La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Regular Tee



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
SoCal at its finest!

1    7/1/2009   7/14/2014
Review By: nwdiscgolfer
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 25.2 Years
Pros: 2 full 18 hole courses onsite. Beautiful rolling green fairways, concrete tee pads, excellent local golf scene. Variety of shots and distance requirements multiple basket positions on every hole.
Cons: Weekends can be tough with picnickers.
Other Thoughts: If your in SoCal it would be a mistake to miss this one.

LaMa Lakeside

5+    5/17/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: The_Warwolf
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course isn't the longest around but includes a wide variety of challenging shots. With the large hill playing into the picture on the majority of the front 9 you'll find a decent amount of rick/reward opportunities.

The park is very well maintained and has readily available amenities. There really aren't any park goers to cause conflicts.

This is another must-play if you get the chance to visit. A very fun course.
Cons: The grass can get a little swampy, but really it's not bad.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think LaMa has a great setup, not to mention that it sports 36 holes if you include the backside.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

So. Much. Mud.

5+    2/8/2014   2/9/2014
Review By: Schanen11
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great use of elevation, hills, sloped greens, uphill shots, downhill shots. A little bit of everything
-Trees add plenty of difficulty.
-Varying distances, from long bomb holes to short technical midrange holes.
Cons: -I have played this course for nearly 4 years and have yet to see the turf completely dry no matter what time of day or year. There is almost always at least one of the following: swampy areas, standing water, muddy greens... You get the idea.

-Pedestrian traffic as some holes traverse walking paths

-Since it's such a popular course, crowds can get pretty heavy.
Other Thoughts: -This really is a great course. The pro shop and back 18 make it a must-visit for any DGer in the area. It's just a shame that there's so many irrigation problems, I would give a much higher rating if they could get the wet turf under control.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Historical La Mirada Lakeside 18!!!

5+    9/20/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play here all the time, it's a great course. Lots of elevation changes. Long holes, short holes, uphill, downhill, aceable holes, nice locals. Restrooms and drinking water available. Pro-shop on site. La Mirada front 18 has a ton of history! Lots of shade and grass. Some great hole layouts. Baskets and tees are all in good shape. All holes clearly marked at tee pads. Baskets are sometimes moved so holes don't get stale.
Cons: Some muddy areas because of irrigation pipe problems. Pedestrian traffic and picnicers during busy times. Because of proximity to sidewalks and pedestrians, hole 1 and hole 18 have recently been shortened. Some see this as a con, some as a pro.
Other Thoughts: You for sure have to play this course. It's got everything. And that's not even counting the back 18, which is just as much a championship course as the front (lakeside) 18.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/18/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: Plenty of variety with some elevation, woods, ceilings, fallaways and blinds. Fair signage and overall decent tees. A decent pro shop. 36 hole course if front and back played together. Low crowd factor.
Cons: Fairly swampy on some of the low lying fairways. The guy in the pro shop was seriously disinterested in the fact that I was interested in spending some cabbage there (but the trade-in factor kept the dollars flowing).
Other Thoughts: Played as a 36 holer this was a great morning. 3 solid hours of point and shoot wore me out! Not super techy but definitely more than a few chances to pull out the big guns and more than a couple opportunities to watch your disc become a roller superstar (much to your chagrin). I really had a blast here and will definitely make it back every time I'm up from San Diego to visit family.

Groomed and ready go!

2-4    6/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: LiLHomeGirl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - not super creative but plenty technical to keep newbies on their toes.

- free!

- regulars are very helpful and polite.

- Course character: clean, grassy hills, trees, grass, nicely spaced out.

- drinking fountains available

- feels pretty safe for solo ladies (bring your phone)

- wear your polo shirt if you want- It's not dusty here like other courses.

- hole 19- pro shop
Cons: - Warning: Hole 13. If your disc goes in the dirty lake, there's a chance you will never see it again. Bring a few bucks- because if someone "helps" you get it, they may expect $.
Actual quote: "You have your wallet? Looks like you are you going to play your pretty girl card?" I was worried that he was going to mug me! But grateful he helped me get my disc.

...what happened to the good old days when people helped just to be nice?

- the geese smell bad.

- "rest breaks" are tricky here. You are pretty visible (plenty of people don't care even if there are kids in view).
Other Thoughts: I will come again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 50  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +beautiful park
+well maintained, grass is perfect length
+holes 6,7,12,13
+good amount of trees vs. open
+difficulty increased by OB and Mandos
+pro shop
Cons: -on the shorter side
-tee pads are short
-most shots just on a straight line

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

5+    3/4/2013   3/6/2013
Review By: hk chef
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful park that is well groomed. 2 awesome 18 hole courses. When so cal is windy this place is usually pretty calm. That's a HUGE plus. Lot of nice and helpful people for some of us novice players.
Cons: Quite a few holes in the ground out there. Just pay attention to where your walking and you should be fine. I've seen people take a spill though.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love this course. I play here 2 to 4 times a week. The front is usually crowded but the back is always open. I've read many complaints about the mud. It's really not that bad. The only mud issue I can think of would be hole 5 on the back 18. The basket is on a little slope and it can get slick when wet. It is very nice living 10 minutes away from here :-)

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Awesome !

5+    3/5/2010   3/5/2013
Review By: DonnyO
Played: 1065  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 40.6 Years
2 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Best course in SoCal with 36 holes or the Championship 18 ! Nice Grass through the whole course. Wish there was more tournaments here ! Top rated course with many pin positions !
Cons: Some Mud but getting better with course improvements !
Other Thoughts: Scenic !

2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

A nice cold December day

1    12/29/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pros: this was a truly nice experience. Good tee signs, Lovely clean park. Friendly locals. Good tee pads (or a path to throw from). Big park with other things to do but no issues with overlap from other park users. Played 9 alone and then hooked up w a pair of guys for the second nine. Nice folk.
Cons: Cons: not really any. only con i can think of is there was a little bit of trash an oddly dead birds in a few places. only got confused on once hole we threw to the wrong basket

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.