Dover, OH
Deis Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 254ft.   3 / 435ft.   3 / 486ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 White Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Deis Hill/Deis Long

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 39  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Deis Hill is a championship-level course and is located in a very big park packed with things to do. The course is thoroughly spread over different sections of the park, allowing the player to experience many different types of holes. Park on the right side of the road next to the pavilions, and a practice basket and hole 1 will be directly to the left.

This course is in top condition, with the most detailed tee signs I've ever seen, concrete tee pads nicely set in the ground, in terrific shape, and allowing a comfortable run-up, and DGA baskets that are in great shape and have the hole numbers on them. There are three sets of tees on almost every hole, with 1 or 2 holes having shared white and blue tees. This is a definite plus here, as each tee gives vastly different looks and lengths for the hole. This is especially true for the middle holes that play through the woods.

One of the most physically challenging courses I've ever played, Deis Hill rewards a big arm - only 3 holes are under 400 feet and 5 holes are over 600 feet from the blues. These incredible lengths, as well as the terrific use of elevation, make even the more open holes challenging to achieve par. Hole 1 - for example - is nearly 1,000 feet of open space, but the gigantic slopes that it plays on can cause definite rollaway potential. However, there are a lot of holes that require you to hit tight lines in the woods as well (holes 6-8, 15, 17). Finally, there are holes in between these two extremes that require you to pick a line through the numerous trees and incorporate length and elevation as well (holes 4, 5, and 16 do the best job of this).

This is a superbly maintained park, and there aren't many chances to lose discs. Rough is present on some holes, but it is not annoyingly thick. There is fairness in scrambling out of the rough. This course is a huge hike, plays directly under the sun most of the time, and takes a lot of time to play, so prepare accordingly. While I enjoyed the hiking aspect of it, some people may not be up for it. Navigation flows very well and there are a lot of next tee signs.
Cons: -There was a bad storm the night before I played, but still, the course was incredibly swampy throughout most of the course. It doesn't seem that the course drains well, as a lot of the holes play down in many valleys. A lot of standing water was present.
-I wouldn't call the more open holes (9-13) throwaways, but they did get a little repetitive and I would've liked more opportunities for line-shaping in this part of the course. Still, the length and elevation made these holes challenging.
-Holes 1-5 play dangerously close to park roads, causing me to play a little more conservatively and affecting my round a little bit in this way.
-I hardly ever feel the need to sit during a round, but this is one course that could use a few more benches as it is a grueling hike.
Other Thoughts: Deis Hill is a very physically demanding course with its vast elevation and seemingly never-ending hole lengths. I really enjoyed the variety of hole types that it has, whether being a steep downhill shot(2, 10, 14), super tight tunnel shot (7, 8, 17), sharp anhyzer (6, 9, 12), hyzer bomb (11), or a fun combination of shots. This is definitely one of the hardest courses I have played, and I recommend it to anybody. If you are a beginner, the red tees are still very enjoyable.

My favorite holes on the course:

1- A great way to start a round. Completely open but plays on a very fast slope and then downhill to the basket. Nearly 1,000'!
8- Have to hit a super tight line to reach a the green, plays gradually downhill.
14- A true top of the world shot, and the best downhill bomb I have played. Still requires you to hit a tight window before heading to the bottom of the hill.
17- My favorite tunnel shot and most scenic one that I have played. Very tight but still fair.

Took me about an hour and a half to play alone.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best in Ohio!

5+    7/23/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: lildragon
Played: 35  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.9 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Lots of long holes for big arms.
- Best signage I've ever seen at a course.
- Multiple tee pads, mostly concrete.
- Great use of the park's terrain.
- Picturesque scenery
- Hole 14 is the bomb!
- Clean and well maintained.
Cons: - Not close enough to me :P
- Not really a con, but beware this course will work you out.
- More benches would be welcomed, but not a necessity.
Other Thoughts: The best course in the state of OH, IMO. If you're contemplating checking this place out, do it! You won't regret it, unless you're really out of shape :P

Bring lots of water, especially in the summer.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Surprise!

1    10/14/2009   4/28/2012
Review By: Durco
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2013
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: My 2 friends and I stopped to play the course on the way to NC from MI for the USDGC in 2009, as a break from driving. We were SUPER surprised at the course we stumbled upon!! There are a good number of long holes. I really enjoyed this course!
Really fun shots!
more than just par 3s
Rolling hills, tree lined fairways, a good deal of elevation, open, semi wooded and wooded holes.
I threw a lot of dif discs off the tee, which always makes for more fun IMO.
Good variety of shots needed to score well
Long par 3s and par 4s and two par 5s. Par 62!! What a fun course! I wish I lived closer.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Fun

1    12/19/2011   12/21/2011
Review By: badsmurph
Played: 132  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.9 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really enjoyed the walk out here. Coming from playing alot of elevation in NC this course isn't as bad of walk as others have reviewed. I played the whites except blue 14 in 1 hr 3 mins. Alot of open crush shots that got a little redundant and not much midrange off tees.
Tee signs were awesome.
Really liked holes 1,2,14 and 17. 17 was probably my favorite even though it was my only bogey. Great drive but that fast green will get you.
Cons: Hole 11 WTF. especially being LBH. Didn't realize I had to crush another drive 450 or throw 330 and thumber over top.
Didn't care for 15 either.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course especially driving from MI to NC. Will dif stop in spring or summer so I can throw some rollers. Also check views by the pool

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your "Bag 'O Drivers"!

2-4    9/11/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: Matt O
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun course to just let 'er rip. Nicely mowed fairways. Little interference from non-disc golfers. Nice tee signs. Nice use of elevation changes. Closest "destination course" to where I live.
Cons: My only complaint is the lack of concrete tee pads on some of the blue tees. (I've only played the blue ones.) Hole 4 from the blue tee is the best example of this.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth the drive. You will get to see how far you can throw. Since hole 1 is the longest hole, the rest of the holes don't seem as long. But they are. Hole 14 is my favorite. I like being able to admire a good drive for several seconds.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 DEIS HILL IS AT THE TOP

1    6/24/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: innovajohnny5
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It is a very challenging course and you better be in good shape cuz its a hike. There a 3 Degrees of Insanity: Red - White - Blue - choose your best option. Whatever you think you can handle from Beginner to Intermediate to Advanced. You have to be insane to play Deis Hill. So Play It!!!! This course is clean and the Signage is Amazing. I have never seen tee signs like it anywhere. I would like to know who made the signs - the course I frequent could use these.
Cons: Like most reviewers it's the benches or even a few tree stumps. Someplace to rest the weary bones. Other than that a trash can or two other than at the pavillion or pool would help eliminate the random bottle trash on the course.
Other Thoughts: As an Intermediate player I like the course. The first hole has a basket with a huge arrow attached to it. Can't miss it - well ok I missed the putt but I knew where the basket was!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Big Course, Big Arms

1    6/12/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 102  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Very Nice Tee Signs
Three Tee Pads Per Hole
Nice Concrete Tees on Most Holes
Baskets are in Great Shape
Great Use of Elevation Changes
Has A Couple of Really Nice Signature Holes
Decent Mix Of Open and Wooded Holes
Begins and Ends at Parking Lot
Clean and Very Well-Maintained
Ample Parking (For Normal Play)
Pinic Pavilions, Pool, Walking Trails and Other Amnities in Park
Cons:
Could Use More Variety
Other Park Traffic Close to Fairways
Could Use A Few More Obstacles on Some Holes
No Benches (Pretty Big for a Course This Long)
Not for All Skill Levels
Poisen Ivy Still Prevelant Throughout the Course
Other Thoughts:
Deis Hill is an absolutely huge 18-hole course located in the small town of Dover, Ohio. The course is located in a beautiful city park and is one of the cleanest park courses that I have ever played. I don't know if it's all the parks department or the users of the park themselves, but whatever they are doing it's working and all parks should model themselves after this one.

Enter the park from Deis Hill Road. You will be driving along the wooded fairway of hole 17 and come up on the practice basket on the left side of the road. You have two choices for parking, one is on the left behind the practice basket, the second is along the right side of the park road near the picnic pavilions. Hole 1 is located on the left side of the park road directly across from the pavilions.

The one thing that really stands out about this course right from the beginning are the amazing tee signs. They not only show the tee pad, basket, and obstacles for each hole, they also show the alternate tee pads, roads, OB, and any other park features such as buildings, shelters, and parking lots. This makes navigating from hole to hole and tee to tee a breeze as long as you pay attention to the tee sign at each pad.

Right from the first hole you can also see that this course is for experienced players and big arms with the long tee pad measuring in at close to 1000 feet, with the short pad still reaching the 400 foot mark. While this may be great for many experience players and championship caliber tournaments, the novice or casual player might have a tough time or get frustrated with the sheer distance that this course demands even from the short tees.

As you make your way through the course you see some great amenites that I think really add to this courses overall score for many people. I mentioned the amazing tee signs, but there is also huge concrete tee pads, nice and easy to spot next tee signs, and great baskets. While all these are great they seemed to overlook a couple key elements, the first being benches. I wouldn't take off points as far as ratings go, but with a course of this size, hole length, and hiking wise, I would expect to see at least a couple of benches. Another great addition to this course would be some trash cans. While this was one of the cleanest parks I have ever seen, there were a couple of stray water and gatorade bottles throughout. Obviously this happens everywhere and isn't a con of the course but I do think that with a trash can or two this one may actually be as close to spotless as a course can get since many of the bottles I did see looked like they may have just fallen out of bags or were forgotten and left behind.

While the course and park have great amenities, the course could use a little more diversity to be the best of the best. There is a decent mix of open and wooded holes, but some of the holes are so wide open it kind of gives the course that "too open" feel. On top of the wide open feel the course has, it also lacks a lot of thought to play. Aside from one or two signature holes you are just out there throwing basic hyzer, anhyzer, and straight shots. I don't recall one hole that had me standing on the tee pad trying to decide on a route to take, or which shot to pull out of my bag.

Overall the course is really good. While there could be more, there is enough diversity on top of all of the great amenities to put this up there in the top. One thing I will advise is to go in with little to no expectations. Right now this is ranked as the top course in Ohio, and while it's definitely in the top few if you go in thinking number one, you might be disappointed. This course does deserve many of the high praises it gets, but ratings are opinoined based and in my opinion keeping that in mind will really help you to enjoy this course for what it is.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Big Hike!

2-4    4/2/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking and pavilions for large groups
- The map is put together very well and in great detail
- 3 tees per hole
- Almost every tee is concrete and well maintained
- Signs on the tees are simply amazing! Whoever created these put some serious effort into making this a premium course.
- The baskets are well labeled and in great shape
- The flow is fantastic considering that this is a 10K foot course with hole #18 ending at hole #1. You will spend a lot of time tee'ing out and backtracking a hundred feet or so to the next tee but I do not consider this a con because the fairways do not overlap and the land was utilized to it's fullest. Hole's with a bit of a walk are #2 to #3, #10 to #11, #11 to #12 & #16 to #17.
- No walking paths so you wont be bothered by hikers and bikers! It's just disc golfers in their element.
- Low disc golfing traffic both times I was there
- Bathrooms are on the premises but I did not investigate them
- Very clean with plenty of trashcans
- No vandalism
- Upkeep is grade A! People work hard to keep the fairways clear and the grass cut
- Extreme Distance with intense elevation changes
- There is a large and very nice public pool
Cons: - Next tee signs. Could use a few more even though the map is very accurately made.
- Could use more benches
- Could use a concrete tee for #14 because the downward grade of the natural tee could cause a bad stumble
- This course could be considered 'too wide open' for those that need the intricate throws through thick woods
- There are a few Blue/White tee signs that need updated. It appears that some of the Blue tees were added after the course was initially installed. If you play Blue tees like me, keep a copy of the map with you because you may be playing from the White tee even though it's labeled Blue on the tee itself.
Other Thoughts: - This is a challenging course no matter your level of expertise.
- Exercise? HA, you'll feel the burn playing this course.
- Most challenging hole is #15. Wide open to start then turns into a small uphill tunnel alley.
- Favorite hole is #14. This hole is INSANE!! You throw off the top of a huge hill out into a massive open area. You can choose any type of throw and really experiment with which type of throw is better. I got decent distance off an overstable disc doing a hyzer-flip but I really maxed out my distance using Champ Leopard on a very small S curve right then small fade left, landed about 80' from the basket for an easy score of 3.
- This phenomenal course is a MUST to play! Worth the trip for sure!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular

1    10/15/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely amazing. Everything about it: the views, the design, the foot traffic(few people were there when I went). I really loved that the fairways were really well kept and even though the rough was not super treacherous, the course design itself was quite challenging.
Cons: Hole 18 only has a concrete pad for the red tee unfortunately. This might be my only negative thought on the whole course.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely worth trekking out to. I live a couple hours away and I'm looking forward to my next visit already.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Expert Course

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 60  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is just phenomenal. I dont see anything here that is not to like. It is beautiful. The course is located in such a nice area. The layout of the course was amazing. They have you start at the parking lot, then go all over the park and right back where you started. To start on hole number 1 with a 827 foot hole is awesome. Really it is for all people because they have the three different tees. Personally i played from the white tee but everyone that i saw there was throwing from the red tee. So if you are a good player i would tell you to go from either the white tee or the blue tee. But even though i didn't play the blue it looked very challenging. Really at all of the tees they have concrete launch pads. The launch pad is nice so that you are stable when you throw it. I really like courses with the concrete launch pads. There is great elevation changes. This is probably the best course for elevation changes that i have ever played. The DGA pins were very nice with the double layer of chains. The sign at the tee was probably the nicest that i have ever seen. First they have the par and distance like all of the others do. But the on thing that really caught my eye was the picture on there pointing to the pin. I have never seen this before but i think that it is amazing because if you cant see the pin right away the picture points you there and then thats when you know where it is. It is not a confusing course. Many courses that i have played take you everywhere and you dont know the way to the next tee. That is for sure not the case here. You could navigate throughout the course without a map, but personally i printed one out just in case. When you go into the woods they are just so wide and so fun to play in. The trees are very tall and very well taken care of. Every hole is different and challenges you differently. While some challenge you in distance others challenge you in accuracy. On the very first hole there is a yellw sign with an arrow pointing down to the pin. This is very nice because on that hole you really cant see the pin, so this really helps. It is actually connected to the pin. Like i said before this course is just phenomenal. So it may be a little challenging but it is full of fun.
Cons: Really i have no clue what to put here. To tell you the truth there are only a couple of minor cons. On only like two holes the blue tee doesn;t have a concrete launch pad. Also on a few of the middle holes the white and blue tee is mixed and it was kind of hard for me to figure this out. Thats it for the minor cons.
Other Thoughts: I cant even explain this course into words it so amazing. These holes are just so much fun. I would play here all day if i could. I was in the area and thought that this may be somewhat nice, but i was so surprised and i will be coming back here very soon. So what if its four hours from my house i would drive here every day if i could. My favorite hole is hole #17. They have a skinny fairways surrounded by big pine trees. You need to be very accurate to get a good throw on this hole. It is my all time favorite hole and i even triple bogeyed it. I think that soon this will be one of the top courses in the country. In my mind it already is one of the top courses. If you are ever in the area you have got to come here and play this course. There is no way that you could be disappointed. I strongly reccomend that you go here and have the time of your life, like i did.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.