Coalinga, CA 
Coalinga DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 375ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Quick 9 With Potential

1    12/15/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A couple cement tees, and some tees marked off on walking paths with orange spray paint showing hole number and direction to the basket. Also some arrows were painted on the cement at the base of baskets pointing the direction to the next tee. A couple very long holes. Unless I was playing the layout wrong one hole was over 550'. A few holes have a decent number of trees to shoot around requiring some shot shaping and precision. Good amount of pavement throughout the park which can be used as OB to add difficulty. Some baskets fairly well protected in small groups of trees. Lightly to moderately wooded with a nice even distribution of large mature tees. Slight elevation changes throughout the course. Nice mowed grass throughout the park. Well maintained clean park. Low traffic on DG course. Ample parking.
Cons: Confusing layout and no course map available. No signs and tees are hard to find. The two cement slabs that look like disc golf tees were not marked at all, but did point in the general direction of a basket. Some baskets are next to walking paths, the road, other baskets, and other tees. One is along a fence line and the fence is just high enough off the ground to let discs slide under, but you'll have to walk around to retrieve them (not bad though). Overall the course is pretty wide open allowing a wide variety of shots on pretty much every hole. Some fairways overlapped or played right next to one another.
Other Thoughts: This is an intermediate level 9 hole that requires you to test a few different throwing skills. This course is tricky to navigate but once I did find a couple marked tee areas showing which basket to throw to there was an alright flow to it. Would be dangerous with multiple groups playing around a few holes. Creative layouts and safari rounds a definite possibility with lots of space. One of the better city park 9's I have played. Moderate to low difficulty but long enough that it's definitely not a boring 'birdies galore' course. It's a bit out of the way and I'm not sure if it's worth a long special trip, but if you're passing by or are ever within an hour of this course, I would definitely say check it out as there is some good disc golf to be played here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course for a day trip.

1    10/21/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: Johnny Rokketts
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very hilly and, for the lack of a better term, 'tree lined' which makes for interesting drives and nicely guarded pins. A good place for a variety of shots other than a standard backhand.
Cons: Lack of tees and signs can make negotiating the course somewhat confusing and even difficult as some baskets sit close to one another. The baskets sit low and the restrooms were closed. I played on an early sunday morning and while the park was relatively quiet, walkers/joggers can be a minor disruption to the continuity of the game but hey, it's a public park so it goes with the territory.
Other Thoughts: I found this park to challenge my roller, scoob and upshot game which is nice when it's not your norm. This was a course that will be added to my rotation of day trip golf outings away from home.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Give Me Tee Pads Or Give Me Death!

1    4/4/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great little park in which to have a course. It has just a little bit of rolling elevation, nicely scattered trees and nice green grass. It makes for for a roller's delight. It could be an fine recreational course.
Cons: Because of the close proximity of the baskets to each other and the lack of signs and the total absence of teepads of any description, I found this course to be really difficult to navigate. And I had printed off the on-line map, I more or less played a safari round, I agree with Nate Brooks in that the other park users looked at me with a curosity factor. They obviously weren't used to seeing guys out throwing disc at these funny basket thingees. And the park was filled with a variety of other users who did manage to dawdle in front of the whichever basket I was throwing at. The baskets are older but perfectly functional.
Other Thoughts: I would love to see some concrete teepads here. It's small enough that signs aren't really neccessary. But some kind of a defined teepad would do the trick. Then this would be a really enjoyable little recreational course. And your roller game would certainly improve with practice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 coalinga

1    11/15/2011   11/16/2011
Review By: giantsfan4life1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice variety of shots. long and short.
- Beautiful park well maintained.
- Great view of the golden hills.
- locals have spotted and plotted temporary tee spots to make a temp. 18 but to to same 9 baskets.
- plenty of obstacles to throw around or over.
- course has plenty of room and potential to grow and expand.
- one of the best 9 hole courses ive played.
Cons: - Only 9 holes.
- baskets are lower than regulation.
- no tee sign or tee boxes or course maps.
Other Thoughts: The locals that play are very nice if you happen to see them out there ask to play with them they will show you around.. Its in a quite town and a nice little place to play

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Small but nice

5+    12/27/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: tr8k
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes are a nice blend of short/long and open/obstacles. The layout is well thought out for the available space, with no criss crossing fairways. Little hills can benifit rollers or mess them up badly. The park is usually fairly empty. The bathrooms have been recently redone and are well maintained. Great course for a beginner to start off on.
Cons: No tee pads or signs. The course flows nice, but if you dont know it, you will be lost. Most tee offs are on concrete sidewalks, but a few spots are on grass and can be slippery at times.
Other Thoughts: Get this park some tee pads and signs and the rating goes up to a 3 easily. Great park for 9 holes, but hard to navigate without a local to show you around.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun,

1    4/3/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: Nate Brooks
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained. The course is in a city park, so the grass is cut short, the trees are taken care of, no limbs down, etc.

The holes are well thought out. Limited number of obstructions in the park are all taken advantage of. Hole #9 is a huge shot across a 350' (empty) parking lot.

Not crowded at all. I played on a Friday afternoon and had the course all to myself. It seemed like other park goers found me to be something of a curiosity.

The course offered a number of different kinds of shots. Several started off wide open, narrowing down to a tunnel, and others were the opposite. #8 is begging for a hammer throw. While the course isn't difficult, it was fun and offered a lot of variety.

Almost impossible to lose a disc. The short-cut grass makes rollers a dream.
Cons: There are no tee pads or signs. I copied down the provided map, but it was only marginally helpful. I expected the tee boxes to at least show some wear on the grass, but there weren't any bald spots or anything. You totally have to guess where to throw from.

The holes are poorly marked. They have the numbers written on the pole in Sharpie. Since the park is small, it's easy to shoot for the wrong basket (especially so since you don't know where the tee box is!)

The course isn't DG exclusive AT ALL. Kids climb and play on the baskets, moms walk around with their strollers, high-school couples just sit and talk on the course.
Other Thoughts: I played this course before going to a wedding in Coalinga. Definitely not a course worth driving to, but if you're ever in the area it is worth checking out.

My home course is parked in the middle of an oak tree forest, so part of the charm for me was to have rather open shots. This course is really forgiving, and you don't have to have skills to shoot par. If you shoot a lot of rollers, beware. The hills can take your shots and run them far away from the basket.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/8/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: hightide n nerd
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Even mix of everything. Nice course with technical areas and some good long shots and short. Grassy. Quiet.
Cons: Trees could use trim. If you aren't familiar with course, you may get lost. There aren't any marked "T"s. Bathrooms are disgusting.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is one of the better courses I've played on. Small, but nice.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A little work

1    10/24/2008   3/22/2009
Review By: KENDOG
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some nice holes with good distance. The park does not get a lot of traffic to get in the way. It does have chain baskets just not top of the line.
Cons: Course has no tee signs or tee boxes. You do not know where to start or which way to go. You can get a map Mon. - Fri at the park office next to the park. If you play on the weekend you will be lost.
Other Thoughts: If they can get tee blocks and tee signs would be a nice 9 hole course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.