Milford, NJ 
Alexandria Township Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #4 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 181ft.   3 / 178ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Fun course

1    4/27/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alexandria Township Park is a good place to start someone out in disc golf. There were 2 tees for most of the holes, a red and a blue, which made it nice to have the option. I played the blue tees when I was there, so that is what this review is based on.

Navigation is pretty easy around the course. There is tape on the baskets pointing to the next tee - red tape for red tee, blue tape for the blue tee. That was a nice touch.

I noticed they were adding holes to make it a full 18, and in this whole process maybe they are renumbering everything because what I played does not match up with what some of the other reviewers have noted. For me, holes #2 and #3 played near a baseball field in a drainage area with #2's shot uphill over the containment area, and #3 back downhill with the difficult pin placement on the downside of a steep slope.

There are several holes with elevation change, which is nice to have in any course.
Cons: The tee signs are laminated pieces of paper with distance on them. The signs noted the distance difference between red and blue tees, which is good. There was no layout or much other information and they will probably have to be replaced every couple of months due to wear and tear from the weather.

The tee pads were natural and could use some care. They were not horrible, but far from great.

No water in play, no real risk/reward on shots, most holes are pretty short.
Other Thoughts: As noted in other reviews, this course is undergoing an expansion. There is a map of the new course available on the kiosk at hole #1 and the back 9 will definitely stretch this course out and give more of a challenge to players. The course as it is right now has fun elements and is enjoyable to play. It just does not have the challenge or length of a high caliber course. When the course is expanded and finished, I will try to head back and update this review.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course, just getting better ...

1    3/18/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.8 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alexandria Park is currently a nine (10) hole course located on an old horse farm turned municipal park. The actual course is tucked away in the back of the park in an area dedicated solely to disc golf. The course is actually in the process of getting a reworked and expanded. Nine more holes are being placed to bring the course to a full 18 holes.
As the course stands now it is a very well groomed shorter course. Hole 1 is a short open shot to an open basket, with holes 2 and 3 being short, but technical shots through some woods. Holes 4-9 are all open and crisscross a small hill, offering mild elevation change. Most of the holes have 2 tees offering two semi-different layouts for the 9 holes. The baskets are very nice and the fairways are well-maintained.
The course is really easy to follow - with the next tee generally within site of the basket.
There are restrooms at the park and an information kiosk near hole 1.
This course offers much of what people like in disc golf, just on a smaller scale. For beginners its good because the course is short and manageable for beginners from the short tees, but from the alt tees it is interesting enough to offer challenging deuce runs for the more experienced players.
Cons: In the summer the rough is really bad, the thorns are nasty and the ticks are everywhere in the long grass so stay in the fairway.
This course is growing and there is a group of dedicated and capable individuals working to improve this course so I don't want to be too hard on the course, but I do have some cons.
First the tees are in need of some serious TLC. They are all natural and the gravel on some of the tees has either washed away or is so badly rutted that it feels almost dangerous to get into to much of an X-step on them. If this course is going to make it into the better courses in the area then better tees are a must. The signs weren't great, but this course is short enough that you can almost always see the basket from the tee. Once the course is expanded some of the holes will be much longer and better signage will go a long way to improving the course.
I also noticed some large garbage/debris around some of the later holes. It in no way affected the play on the course, but it would look a lot neater if the stuff was cleaned up just my preference.
Other Thoughts: With the new nine holes, which I was able to walk, this course is going to be a very good course and worth playing. The front nine are a bit short as they are, but the new back field holes will offer excellent opportunity for big arms to stretch and rip. The new holes are marked with flags at the tees and posts for the baskets.
Hole 18 has been installed so if you go play it, be sure to play 18. The tee is to the left of pin 9, down the path a little ways, just in the brush on the left.
The park is really very nice which does add to the course, with the new holes and some improvements this course will definitely jump in the ratings and become one of the better courses in New Jersey. Beginners and the more experienced will both enjoy what this course has to offer.


(As the course is now, it is rated a 2.5, but I am confident the new layout, once completed, will raise the rating)

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Alexander is Growing Up Nicely

2-4    1/12/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Info Kiosk present. Beginner friendly course in a rural setting in western jersey. It's a pretty area and a pleasant park to play in. There is some moderate elevation here. Complements nearby flat Tinicum because it is shorter and hillier. There are some cute holes here...#5, a little punch down a hill and #6, a big booming drive back up a hill, come to mind. Most experts will shoot for deuces and novices will be able to craft their game as well as learn to play many aspects of the game such as semi-technical woods, mild elevation, a little wind, and some big arm holes. The course has all of these but none of these in an overwhelming manner. Kind of unique...she is like a little baby version of many things people like about disc golf...perfect to teach different aspects of game. The soon to be completed back nine I walked through look to be much longer and very wide open with many chances to really crank drives up and down a wide open gently sloping field. Just don't crank and yank into the woods that will border many of the holes to one side of the fairway. There are 2 tees for each hole, nice. Good tee signs and it was not hard for me to find my way around. Big Arms will love the second Nine. I like the balance of short front nine with booming second nine. Thought out well. I also love that the course is in a municipal park but does not interfere with other activities in the park. It is strictly disc golf territory so you do not have to worry too much about pedestrians and if anyone is out there then they are the one's who are out of place. I think it is going to be a really fun course once it is finished.
Cons: It is really short for most of the front nine. A bit too open for my tastes in the back nine and for much of the front nine. Seems to be a bit like Tinicum in that regard, with the high grass everywhere. Only without the length. Maybe some tee pads shooting out of brief woods or maybe baskets a bit more guarded on some of the big open holes. The course is a work in progress so it feels wrong to criticize too much. Serious issues with high grass in the fields...very discouraging.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed hole #2 open shot up to a grass field. If the field is ever mowed on a regular basis I wouldlove this course...i doubt that will ever happen though. Just 10 minutes across the river, Tinicum is nearby and there are some cool river towns, Frenchtown and Milford, to grab lunch between rounds. I think that would be an awesome day.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A lovely option for locals and beginners

1    5/17/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. Perfectly maintained and mowed. 2 tee positions for variety... sometimes the alt tee is shorter for beginners (like #1), sometimes it radically changes a hole (like #2, coming in from a 60 degree different angle). Disccatchers are new, paths are easy to follow. Some serious elevation changes on holes 4 and 5! I called them "mini-beauty" and "mini-beast" after Brandywine.
Cons: Not well marked... didn't find alt tees for 1 and 2 until i realized at the end that every tee should have them. Hard to find regular tees sometime. Only 9 holes. Rough is very thorny and difficult.
Other Thoughts: I would love to have this course in my backyard now that I know the layout. Take a beginner there and they'll have a great first impression. Hole 9 has been changed to be less dangerous; pin is now in woods to right.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Decent Course

1/27/2008   1/28/2008
Review By: dhniz100
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice brand new Discatchers, every hole has a birdie possiblity, decently marked with orange flags to show you where the next tee is, really close to Tinicum
Cons: Distances of the holes are really short, Hole One plays through high grass, Tees are muddy
Other Thoughts: This course is perfect to take along someone with you that has never played or is just getting started, as it will not be at all initimidating to a beginer. Also it looks like this course is only going to get better as time goes by. It's very new and you get the feeling that the locals are just getting started there. There are some possibilities for alternate tees in the future so that you could play the course twice to make it a full 18. It's hard to find the first tee, when you pull into the park continue straight onto the dirt road. Park in front of the stable then back track up the road about 100 feet, the first tee is on the left about 50 feet from the dirt road.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A nice complement to Tinicum

5+    11/24/2012   1/8/2008
Review By: adlacro
Played: 70  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2012
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes with DIScatcher baskets in great shape. An excellent mix of open and wooded holes as well as lefty/righty shots and also great elevation differences. A few fast greens add a challenge. Blue tees add more distance and give you different looks at the basket, while the reds are shorter, good for those less experienced or mostly recreational players, and will yield birdie and potential ace opportunities. Well maintained.
Cons: Off the fairways there are thorns and brambles. The tees are natural so after rain they can get muddy.
Other Thoughts: Again, this is a great complement to nearby Tinicum Park, and the two combine for an excellent and challenging day of disc golf. Matt LaCourte, among others, deserve a lot of credit for cotinuing to improve this course. Well done!

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.