Cincinnati, OH 
Surge DGC Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #8 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 345ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Definitely NOT worth it!

1    5/31/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: DisCat13
Played: 110  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 15.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The area on the Cincinnati State campus is very nice and well maintained.

It is centrally located in the heart of Cincinnati.
Cons: Where to begin...

The parking situation is pretty awful. The directions here say you can find a spot to park on the street but I saw nothing but no parking signs everywhere on the main street. Once you pull into the campus there are parking lots that are for faculty and maintenance only. This is where I parked but was nervous when I was there the whole time. Unless you want to pay $5.00 to park in the garage and walk a half-mile to the course, there is no other option to park.

The course itself is very problematic. Again, the directions say that hole one starts in lot A. I searched for a good 8-10 minutes and couldn't find any marker or spot to tee off from, so eventually. I just picked a spot on my own. This is the case for ALL holes! Nothing is marked, there are little wooden stakes that I went with at first, but there was over 12 of them and it is a nine hole course, so I think they had something to do with the campus and not the course.

I found baskets 1-8 but again looked for about 10 minutes for basket 9 and could not find it. There are no signs, maps, or directions making navigation and full completion of the nine holes very difficult.

I never felt very welcomed here either. I said hello to a couple of people and got a look like, "what are you doing here?" I asked someone about the course and got a brief and cold response that obviously was no help.
Other Thoughts: This course is not worth any stop at all. Tale the time to go up to the professional grade, Mt. Airy Forest that is just moments away from here. Also, Idlewild in Burlington, KY is not far either and is exceptional.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Surge

1    4/27/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A well designed 9 hole course, right on the cinci state campus. has some tee pads for holes, though some are missing, as is the basket for 9, which we couldnt find. Has some good challenge though, on a big hill, with enough trees.
Cons: Couldnt find basket 9, some of the tees are missing and are had to find.
Other Thoughts: A good 9 hole course, that just needs some improvement, and work to be done.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Play on a Botanical Garden Hill

5+    7/5/2014   9/3/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update 7/5/14: I think the botanists win out over the disc golfers. Which is only a plus in that the place is beautiful. And the flash animated map mentioned in my review WAS the coolest thing I've seen in disc golf (but has been abandoned, as well). Look into cons for my edit.

Surge DGC at Cincinnati State (aka Copperleaf) is a relatively challenging nine hole course in the middle of town, and easily accessible near Interstate 75, so folks coming through town who want to stretch their legs (especially on a weekend) might want to see this unique course situated on a collegiate hillside botanical garden. There are educational signs all over describing features of the plantings, the paving, and so on, so if you have family with you that are more interested in gardening than disc golf, they can easily be entertained here while you get in a round.

Holes work their way back and forth the hillside, where you are forced to go left, right, straight, and tight, by the park-like trees and plantings that are extremely well maintained by the college. The landscaping itself is superb, while the disc golf holes range from 185 to 405 feet in length (depending on where you tee for #2 - there are two spots, depending on which map you follow), and possibly 500' up and around the blind hill. There are plenty of places for players with bigger arms than me to use the sidewalks creatively to lengthen the holes and increase difficulty. In fact, if you want to declare some areas out of bounds, like the raingarden area on hole 8, this course could challenge advanced and open players. In its intended state, it poses a decent challenge for rec to intermediate players.

The interactive map at http://itd1.cincinnatistate.e...flash_map.htmis one of the coolest things I've seen.
Cons: The 9th basket has been missing for at least six months (now 2 & 1/2 years). There are no trash cans or benches near the tees.

Navigation of the course would be very tricky without a map. For instance, The first tee is somewhere on the corner of the parking lot. Hole two tees off either on the central path up an indeterminate number of flights of stairs or somewhere unspecified along the sidewalk by the driveway, just to the right of the first basket. The fifth hole tees from the central stair/sidewalk again. You have to either hop over a guardrail or negotiate the steep hill 100' past the 5th basket to get to the 6th tee. The #7 tee is directly downhill below the 6th basket, and nearly invisible because of the mud running down over it. The 8th tee is marked by paint on the sidewalk below the main driveway, near one of the nation's biggest Gingko trees.

Only holes 3, 4, 6, (7), and 9 have dedicated tee areas, where they've used brick pavers, which seem to be the only neglected areas of the landscaping here. Some have weeds, and #7 is covered in mud, either of which can lead to slipping on your drives.

Edit 7/5/14: the tee on 7 has been obliterated by the sliding mud and can no longer be found. It does not feel right to throw anywhere near the rain garden area on 8, because we'd really harm it looking for a disc thrown in there.

Overall, the disc golf course seems to have been basically abandoned to the other landscaping. It's beautiful, but would be very frustrating if you didn't know the course. Sadly, to be accurate, I had to really drop my rating after playing there today.

They've added a beautifully landscaped raingarden which now constitutes the 8th fairway. I feel guilty throwing in there, and worry about trampling on the plantings, or possibly losing a disc there in the thick stuff.
Other Thoughts: I can't decide if this is a pro or a con: Hole 6 may be impossible for a beginner, with no clear flight path to the 300' basket. Big arms may be able to tomahawk over the tree in the fairway, but keeping a disc under a 5' high branch and running out along a hillside past another set of trees is a trick! I got lucky by accidentally firing my turnover beast through there, where it kicked up into a hillside roller to 6' from the pin!

This is a community college, and access might be limited during school sessions. I've gone on weekends, and had no trouble getting in to park, and have been alone on the course both times. I think the course gets relatively limited play, which might also be what the college wants in the long run: the botanical garden aspect of the landscape has clearly gotten the most attention. Not to say it isn't a really nice DG course: I'd recommend a visit either way!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hole nine missing

1    6/17/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: bradtollefson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty course on sloping hill with some shade and few moving obstacles (like people).
Cons: No tee markers so not sure where to start from. The basket for hole 9 was missing on the day we played.
Other Thoughts: Take a map from the links page.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice City Course!

1    12/24/2011   12/24/2011
Review By: thrembo
Played: 84  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 39.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + The course is pretty scenic for an inner city park. Hills, trees, etc. Cool industrial and large building views around the course.

+ Fairly long, and challenging for an inner city course.

+ Nice baskets.

+ Some holes had decent tee pads.
Cons: - Some holes have no tee pads (Hopefuly they are planning on adding the rest). I don't mind grass tee pads, but at least give me a well defined area to throw from.

- Definitey need the map to find your way around. Needs tee signs and trailblazers to help with navigation.

Other Thoughts: We had a blast playing this hilly mid length inner city college campus course. It was a little hard to navigate, and had an almost safari round feel to it, but you can't help but smile as you play it. A little love and upgrade could make this a really nice course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cincy State

5+    5/16/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Dice
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick to play (easy to get multiple rounds of nine in a short time.)

Love the view.

Great level of difficulty (in reference to the elevation).

Easy to access from the riverfront. If you are traveling to Cincinnati/ NKY and Don't want to get lost this is an easy course to find.

Never had a crowd on the weekend no matter what time of year.
Cons: You have to print off and bring the course map. www.cincinnatidiscgolf.com

Even with the map the Tees are very hard to locate.
Other Thoughts: It seems to me every time I'm back in town I play this course (mostly due to location) and some improvement has been made. I really hope it keeps getting better and more popular.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  So-so

2-4    6/30/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: rscottlow
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course was pretty challenging. It takes me about 40-45 minutes to play through (although some of that time is spent locating tees).

-The terrain is interesting. The trees and hillside make the course difficult and rather unique.

-Great location. I have been going to Cincinnati State for the past two years, and this is the first time I've played here, but since I am taking evening classes now, it's very accessible.

-Both times I've played have been in the evening, but even when driving by during the day, it seems as if it's not a very heavily played course.
Cons: -Very difficult to locate tees. Most are only marked by a stick with a ribbon tied to it (some of which are just lying on the ground), two holes (4 and 7) have a brick tee, and hole 6 is missing a tee marker entirely.

-The course is right between Central Parkway and Cincinnati State's parking lot, so inexperienced (and maybe even some experienced) players may find themselves hitting cars.

-Absolutely none of the courses have a par listed, which makes playing alone very boring.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course is just so-so. It was different than any other course I've played, which made it fun. If the course was more clearly marked, it would be much more enjoyable.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing every now and then

2-4    5/12/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: CincyDiscGolf
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Hole 1 has a nice elevation change. You have to toss down it from the parking lot without hitting a tree or the guard rail.

-Hole 9 includes a hill you have to toss over. The basket is on the other side in a wooded area.

-The hole courses plays on the side of a hill, which is kind of neat.
Cons: -Confusing without a map: Most of the tees are mark with little wooden stakes (a few were missing last time I played).

-Tees are too small: The ones that do have tees are too small.

-Its possible to hit a car as the course plays close to roads, and parking lots.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth playing, but don't go out of your way to get there. Just play it if your in the area.

Burnet woods is really close so you could hit that while your in the area as well. Burrnet is missing 2 baskets however, but you could still make a 16 hole game out of it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/27/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: wertyuio17
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's on a nice little campus.
-good use of trees and shrubs.
-lots of elevation changes.
-Not crowded on weekend.
-They are starting to put in some nice brick tee pads as of 4-26-09.
-there are no overwhelming distances so that is good for new players. But there are plenty of trees and obstacles to give the more experienced players a challenge.
-innova baskets
Cons: -No tee signs
-most hole dont have tee pads
-Hole 2 tee marker was nowhere to be found.
Other Thoughts: Since all of the other local courses are packed on the weekends(mt.airy,harbin,winton) I thought i would finally try this course out. And im glad i did. It was a fun short course, and it was nice to have the course to myself. Make sure to print a course map from cincinnatidiscgolf.com before you go or it may be a little difficult to find some tees.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Parking???

1    11/6/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 79  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate,I love the idea of courses being right on campus wish more schools in Michigan would do this,
Cons: I had a hard time finding a place to park all lots near course are for students only and a pass is needed to enter, had to search for an open parking meter,no signs,natural tees,9 holes,Uses the DC baskets which I personally don't like
Other Thoughts: Would not play again,

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.