Doyline, LA
Lake Bistineau State Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #4 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft.   3 / 393ft.   3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee (Long Position)



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good course

5+    7/1/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: matt_robertson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of long/short holes, water holes, "tunnel" holes, etc.
Discatcher baskets.
Mostly shaded.
Bathrooms & water fountains
Cons: Usually high humidity & mosquitoes.
Tiring to play during the summer.
Other Thoughts: Small fee to get into the park.
Can be confusing to navigate - be sure to get a map at the entrance!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bistineau: A beast fo' sho'

1    10/20/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 193  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Bistineau DGC is an excellent course located next to a very cool lake. There are plenty of trees to negotiate on holes that cover a full range of left/right shots at varying distances. The lake is near the course in places, but only once did I throw near the water. It looked to be lower than normal perhaps. There are dual pin placements on many holes, and a few of the longest holes offer short tees if you don't feel up to those 800 footers. Tee boxes were natural and generally nice and level. All tees had numbered posts with distance to both pin positions. Each of the baskets was in decent condition. There are benches, tables, and trash cans placed all through the course. Scorecards with a map are available at the park entrance.
Cons: A more detailed map would have helped in negotiating the course. The layout had some long walks between holes that weren't well marked. I never played here before, so baskets that were not visible from the tee pads gave me some trouble, also. Some of the grassy tees had pine needles slightly compromising the footing. Bug spray may be a good idea. There were plumes of gnats around the last three holes, and we were warned about some kind of mites at the park entrance.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course very much, and would love to play it again. Definitely on my list of favorites. Some upgrades with maps, signage, and maybe concrete tee pads would boost my rating, but it is a great time all the same. Will test your skills in accuracy, and power. Birdies are possible, but you got to be on your game to shoot a low score on this beast.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the Drive

1    7/19/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had heard this was a good course from those that have played it, I was NOT disappointed.
1st, only $1 to play all day, sweet. They even gave me a map of the course (thank goodness)

The course has several very pretty shot though classic cypress trees covered in moss along with lots of very tall pine trees.
There are only a few short must get birdie holes. Many of the holes were longer drive, upshot holes for me. (my max distance is 350)
A few of the holes were great tunnel shots.
Cons: Not the greatest tee signs. At least they were all marked.
Non existence tee pads. Luckily it was dry the day I played so no mud.
The course did have a mando, I am not a fan of those. (and yes I missed it)
The longest hole on the course was over a large field with no trees. Land a good drive on the left so you can make your 2nd shot.
Other Thoughts: I literally drove 233 miles to play this course (it was 120 miles out of the way of where I was going overall)

In my opinion it was well worth it. The course flows pretty good and was a very pretty course to play.

Even though I was tired and it was hot, I managed to shoot a 58 and was happy with it.

I WILL be playing here again the next time I can swing it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Bisteneau

1    1/15/2011   1/15/2011
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tough course. Wide variety of holes. Very clean, no trash anywhere. There were very few easy holes.
Cons: Tee boxes could be better. Lake is drained so it doesn't look as nice as it could have. Sometimes it's a bit hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Very nice park. One dollar to enter per person for parking, but it's well worth it for the course. Bring a map or know where you're going. Even playing scrambles it was a little difficult. Tons of tight shots and slim fairways.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf with a view!

1    3/27/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well Groomed, Played in, Great Parking, GREAT views, Nice clear baskets, well thought out and all in all, a great experience! A few open fields for hucking and some tight spots for controlled throws. Some holes have more than one basket or tee. The ranger has maps some times, so ask when you pay for parking. If not, don't worry its not that had to navigate! #7 basket is at the end of the filed tucked in the woods where the two white poles are!
Cons: Hole 3 was hard to find the tee, I think the sign is missing and hole 7 is hard to find the basket because it is tucked away at the end of the field!
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course! It has everything you want, open fields to just huck, and areas where you need your control! There are some shots near the water so be careful! You have the option to camp there if you want, and It would be a great way to spend a whole day there! I could be muddy in areas (hole one two and three maybe) So bring some boots, but most of the time I bet its fine. There are bathrooms and trash cans along the course as well!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bist

2-4    8/10/2012   8/4/2009
Review By: championlog22
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 4X4 posts marked every tee
Distance listed for both hole locations
a few short tees on some holes
water available after hole 8.
multiple hole locations
good mix of left/righty shots
nice water shots
Only $1 per person to play all day!
regularly mowed!
Cons: Map was TERRIBLE
park rangers seem to not even acknowledge the disc golf course here

construction on holes 15-18 should be done by end of August 2012 but they failed to tell me this on the way in. I played them anyway.
Some holes were in long and some were in short so most of the time you are teeing off blind

natural tees were not in the best condition
Other Thoughts: The map was horrendous. Very hard to find hole 16 and I had played the course a few times 2 years before. Map needs to be revised to include short and long position. It seemed to only have the long position on the map and sometimes the short position would be the opposite direction. Park rangers don't care about disc golf. They didn't even know the State Championship was going to be hosted here in a little over a month. Great long course that is tournament material.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Louisiana Beauty + Disc Golf = A GOOD TIME

2-4    3/14/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: Razorback Ramsey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is embedded in sheer Louisiana Beauty! Enjoy a brisk walk through old cypress trees hung with spanish moss. Hear the wind pass through the tall pines and live oaks.
This course offers a challenge to newcomers and veteran disc golfers alike.
A course map is available at the park enterance.
The course is well marked with bright blue markers on every hole indicating two seperate pin distances (long and short). Some holes offer alternative tee pads (closer to the pin).
The course design is well done, offering a varation of required shots. The design of the course gives you a great overview of the state park and chances to enjoy the lovely scenes of this great landscape. I especially enjoyed on serveral holes being forced out of my natural bent. For instance, several opening drives required a hyzer shot when I typically would have felt more comfortable with an anhyzer. The draped spanish moss creates haunting windows of opportunity, that if missed create havoc for your next shot. The wooded holes on the course are punishers. Not only are they very narrow (10 -30 feet tunnels), they are long! Several wooded holes played 200 - 500 feet long. Any wayward drives carved their way into dense woods that punished you into a dropped stroke just to get back in the fairway. Pin placements were mostly tucked into trees that required laser accuracy to hit the long putts, or nice approach shots to have chance at par.
Not a great deal of water on the course (good for beginners).
Several spots to take a break on a bench or use the restrooms.
Highly recommended!
Cons: One major drawback to this course is the lack of concrete tee pads. I never realized what a difference having permanent tee pads made until playing this course (which has elementary dirt pads) in the rain. My footing was shaky and really hindered my power throws and drives.
The course had standing water on several holes after moderate rain fall the days before playing the course.
Other Thoughts: For good or bad (you chose), several holes required a long walk from basket to next tee pad (some felt like 200-300 yards). BE SURE TO GRAB A MAP before heading out to #1.
Beatiful course. Great for disc golf and nature hikes!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lord of the Dragonflies

5+    2/3/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very secluded. Good variety of types of holes. Heavily wooded and long. Some shaded holes, as most of course is in the woods. Map at office where you pay your dollar fee. No crossing holes and not many golfers during the week. Alt tees have a large difference in length, one is over 200 feet in difference, making some of the alt Ts a different shot. An over the water shot of 350 ft. with elevation help it is very possible to pull it off, even for some rec players like myself. Some interesting pin placements add to challenge as well. Many tables and benches to rest, eat or just take in the sounds and scenery of nature with no background traffic noise. Lots of parking and covered areas with plenty of seating. Coke machine. Even with the length there are still several chances for birdie. This has the most elevation for a mostly flat course that I have seen so far. It is borderline moderately hilly.
Cons: No restaurants close. Not much elevation. During warm weather there are plenty of biting and stinging insects. Hot and humid about half of the year. Distances are not correct on tee markers because so many baskets have been moved, for the better in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: The course itself is my favorite course in Louisiana so far. It is heavily wooded on most holes so there is some shade. There is plenty of land for another course in Lake Bistineau State Park. With a few touch ups and another 18 holes this course could host national events in my opinion.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Louisiana JEWEL!!!!!!!!

5+    4/20/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: teamudgp
Played: 55  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2011
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course in the longs will test your skills. A very unique course with lots of old trees and spanish moss. Camping is available. This is one of the best I have played.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: If traveling through, DO NOT play any other course. You will not be disappointed

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the Ark-La-Tex

5+    6/14/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The state park itself is beautiful and set far enough away from the city and main roads that it feels very secluded. Wildlife abounds, including deer and alligators (though I believe the gators are rarely seen near the course).

The course is quite wooded and very technical, but mostly flat...there are only 2-3 "open" shots that allow you to really let one loose without worrying about your shot being "tree-nied". Several lake-side holes surrounded by Cypress trees w/ hanging moss make for some great scenery. 2 pin locations on most holes add some variety for tourneys, but they aren't moved very often otherwise. Good variety of shots required to shoot well, nice facilities, cabins for rent (2 are actually on the course), and several very unique shots. My favorites holes are #3-short (shooting through a small gap in the Spanish moss for an ace run), #7 (700' through an open field with a few trees, then 100+' through a tunnel cut into dense woods), and #9-long (mini ski-slope type hole with dense woods on both sides of a 30' wide fairway).
Cons: Last time I played (a few months ago), the only signs were 4x4s in the ground and small green arrows showing the general direction of the next tee...can be a little confusing your first time through without a guide. All tees are natural right now...which I personally like, but many others might not. Not very beginner friendly...unless you're a beginner that likes a real challenge. Bring bug spray for the swamp mosquitos!!!

**Update - distance and number signage has been added to the existing 4x4 posts marking each hole**

The new pin placement on Hole 13 (right side) is pretty cool, but definitely needs some clearing done. There is only a 2-3' wide gap in the rough surrounding the basket, and only about a 5' radius around the basket has been cleared so far.
Other Thoughts: Once some better signs and good tees are installed, this will be a superb course. Last time a played there were flags marking alternate tees on most holes..hopefully those will be finalized soon. The park employees have seen a huge increase in park attendance since the course was installed, and if those numbers stay the same there might be a 2nd course coming soon! If you play, stop by the office to pay your $1 entry fee and make sure you tell them you're ther for the disc golf.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.