Milford, NJ 
Alexandria Township Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 247ft.   3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Nice Course

1    2/27/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: Quikbaud
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Decent Variety, nice layout & some cool holes.
Cons: Only con is that it's In New Jersey ... .
Other Thoughts: How many more words do i need to type to accept this review...

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasant Surprise

1    5/7/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 65  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 4.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course featured in a very nice township park in a beautiful area of Western New Jersey. Excellent Innova baskets here that are numbered and have a flag on top for easy visibility. Clearly marked tee off areas. Most holes have both a short (red) and long (blue) tee area for varying skill levels. Good use of the available land. Elevation is incorporated into the layout. Course has a natural flow to it which makes navigation relatively simple. Park is well maintained overall, and the field holes have nicely mowed fairways from which to work. Success is attainable for the average to intermediate player, and birdie opportunities are plentiful throughout- especially on the front nine.
Cons: The absence of distance and obstacles will probably not sustain the interest of the advanced player- even with the long tees present. After a really good front nine holes, the back nine seem repetitive- just a series of open field throws to a basket- and don't inspire. Signage is adequate but basic: numbered stickers and red/blue tape on a 4x4 post. Dirt tee off areas. A walking path with pedestrians and children come into play on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't expecting much, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised by Alexandria. The course is laid out well, and I enjoyed my round here. As with any township course, there are limitations here, but they do not detract from the overall experience. Visiting this area of the state is always a pleasure. Make a day of it- as i did- and play here before heading to Tinicum about 15 minutes away.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Friendly Course

1    3/4/2011   3/4/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great beginner/intermediate course
-Multiple tees make for playing more rounds in the same day
-Good use of elevation while not making the course too challenging
-Nicely kept Innova baskets
-Flags on top of all the baskets
-Fly pads are going to be installed soon
Cons: -Although there isn't much they can do about it, there are lots of thorns on the fringes of the fairways
-The course consitsantly plays strait, there are no turn or doglegs at all
-The back nine play around wide open fields, making them susceptible to cross winds
-After it rains hole 18 is a mud pit
-There is junk hidden around the course that detracts from the beauty of the landscape
Other Thoughts: I liked this course and unlike other reviewers I am not going to compair it to Tinicum. It's a good course and well maintained. I was told that fly pads were going to be installed on all the holes soon. That should make for better play and the tees are either mud or gravel. Hole range in lenght and there are 2 different tees for each hole (I played on the blues).
I would bring new players or newer players here, and it's a good course to practice drives and midrange. The tall grass was mowed down when I played but I could see losing discs in it when it's up high.
I deffinately would come back and play this course again when I am in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Balance of Difficulty and Fun

5+    8/26/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 30  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a really nice work-in-progress in a very well maintained park. The general rolling landscape provides some nice up and down hole layouts, yet is very easy walking. Features:
* short and long tees, marked with distances on posts
* good flow, with very little backtracking
* family friendly, good beginner course
* nice use of existing elevations
* new baskets
Cons: Not to be overly critical, but there are a few shortfalls:
* signage is minimum
* rough (open field area) gets very high and thick
* no map for each hole, though often basket is in view
Other Thoughts: As a note, the current course map, does show the holes close to the current design, but the hole numbers have changed: Hole 10 is actually Hole 16 on the map, and Hole 11 is actually Hole 17 on the map, and Hole12 is actually Hole 15 on the map.

This makes for a nice "short" version in that the long, more open holes (12-17) can be skipped to play a nice 12 hole layout, keeping throwing distances and walking to a minimum, a plus for beginners and children.

Personally, I enjoy this course for leisurely Sunday afternoon social rounds. It also works well for playing a round from the shorts and the longs, without taking a whole lot of time as between hole walking is minimum.

If you are in the area to play the well-known Tinicum Park course, I would recommend making the 10-minute drive to this course: picture a shorter Tinicum with hills.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course only getting better

2-4    8/21/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 131  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 17.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual Tees (blue/long - red/short) with distance to basket written on each sign post
Baskets on every hole appear to be in new condition
Mix of open, semi-open & lightly wooded holes with varied distances
Good use of available elevation (mostly moderate).
Easy to navigate/intuitive flow
Seating at many tee areas
Fun, easy, quick play
Friendly locals
Large, clean, well maintained park
Cons: Mostly natural tees (there's a fly pad at #1's blue tee and gravel on a couple others) but they did not present any footing concerns.
Posts at each tee rather than signs - on many holes you can see the basket so this is not really a problem per se
A couple holes (#2 and #3) throw over a walking path (it's not blind thus not a big concern)
Summertime rough bordering many holes is dense and thick so a spotter is recommended
Other Thoughts: As many reviewers have written previously, this course is very beginner friendly with the alternate tees, many open fairways, lack of heavy woods, reasonable distances, easy navigation and all around fun play. However the rough is pretty intense this time of year (summer/Aug 2010) so staying on the fairway is key and frustrating disc hunts are certain for stray throws.

While a new course and still progressing, some improvements could be made to signage, tees and maintaining the thick rough. Furthermore, the addition of alternate pin placements would be a welcome enhancement. However none of the above are 'deal breakers' and didn't have a huge impact on my rating.

Another disc golf course, Tinicum Park, is in close proximity across the river in PA. There are also places to eat/shop in the town of Milford and down the road in Frenchtown, NJ. So as much as this park is in a 'rural' setting, there are still places of interest nearby. As a result, give this solid course a play if in/around the area.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Stage Right

2-4    7/30/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 401  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tee (blue=rubber, red=natural) locations per hole. "Next Tee" signs scattered about. An abundance of chairs scattered near many tees. Friendly locals.
Cons:
Holes 2, 3, and 18 play across paved walking path. In the summer, the grass and wildflowers become very tall, which is great for the butterflies (there were loads of them), but not so good for discs that go off the cut-grass fairway.
Other Thoughts:
Course primarily skirts the edge of some woods that define three open spaces at the back of a large public park. The front nine is relatively short, has some elevation change on most holes, and brings small/mid-sized trees into play on a few holes. For the most part, the holes on the back nine are much longer, flatter and more open than those of the front nine. About half the holes could be described as "avoid the line of trees on the right while not losing your disc in the high grass on the left". Most paths from the tees to the baskets are pretty much dead straight - only a few holes require much turning, typically subtle and/or late.

Navigation: From #1 to #2, turn left after crossing the bridge. From #3 to #4, you'll walk along the road for just a bit. The numbering on the map I had didn't agree with the tee-numbering at the course - map holes 16&17 were tee-numbered 10&11at the course (i.e. turn left after finishing #9), and map-holes 15, 10-14, around the edge of the woods with the field in the middle, were tee-numbered 12-17.

Favourite holes #7: an uphill left-turner with the basket at the end of a narrowing cul-de-sac; #15, a slightly downslope gentle right-turner to an open basket, but with tall grass and bushes to punish being too left/right/long.

Decent course, with touch-work early and arm-stretching late. Spotter advised if playing in the summer. Not far from Tinicum, with Frenchtown in between the two, which had Pipolo's, a pretty good restaurant, and a bakery near the bridge.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good local course

5+    7/14/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: brookjhoffman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: New tees.
Good variety.
Never too crowded
All kinds of throws needed for good drives
Signs are decent
Cons: Nothing REALLY specific, it just didn't have much inspiration.
Other Thoughts: Others have mentioned that the rough is crazy overgrown, but I think they have tried hard to fix that. They have mowed the entire field where most of the back nine gets played. I have yet to lose a disc. The holes are generally pretty short; 300 ft or less. To me this isn't a con, but I imagine it could be to some.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 short front, long back, thorns everywhere

1    6/23/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 327  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 29.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This courses has a lot of postive things about it....the front 9 are very beginner friendly...good new Discather baskets...2 tees on most holes (blue is long, red is short)...blue and red tape on the top of the basket indicating which direction the next tee is located (this a GREAT idea and needs to be used more on other courses)...plastic outdoor chairs at many of the tees...very well mowed park and course made it easy to navigate the 1st time through...near Tinicum Pk another DGC course about 6 miles away.
Cons: I have only one con but it's a major factor. The thorns and brairs off the very nicely cut fairways can be brutal. In places the tall grass
and stickers were knee to waist high. This makes it very probable to loose a disc and get your legs nicked up while looking. This is a major drawback on returning since Tinicum is so close by.

#3 plays over a walking/jogging path.
Other Thoughts: It seemed slightly lefty friendly. Most holes on the front are less than 300 ft, by comparion the back 9 is much longer and very open playing around the field. Do not go right off the fairway on the back 9 or you will be in even thicker rough.

I didn't find short (red) #18 and played from the long tee and thought it was the best hole on the course. Being in the summer, the dirt tees were dry but I can see this being a muddy problem during other times of the year.




3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Play

5+    3/21/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 74  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is your classic local course with a good mix of long and short basket layouts. The front 9 plays shorter, tighter and in more wooded areas. The back 9 plays in open fields using longer distances, basket placement and terrain change where ever possible as your variables. It's easy to follow and gives you some fun holes to play over drainage basins. Where wind, terrain and distance come into play. It will challenge your game from the blue tees. A balancing act of good drives from the tees, a sold approach and clean putts to make many of the par 3's. Some early holes offer a nice birdie opportunity. Later holes change to watching your disc fly trying to make 400 & 500' holes in a par 3. Red and Blue tees play like two different games and will accommodate a much larger spectrum of players.
Cons: Course has ground/natural tees on all holes except 3 or 4 were it's gravel. The natural tees are level and well playable for now. Course drains well in most areas and no water hazards to speak of. Some better signage would be nice. Hole 2 and 18 play over a paved public walking path. You have to wait and play only when it's safe to drive.
Other Thoughts: This is a new 18 hole course with well worn foot paths in most places. New Discatcher baskets on all 18 and a work in progress. I've played this course better than half a dozen times and enjoy it a little more each time I come back. It has grown on me and I hope it continues to grow and mature as a course. I think the designer used the land available and terrain to it's best advantage. Located in a rural multi use township park that doesn't see heavy DG player traffic. Hopefully concrete tee's, better signs and multiple pins on some holes are in the future for this jewel in the hills.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not too Shabby

1    3/17/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alexandria Township Park is a great option for locals, families, and anyone that is interested in a course with a different feel than nearby Tinicum.

* DISCatcher baskets were in fantastic shape.
* The course incorporates moderate elevation changes into its layout
* Multiple tees (sometimes starting from completely different sides of the fairway) provide both variety as far as being able to play the course twice in two different layouts and an easier option for beginners/children. For me, this was the differentiating factor between a 2.5 and a 3.0.
* Fairways range from wide open fields to lightly wooded
* Chairs/tables available at numerous tees
* The park appeared to be well-maintained
* Although they were only 4x4s, the tee signs did indicate whether the tee was blue or red, and the distance to the basket
* Variety of hole lengths, from 178-558'
* For the most part, the flow of the course was easy to follow with the occasional "Next Tee" sign
* I didn't see a scrap of litter or trash anywhere on the course (cheers to the local players and the township)
Cons: While the pros outweigh the cons on this course, there were a few aspects that were less than great and/or could be fine-tuned.

* Signage directing players to the first tee would be very helpful
* As a township park, any pedestrians could wander into/through the course
* The tee boxes were somewhat rough and muddy (as were some of the walking paths)
* Extensive/excessive briars border the course on numerous holes making it very difficult to retrieve a shanked disc
* Although I played before the vegetation had sprung back to life, during the warmer months, tall grass on several of the holes could cause problems
* Without a map, going from the basket on hole 1 to the tee of hole 2 will be confusing
* The location of tees to the previous basket is a little close on a few holes, as is the fairway to the walking path, making for areas that require caution when the general public is nearby
Other Thoughts: All things considered, this course is quick and enjoyable with quite a few opportunities for birdies and a few ace runs. I'd recommend this course for beginners, families, and anyone that wants to explore a variety of different drive/approach/putting situations and as a nice warm up before playing Tinicum Park down the road. Certainly worth a play if you're in the area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.