caliber would really be outstanding.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Stunning course!

2-4    10/5/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: wpifarmer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Beautiful location
- Excellent variety of holes
- Very clean and tidy
- Multiple tees to accomodate varying skill levels
- Very well maintained.
- Nice rubber tee pads
- Good signage on holes with information and layout.
- It appears that the resort has dedicated real resources to the maintenance of this beautiful course.
Cons:
- A couple spots could use better or brighter signage to point you to the next tee.
- Hunters. Whlie I was there I was taken aback that there were bow hunters on the course. I recommend wearing bright colors during hunting seasons.
Other Thoughts: I wish this course were closer to me so I could play it more often! This is what a disc golf course should be. I played here in the fall during foliage season and it was incredible. This course is pretty centrally located to quite a number of disc golf courses so it is easy to make a weekend of disc golfing.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A+ course

1    9/29/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: Riords
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Was such a great place, played 2 rounds on the Gold tees. Which are extra long well maintained tees. Most shots are thru tight fairways. Awesome signage, perfectly maintained land. All 18 had awesome baskets. Mountain course provided a well balance of up hill and down hill shots, but also crossed the mountain nicely, to offer different looks on each 18.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: I left a disc out on the course, and got it back after my second round via lost and found. awesome :)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful

1    10/4/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2014
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout. Good mix of wooded and open shots. Requires accuracy. Several nice long holes. Several great down hill holes.

Although heavily wooded, nothing was ridiculously tight. There was room to work your shots.

Gold tees were in pretty good shape.

When played sept 25- 0ct 10th this is probably one of the most beatiful courses in the world.
Cons: Could use better signs and concrete tees.

Many of the shorter tees were tiny.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 world-class destination

5+    8/8/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: wallawalla
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've been playing the course since it was redesigned in the spring of 2013, and it's better every time I come up. The maintenance staff are up there laying down woodchips, adding more signs and walkways, improving drainage, and clearing everything from the fairway to the roughs. I wish every course was maintained to this level!

The course layout makes good use of the available terrain with technical woods, open fairway, and up and downhill elevation changes. Most of the holes have multiple lines of approach lending themselves to different playing styles and tactics.

I've had a ton of fun going up with my friends who do not play. The course designer did a great job making the course approachable to all skill-levels. Each hole has three or four tee-boxes. I run across quite a few families playing with kids because of this as well.

The new pro-shop has the best selection of innova, discraft, and prodigy for hundreds of miles.

Brewster is probably the most scenic course I've ever played. Tucked up in smugglers notch, you play through old growth maple glades, around old stone walls, and in sight of the craggy smugglers notch pass.
Cons: Some walking trails intersect with the course, but that's rarely a problem as the trails do not get heavy traffic.

Some of the holes really make you work for par. Particularly holes 7 and 10.
Other Thoughts: Disregard the older comments, the course is night and day better than previous years, and like I said, it's being improved on a daily basis. Also, while there is a lot of mud this year, it's hard to blame it on the course; Vermont just came off the rainiest May and June on record.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

What an amazing course

1    8/1/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: EggSalad
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Immaculately maintained course
-4 tee pads on almost every hole. Great for all skill levels.
-Challenging for beginners and pros alike
-Spectacular views
-An extremely fun course to play!
Cons: The only con I would say is there was a couple points where the disc golf course Cris-crossed a hiking trail so it took a few seconds to figure out where the next tee was located. Nothing that would change my rating as a 5 star course.
Other Thoughts: If you are up in the area, do yourself a favor and play this course. I can't wait to visit the area again and play another round here.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Well designed

2-4    8/2/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: Paintray98
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is well designed, has four different tee pads to choose from. Gold - Championship; Blue - Pro; White - Imtermediate; Red - Beginner/Kids. Played the course around 1.5 rounds (rained out the first time through on 8/1/2013 and made it only 10-11 holes)
Cons: Muddy, the two maintenance guys are working hard to solve the muddiness issue but have not as of yet. They were in the midst of chipping up some wood to lay out on the muddy sections when I played through.
Other Thoughts: Stopped by the pro shop at Hole 1 (started playing at hole 12 as it was closest to our condo) and talked to the guy there, they are looking for more people to play the course as they only get around 30 players a day currently and would like to see somewhere closer to 60 players a day. He also mentioned that they are starting to build a small beginners 9 hole course across from the pro shop this week and have plans for 3 more 18 hole championship level courses in the next 5-6 years. I wish I lived closer to the resort (around 4.5 hours from where I live) because I would play this particular course a lot. Really well done even though it is still a work in progress mostly.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Constantly Improving

5+    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: jspring
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two full time maintenance staff make sure this course is maintained. Any issue that comes up is addressed quickly. Through two records months of rain in VT, the course has played beautifully despite the rain and looks fantastic currently.

The design is challenging, but accessible due to the 4 tee layout. I play the Gold tees and though there are difficult holes and birdie holes, each has a unique challenge. Uphill shots, downhill shots, variations in the sharpness of right turns and left turns forcing players to control when the disc turns and fades. At 7,000 ft, you need to be able to throw it long to challenge Par on the Gold layout, but there are also many shorter holes where 2 is very possible.

Benches everywhere! 3 picnic tables on the course. Garbage and recycling. New directional signage looks very professional. Beautiful rock cairns are a nice touch.
Cons: Not many cons at this course. There are a few holes that need tweaking. Hole #7 could use more definition for it's fairway, but changes happen constantly at Brewster and that green is scheduled to be reworked and moved.
Other Thoughts: A mountain course is rumored to be in the works, and the upcoming B-tier has over $4,000 added cash. Good things in the future for disc golf at Smugglers' Notch Resort!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/20/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: TeeSquared
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The team at Smuggs did a fantastic job re-developing the Brewster Ridge course into something very special for Vermont. As stated in many reviews, the course plays very well, is fair, challenging and provides great opportunities for beginners, amateurs and pros. A great mix with long par 4's and interesting lines at every hole.
Cons: The only "con" would be if you haven't played this course yet! Go play it! You won't be disappointed.
Other Thoughts: Great Job Team Spring!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center