Disc Golf Store
Dover, OH 
Deis Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #12 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 284ft.   3 / 392ft.   3 / 442ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Meets the Hype

1    9/5/2008   9/7/2008
Review By: Dave
Played: 111  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2010
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: May be the most fun course I have played. Has the variety I appreciate in a course. Best signage ever. Interesting & challenging at all levels.
Cons: Had a hard time finding the right park entrance. A miss on 17 can roll forever. I know.
Other Thoughts: Sometimes, multiple tees feel like the course was designed long, and the short tees were stuck in as an afterthought. Here, each level stands on it's own. I played the white tees, while my wife played the red. It made a fun challenging day for both of us.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 El-ev-a-tion

6/29/2008   7/15/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.4 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some of the best tee signs I've seen on a disc golf course. Actual photos of the hole with an arrow indicating where the basket sits. Each of the three tees has its own sign with a photo unique to that tee. Very cool!

It's been mentioned before but this course is full of elevation.. lots of great downhill shots and some brutal uphill walks. The course was also well laid out and very well maintained.
Cons: Poison ivy is abundant if you stray from the fairway. Also, the tees are dirt but it would appear that there are plans to put in concrete so that complaint may not be valid for long.

Also, as others have pointed out, if you play from the long tees expect to do some backtracking.
Other Thoughts: Deis is a very scenic and challenging course. Each hole, regardless of tee, plays fairly long. I played from the blue tees during my round and my legs were aching by the end of it but the physical pain did little to detract from the fun factor.

With three tees per hole, golfers of any skill level can have a blast here. The elevation changes you'll find make for some truly fun holes as well. You might need to take a minute to catch your breath once you reach the summit of the steep hill that holds the #14 blue tee. Once you do arrive, you'll be greeted with an absolutely massive downhill crush. Several other golfers and I emptied our bags on this one. Definitely a stand-out, signature hole. A couple other interesting notes, a lot of the holes have names on the tee signs. For example, hole #1 is the "Deis Drive". Also, the massive arrow attached to the basket on hole #1 was helpful and quite unique (see Photos).

I can't disagree with the other reviews, this is a stand-out course and a must-play. Elevation, scenic vistas, challenging shots, Deis has no shortage of these key course ingredients. If you have a big arm, this course will really put it to use.. there aren't a lot of drive-putt holes you'll run into here. More like drive-drive-drive-putt! Do yourself a favor and play this course if you're remotely near Dover.. and don't forget to fill your water bottles either, you'll need them!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

1    6/21/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great distance, challenge, and shot shaping. Wonderful use of elevation, woods, and open fields. Multiple tees (three I think) on every hole. From the short tees this is a GREAT par three course. From the longs it's a FANTASTIC Championship Caliber course. The tee signs are terrific. Some of the best I've ever seen. They contain a photograph of the hole with the basket location well marked.
Cons: Grass tees! This course would be in my top five, and would recieve a 4.5 star rating from me if it had concrete pads.
Other Thoughts: Holes #1's and #14's "Blue" tees are MUST play golf holes!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A bit of everything, great scenery

6/29/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of variation in the holes, awesome scenery, the best tee signs I've seen yet.
Cons: Lots of backtracking to the Pro/Am tees, dirt tees. Poison ivy abounds.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very cool course. Very hilly and the holes take this into account well. Lots of blind holes, but the tee signs have great maps as well as photos which point out where the baskets are. Still, your first time out you'll be hunting baskets.

You'll use every throw/disc you have throughout the course. A few so-so holes are made up for by some spectacular ones, particularly the blue tee on #14 and #17. Majority of the holes are named (King's Row, The "Dan"hyzer, etc.). The park itself is full of rolling hills and beautiful scenery, although the course does touch on some residential neighbors here and there. Otherwise nicely secluded.

Definitely worth checking out.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5/15/2008   6/28/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Panoramic views of the Tuscarwaras Valley from most every hole. If you like to crush most every shot, this is the course for you. Most Basket locations are on a slope. Red, White and Blue tees make it fun for ALL skill levels. Course has over 5 signature holes [most course might have 1 or 2 at best]. Some of the best Tee signs you'll ever see at each tee box [to boot]. Has practice basket near hole #1. Has anyone ever seen a marker such as the one one hole # 1 that shows where the [blind] basket is?
Cons: While designing this course we had to make consessions with the park director to as keep it out of the woods, thus some holes could be better than the current layout. Hole # 14 white should never have it's tee box at it's current position, but have it up on top of the hill along with the blue tee. Oringinal #12 would of been a screaming hole, well it turned out to be such a hole that it had to be changed because of the neighbors and Disc Golfers screaming at one another, too bad it was a beautifull hole. Needs a few more trees stratigically placed in the fairways. Dirt tees, suck. plans for 36 trapizoid cement tees planned for late '08 [need volenteers for digging up tee boxes or else face just 18 cement tees, contact park department if interested]. Poison IVY is abundant, walking paths close to a few holes ( # 4 & # 5) . tee box for # 8 needs moved [just a little]because it doesn't allow a left handed player a full run up. Not to many holes in the woods [what's up with that?]. Needs a BIGGER KIOSK/Bulletin board. considerable backtracking to play the long tees on many holes.
Other Thoughts: Of the 500 plus courses I've played this is in my top 20. One of the better courses within 250 miles. I can't wait til they get cement tees [late '08] Drive thru/ state liquor store just down the street [next to High school football stadium] from the park. Swimming pool in park [ near hole # 6, in case you want to take a dip on a Hot Summer day.The park does have a restroom/drinking fountain near hole one. There's also some playground equipment, boccie/shuffleboard court, and picnic shelters. so if you take your family, there's stuff to do if they don't play DG.

Whom ever designed this course should get a pat on the back. Good job over all.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 very nice

6/1/2008   6/1/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park, great holes, challenging. Real fun downhill shot. Few players.
Cons: Sort of dangerous with some of the walking paths. Hole 18 plays right beside 17's fairway, not sure why as there is so much room in this park.

Course must have been designed from the short tees because there is considerable backtracking to play the long tees on many holes.

Really geared to the big arm players, and a few holes where the par is a 3.5 instead of a true 3 or 4 par.
Other Thoughts: I played here the other day and really enjoyed the long tees. They were super challenging like Moraine or Deer Lakes, but some of the holes were just big wide open crushes. Which is fine, but not really my kind of golf. The rest of the course is beautiful. 4 and 5 are absolutely gorgeous. Too many blind shots that play near roads or walking paths, someone is going to get hit for sure.

I would put this in my top 10 favorite courses if you did not have to backtrack so much to get to the tees and if hole 1, 18 and 13 were different. they are just big bombs with nothing exciting going on. Has potential to be one of the best courses out there, but it just needs a little tweaking. Pars need to be thought out better and the tweener holes need shortened or lengthened to make a better scoring spread for the holes. Overall a great course that is better than 75% of the ones that I have played so far.


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Deis Hill Park

1    1/6/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: mobster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A long and challenging course which was brand new in the summer of '07. A nice mix of open shots and wooded areas. Red, white and blue tees for almost every hole (some short holes have the white and blue shared). A lot of elevation changes will make you use every shot you have. Tee signs (which have been added since the pics were taken) make the course easy to get around. The new cement tee pads are 95% done and make a world of difference.
Cons: The park can be busy and walking paths are close to some of the holes (holes 4 & 5 seem to be be the best place to hit someone). The course is still new, so rough is really rough with thorns and poison ivy. Tee signs keep going missing.
Other Thoughts: The park does have a restroom/drinking fountain near hole one. There's also some playground equipment, boccie/shuffleboard court, and picnic shelters. The city pool is around hole 6, so if you take your family, there's stuff to do if they don't play DG.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.