Jeffersonville, VT 
Smugglers Notch - Brewster Ridge Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #9 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 450ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Very, very good course

5+    6/30/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: neapolitan
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, in the woods but plenty of open space and lanes to throw. We'll kept, up to four different tee boxes at each hole, very nice landscaping, great pro shop
Cons: Maybe the pay to play but you can really see your money is being put to good use
Other Thoughts: I have had a membership for the past to summers and have yet to find a better course in Vermont. Well kept and every time i come they have done improvements. Wish hole 11 was still where is used to be but I can see why it was moved

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Vermont's best?

5+    6/22/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: justinvt
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wow. Manicured tees. Diverse terrain. Excellent amenities. This mostly-woods course looks beautiful and offers different tee boxes on each hole. You'll really love this place if you've never been here.
Cons: Cons? Sorry, I can't think of any. It is pay to play, but it's worth every penny.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/8/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: dtolbert17
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful location, excellent and consistent course work. The layout provides plenty of challenges and variety. The length usually means you won't see many other players during your round. The Pro Shop is a great resource for plastic and accessories.
Cons: Could benefit from better signage/directions from the resort and within the course.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course that sets the bar for the region.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Firm, fair and fun!

2-4    5/24/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: bradharris
Played: 84  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first thing players notice about Brewster Ridge is the maintenance. The first hole plays through a nice wide fairway with cleanly mowed grass to a pin surrounded by wood chips and picturesquely nesteled under a lone tree. From there, signs guide players along a wood chipped path to the second tee. The next 17 holes play throughout a series of snowshoe and cross-country ski trails. And new for 2014, the "Fox Run 9" has been added as a permanent addition to the course. This gives players an additional 9 holes in a more open setting with tight OB lines to punish errant shots. The nice manicured feel of the course continues through all 27 holes. The resort employs a pair of maintenance workers who keep the course looking great throughout the season.

I use 3 F words to describe how the course plays: firm, fair and fun. Tricky pin locations create the challenge at Brewster Ridge. I was really struck by the fact that the course never gives players a chance to relax and make a lazy shot. Short upshots that can be mundane and boring at many courses are still very challenging at Brewster, with trees, bushes and elevation all looking to wreak havoc on a lazy throw.

These tough pins are fair though. A good tee shot will set up a much easier upshot or putt. The tees themselves are fairly open, giving players the flexibility to choose their own lines off the tee. This also cuts down the frustration (and use of a certain other F word) of having tee shots cut down early.

And that's where the fun comes in. Players of all skill levels will have plenty of chances to see their discs really fly off the tee. Rather than getting cut down early, bad tee shots will find tough lies that force players to scramble and find creative ways to get to the pin.

OB is used well. In the woods, rock walls provide some nice, intuitive OB lines along tree lines. With thick woods beyond these walls, shots that cross those lines are going to be punished harshly one way or another. At least by making those areas OB, players aren't forced to try to play out from there.

In the Fox Run 9, the OB lines serve a very different purpose. They help to create some interest risk/reward opportunities and turn otherwise boring field holes into interesting challenges.
Cons: The course can get very muddy. The muddiest areas are kept out of play, but walking between holes can get very sloppy.

It would be nice to see a bit more variety from the different tees. Currently, each layout plays very similarly, with the major difference being the change in distance. A little more variety in the layouts would help to create more repeat playability.

Some of the wooded par 4s (2,4, and 8) could benefit from better defined landing areas. Currently, they require a good tee shot and a bit of luck to line up the second shot just right. Taking out a couple trees to open up the lanes a bit could help take the luck factor out.
Other Thoughts: Smuggler's notch is quickly becoming one of the top disc golf destinations in the northeast. You can even book a condo at the resort or camp at one of the nearby campgrounds to turn a visit to the course into a family vacation.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

5+    5/18/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: Vtmountainlion
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is nestled in the green mountains. The best course close to Burlington that I have played yet. Its about an hour drive from Burlington.

- Excellently maintained: Great benches, woodchip paths between holes.

- Easy to navigate. Good signage.

- Hole variety, I'm a LHFH and it has some holes that play into the lefty flick and some holes that turn the other way.

- Staff, the person who works the front desk is positive and knowledgeable.

- 27 holes!


Cons: - A drive from anywhere, unless you live in one of the small hamlet towns in North Central Vermont.

- If i am really reaching, there can be some wet ground between 9-10, but they usually put boards down. Nothing boots can't handle!

Number 7 can be tough, not much of a fairway. Pray to the tree gods and huck!


All in all this is a beautiful course I would recommend driving up to 2 hours to play at.
Other Thoughts: Check out the surrounding area! There are some other courses nearby that could make a good disc golf vacation!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Meticulously maintained course

5+    10/28/2013   1/14/2014
Review By: rclements
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Extremely helpful staff & well stocked pro-shop
- Staff is always making improvements to course
- Large variety of wooded holes; balanced play
- Gold adds significant difficulty over blue
- Red & white tees are perfect for newbies
- Excellent signage; it's easy to navigate
- As much time as we've spent in the woods there has been no sign of poison oak/ivy
- Course never feels unfair
- The new 9-hole course that was installed for the August tournament really emphasized placement and distance; a different feel for sure. Hopefully this will be back in 2014!
- $5 to play is more than fair considering the quality of this course.
Cons: - Can get extremely muddy during spring (due to being at the base of the mountain)
- Some hikes between holes can be a bit on the longer side
- Original 18 is missing large open holes to really air it out on (however the new 9 really makes up for this!)

These complaints really are negligible though!
Other Thoughts: Brewster Ridge is my favorite course to play in Vermont. It's not the most difficult (Black Falls is), but playing the golds will significantly heighten the challenge (I average -2 on blue and +8 on gold!). Takes me roughly 60-90 minutes to play through a round with a friend.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great local course, worth the $

2-4    10/24/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: polishedmarvel
Played: 28  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is 18 holes of well thought out, well maintained disc golf in the beautiful green mountains. I started playing dg this spring, and of the 13 courses I've played, this is probably my second favorite.
Cons: It does cost $5 per person, and it's not super close to anything but the ski resorts in Smuggs/ Stowe area. But the $ is worth the nice job they do keeping the course up.
Other Thoughts: Continue to support this course, they're going to build us another one with the money we're giving them!!!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

As challenging as it is beautiful

2-4    10/6/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: JimBailey175
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Clean and professionally maintained.
+Top notch tee pads, signage, and baskets.
+Multiple tees to accommodate different skill levels.
+Beautiful setting nestled in the mountains of Vermont with vistas on many holes.
+Gold layout is very challenging with a combination of length and tight lines.
+Well stocked pro-shop.
+Well-designed with a great mix of elevation, left/right doglegs, and length. You need a well-rounded, controlled game to succeed here.
Cons: Nothing significant but if I'm looking for downsides:
-Like all of Vermont can be VERY muddy in the spring. In fairness I played the course for the first time after a historic spring rainfall.
-Alternate tees don't add variety to the holes, just change distance. More variety from additional tee/basket positions would be a cool addition.
-Bow hunters on-course in October made me nervous.
Other Thoughts: One of the most challenging courses I've played - right up there with Maple Hill. I'd play all the time if I lived closer. Definitely worth the drive from New England and beyond. Our group of 4 rented a condo at the resort overnight and had great accommodations on the cheap.
Check out the "Green Mountain Championship" coverage on Youtube for a great preview of the course as played by the world's best. Look for them to make the adjacent 9-hole "Fox Run" (added for 2013 GMC) a permanent addition in 2014. 27 holes of this caliber would really be outstanding.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Stunning course!

2-4    10/5/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: wpifarmer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Beautiful location
- Excellent variety of holes
- Very clean and tidy
- Multiple tees to accomodate varying skill levels
- Very well maintained.
- Nice rubber tee pads
- Good signage on holes with information and layout.
- It appears that the resort has dedicated real resources to the maintenance of this beautiful course.
Cons:
- A couple spots could use better or brighter signage to point you to the next tee.
- Hunters. Whlie I was there I was taken aback that there were bow hunters on the course. I recommend wearing bright colors during hunting seasons.
Other Thoughts: I wish this course were closer to me so I could play it more often! This is what a disc golf course should be. I played here in the fall during foliage season and it was incredible. This course is pretty centrally located to quite a number of disc golf courses so it is easy to make a weekend of disc golfing.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A+ course

1    9/29/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: Riords
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Was such a great place, played 2 rounds on the Gold tees. Which are extra long well maintained tees. Most shots are thru tight fairways. Awesome signage, perfectly maintained land. All 18 had awesome baskets. Mountain course provided a well balance of up hill and down hill shots, but also crossed the mountain nicely, to offer different looks on each 18.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: I left a disc out on the course, and got it back after my second round via lost and found. awesome :)

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center