Disc Golf Store
Dover, OH 
Deis Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
4 / 376ft.   4 / 587ft.   4 / 711ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 White Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Big Hike!

2-4    4/2/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking and pavilions for large groups
- The map is put together very well and in great detail
- 3 tees per hole
- Almost every tee is concrete and well maintained
- Signs on the tees are simply amazing! Whoever created these put some serious effort into making this a premium course.
- The baskets are well labeled and in great shape
- The flow is fantastic considering that this is a 10K foot course with hole #18 ending at hole #1. You will spend a lot of time tee'ing out and backtracking a hundred feet or so to the next tee but I do not consider this a con because the fairways do not overlap and the land was utilized to it's fullest. Hole's with a bit of a walk are #2 to #3, #10 to #11, #11 to #12 & #16 to #17.
- No walking paths so you wont be bothered by hikers and bikers! It's just disc golfers in their element.
- Low disc golfing traffic both times I was there
- Bathrooms are on the premises but I did not investigate them
- Very clean with plenty of trashcans
- No vandalism
- Upkeep is grade A! People work hard to keep the fairways clear and the grass cut
- Extreme Distance with intense elevation changes
- There is a large and very nice public pool
Cons: - Next tee signs. Could use a few more even though the map is very accurately made.
- Could use more benches
- Could use a concrete tee for #14 because the downward grade of the natural tee could cause a bad stumble
- This course could be considered 'too wide open' for those that need the intricate throws through thick woods
- There are a few Blue/White tee signs that need updated. It appears that some of the Blue tees were added after the course was initially installed. If you play Blue tees like me, keep a copy of the map with you because you may be playing from the White tee even though it's labeled Blue on the tee itself.
Other Thoughts: - This is a challenging course no matter your level of expertise.
- Exercise? HA, you'll feel the burn playing this course.
- Most challenging hole is #15. Wide open to start then turns into a small uphill tunnel alley.
- Favorite hole is #14. This hole is INSANE!! You throw off the top of a huge hill out into a massive open area. You can choose any type of throw and really experiment with which type of throw is better. I got decent distance off an overstable disc doing a hyzer-flip but I really maxed out my distance using Champ Leopard on a very small S curve right then small fade left, landed about 80' from the basket for an easy score of 3.
- This phenomenal course is a MUST to play! Worth the trip for sure!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Huge. Lush. Awesome.

1    7/31/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three pads per hole.
Very professional and helpful signs / maps.
Perhaps as challenging a course as you'll find in Ohio.
Course designers are clearly lovers of disc golf.
Huge and expansive with lush, rolling hills.
Beautiful scenery.
Large variety of different shots.
Lefty and righty friendly holes.
Some holes reward risk, many reward conservative play.
Cons: If you are out of shape this course will be happy to let you know that fact.
Watch out, black widow spiders observed in wooded area on hole 11.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I went to the legendary Deis Hill Park course on July 31, 2010. This course is huge, the pro pads will have you throwing nearly two miles by the time you complete 18 holes. I agree with the posters who said that this course will give be happy to let you know you're out of shape, and that playing it twice is a test of will.
Once you find hole 1 (a monstrous 900+ footer on the pro pad) navigating the course is easy. Park by the first hole; the next parking lot is by hole 4, and there is a monster hill to climb to get back to hole 1 if you make that mistake, like we did. I can't get over how much real estate was used to create this course. Beautiful woods and ponds, lush, rolling hills, scenic drops that can turn what looks like an easy 10 foot putt into a 400 foot nightmare if you miss. I have mad respect for Deis Hill Park. Not sure if my body could handle it every week, but definitely worth checking out. The tee pads are all concrete, and each has a very professional looking sign and map. I was rather entertained by the fact that each hole has a name, such as "Tornado Alley, Kings Row, Turn for the Worse" etc. "Turn for the worse" lives up to its name, especially if you're a lefty. (like me) I'm still having nightmares about that hole. (11) Kings Row (17) is a tunnel straightaway shot through a bank of majestic trees. To the left is a paved road, to the right a hill that will send your disc 400 feet to the bottom if you miss. Ouch. Hole 15 ("Tornado Alley") plays up the opposite side of the hill next to an amphitheater through the woods. This course has an awesome mix of tight and technical and open long shot holes; sometimes these even get combined. One thing that I was amazead by was how empty the course was on a beautiful Saturday. I would have thought with as highly rated as this was that we would have been waiting to play, but no; there were only two other groups there. (and on such a large course you'll really never be in each others' way.) Go visit the good people of Dover, Ohio, and put Deis Hill Park on your list of must play courses!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Exceptional

5+    3/19/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 60  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2011
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -The best teepads and tee signs I've seen. The Teepads are all concrete except for a few, and the signs have excellent pictures and distances listed.

-Navigation is very easy.

-Extremely well maintained. The grass is always kept nice and short.

-There are multiple benches and trashcans scattered through the course.

-Huge drives. Between the white and blue tees there are drives between 400' and 900'+ long. Hole 1 from the blues is nearly 1000' long, which is a nice change of pace from the many deuce runs on nearby courses. I can't express how nice it is to be able to rip full power drive after full power drive and not be in danger of running past the basket. Not many courses cater to players with over 450' of distance, so Deis Hill is special to me.

-3 complete sets of tees, nearly all of them with their own color coded signs. Having 3 different tees for every hole adds a lot of replay value to the course and lets you tailor the experience to your skill level. Reds offer a lot of ace runs, while whites and especially blues will be challenging your distance.

-Hole 14 blue tee. It's on top of a huge hill where you can just bomb drives and watch them sail for a long, long time. It's not unusual to see players emptying their bag here.

-Extremely pleasant surroundings. Nice variety in tree size & species, plenty of shade in between wide open distance holes, picturesque water fountain with encircling walking track complete with swinging benches, full size swimming pool etc. This is a park I would enjoy going to even without my discs.

-Extremely little interference from non-discgolfers. 3, 4 and 5 play near a road and walking path, but they do not intersect with any of the holes.
Cons: -If you are out of shape, it will make you fully aware of that fact. Have brought people with me to this course that didn't even throw the last few holes because the elevation whipped them. I guess this would be a con to some players but to me it's a pro because I find the trek invigorating.

-Hole 5 plays over a small parking lot where one or two cars are often parked. Take caution going for the RHBH hyzer route.

-You eventually have to leave. =/
Other Thoughts: I've tried hard to think of anything bad to say about this course and it's tough. It's a phenomenal course and I have trouble understanding why it's gotten some negative reviews. Yes, there are many long holes...if you don't enjoy that play the red tees. There's a variety of shots in terms of lines, distances and elevation changes, and there's a good mix of open and wooded holes.

I usually play mostly whites, 14 blue and a few reds on holes that I don't care for the white tees much (Danhyzer comes to mind, hole #6, and hole #15).

I can't express enough how much I enjoy this park. This would be worth driving to as a destination. If you have the time, you could make a day out of playing Dover, Massillon and Canton, as they're all fairly close and very good courses.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Does not disappoint

1    8/22/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2009
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Awesome course with a bunch of great elevation change holes and really nice shot variety. Three sets of tees from which to choose, almost all of which have trapezoidal concrete pads of ample size. Three tees provide a variety of holes for all skill levels. The tee signs/posts are color coded for the tees (red, white, and blue) making them very easy to spot. Tee signs have a photo of the hole marking the basket location, a detailed map of the hole, OB rules, fairly accurate distances, realistic pars, and creative names for most holes. The baskets are double chain DGA's in nice shape. For navigation issues and hidden basket issues there were large "next tee" signs pointing the way. The park was in gorgeous shape with mowed fairways and pastures.
Cons:
Poison ivy, lots of poison ivy, the biggest leaves of poison ivy I've ever seen; but stay in the fairways and you're safe. Parking by tee #1 can be limited for large events. There are a couple holes where the road comes into play so be wary of cars before throwing a disc. There was one blue tee that felt crammed in (#17): not only is there insufficient space for a decent throw, the ground is uneven, and without a marked Mando you can "cheat" the hole by throwing around the trees (which isn't a realistic option from the white tee only ~50' closer). UPDATE: the course designer has informed me that the blue 17th tee will eventually be cleared and pushed back into the woods when concrete is poured.
Other Thoughts:
This course has continued to improve over time so put more stock in the more recent or recently updated reviews.

Hole #1 starts off with a 900' bomb (from the blue tee) over a picturesque "valley", the basket is behind a small hill and not visible so there's a large orange sign with an arrow attached to and pointing at the basket. That's the type of attention to detail that was put into this course that make it top notch. Hole #14 from the blue tee is a fantastic shot from up the hill by the road with at least a 100' drop in elevation, very cool hole. Oddly, this course has no water hazards, something a bit surprising on a high class course like this.

The park is multi-use with several picnic shelters, trails, and a swimming pool. Those amenities don't interfere with the course for the most part.

Be aware there are multiple course maps floating around some of which are out of date with respect to a few changes that were made, most notably hole #12 was moved so the fairway is no longer adjacent to all the houses.

This is absolutely a destination course, one of the best I've played. Drive out of your way to play this one, you won't be disappointed.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/24/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: By far the best course I have played on so far. To think I was less then 30 min away and never played there until now. There is short holes really long holes twisting holes an excellent variety of shoots. The tees and signs are the best I have seen anywhere. The tees are shaped really wide and get a little more narrow. This helps left and right handed players equally. The signs are highly detailed. Plus there are many signs showing the layout to the next hole. I give the course an A+++.
Cons: If I have to post a con to the course. I guess I could say it is really bad if you throw the disc the wrong way on hole on. You will regret the walk that awaits you.
Other Thoughts: This course ROCKS!!! It will challenge you mentally physically and maybe even spiritually.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Ohio!

5+    6/15/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: rtiedemann6
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All around very strong course. Good mix of long drives and shorter holes. Some holes very open, so if you hook or slice, you're not on a nature walk. New tee signs, nice baskets; the course is really new. The upkeep is fantastic, all tee pads are clear, fairways defined, and wooded areas trimmed nicely.
Cons: Some of the holes are rough for a new player, distance wise.
Other Thoughts: This course is fantastic, second to none in the state. Similar to Pickerington in difficulty, elevation changes and variance of shots. You can see all different kinds of shots and there are holes for everyone.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.