Milford, NJ 
Alexandria Township Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #2 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 206ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/25/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: FlyingHyzer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - 18 holes.
- Well defined fairways, mowed.
- Nice park setting
- No fairways crossed or ran close.
- Not too long for beginners, and a fun birdie/ace run fest for the vets.
Cons: - Poor/ no signage
- Hard to find hole 1's teepad.
- No benches, or seats.
- Nasty tall grass eats up discs.
- a lot of the holes seem the same.
- only some tee pads were rubber flymats, and a few of the rubber matts were dry rotted and ripped up.
Other Thoughts: I hit this course because it's only an hour away from my house, and is right up the road from Tinicum park. It's a decent little course that utilizes the land provided. The first tee pad was hard to find but once we found it we had no problem navigating the rest of the course. I will play this course again, but only if I'm playing Tinicum also. I wouldn't drive out of my way for this course, but its worth a try if you're in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasant Surprise

1    5/7/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course featured in a very nice township park in a beautiful area of Western New Jersey. Excellent Innova baskets here that are numbered and have a flag on top for easy visibility. Clearly marked tee off areas. Most holes have both a short (red) and long (blue) tee area for varying skill levels. Good use of the available land. Elevation is incorporated into the layout. Course has a natural flow to it which makes navigation relatively simple. Park is well maintained overall, and the field holes have nicely mowed fairways from which to work. Success is attainable for the average to intermediate player, and birdie opportunities are plentiful throughout- especially on the front nine.
Cons: The absence of distance and obstacles will probably not sustain the interest of the advanced player- even with the long tees present. After a really good front nine holes, the back nine seem repetitive- just a series of open field throws to a basket- and don't inspire. Signage is adequate but basic: numbered stickers and red/blue tape on a 4x4 post. Dirt tee off areas. A walking path with pedestrians and children come into play on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't expecting much, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised by Alexandria. The course is laid out well, and I enjoyed my round here. As with any township course, there are limitations here, but they do not detract from the overall experience. Visiting this area of the state is always a pleasure. Make a day of it- as i did- and play here before heading to Tinicum about 15 minutes away.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Stage Right

2-4    7/30/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tee (blue=rubber, red=natural) locations per hole. "Next Tee" signs scattered about. An abundance of chairs scattered near many tees. Friendly locals.
Cons:
Holes 2, 3, and 18 play across paved walking path. In the summer, the grass and wildflowers become very tall, which is great for the butterflies (there were loads of them), but not so good for discs that go off the cut-grass fairway.
Other Thoughts:
Course primarily skirts the edge of some woods that define three open spaces at the back of a large public park. The front nine is relatively short, has some elevation change on most holes, and brings small/mid-sized trees into play on a few holes. For the most part, the holes on the back nine are much longer, flatter and more open than those of the front nine. About half the holes could be described as "avoid the line of trees on the right while not losing your disc in the high grass on the left". Most paths from the tees to the baskets are pretty much dead straight - only a few holes require much turning, typically subtle and/or late.

Navigation: From #1 to #2, turn left after crossing the bridge. From #3 to #4, you'll walk along the road for just a bit. The numbering on the map I had didn't agree with the tee-numbering at the course - map holes 16&17 were tee-numbered 10&11at the course (i.e. turn left after finishing #9), and map-holes 15, 10-14, around the edge of the woods with the field in the middle, were tee-numbered 12-17.

Favourite holes #7: an uphill left-turner with the basket at the end of a narrowing cul-de-sac; #15, a slightly downslope gentle right-turner to an open basket, but with tall grass and bushes to punish being too left/right/long.

Decent course, with touch-work early and arm-stretching late. Spotter advised if playing in the summer. Not far from Tinicum, with Frenchtown in between the two, which had Pipolo's, a pretty good restaurant, and a bakery near the bridge.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 short front, long back, thorns everywhere

1    6/23/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 297  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This courses has a lot of postive things about it....the front 9 are very beginner friendly...good new Discather baskets...2 tees on most holes (blue is long, red is short)...blue and red tape on the top of the basket indicating which direction the next tee is located (this a GREAT idea and needs to be used more on other courses)...plastic outdoor chairs at many of the tees...very well mowed park and course made it easy to navigate the 1st time through...near Tinicum Pk another DGC course about 6 miles away.
Cons: I have only one con but it's a major factor. The thorns and brairs off the very nicely cut fairways can be brutal. In places the tall grass
and stickers were knee to waist high. This makes it very probable to loose a disc and get your legs nicked up while looking. This is a major drawback on returning since Tinicum is so close by.

#3 plays over a walking/jogging path.
Other Thoughts: It seemed slightly lefty friendly. Most holes on the front are less than 300 ft, by comparion the back 9 is much longer and very open playing around the field. Do not go right off the fairway on the back 9 or you will be in even thicker rough.

I didn't find short (red) #18 and played from the long tee and thought it was the best hole on the course. Being in the summer, the dirt tees were dry but I can see this being a muddy problem during other times of the year.




3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    4/27/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alexandria Township Park is a good place to start someone out in disc golf. There were 2 tees for most of the holes, a red and a blue, which made it nice to have the option. I played the blue tees when I was there, so that is what this review is based on.

Navigation is pretty easy around the course. There is tape on the baskets pointing to the next tee - red tape for red tee, blue tape for the blue tee. That was a nice touch.

I noticed they were adding holes to make it a full 18, and in this whole process maybe they are renumbering everything because what I played does not match up with what some of the other reviewers have noted. For me, holes #2 and #3 played near a baseball field in a drainage area with #2's shot uphill over the containment area, and #3 back downhill with the difficult pin placement on the downside of a steep slope.

There are several holes with elevation change, which is nice to have in any course.
Cons: The tee signs are laminated pieces of paper with distance on them. The signs noted the distance difference between red and blue tees, which is good. There was no layout or much other information and they will probably have to be replaced every couple of months due to wear and tear from the weather.

The tee pads were natural and could use some care. They were not horrible, but far from great.

No water in play, no real risk/reward on shots, most holes are pretty short.
Other Thoughts: As noted in other reviews, this course is undergoing an expansion. There is a map of the new course available on the kiosk at hole #1 and the back 9 will definitely stretch this course out and give more of a challenge to players. The course as it is right now has fun elements and is enjoyable to play. It just does not have the challenge or length of a high caliber course. When the course is expanded and finished, I will try to head back and update this review.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course, just getting better ...

1    3/18/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alexandria Park is currently a nine (10) hole course located on an old horse farm turned municipal park. The actual course is tucked away in the back of the park in an area dedicated solely to disc golf. The course is actually in the process of getting a reworked and expanded. Nine more holes are being placed to bring the course to a full 18 holes.
As the course stands now it is a very well groomed shorter course. Hole 1 is a short open shot to an open basket, with holes 2 and 3 being short, but technical shots through some woods. Holes 4-9 are all open and crisscross a small hill, offering mild elevation change. Most of the holes have 2 tees offering two semi-different layouts for the 9 holes. The baskets are very nice and the fairways are well-maintained.
The course is really easy to follow - with the next tee generally within site of the basket.
There are restrooms at the park and an information kiosk near hole 1.
This course offers much of what people like in disc golf, just on a smaller scale. For beginners its good because the course is short and manageable for beginners from the short tees, but from the alt tees it is interesting enough to offer challenging deuce runs for the more experienced players.
Cons: In the summer the rough is really bad, the thorns are nasty and the ticks are everywhere in the long grass so stay in the fairway.
This course is growing and there is a group of dedicated and capable individuals working to improve this course so I don't want to be too hard on the course, but I do have some cons.
First the tees are in need of some serious TLC. They are all natural and the gravel on some of the tees has either washed away or is so badly rutted that it feels almost dangerous to get into to much of an X-step on them. If this course is going to make it into the better courses in the area then better tees are a must. The signs weren't great, but this course is short enough that you can almost always see the basket from the tee. Once the course is expanded some of the holes will be much longer and better signage will go a long way to improving the course.
I also noticed some large garbage/debris around some of the later holes. It in no way affected the play on the course, but it would look a lot neater if the stuff was cleaned up just my preference.
Other Thoughts: With the new nine holes, which I was able to walk, this course is going to be a very good course and worth playing. The front nine are a bit short as they are, but the new back field holes will offer excellent opportunity for big arms to stretch and rip. The new holes are marked with flags at the tees and posts for the baskets.
Hole 18 has been installed so if you go play it, be sure to play 18. The tee is to the left of pin 9, down the path a little ways, just in the brush on the left.
The park is really very nice which does add to the course, with the new holes and some improvements this course will definitely jump in the ratings and become one of the better courses in New Jersey. Beginners and the more experienced will both enjoy what this course has to offer.


(As the course is now, it is rated a 2.5, but I am confident the new layout, once completed, will raise the rating)

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A lovely option for locals and beginners

1    5/17/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. Perfectly maintained and mowed. 2 tee positions for variety... sometimes the alt tee is shorter for beginners (like #1), sometimes it radically changes a hole (like #2, coming in from a 60 degree different angle). Disccatchers are new, paths are easy to follow. Some serious elevation changes on holes 4 and 5! I called them "mini-beauty" and "mini-beast" after Brandywine.
Cons: Not well marked... didn't find alt tees for 1 and 2 until i realized at the end that every tee should have them. Hard to find regular tees sometime. Only 9 holes. Rough is very thorny and difficult.
Other Thoughts: I would love to have this course in my backyard now that I know the layout. Take a beginner there and they'll have a great first impression. Hole 9 has been changed to be less dangerous; pin is now in woods to right.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.