Milford, NJ
Alexandria Township Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #7 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 269ft.   3 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Blue Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Nice, Solid Course

2-4    1/1/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.7 Years
Pros: Mix of short, more technical holes and some long, open holes that will satisfy a big arm
The baskets are in great shape
There are some moderate-to-large elevation changes as well as some flat holes
Baskets have markers on top of them telling where the next tee is
There are two tee locations (blue and red)
There are some moderately wooded holes
Relatively easy navigation between holes
Cons: Not much signage
Holes 2 and 3 require you to throw a shot directly over a walking path (usually there aren't many walkers anyway)
Other Thoughts: This course is great for recreational play, and for beginners transitioning on to harder courses. If you are looking for a harder course though, you can take the (approximately) 10 minute drive to tinicum park.

Alexandria

2-4    11/29/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 20  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Tinicum is right near it
- Nice baskets
- Some baskets had flags
- The duct tape to guide you to the next hole on top of the basket
- Hole 6 has 4 lawn chairs on the blue tee (ha ha)
- Nice elevation changes
- Right near a pump track, a basketball court, a playground, a bocce court, and baseball fields/cages
- What you would call "a mix of hard and easy holes

Cons: - Some parts are really muddy
- Many major prickers on the sides of the fairway
- Not close to where I live
Not many cons. This place was awesome

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

nice quick course

1    1/4/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: vanzandt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: its combined with an actual park with a playground,basketball courts and baseball fields..the even have a mini bmx track..this is pretty cool actually,but the course goes off on its own tangent and uses alot of the open field.throwing uphill and downhill is pretty cool and there are some straight shot holes as well.took about 45 min for my buddy and i to complete.clean
Cons: a little tough to navigate at the start but the course starts to make sense after a while...we played in the winter but in the summer you could loose a disc easy in the thick rough.par 3 mostly(not really a con).and on hole 2 and 3 you could hit a walker or joger if ya aim just right at em!
Other Thoughts: clean park the baskets are nice and its pretty quick.could hit tinicum the same day.thought it was gonna be dumb but it was pretty cool..

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Dispertion of lawn chairs

1    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: Kavie_Large
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I like the change in elevation on this course. Some good challenge from the blue tees. Wooded but not too woody. Tall grass keeps the fairways very tight. Drive, approach , and putt are the name of the game.
Cons: While there is direction indicated no detailed signs are provided. Some of tee's end with an abrupt 4 inch rise. What's up with the par 3 obsession?
Other Thoughts: Who carried all those chairs out there? If you don't tell me what's out of bounds it's all in for me.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Variety

2-4    1/28/2012   1/29/2012
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: Variety. This course has some mild inclines, some mild declines, some moderate inclines, some moderate declines, some open, some lightly wooded, and some moderately wooden.

Two tee areas for each hole.

Courteous players. I received a call for a lost disc that I dropped.
Cons: Only 2 of the tee areas had tee pads. The rest were very muddy areas.

The tee areas for some hole would be in an area where an errant shout from the previous hole could land.

The entire fairway for whole 18 is a bog.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course and it seems like its target audience would be players of recreational skill level best.

I never found the red tee area for 5 & 18

  Nice Course

1    2/27/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: Quikbaud
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Decent Variety, nice layout & some cool holes.
Cons: Only con is that it's In New Jersey ... .
Other Thoughts: How many more words do i need to type to accept this review...

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasant Surprise

1    5/7/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course featured in a very nice township park in a beautiful area of Western New Jersey. Excellent Innova baskets here that are numbered and have a flag on top for easy visibility. Clearly marked tee off areas. Most holes have both a short (red) and long (blue) tee area for varying skill levels. Good use of the available land. Elevation is incorporated into the layout. Course has a natural flow to it which makes navigation relatively simple. Park is well maintained overall, and the field holes have nicely mowed fairways from which to work. Success is attainable for the average to intermediate player, and birdie opportunities are plentiful throughout- especially on the front nine.
Cons: The absence of distance and obstacles will probably not sustain the interest of the advanced player- even with the long tees present. After a really good front nine holes, the back nine seem repetitive- just a series of open field throws to a basket- and don't inspire. Signage is adequate but basic: numbered stickers and red/blue tape on a 4x4 post. Dirt tee off areas. A walking path with pedestrians and children come into play on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't expecting much, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised by Alexandria. The course is laid out well, and I enjoyed my round here. As with any township course, there are limitations here, but they do not detract from the overall experience. Visiting this area of the state is always a pleasure. Make a day of it- as i did- and play here before heading to Tinicum about 15 minutes away.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Friendly Course

1    3/4/2011   3/4/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great beginner/intermediate course
-Multiple tees make for playing more rounds in the same day
-Good use of elevation while not making the course too challenging
-Nicely kept Innova baskets
-Flags on top of all the baskets
-Fly pads are going to be installed soon
Cons: -Although there isn't much they can do about it, there are lots of thorns on the fringes of the fairways
-The course consitsantly plays strait, there are no turn or doglegs at all
-The back nine play around wide open fields, making them susceptible to cross winds
-After it rains hole 18 is a mud pit
-There is junk hidden around the course that detracts from the beauty of the landscape
Other Thoughts: I liked this course and unlike other reviewers I am not going to compair it to Tinicum. It's a good course and well maintained. I was told that fly pads were going to be installed on all the holes soon. That should make for better play and the tees are either mud or gravel. Hole range in lenght and there are 2 different tees for each hole (I played on the blues).
I would bring new players or newer players here, and it's a good course to practice drives and midrange. The tall grass was mowed down when I played but I could see losing discs in it when it's up high.
I deffinately would come back and play this course again when I am in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Balance of Difficulty and Fun

5+    8/26/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a really nice work-in-progress in a very well maintained park. The general rolling landscape provides some nice up and down hole layouts, yet is very easy walking. Features:
* short and long tees, marked with distances on posts
* good flow, with very little backtracking
* family friendly, good beginner course
* nice use of existing elevations
* new baskets
Cons: Not to be overly critical, but there are a few shortfalls:
* signage is minimum
* rough (open field area) gets very high and thick
* no map for each hole, though often basket is in view
Other Thoughts: As a note, the current course map, does show the holes close to the current design, but the hole numbers have changed: Hole 10 is actually Hole 16 on the map, and Hole 11 is actually Hole 17 on the map, and Hole12 is actually Hole 15 on the map.

This makes for a nice "short" version in that the long, more open holes (12-17) can be skipped to play a nice 12 hole layout, keeping throwing distances and walking to a minimum, a plus for beginners and children.

Personally, I enjoy this course for leisurely Sunday afternoon social rounds. It also works well for playing a round from the shorts and the longs, without taking a whole lot of time as between hole walking is minimum.

If you are in the area to play the well-known Tinicum Park course, I would recommend making the 10-minute drive to this course: picture a shorter Tinicum with hills.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course only getting better

2-4    8/21/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 115  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual Tees (blue/long - red/short) with distance to basket written on each sign post
Baskets on every hole appear to be in new condition
Mix of open, semi-open & lightly wooded holes with varied distances
Good use of available elevation (mostly moderate).
Easy to navigate/intuitive flow
Seating at many tee areas
Fun, easy, quick play
Friendly locals
Large, clean, well maintained park
Cons: Mostly natural tees (there's a fly pad at #1's blue tee and gravel on a couple others) but they did not present any footing concerns.
Posts at each tee rather than signs - on many holes you can see the basket so this is not really a problem per se
A couple holes (#2 and #3) throw over a walking path (it's not blind thus not a big concern)
Summertime rough bordering many holes is dense and thick so a spotter is recommended
Other Thoughts: As many reviewers have written previously, this course is very beginner friendly with the alternate tees, many open fairways, lack of heavy woods, reasonable distances, easy navigation and all around fun play. However the rough is pretty intense this time of year (summer/Aug 2010) so staying on the fairway is key and frustrating disc hunts are certain for stray throws.

While a new course and still progressing, some improvements could be made to signage, tees and maintaining the thick rough. Furthermore, the addition of alternate pin placements would be a welcome enhancement. However none of the above are 'deal breakers' and didn't have a huge impact on my rating.

Another disc golf course, Tinicum Park, is in close proximity across the river in PA. There are also places to eat/shop in the town of Milford and down the road in Frenchtown, NJ. So as much as this park is in a 'rural' setting, there are still places of interest nearby. As a result, give this solid course a play if in/around the area.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.