Milford, NJ 
Alexandria Township Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 191ft.   3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Interesting Dispertion of lawn chairs

1    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: Kavie_Large
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I like the change in elevation on this course. Some good challenge from the blue tees. Wooded but not too woody. Tall grass keeps the fairways very tight. Drive, approach , and putt are the name of the game.
Cons: While there is direction indicated no detailed signs are provided. Some of tee's end with an abrupt 4 inch rise. What's up with the par 3 obsession?
Other Thoughts: Who carried all those chairs out there? If you don't tell me what's out of bounds it's all in for me.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Variety

2-4    1/28/2012   1/29/2012
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Variety. This course has some mild inclines, some mild declines, some moderate inclines, some moderate declines, some open, some lightly wooded, and some moderately wooden.

Two tee areas for each hole.

Courteous players. I received a call for a lost disc that I dropped.
Cons: Only 2 of the tee areas had tee pads. The rest were very muddy areas.

The tee areas for some hole would be in an area where an errant shout from the previous hole could land.

The entire fairway for whole 18 is a bog.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course and it seems like its target audience would be players of recreational skill level best.

I never found the red tee area for 5 & 18

  Nice Course

1    2/27/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: Quikbaud
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Decent Variety, nice layout & some cool holes.
Cons: Only con is that it's In New Jersey ... .
Other Thoughts: How many more words do i need to type to accept this review...

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A Balance of Difficulty and Fun

5+    8/26/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a really nice work-in-progress in a very well maintained park. The general rolling landscape provides some nice up and down hole layouts, yet is very easy walking. Features:
* short and long tees, marked with distances on posts
* good flow, with very little backtracking
* family friendly, good beginner course
* nice use of existing elevations
* new baskets
Cons: Not to be overly critical, but there are a few shortfalls:
* signage is minimum
* rough (open field area) gets very high and thick
* no map for each hole, though often basket is in view
Other Thoughts: As a note, the current course map, does show the holes close to the current design, but the hole numbers have changed: Hole 10 is actually Hole 16 on the map, and Hole 11 is actually Hole 17 on the map, and Hole12 is actually Hole 15 on the map.

This makes for a nice "short" version in that the long, more open holes (12-17) can be skipped to play a nice 12 hole layout, keeping throwing distances and walking to a minimum, a plus for beginners and children.

Personally, I enjoy this course for leisurely Sunday afternoon social rounds. It also works well for playing a round from the shorts and the longs, without taking a whole lot of time as between hole walking is minimum.

If you are in the area to play the well-known Tinicum Park course, I would recommend making the 10-minute drive to this course: picture a shorter Tinicum with hills.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course only getting better

2-4    8/21/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 119  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual Tees (blue/long - red/short) with distance to basket written on each sign post
Baskets on every hole appear to be in new condition
Mix of open, semi-open & lightly wooded holes with varied distances
Good use of available elevation (mostly moderate).
Easy to navigate/intuitive flow
Seating at many tee areas
Fun, easy, quick play
Friendly locals
Large, clean, well maintained park
Cons: Mostly natural tees (there's a fly pad at #1's blue tee and gravel on a couple others) but they did not present any footing concerns.
Posts at each tee rather than signs - on many holes you can see the basket so this is not really a problem per se
A couple holes (#2 and #3) throw over a walking path (it's not blind thus not a big concern)
Summertime rough bordering many holes is dense and thick so a spotter is recommended
Other Thoughts: As many reviewers have written previously, this course is very beginner friendly with the alternate tees, many open fairways, lack of heavy woods, reasonable distances, easy navigation and all around fun play. However the rough is pretty intense this time of year (summer/Aug 2010) so staying on the fairway is key and frustrating disc hunts are certain for stray throws.

While a new course and still progressing, some improvements could be made to signage, tees and maintaining the thick rough. Furthermore, the addition of alternate pin placements would be a welcome enhancement. However none of the above are 'deal breakers' and didn't have a huge impact on my rating.

Another disc golf course, Tinicum Park, is in close proximity across the river in PA. There are also places to eat/shop in the town of Milford and down the road in Frenchtown, NJ. So as much as this park is in a 'rural' setting, there are still places of interest nearby. As a result, give this solid course a play if in/around the area.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not too Shabby

1    3/17/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alexandria Township Park is a great option for locals, families, and anyone that is interested in a course with a different feel than nearby Tinicum.

* DISCatcher baskets were in fantastic shape.
* The course incorporates moderate elevation changes into its layout
* Multiple tees (sometimes starting from completely different sides of the fairway) provide both variety as far as being able to play the course twice in two different layouts and an easier option for beginners/children. For me, this was the differentiating factor between a 2.5 and a 3.0.
* Fairways range from wide open fields to lightly wooded
* Chairs/tables available at numerous tees
* The park appeared to be well-maintained
* Although they were only 4x4s, the tee signs did indicate whether the tee was blue or red, and the distance to the basket
* Variety of hole lengths, from 178-558'
* For the most part, the flow of the course was easy to follow with the occasional "Next Tee" sign
* I didn't see a scrap of litter or trash anywhere on the course (cheers to the local players and the township)
Cons: While the pros outweigh the cons on this course, there were a few aspects that were less than great and/or could be fine-tuned.

* Signage directing players to the first tee would be very helpful
* As a township park, any pedestrians could wander into/through the course
* The tee boxes were somewhat rough and muddy (as were some of the walking paths)
* Extensive/excessive briars border the course on numerous holes making it very difficult to retrieve a shanked disc
* Although I played before the vegetation had sprung back to life, during the warmer months, tall grass on several of the holes could cause problems
* Without a map, going from the basket on hole 1 to the tee of hole 2 will be confusing
* The location of tees to the previous basket is a little close on a few holes, as is the fairway to the walking path, making for areas that require caution when the general public is nearby
Other Thoughts: All things considered, this course is quick and enjoyable with quite a few opportunities for birdies and a few ace runs. I'd recommend this course for beginners, families, and anyone that wants to explore a variety of different drive/approach/putting situations and as a nice warm up before playing Tinicum Park down the road. Certainly worth a play if you're in the area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Alexander is Growing Up Nicely

2-4    1/12/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Info Kiosk present. Beginner friendly course in a rural setting in western jersey. It's a pretty area and a pleasant park to play in. There is some moderate elevation here. Complements nearby flat Tinicum because it is shorter and hillier. There are some cute holes here...#5, a little punch down a hill and #6, a big booming drive back up a hill, come to mind. Most experts will shoot for deuces and novices will be able to craft their game as well as learn to play many aspects of the game such as semi-technical woods, mild elevation, a little wind, and some big arm holes. The course has all of these but none of these in an overwhelming manner. Kind of unique...she is like a little baby version of many things people like about disc golf...perfect to teach different aspects of game. The soon to be completed back nine I walked through look to be much longer and very wide open with many chances to really crank drives up and down a wide open gently sloping field. Just don't crank and yank into the woods that will border many of the holes to one side of the fairway. There are 2 tees for each hole, nice. Good tee signs and it was not hard for me to find my way around. Big Arms will love the second Nine. I like the balance of short front nine with booming second nine. Thought out well. I also love that the course is in a municipal park but does not interfere with other activities in the park. It is strictly disc golf territory so you do not have to worry too much about pedestrians and if anyone is out there then they are the one's who are out of place. I think it is going to be a really fun course once it is finished.
Cons: It is really short for most of the front nine. A bit too open for my tastes in the back nine and for much of the front nine. Seems to be a bit like Tinicum in that regard, with the high grass everywhere. Only without the length. Maybe some tee pads shooting out of brief woods or maybe baskets a bit more guarded on some of the big open holes. The course is a work in progress so it feels wrong to criticize too much. Serious issues with high grass in the fields...very discouraging.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed hole #2 open shot up to a grass field. If the field is ever mowed on a regular basis I wouldlove this course...i doubt that will ever happen though. Just 10 minutes across the river, Tinicum is nearby and there are some cool river towns, Frenchtown and Milford, to grab lunch between rounds. I think that would be an awesome day.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.