Jeffersonville, VT
Smugglers Notch - Brewster Ridge Share
Uploaded By: TeeSquared Hole #5
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 100ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >

5+    10/20/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: TeeSquared
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The team at Smuggs did a fantastic job re-developing the Brewster Ridge course into something very special for Vermont. As stated in many reviews, the course plays very well, is fair, challenging and provides great opportunities for beginners, amateurs and pros. A great mix with long par 4's and interesting lines at every hole.
Cons: The only "con" would be if you haven't played this course yet! Go play it! You won't be disappointed.
Other Thoughts: Great Job Team Spring!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Criss Cross Country

1    10/7/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 326  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The tee areas, (mostly) three per hole, are very nicely done. Tee sign at each area, indicating the distance to the basket, and location of the closer tees. Benches. 4'x8' wood-framed, gravel tees at the two closest tees, long flypad at the long tee.
Cons:
As most of the holes play having a walking path as or near the fairway, you always need to pay attention for walkers.

While the map and next-tee signs are very useful, be aware that: a) After completing basket-9, you practically double back down fairway-9 then turn left to find tee-10; b) after completing basket-14, continue ahead for 15 /return for 16; c) basket-18 is located quite close to the walking path from the road to tee-1!
Other Thoughts:
For this review, I played the course from the middle tees. Distances varied from 205'-435', with an average of just over 270', and half the holes +/- 35' of this average.

The course plays on gently undulating, wooded land, crisscrossed by cross-country skiing/walking trails. These ~40' wide trails double as fairways on about of the holes, needing a bit of fade or turn at the end to head towards the basket. The non-trail holes had a scattering of trees throughout, at times offering a couple different lines to the basket. Only the last half of long number-8 and all of short number-15 could be considered super-tight, while numbers 9 and 16 offer are the most open holes on the course, but still require some trees to be missed early (9) or late (16).

From the tee, straight and steady will suffice on about half the holes, with the other half being an equal blend on left/right/S-turners. In a similar distribution, about half the holes are flat, with the downslopes outnumbering the upslopes by a bit for the remainder, and none of the elevation changes were extreme.

Holes 8 and 17, the only two over 400', with trees to miss throughout the entirety, are probably the most challenging, while several of the shorter/along trail holes are ready to offer up birdy opportunities.

A very solid course, providing the player the option of how much challenge he/she wants to encounter.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Brewster Ridge is awesome!

2-4    10/20/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: Spencerlaurence
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -4 tee boxes on every hole to encourage all skill levels
-crazy amount of detail went into this course. Excellent signage, numerous benches/tables, well manicured paths/bridges/walls, tee boxes are beautiful (many have decorative rocks/boulders), etc.
-new disc catchers
-par 60 layout (from gold tees) has good mix of tough par 3's and 4's with a small handful of ace runs
-the views! truly is gorgeous.
Cons: None. I live too far away to play here a lot I guess:(
Other Thoughts: Brewster Ridge is a really special disc golf course. The amount of work that went into small details, combined with a truly spectacular piece of land really makes this a must-play course for anyone who loves disc golf and is in the area. Rumor has it that the course will be expanding and improved upon even more throughout 2013!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great experience

2-4    8/13/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: larry kirk
Played: 656  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 35.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I like the easy basket to next tee box as well as the fairness of the fairways. If you hit your shots you will be rewarded.
Cons: Good course flat out
Other Thoughts: I have played over 400 courses and this is my first review now go play this course

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Improvements

5+    8/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: mountainrider211
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Tee Pads
Clean Fairways
Fair fairways
Cons: Tweener pars - think it will be fixed with the slight extension of a couple holes
Wobbily benches
Many tee shots are throw straight 300 with a touch of fade(rhbh)
Other Thoughts: A great course. Finally a quality course close to home.Lots of work had been done and smuggs is supportive of disc golf. I look forward to continued evolution of the course.
If you haven't played the new course you have to check it out!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A New Course!!

1    8/8/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: Farmer Maggot
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very nice and accurate T-signs, with level rubber mat layered pro T's. The Am T's are gravel still, but looked playable. Only a couple of the pro T's were gravel, but they are soon to be changed. I played the pro layout.

- Course flows naturally, and challenges you with the elevation. Good mix of right, left, straight, low ceiling, etc holes.

- Awesome baskets and as I mentioned above, course has both Am and Pro T's.

- Design is a good mix of par 3 & 4 holes. Hole 14 (I think) is a 525 up hill dog-leg left, then dog-leg right, par 4. Nuts!!! My first thought was that it should be a par 5, but now that I think about it, I believe it should be left a 4. Every great course has at least 1 par 3 and par 4 that make you work for the par. well done!

- Holes 1 &'18 start within 50 feet of each other. Convenient.

- The course is FREE!!!!

- Course is safe and everyone is crazy friendly. Family enviornment is a major plus.
Cons: - A small thing.... Need trash cans on the course.

- Had to wait on some hikers and a few runners, so heads up, but it also was a small thing and they were patient and friendly.

- Benches need better stability....topple over if sat on without caution---I know the course is still new, even saw guys working on it when we played. Just a heads up.

Other Thoughts: Immediately disregarded the course after reading the 2 year old reviews. Im a visitor here, so it wasn't until I was pestered by a friend to go and re-play it that I realized it had been totally reworked.

Smuggs hired a local pro to come and replan it...he and his team did a very good job!


- Need DESPERATELY to add pics and correct T layout on this review. The 2010 reviews and info nearly kept me from playing the course.

- Pro shop needs more discs.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Smuggler's Notch DGC

1    8/26/2013   8/15/2010
Review By: Windex
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Multiple tee boxes on all holes.
-Signs directing you from hole to hole.
-Bridges put down anywhere it gets wet.
-Good variety of holes.
-Tee boxes are in pretty good shape.
-Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
-Wood chips put down along pathways and where it gets wet to help with mud.
Cons: The only real negative thing I can think of about the course is that some of the distance markings are way off.

The tee signs aren't anything fancy, but with the amount of work they've been putting in I wouldn't be surprised if they were putting in nicer more permanent signs in the future.
Other Thoughts: I first played this course three years ago and it has been drastically improved to the point that it's almost a completely new course. I've played courses throughout Vermont and Michigan and this is one of the best courses I have ever played. The staff is friendly, the course is well marked and there are holes requiring all different throwing styles. Some holes are wide open while others require precision to get through the trees. The short tees are great for beginners while the pro tees are for experts that can throw long. I'll gladly pay the $5 a day to play this course to help make sure it stays around.

Overall it's a great course that I'll make sure to play any time I'm back in Vermont.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Now This Is More Like It!

2-4    10/21/2012   6/7/2009
Review By: chairman63vt
Played: 74  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 35.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 3 tees per hole (white tees on the way for 2013) / rubber on gold - gravel elsewhere
- better use of available elevation
- uses more terrain off the XC ski trails
- benches at most tees
- easy navigation, good "intuitive flow" to most next tees, signs where necessary
Cons: not much "risk vs. reward"
no bag hooks? (okay, that's nit-picky)
Other Thoughts: This great new layout still uses the same area, and even uses some of the same old pin locations. But even where those are used they are almost unrecognizable now. The strength of this redesign is in better thought out fairways, and an amazing set of tee pads. There are now memorable or signature holes that can make a round more interesting (or challenging).

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.