Bristow, OK 
Bristow DGC Share
Uploaded By: Heathen Hole #6 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 171ft.   3 / 311ft.   3 / 461ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Needs some pizzaz

1    8/2/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 267  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has 3 sets of tees to offer you a variety of distances for each hole. Has a good amount of elevation.
Good mix of short and long holes as well.
The flow of this course is logical. There are lines that need to be hit here to score well
Playing from the blue tees will give those players who like a longer course more distance.

These observations are from the white tees:
1-plays on the slope of a hill
2-plays downhill
3-plays uphill, more trees on the right hand side of the fairway
4-has some trees to navigate around off the box, has a draw upon approach to the basket
5-has trees on the right hand side of the box
6-??? never found the white tee, has an elevated basket
7-plays uphill with a big tree to throw around or you can thread the gap in the tree
8-plays uphill, elevated basket, plays R to L
9-moderate length and wide open for the most part
Cons: Needs trash cans for sure and some benches would be nice as well. For a 9 hole course it does have elevation and being offered a place to sit would be a good option.
No amenities here.
The walk from 4's basket to 5's tee and from 7's basket to 8's tee, is rather lengthy and slows the flow down.
Hole 6's white tee marker is missing.
Some distances on the tee signs would be nice.
Other Thoughts: It appears that the white tees get the most play on this course due to the amount of wear. This course is pretty beginner friendly in that the threat of losing plastic is pretty minimal.
I felt like the disc golf was good here but none of the holes really stood out and WOWED me. If this course were to address the backtracking issues, put back 6's tee marker, and offer benches and trash cans that certainly would help improve this course. It appears that this course does get played every now and then and it has been a solid play for a while.
I just can't quite give it a 3, and I know a 2.5 is probably too low, but its more a 2.5 than a 3 in my opinion. I just wished there were a hole that really stood out in my mind and sadly I didn't get that. Its not a bad course and if you are passing through you should play here just for the elevation and workout it will give you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic find!

1    2/24/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: Dan H.
Played: 80  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park! A nice little lake nearby and a really cool bridge. The course was pretty clean for an Oklahoma course. Nice views.

- Great amount of elevation change. I love the big downhill drives and baskets on hills.

-very challenging, especially for a 9 hole. Some holes were tough to get a 3 from the long tees.

-Good variety of holes. mostly open, but good use of trees and some left and right dog legs

-multiple tees. most holes had 3 tee settings with the gold tees being pretty long and tough.
Cons: No concrete tees

No benches or restrooms. The only trash can is by the parking lot.

most of the tee signs need help
Other Thoughts: With some concrete tees and a little love, this could be my favorite 9 hole course in the state. I love the imaginative hole design and the challenge and elevation change this course presents. Well worth stopping by if you are passing through. This is a GREAT 9 hole course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice compliment to the Tulsa area

2-4    7/2/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: notBOB
Played: 135  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome 9 holes outside Tulsa- map up on bulletin near 1st tee, study it

-excellent use of the land, course layout flows well
-rolling hills throughout the entire 9 adds elevation- #2 is most extreme, 500ft downhill bomb
- #6 blue tee up by the road- another downhill bomb, 400' or so with elevated basket on a mound- nicely added challenge
-3 tees per hole marked with red white or blue pieces of wood in the ground to tee from
-tee signs were helpful when looking for the next tees
-holes are designed really well, utilizing trees and forcing flight patterns
-well balance of lefts and rights, longs and shorts.
-last 3 holes up the hill are tighter than the previous 6.
-technical throughout entire 9 - errant throws will hurt your score- hit your lines yo
-versatility will help out here. rollers, forehands, overhands...
-mach I's are in good shape

Cons: -navigation gets fuzzy in certain spots, tee signs could use a 'next tee' indication
-map at hole 1 is hand drawn so scale is a bit wack.
-the pieces of wood in the ground are hard to spot for longs, blue's blend in with the ground
-dirt or gravel tee's would be better than only having grass
-only baskets and tees out there- no benches or any of that
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun. It's definitely worth the pull off the highway to check out, and its right down the road from Sapulpa 9- another great course..

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Should have played here sooner

1    2/27/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: Heathen
Played: 170  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bristow has some dramatic elevation changes. There are a couple of great downhill runs and some booming drives from elevated tees. This was really fun to play.
With the exception of hole 6, there were signs for all the tees and the course was pretty easy to navigate. A few holes were short, and a couple of them really tested my arm.
Most of the holes had 3 tee pads,blue pro tees, white intermediate, and red recreational tees, with the sign placed at the white.
Cons: Although I have no issue with natural tees, some of these tee surfaces were a bit more uneven and out of level than I was completely comfortable with. It's hard to really rip a drive when you're trying to keep from twisting an ankle.
This is also a course with the minimum of amenities. No benches, no trash cans, no information on the tee signs other than the hole number.
Other Thoughts: This course is behind the VFW on 1st ave just past the cemetery. The first hole is behind and to the right of the building.
I've been meaning to play this course for the past couple years, whenever I come out to Oklahoma, and after finally hitting it, I'm glad I finally did. I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again. I wasn't expecting much when I drove up, but I left with a smile.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 What a pleasant surprise!

2-4    6/8/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: jrcamp001
Played: 198  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good signage on tees and baskets, and an easy to follow layout. Great use of mature trees, distances, available water (creek), and elevation changes. Some long holes from the Blue tees and the White tees are pretty tough also.
Cons: Tee signs could use distances for all three tees. Another 9-holes would be nice but alternate tees provide plenty of challenge.
Other Thoughts: I was a bit concerned after reading the other review but I was off to play new courses and wasn't going to pass on this one. Glad I played it. Excellent find! Well worth the drive from OKC.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent But not worth the Travel

7/4/2008   7/6/2008
Review By: nathanburrows
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -variety of shots
-use of terrain
-tees are new
Cons: -tee pads are dirt and a lot them don't have a flat service to throw from.
-tee pads are sometimes hard to find.
-mowing was sometimes lack there of in places
Other Thoughts: -I heard they plan to make more holes sometime soon.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.