Dover, OH 
Deis Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #6 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 179ft.   3 / 427ft.   4 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Deis Blues

1    6/26/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with excellent tee signs and baskets over some great elevation. Concrete tees on the whites, mix of concrete and natural tees for blues. Navigation was ok. Nicely mowed grass fairways.
Cons: Only one big loop back to parking lot, this is a con here. There is a lot of backtracking to the blue tees as well as the shorts. I usually don't have issues with natural tees, but the long tees here are often natural with bad placement on short slopes and tend to be muddy areas. Being a mostly open course, it gets hot, especially hiking up and down big elevation. Benches are a scarce here and actually needed.

The placement of the tee sign for 1 blue is not great right next to the front of the tee. Plays over/near less used parking lot This hole just feels long for the sake of long with no real risk or reward.

Hole 2 had some walkers by the blind basket and poison ivy lining the narrow fairway.

Hole 4 and 5 had people walking back and forth over the fairway from parking lot to pond. Hole 6 looked like one the best holes but I could not play as it was roped off for a camp archery competition. I had the willies playing hole 7 and 8 with the archers behind me and poison ivy down the edges of the fairways and not far from basket. There is a lot poison ivy in the wood line here.

Hole 13 is another hole that is just long for the sake of long.

Hole 14 is probably the signature hole, but once again I could not play as there was a soccer game in the fairway.

Hole 15 there were people in the way from the long tee and the gap on the dog leg up the hill seems a bit ridiculous to hit as you want to land almost exactly on the short tee pad there, then there is the poison ivy up both sides the steep narrow "fairway".

Hole 16 plays over the park road.

Hole 17 plays right next to road with narrow fairway of line trees, looks like a really cool hole, but doesn't play well as kicks become completely random. The best move is to pitch outside the fairway and play a hyzer instead of hoping to keep any disc that straight and narrow that long and risking the bad kicks.

Hole 18 was a lackluster uphill sloped open hole.
Other Thoughts: I generally love long courses with big elevation and Deis Hill has that aspect in spades, but overall the course is rampant with other park users, poison off the fairway and lacks technicality to make this the top tier course it begs to be like the Black Course in WV. I got bored as it's so straight forward and throw far or die here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Big Course, Big Arms

1    6/12/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Very Nice Tee Signs
Three Tee Pads Per Hole
Nice Concrete Tees on Most Holes
Baskets are in Great Shape
Great Use of Elevation Changes
Has A Couple of Really Nice Signature Holes
Decent Mix Of Open and Wooded Holes
Begins and Ends at Parking Lot
Clean and Very Well-Maintained
Ample Parking (For Normal Play)
Pinic Pavilions, Pool, Walking Trails and Other Amnities in Park
Cons:
Could Use More Variety
Other Park Traffic Close to Fairways
Could Use A Few More Obstacles on Some Holes
No Benches (Pretty Big for a Course This Long)
Not for All Skill Levels
Poisen Ivy Still Prevelant Throughout the Course
Other Thoughts:
Deis Hill is an absolutely huge 18-hole course located in the small town of Dover, Ohio. The course is located in a beautiful city park and is one of the cleanest park courses that I have ever played. I don't know if it's all the parks department or the users of the park themselves, but whatever they are doing it's working and all parks should model themselves after this one.

Enter the park from Deis Hill Road. You will be driving along the wooded fairway of hole 17 and come up on the practice basket on the left side of the road. You have two choices for parking, one is on the left behind the practice basket, the second is along the right side of the park road near the picnic pavilions. Hole 1 is located on the left side of the park road directly across from the pavilions.

The one thing that really stands out about this course right from the beginning are the amazing tee signs. They not only show the tee pad, basket, and obstacles for each hole, they also show the alternate tee pads, roads, OB, and any other park features such as buildings, shelters, and parking lots. This makes navigating from hole to hole and tee to tee a breeze as long as you pay attention to the tee sign at each pad.

Right from the first hole you can also see that this course is for experienced players and big arms with the long tee pad measuring in at close to 1000 feet, with the short pad still reaching the 400 foot mark. While this may be great for many experience players and championship caliber tournaments, the novice or casual player might have a tough time or get frustrated with the sheer distance that this course demands even from the short tees.

As you make your way through the course you see some great amenites that I think really add to this courses overall score for many people. I mentioned the amazing tee signs, but there is also huge concrete tee pads, nice and easy to spot next tee signs, and great baskets. While all these are great they seemed to overlook a couple key elements, the first being benches. I wouldn't take off points as far as ratings go, but with a course of this size, hole length, and hiking wise, I would expect to see at least a couple of benches. Another great addition to this course would be some trash cans. While this was one of the cleanest parks I have ever seen, there were a couple of stray water and gatorade bottles throughout. Obviously this happens everywhere and isn't a con of the course but I do think that with a trash can or two this one may actually be as close to spotless as a course can get since many of the bottles I did see looked like they may have just fallen out of bags or were forgotten and left behind.

While the course and park have great amenities, the course could use a little more diversity to be the best of the best. There is a decent mix of open and wooded holes, but some of the holes are so wide open it kind of gives the course that "too open" feel. On top of the wide open feel the course has, it also lacks a lot of thought to play. Aside from one or two signature holes you are just out there throwing basic hyzer, anhyzer, and straight shots. I don't recall one hole that had me standing on the tee pad trying to decide on a route to take, or which shot to pull out of my bag.

Overall the course is really good. While there could be more, there is enough diversity on top of all of the great amenities to put this up there in the top. One thing I will advise is to go in with little to no expectations. Right now this is ranked as the top course in Ohio, and while it's definitely in the top few if you go in thinking number one, you might be disappointed. This course does deserve many of the high praises it gets, but ratings are opinoined based and in my opinion keeping that in mind will really help you to enjoy this course for what it is.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Pro Level

1    1/26/2008   1/26/2009
Review By: smythransom
Played: 60  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signs, and mutliple tees, you know exactly where to throw and how far. Challenging no matter what your level. Expertly maintained. No two holes seem to be the same, a very good course.
Cons: The distance may be off putting to players that do not have the biggest arms. The course takes nearly 2 1/2hrs to play. So make sure you have the time and endurance to trek over 2 miles up and down hills.
Other Thoughts: The course is nice in that it has multiple tees and thus offers you a wide varieity of shots and lengths. However, if you not physically fit it may be hard to complete some of the climbs are long and up hill. The long distances make time playing less of the game than walking from throw to throw.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 very nice

6/1/2008   6/1/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park, great holes, challenging. Real fun downhill shot. Few players.
Cons: Sort of dangerous with some of the walking paths. Hole 18 plays right beside 17's fairway, not sure why as there is so much room in this park.

Course must have been designed from the short tees because there is considerable backtracking to play the long tees on many holes.

Really geared to the big arm players, and a few holes where the par is a 3.5 instead of a true 3 or 4 par.
Other Thoughts: I played here the other day and really enjoyed the long tees. They were super challenging like Moraine or Deer Lakes, but some of the holes were just big wide open crushes. Which is fine, but not really my kind of golf. The rest of the course is beautiful. 4 and 5 are absolutely gorgeous. Too many blind shots that play near roads or walking paths, someone is going to get hit for sure.

I would put this in my top 10 favorite courses if you did not have to backtrack so much to get to the tees and if hole 1, 18 and 13 were different. they are just big bombs with nothing exciting going on. Has potential to be one of the best courses out there, but it just needs a little tweaking. Pars need to be thought out better and the tweener holes need shortened or lengthened to make a better scoring spread for the holes. Overall a great course that is better than 75% of the ones that I have played so far.


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center