La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Regular Tee



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/18/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
Pros: Plenty of variety with some elevation, woods, ceilings, fallaways and blinds. Fair signage and overall decent tees. A decent pro shop. 36 hole course if front and back played together. Low crowd factor.
Cons: Fairly swampy on some of the low lying fairways. The guy in the pro shop was seriously disinterested in the fact that I was interested in spending some cabbage there (but the trade-in factor kept the dollars flowing).
Other Thoughts: Played as a 36 holer this was a great morning. 3 solid hours of point and shoot wore me out! Not super techy but definitely more than a few chances to pull out the big guns and more than a couple opportunities to watch your disc become a roller superstar (much to your chagrin). I really had a blast here and will definitely make it back every time I'm up from San Diego to visit family.

 

1    1/30/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 75  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is laid out on a very nice multi-use park. There is a small shop near the first tee where you can stock up on drinks or browse a limited selection of discs.

As a multi-use park, the course grounds are very well kept. The grass is mowed and the park is very clean.

By not playing directly over the pond or too close to the playground, the course avoids the heaviest traffic areas.

There is some nice use of elevation to add a bit of intrigue.
Cons: The layout is very wide open. Trees help a bit to force certain lines, but it's hard to get in any real trouble. Bad tee shots don't get punished particularly badly.

Although the course avoids the heaviest traffic areas, there is still a lot of pedestrian activity throughout the park that can disrupt play, or be in harms way on errant throws.

Being on a busy suburban park leaves the course very exposed. So you don't get the same "at peace" feel that you might find at other more secluded courses.

With no next tee signs and multiple tees visible from many pins, navigation can be a little tricky.
Other Thoughts: There's nothing particularly memorable to take away from this course. Being well maintained and clean makes it a nice place for a casual round. But there's no wow factor or real signature feel to set it apart from other similar style courses.

I certainly enjoyed playing here, but one time was enough for me.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Classic old-school style course

1    5/11/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Beautiful park setting with lush green grass and scenic trees. Boatloads of elevation in play on this course along with a variety of lefty vs. righty holes. Big concrete tee pads. Up to six pin positions on some holes which are actually routinely rotated by the local club provide a constantly changing course. Fantastic tee signs with tape indicating the current pin position. Awesome locals: I was playing solo and every group I came up to let me play through without me even asking. Restrooms, drinking fountain, and a minimalistic pro-shop on site. Practice basket by the pro-shop.
Cons:
Sadly, almost all of the holes I laser measured were pretty far off of the posted distances. I'm not sure if that's because pin sleeves have been moved through the years and signs not updated, but it was disappointing for such a storied course. When I played at least one (#10) basket was in a pin position for another hole (#11A)... really guys? With six positions on a hole you still have to go put a basket somewhere else?? That doesn't help first timers trying to figure out the course. Beware non-disc golfers relaxing in the park close to some fairways.
Other Thoughts:
I was thinking that the water would come into play but it never really does; that's probably a good thing considering the number of non-disc golfers hanging out around the lake.

I'm not sure if this is a pro or a con, so it's going into "other": this course didn't seem hard enough. What I mean is I carded a lot of 3's. If you had a bad tee shot you could almost always make up the difference on the upshot. The only 4's I took were because of my poor putting. Seems like the challenge of this course is to make tee shots that put you in birdie putt position. That's complicated for the first timer staring at multiple pin positions and incorrect distances.

I'm assuming there's a tourney/safari layout that is played which causes the Pro players to adore this course so much.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/3/2009   1/21/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.8 Years
12 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Set in a very nice park
Plays around a pond, although it doesn't really come into play
Mostly cement Tee pads
Pro Shop was open
Signs indicated multiple pin placements (not sure how often they are rotated if at all)
Challenging course, with many long, low ceiling shots
Cons: Some tee pads in rough shape/short.
A little tough to follow the course with no "next tee" signs
No indication of what basket placement was currently in place
Baskets not numbered
Could use more trash cans, as people seem to litter often
Many no DG'ers on the course, walking aimlessly, we even had to play around a picnic on a fairway
Some long walks. The flow of the course wasn't the greatest.
Not many elevation changes, although the course did make pretty good use of what it has to work with.
The pond doesn't come into play (i imagine because the course is not exlusive to DG)
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course with some very challenging golf. It does play for advanced Am's and better, with no other tees for players less than that. The course would do better to have better signs and perhaps a rotating dial to indicate current pin placement. The course wasn't busy, so most of the time spent waiting will be to wait for non DG'ers crossing the fairway. We did notice some groups didn't have the best ettiquette and were throwing prior to a hole being completed. It seemed to lack a signature hole. This course would be rated much higher with better signage, a better flow, and to appeal to a bigger audience of skill levels, some extra tee pads. This course is well worth a play, especially for better players.

12 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Boots and Your A-game

5+    12/25/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.5 Years
21 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Excellent course design. Weird mandos and tight tunnels paired with steep rolling hills make this course a dream for Blue and Gold level players
-Water hazard. Much of the Front 18 wraps around a little pond. If you're afraid of geese, stay at home. La Mirada is one of the only courses in the area with the added risk of water.
-Great baskets and tee pads (when it's dry...a lot of these tees get really slick or submerged when the course is wet)
-Practice basket near the tee for hole 1 and the pro shop
-FREEEEEEE! :)
-Empty course. Don't think I have ever had to wait for other golfers playing the Front 18
-Fish or play tennis while you're there
-Good signage
Cons: -Lots of pedestrian traffic. Fishermen, picnickers and bird-feeders abound.
-Course gets pretty wet in the winter.
-Blind shots combine with steep hills to make for some crazy rolls off the bounce. Use a spotter!
-Being largely situated around a busy pond and streets, there is always a lot of noise and the course feels incredibly exposed. Only one good spot to chill and relax and it is often in use.
-Man-eating geese
-Course is a little tricky to navigate...make sure and bring a guide! :)
Other Thoughts: This is a world class course sitting on an incredibly overused slice of park. You WILL be waiting for pedestrians, lost fishermen, toddlers and soccer players. If you want to try this course, play early and mid-week to minimize aggravation. Remove the pedestrians from this course and it instantly turns into a 4-disc course.
Sans pedestrians, this is an incredibly challenging course. If you ever have the opportunity, check out one of the major tourneys that are held regularly here. Watching the pros navigate low ceilings and mandos is disc golf as high-art.
Long, tight and technical, this is a really hard course with few places to relax. This course is very highly touted and is worth the trip if you are in the area (though the Back 18 is FAR superior.)

21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course that needs TLC!!!

5+    3/11/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of space and elevations. Very challenging (I love a course that can fustrate you at times). Regular tourneys and great locals. The park is beautiful and fairly maintained. Signage is very good, accurate, and easy to follow (although, they need to indicate which placement the hole is on blind shots with a grease pencil). The pro shop is back


Cons: A few hole are just too long for anyone less than Am/Pro. I don't mind it, but I think it doesn't help average players get a rise out of the course.

The pro shop closed

Only 1 restroom on the front 18 and it is at #17 teepad. Handle your businees b4 you get there. Needs more trash cans so the park can be kept cleaner.

The park is WAY over watered. The front 18 is horrible and like playing in a swamp and the teepads suck!!! Worst teepads in OC, they are literally ramps on some holes

Also, the flow was very weak, as there were long walks (well over the PDGA recomended 50 ft., many were over 250') from hole to tee.

The mandys are overboard. With a hole that is very long or a challenge already without the mandys, it is not needed. Although, I know they will help less skilled players stay in bounds and make the park safer overall, I (personally) don't even acknowledge mandys, the course is fine without them.
Other Thoughts: The course is great to play if you have some decent skills and experience in the game. I just worry that the length and difficulty may deter growth in the sport in the area (my friends that play recreationally won't join me here). Some short tees for begineers may be a solution.

The course need some loving to get this place to the glory it truly deserves. Fix the teepads, find out why the city is over watering and breaking state water conservation laws. Make some short tees for Beginner/ Rec. players. This place should be the Meca for Disc Golf in OC, it just doesn't appeal to ever player and sadly, it could. Basically, the difficulty and shear volume of holes carries this course and the cons outweigh them

Favorite Hole: Nothing really stands out. They are all challenging, but nothing that I would tag as a "signature" hole. But, if I gotta choose one, it would be #13 for the technicallity and accuracy involved. Only hole where the water is really even a factor. (There is a lake, use it!!!!)

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.