Queen Anne, MD
Tuckahoe State Park Share
Uploaded By: optidiscic Hole #7 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 156ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    12/26/2013   12/26/2013
Review By: Kivfd1
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very good day, saw numbers of people playing. Field was more open for the beginners, very clear sights to play.
Cons: The gate were locked every time I came to play, There were too much thorn in the area, the ground of tee shoot out was an ditch in it,

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tuckahoe!

1    9/9/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: johnny disco
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great location, easy to get around, and technical. Remember your pencils because the give you a map and a score card.
Cons: Poison ivy, not a lot of pins over 300ft.
Other Thoughts: With a little love this course could be a 5!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course for winter

5+    7/7/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2013
Pros: Great variety in holes. Many doglegs both left and right. Holes are mostly short, but require good accuracy. Inside a good park and rarely has more than 3-5 people playing at once. Moderate difficulty with many risk/reward opportunities. There are nice scorecards and pens available at the large sign at the start of the course. Discs are also available upon request at the park office. Fairways are usually maintained and cut low. Wind is rarely a problem since this course is somewhat forested.
Cons: VERY hard to find discs in summer. There is an extreme amount of plant,grass,and tree growth on every hole just outside the fairway. Par and distance info is sometimes hard to find on the wooden sticks indicating the tee for each hole, and sometimes non existent. Poison Ivy is present in almost every location outside of the fairways. Ticks and bugs can also be a problem. Sometimes the entrance to the parking lot is closed in the winter months, however most people park just outside the gate at hole 10 and start there. For people who like tee pads, unfortunately there are none here, and some tee areas are in need of some work because the dirt has eroded away and created a small hole.
Other Thoughts: This course is a bit underrated if you consider that it provides a better variety and more interesting round than most courses in the region if you can get past the dangerous "rough". This course drastically changes from summer to winter, In the summer, it can be a very difficult course due to the excess plant life, and the other seasonal cons mentioned above, however this course has very few if any cons for winter when the leaves have fallen off of the trees and the insects/poison ivy are gone. If it were possible to give this course a seasonal rating, I would give it a (4) in summer and a (5) in winter.

Tuckahoe State Park DGC

2-4    11/30/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: jchoate7
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When first getting into the park there is a sign that will point you in the right direction to the disc golf course. Once on the disc golf course navigation is very simple with hole 12 being the only hard hole to find due to a sign that seemed to have fallen from the tree. Rounds here are very fast, only took me an hour, which is great if you don't have a lot of time to spend. The course itself has plenty of short "ace run" holes which at times made the course a bit exciting. No practice tee but there is a field to practice your drives on for when you get done or before you start playing. Discs are for sale at the office if you want to purchase any and there is a bulletin board with rules/map/news/events just in front of the parking area.
Cons: When pulling up to the course I couldn't help but notice right away that hole 15 and 18 were extremelly close to the parking area. The course is short. I only got the chance to really grip and rip on a drive on maybe one hole here. The course lacks any type of elevation at all. Baskets are Discatcher baskets but they cheaped out on them as there is only the outer layer of chains present which made for a few annoying bounce outs that would have never happened if there was the two layer chains there. Hole 2's basket is a bit mangeled but still playable. There is no real set teepad with the only thing that marks where your supposed to tee off is a pole in the ground with the holes number on it. Distances and par information is sharpied on pole. On most holes I was able to see what side of the pole to tee off from the lack of grass but on some holes I really just had to guess left or right. The course's layout is a bit dangerous with holes 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 18 being near roads. To add to the course's dangers, holes 3 and 14 play using the same fairway in opposite directions. The rest of the course does play fairly close to each other so if there is mulitple people playing the course it is a good idea to keep a 2-3 hole buffer between groups.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good course to go to if you want to practice your approach game and putting game or even bring a beginner. There is no practice basket but as long as the course isn't being used by anybody else you can easily use baskets 15 and 18 to warm up. Just beyond hole 1 there is also a field that you can practice driving in. The course is generally a boring course and the reason I say that is because there is a lack of being able to be creative here. The layup shots are sometimes the absolute only shot that you have available. There is no real chance to let your disc "fly". The only excitement I found myself having while playing was the ability to go for an ace on a few of the holes.When playing this course you really need to be on your toes as the dangers in this course are ever prevelent. I was the only one playing when I went but had there been other people on the course I really would have had to watch where and when I was throwing as to not hit anybody. There is also the dangers of hitting vehicles as many holes play close to the roads and a couple holes play close to the parking area. The rest of the park also has more to offer thana just disc golf and can be nice to check out. Some f the activities include; canoeing, kayaking, boating, fishing, hiking, hunting, cycling, camping, swimming, and much more. The park itself is a great place to really enjoy the outdoors.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tuck-u-hoe

1    6/12/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 79  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with tee posts with sharpied distances, and discatcher baskets. Mostly wooded with a variety of turning fairways. Good variety of hole distances. Course drains well and well maintained. Navigation was stupid simple. Portapottie.
Cons: Basket 2 is a little mangled, guessing from a mower. Rough is very rough with lots of poison ivy and fairways are rather narrow and winding with blind landings galore. High potential for disc loss...I lost my putter off the tee of hole 16. Some of the holes play too close to each other with baskets near tees. Biting flies were nasty the whole course even while it was raining.
Other Thoughts: The course is totally devoid of any elevation and ground is quite sandy and unstable due to the natural topography of the area. Natural tees were ok here, the sandy soil probably keeps from rutting and I doubt the course see much foot traffic anyways.

There is good variety of hole distances however I felt like a lot of the holes were not really golf shots despite looking like good holes due to the narrow winding fairways and tough rough combined with blind landings force you to throw short and insight. There are a few holes I though were ok, but overall the course lacks much fun factor and replay-ablitly for me. You aren't really missing anything if you don't make it here, but if you are nearby it's ok, just stay in the fairway.

Getting to the course...follow signs to the camping grounds of the Tuckahoe state park and then follow signs to the course. You will see baskets on the right when you first enter the park campground and then turn right. Tee for hole 1 is right by the course map by the tiny parking lot. I missed it and went to hole 2 first, thinking basket 1 was a practice basket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 i enjoyed this course

1    4/23/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very technical course, trees dog legs and roads. it plays nice and short but some of the holes feel long because of the difficulty.
Cons: i can't really think of any cons for this course other than the fact that theres not really any teeboxes. all they are is two blocks sunk in the ground to sygnify where you are to throw between
Other Thoughts: although it is a lil over an hour drive to this course i will return to this course many times

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Average wooded course

1    6/18/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: grass was maintained. Kiosk with map (I downloaded a color map to the site that I used which was slightly easier for me to read). Nice baskets, very little outside traffic, and a porto-potty on hole1. Course features opportunities to use several throwing techniques. There are a few Risk vs. Reward opportunities.
Cons: No tee pads or tee signs, just a 2 by 4 with a number on it (#4 is facing the wrong way). Back track to tee 12 hinders flow. Tee signs are needed badly. Locals said course has a very bad reputation for ticks, but the thorns took far more blood out of my body.
Parking is right behind hole 15, I had to throw my disc directly towards my car.
There is a chance of disc loss.
Other Thoughts: Course was set up in 2 loops 1-15 and 16-18. At hole 15 I put my bag in the car and finished the course with 3 discs.
Peake is close by if you need a tie breaker.
If you are in a rush they suggest playing 1-7 then 14 and 15 to get in a quick 9 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick 18 hole course keeps your attention

2-4    5/7/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: jrawk
Played: 79  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-- Quiet, calm, peaceful, and low traffic course.
-- Parking, although limited, close to Tee 1 (maybe too close).
-- Front Kiosk with scorecards, includes an adequate map. You'll need the map in a few spots.
-- Tight, tight, tight fairways are well groomed, and easy to navigate with map in hand.
-- Many challenging shot shaping drives will require a variety of discs for specialty shots.
-- A precise mid-range drive will lead to birdies after birdies.
-- Errantly tossing in the woods will lead to bogies after bogies.
-- Overhand throwers have a distinct advantage throwing over tree lines on most drives and recoveries.
-- Favorite Holes: Number 9 plays down a long, tight, zigzagging fairway, truly par 4. And Number 10 plays down 2 rows of trees evenly spaced. Try the tunnel shot or roller between the tree line and white fence or hyzer/anhyzer through the double tree line.
Cons:
-- Tee pads on fairways! Multiple groups will need to be spaced more than the next hole apart. (If group 1 starts on tee 1, group 2 should start on tee 3).
-- The Kiosk is an obstacle on hole one. Kind of silly.
-- Park at your own risk. The parking lot is in range of errant throws.
-- Some holes next to access roads. Hazard of hitting vehicles.
-- Ground bees and poison ivy! Be careful where you step.
-- Many short holes with little challenge for the advanced player other than ace opportunities.
-- Least favorite hole: Number 1 is a hyzer or anhyzer around a clump of trees and the kiosk, maybe 166 ft. Picknick tables near basket and parking lot behind tee. Luckily the course does get better.
Other Thoughts:
Tuckahoe is a quick 18'er that does not get boring your first time through. And most likely you will want to play a 2nd round right away (My friend and I averaged 45 minutes each round). Most of the holes are very short, but have very tight fairways. None play through the woods, but a slight errant throw will have you playing out of the woods, which does not have a very high canopy making overhand recoveries the norm. I recommend the stop if you're travelling through.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Chuck a Throw @ Tuckahoe

1    9/17/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with good variety of line shaping holes throughout. Open throws across fields,Well mowed reasonable fairways of perfect grass to nice baskets. Navigation is well marked and easy to follow. Nice State Park. A few more open holes like #2. Most holes weave or wind through flat fairways with danger that will penalize to the right or left. Truly rewards staying on the fairway to score well. Mostly a midrange or fairway driver course. Not crowded at all. There is an array of shots required here: hyzers, anhyzers, S-turns, overhands, straight, tunnels, blind and open air.
Cons: Flat, meaning no elevation whatsoever. Most of the course is made up of well mowed 20 foot wide fairways with severe unforgiving shule to the right and left of the fairways. With hole lengths between 160-400ft its not always reasonable to stay out of the shule. Tees are natural and appear to be muddy at times. Despite all of the above mentioned variety most of the holes seem similiar to one another with just subtle different lines to be utilized to score par. Zero fun or wow factor here. I was trying to just avoid the shule and this kept me from really trying to challenge myself with funner throws. I kept hoping for something special here but nothing ever materialized. It's too punishing for beginners and too blah for more experienced players.
Other Thoughts: Theres some really cool areas in the park. Real shuleless woods and nice grass fields, particularly next to the lake. I would have had more fun playing safari with my big lids and if I wasn't alone I would have done this with a partner. Please don't equate State Park with quality course in this case....This one is a stinker.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Options and Opportunities

2-4    3/7/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 324  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "Technique" course - many gentle anhyzers or flicks, very high S-shaped or tomahawks, touch shots and sharp turns required.

Drains very well - very dry on same day we played a course 8-miles away which was a muddy mess.

Several ace chances, particularly #15 (maybe 125', no obstacles)

Some challenging pin positions, random scattering of obstacles, and narrowing of approaches make up for the lack of length
Cons: Rumour has it that this course has loads of ticks and poison ivy May-September.

No direction or distance signage - sandy dirt tee areas are simply marked by tall 4x4s.

Perfectly flat. Smattering of briars to avoid.
Other Thoughts: If the entrance gate is locked, park on the grass near it. You should easily spot basket #10 just outside the gate, and tee-post for #11 just inside the gate.

After completing #11, the next visible/close basket is NOT #12 - it is #8. Walk towards it, then look for a path to your right to reach the tee for #12.

After completing #8, the basket in front of you is #11 - walk toward it, and you'll find the tee for #9 - basket is through (quite a ways back) the opening to your left.

Only a few holes where you will grip-n-rip your opening drive. Guesstimate the distances range from 125 to 350 feet.

Favourite hole: #3. Appeared to be only 200', but since I'm not very good at throwing a disc and having its fly in a double-S shape, I had to anhyze a very stable disc and throw it exteremely high over a couple trees, then have it fade/spike back to the left - not a shot I'm required to attempt very often.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.