Dover, OH 
Deis Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 220ft.   3 / 355ft.   3 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Red Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Deis Hill/Deis Long

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 81  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Deis Hill is a championship-level course and is located in a very big park packed with things to do. The course is thoroughly spread over different sections of the park, allowing the player to experience many different types of holes. Park on the right side of the road next to the pavilions, and a practice basket and hole 1 will be directly to the left.

This course is in top condition, with the most detailed tee signs I've ever seen, concrete tee pads nicely set in the ground, in terrific shape, and allowing a comfortable run-up, and DGA baskets that are in great shape and have the hole numbers on them. There are three sets of tees on almost every hole, with 1 or 2 holes having shared white and blue tees. This is a definite plus here, as each tee gives vastly different looks and lengths for the hole. This is especially true for the middle holes that play through the woods.

One of the most physically challenging courses I've ever played, Deis Hill rewards a big arm - only 3 holes are under 400 feet and 5 holes are over 600 feet from the blues. These incredible lengths, as well as the terrific use of elevation, make even the more open holes challenging to achieve par. Hole 1 - for example - is nearly 1,000 feet of open space, but the gigantic slopes that it plays on can cause definite rollaway potential. However, there are a lot of holes that require you to hit tight lines in the woods as well (holes 6-8, 15, 17). Finally, there are holes in between these two extremes that require you to pick a line through the numerous trees and incorporate length and elevation as well (holes 4, 5, and 16 do the best job of this).

This is a superbly maintained park, and there aren't many chances to lose discs. Rough is present on some holes, but it is not annoyingly thick. There is fairness in scrambling out of the rough. This course is a huge hike, plays directly under the sun most of the time, and takes a lot of time to play, so prepare accordingly. While I enjoyed the hiking aspect of it, some people may not be up for it. Navigation flows very well and there are a lot of next tee signs.
Cons: -There was a bad storm the night before I played, but still, the course was incredibly swampy throughout most of the course. It doesn't seem that the course drains well, as a lot of the holes play down in many valleys. A lot of standing water was present.
-I wouldn't call the more open holes (9-13) throwaways, but they did get a little repetitive and I would've liked more opportunities for line-shaping in this part of the course. Still, the length and elevation made these holes challenging.
-Holes 1-5 play dangerously close to park roads, causing me to play a little more conservatively and affecting my round a little bit in this way.
-I hardly ever feel the need to sit during a round, but this is one course that could use a few more benches as it is a grueling hike.
Other Thoughts: Deis Hill is a very physically demanding course with its vast elevation and seemingly never-ending hole lengths. I really enjoyed the variety of hole types that it has, whether being a steep downhill shot(2, 10, 14), super tight tunnel shot (7, 8, 17), sharp anhyzer (6, 9, 12), hyzer bomb (11), or a fun combination of shots. This is definitely one of the hardest courses I have played, and I recommend it to anybody. If you are a beginner, the red tees are still very enjoyable.

My favorite holes on the course:

1- A great way to start a round. Completely open but plays on a very fast slope and then downhill to the basket. Nearly 1,000'!
8- Have to hit a super tight line to reach a the green, plays gradually downhill.
14- A true top of the world shot, and the best downhill bomb I have played. Still requires you to hit a tight window before heading to the bottom of the hill.
17- My favorite tunnel shot and most scenic one that I have played. Very tight but still fair.

Took me about an hour and a half to play alone.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Surprise!

1    10/14/2009   4/28/2012
Review By: Durco
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2013
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: My 2 friends and I stopped to play the course on the way to NC from MI for the USDGC in 2009, as a break from driving. We were SUPER surprised at the course we stumbled upon!! There are a good number of long holes. I really enjoyed this course!
Really fun shots!
more than just par 3s
Rolling hills, tree lined fairways, a good deal of elevation, open, semi wooded and wooded holes.
I threw a lot of dif discs off the tee, which always makes for more fun IMO.
Good variety of shots needed to score well
Long par 3s and par 4s and two par 5s. Par 62!! What a fun course! I wish I lived closer.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Fun

1    12/19/2011   12/21/2011
Review By: badsmurph
Played: 146  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really enjoyed the walk out here. Coming from playing alot of elevation in NC this course isn't as bad of walk as others have reviewed. I played the whites except blue 14 in 1 hr 3 mins. Alot of open crush shots that got a little redundant and not much midrange off tees.
Tee signs were awesome.
Really liked holes 1,2,14 and 17. 17 was probably my favorite even though it was my only bogey. Great drive but that fast green will get you.
Cons: Hole 11 WTF. especially being LBH. Didn't realize I had to crush another drive 450 or throw 330 and thumber over top.
Didn't care for 15 either.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course especially driving from MI to NC. Will dif stop in spring or summer so I can throw some rollers. Also check views by the pool

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 DEIS HILL IS AT THE TOP

1    6/24/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: innovajohnny5
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It is a very challenging course and you better be in good shape cuz its a hike. There a 3 Degrees of Insanity: Red - White - Blue - choose your best option. Whatever you think you can handle from Beginner to Intermediate to Advanced. You have to be insane to play Deis Hill. So Play It!!!! This course is clean and the Signage is Amazing. I have never seen tee signs like it anywhere. I would like to know who made the signs - the course I frequent could use these.
Cons: Like most reviewers it's the benches or even a few tree stumps. Someplace to rest the weary bones. Other than that a trash can or two other than at the pavillion or pool would help eliminate the random bottle trash on the course.
Other Thoughts: As an Intermediate player I like the course. The first hole has a basket with a huge arrow attached to it. Can't miss it - well ok I missed the putt but I knew where the basket was!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Strong-Armed

1    7/2/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Three concrete tees per hole, the exceptions being 7 & 8, where white=blue tee, and 18, no concrete on blue nor white.. Each tee had great signs, showing the distance, shape, and even a photo of each hole. Practice basket.
Cons:
Hot summer day => pool usage => cars parked close to #15's fairway. Small parking lot may come into play at midpoint of #5.
Other Thoughts:
The course plays in the open space, between clusters of woods, and at times, within/through said patches of woods, of a very large public park located a few minutes off I77. Elevation changes will be evident on most every hole - you'll experience quite a workout playing here. Should throw a fair blend of left/right/no turning shots, and with some extremely long and open holes, you'll have plenty of chances to throw your distance drivers. For this review, I played the course from the whites.

Nothing quite says "Big Arms Welcomed Here!" than hole-1 being 800'+, wide-open, right-to-left slope, with a blind (large, visible arrow helps you find it) basket located behind an out-of-bounds parking lot, and having a tree-filled hill behind! Big-armed blasters should enjoy very long, very open holes 1, 13-14, and 18. Prefer a little less open, little less length? Somewhat shorter, mostly open with either a couple of large trees and/or a cluster/edge of woods to avoid, challenges can be found on nearly half the holes (3-5, 9-12, 16). Want tight woods and/or narrow lanes to hit? Scratch that itch on holes 2, 6-8, 15, 17.

Favourite holes: #15 was an interesting hole - wide-open initially, uphill to a small opening at the edge of a woods (which is where the red tee was located). From there, a sharp left-turn (i.e. straight from the short tee) up a tree-filled slope, needing a little right-fade at the end to find the basket. Also liked #8, slightly downhill initially, needing a subtle right at the midpoint, tree-lined the bulk of the length, opening up a bit with some scattered trees towards the end.

As an alternative to starting at hole-1, find 20th street, and follow the signs to the pool - only $2 to enter, adult-only swim for 15=minutes on the hour, and tee-10 is at the back of the pool's parking lot.

Very good course that should provide you with a pretty good workout, and plenty of distance-driving opportunities.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Deis Hill Park

5+    7/5/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: e_dragon2110
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well maintained
too much focus on long drives from the tee
plentaly of trash cans
Cons: No water foutians
Hole 11 should be a par 4
restrooms are usualy locked
Other Thoughts: Good course but could use a little improvement. vending machines would b nice or even water foutians along the course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Home Sweet Home

2-4    11/26/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: nightgoat
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate, some of the best hole signage I've ever seen. Having been playing in south east Virginia for the last 6 years, its nice to see and play some serious elevation changes. The tee from the blues on 14 was bad ass, never played a giant drop off like that before. Lastly, its 3 miles from my moms house, so when I make it up here 2 times a year now, its a little less boring.
Cons: I agree with some of the previous reviews that a little more usage of some trees or some sort of diffulculty on the wide open holes would have been nice. It is one hell of a workout, 2 rounds back to back is a test of will.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging!

1    10/1/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 176  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous park

Nice elevation changes

Well maintained

Nice pads and baskets
Cons: Lacks diversity

Not enough obstacles/hazards
Other Thoughts: Wow. This course is what I was hoping for. I read that it was a long course. I like to grip and rip. I could certainly do that here.

There were very few deuce opportunities and really no ace runs come to mind. To have long 400-800 foot holes is nice, but in my opinion, there should be at least a couple short holes mixed in. Also, it was almost entirely open.

The elevation changes are sweet. I actually over shot a 450 foot hole. Yes, it was down hill, but it sure felt great watching it sail. On other holes, you look at 600 feet and think, oh, I should get there in three, but the subtle uphill change makes throwing 300 feel more like 400...and you take a 4.

Challenging and beautiful with heavy rolling fairways and diverse pin placements, this course is sharp. If you are a novice, expect some high scores and some motivation to get better. As an experienced player, you wont want to wait too long before another chance to tame this bad boy.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/6/2008   4/21/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some of the most longest holes i've seen in disc golf . Very well maintained and very beautiful. Multiple tees offer multiple distances. Red blue & white . Most holes have concrete tees

Hole 1 shoots over a valley that drops about 200 to 300 ft(estimate) An errant shot on this hole and it will make about 15 mins longer, as make you tired.

There are a handful of holes 6,7,8 wich are nestled in the woods. For the most part this entire course requires a great deal of arm ....and well legs as the elevation changes are abundant.

For the most part course is grip and rip.
Cons: Alot of walking. Alot of poison Ivy.
can't really complain here.
Other Thoughts: They could probably add 4th and 5th tees with the amount of distance on these holes. Drink plenty of water, and wear very comfortable shoes, as this course takes at least 2 hours to play.

Pavillions walking track bathrooms and a swimming pool are among the ammenties

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 following suite

1    12/3/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - A year later I've come back and now it has about 1/3 cement tees!
- Epic, intensely hilly open and long course puts your endurance and physical ability to the test.
- Some tight shots to attempt to balance out the course.
- VERY well marked- large signs at each of the 3 tees per hole, and a map.
- Well mowed, no tall grass, rough off a few holes is not thick unlikely to lose a disc here.
- Elevation changes unlike anything in the region, wind and hills make up the most challenging aspects.
Cons: - Still some dirt tees.
- Kind of the middle of nowhere (but an hour from my grandma's house!).
- Ivy vines dripping from trees on 3-4 holes just off fairway make a serious hazard to avoid if possible, if not you're screwed on those shots.
- Apparently closed when snow on the ground for sledding (another decent, 9 hole course 'nearby' in Minerva if that happens BTW).

Other Thoughts: Keep up the good work pouring those giant new pads this is one of the great courses in the world to play, tops for Ohio.
Kill some ivy too!
I'll be back for a tournament someday.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.