La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Regular Tee



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
So. Much. Mud.

5+    2/8/2014   2/9/2014
Review By: Schanen11
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great use of elevation, hills, sloped greens, uphill shots, downhill shots. A little bit of everything
-Trees add plenty of difficulty.
-Varying distances, from long bomb holes to short technical midrange holes.
Cons: -I have played this course for nearly 4 years and have yet to see the turf completely dry no matter what time of day or year. There is almost always at least one of the following: swampy areas, standing water, muddy greens... You get the idea.

-Pedestrian traffic as some holes traverse walking paths

-Since it's such a popular course, crowds can get pretty heavy.
Other Thoughts: -This really is a great course. The pro shop and back 18 make it a must-visit for any DGer in the area. It's just a shame that there's so many irrigation problems, I would give a much higher rating if they could get the wet turf under control.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Groomed and ready go!

2-4    6/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: LiLHomeGirl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - not super creative but plenty technical to keep newbies on their toes.

- free!

- regulars are very helpful and polite.

- Course character: clean, grassy hills, trees, grass, nicely spaced out.

- drinking fountains available

- feels pretty safe for solo ladies (bring your phone)

- wear your polo shirt if you want- It's not dusty here like other courses.

- hole 19- pro shop
Cons: - Warning: Hole 13. If your disc goes in the dirty lake, there's a chance you will never see it again. Bring a few bucks- because if someone "helps" you get it, they may expect $.
Actual quote: "You have your wallet? Looks like you are you going to play your pretty girl card?" I was worried that he was going to mug me! But grateful he helped me get my disc.

...what happened to the good old days when people helped just to be nice?

- the geese smell bad.

- "rest breaks" are tricky here. You are pretty visible (plenty of people don't care even if there are kids in view).
Other Thoughts: I will come again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 50  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +beautiful park
+well maintained, grass is perfect length
+holes 6,7,12,13
+good amount of trees vs. open
+difficulty increased by OB and Mandos
+pro shop
Cons: -on the shorter side
-tee pads are short
-most shots just on a straight line

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

La Mirada

2-4    12/31/2012   1/4/2013
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This is one of the classic disc golf courses, and it's exciting to play for that fact alone.
-Friendly locals, and the course flows nicely. There will always be people playing here, and it helps that the people that play here the most are nice and welcoming.
-Beautiful city park with pleny of picnic tables and other activities for before or after your round.
-Fantastic elevation changes. You'll have a few flat holes, but the rolling hills on the fairways make you change your game up a bit.
-Fairly open course, but there's a good use of trees on most holes that mix things up and make you get tricky with your throws. Bonus: there are a good mix of trees, from palms to broad leaves to evergreens.
-Easy to read tee signs on every hole, and multiple basket positions on every hole.
-Nice pro shop on site that has a great deal: bring in your used plastic and they'll give you half of what they'll sell the discs for in store credit. That makes for a good way to trade what you have easily while at a good course.
Cons: -All the holes are pretty much the same length. For my taste, I think a great disc golf course is a course that has the most variety of holes possible, especially when it come to length. I would have liked to see a 700-800 footer or two mixed in, but for the most part, the holes hover between 250-350 feet, making this essentially a midrange/putter course.
-The grass is always soggy. I don't know if it's an irrigation issue or simply that grass shouldn't be grown in Southern California, but every time I've come here I've gotten mud on my shoes no matter how careful I am to avoid mud pits.
-There are multiple pin positions, but the tee signs don't mark which pin location is being used at a given time. This gets tricky on holes with blind spots.
-Some holes use the park's sidewalks as tee pads. It's not a big deal, but...
-A lot of people use this park that aren't disc golfers. Kids on bikes, couples on picnics, and people fishing in the pond are all obstacles at La Mirada.
-There are times when the course layout makes things tight and potentially dangerous, like at holes 14 and 15 where the fairways face each other. If you here "fore", pay attention.
Other Thoughts: You have to play here if you're in Southern California. This is one of the SoCal big 3, along with Morley Field in San Diego and the course at Huntington Beach. I'll play here every time I'm in town, but I think it's safe to say that the reputation La Mirada has built up over the years began before course designers got creative with their courses. Compared to other Championship-caliber courses out there like Idlewild in Kentucky and Water Works in Kansas City, La Mirada is pretty tame. But, a pilgrimage here isn't a waste of time. Happy discing!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Southern Cal.

1    3/8/2011   7/31/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great weather in Sotuth Cal. Manicured park that uses everything to make it an experience. Not long but with some tight windows. Enjoyable.
Cons: Lots of others in the park just walking around. You have to be careful and watch. Nice and clean.
Other Thoughts: Classy course ... it's La Mirada!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Evening Round

1    5/13/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course with lots of varienty. Very cool locals and relaxed atmosphere. It's FREE (most of the other courses in the area charge).
Cons: Can be crowded with non-disc folks since it winds around a couple playgrounds and bike paths.
Other Thoughts: I was really surprised. I flew in for the weekend and was in La Mirada to see a show and just showed up to play a quick round. I did not realize what a treat I was in for. The locals that play the course every day were really good about pointing out the trouble spots and keeping me on track. That and a 25 cent map from the pro shop made for a quick round on a great course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I like it

1    4/29/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: arcechris21
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great to play after the back once your arms warmed up.
-Cool and Shady!
-Nice use of the terrain and placement of tees and holes.
Cons: -Too close to the street.
-Water hazard by hole 13(friend lost his putter because of head wind).
-Way too many families there (can't blame them nice place for a family BBQ).
-Waiting way to much.
Other Thoughts: I like the course a lot because of the course. However the amount of people there on a Friday around 1pm is kinda annoying always yelling "FORE" every time you throw as compared to the back. All in all i still want to go back to play but more for the back.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 La Mirada Front

1    8/26/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2010
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - La Mirada's Front 18 plays over rolling grassy hills dotted with large mature trees. Pines, various deciduous species, and palm trees constitute the main obstacles. Elevation also provides some challenging situations. Sapphire blue water comes into play on a couple of holes, punishing errant shots. Immaculately groomed and maintained.
- Mandatories galore force certain tunnel shots or eliminate the ability to simply take a massive hyzer route around all the obstacles. Mandos are well-marked, usually with large red arrows taped to tree trunks.
- Good mix of longer bomb 'em style holes and shorter, accuracy-needed ones.
- Decent signage shows all possible pin positions but not the current location.
- Disc shop on site. Bathrooms, trashcans, etc. located throughout.
Cons: - Inconsistent tees, although not as bad as the back 18's. Concrete stubs at the front of some pads provide awkward protection against foot-faults, at the risk of tripping. Some tees are not level in the least. As with the back 18, slick sidewalks are recruited as tee pads in several places; however, the front 18's tees are generally in better shape and easier to deal with.
- Plays close to roadways and parking lots.
Other Thoughts: - La Mirada has a very suburban feel. It is impossible to play a round without bumping into other park goers, although it doesn't create any real problems.
- Make sure you hit all of the many mandatories. This course punishes errant drives.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

2-4    3/29/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: DuXterra
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete pads are nice to throw from.
Great long holes to make you really throw your best.
Well maintained
Friendly people
Plays around a nice pond
Cons: Not well marked anymore where pins will be
Baskets are not marked well confusing players
Lots of people walking around
Pro shop has gone downhill, used to have tons of discs and was run by a great guy but not anymore.
Other Thoughts: Although not as nice as the last time I played 4 years ago the front 18 is still one of my favorite places to play. Its in a great park and has some fantastic holes. Its well maintained but still could be better. I recommend this to anyone who has the chance to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful La Mirada Regional

5+    2/7/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: howardb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -First and for most what a beautiful park for a disc golf course, if you have a big arm some of these holes are for you, environment is peaceful and friendly, grass throughout the park some old discatchers, some new, elevation changes? Yes, that is what makes this course a challenge along with trees, mandatory's, and a few park goer's, hole 9 seemed to be a hang out for some locals selling sodas, candy, snacks, we had to yell FORE! A few times. Teepads are all concrete and hole signage is at every hole indicating pin placement and yardage for each placement. Holes are easy to follow and navigate to the next tee. Very clean as I saw some trashcans throughout the park, would like to see a few more and some benches to take in all the beauty of this 36 hole course..well 5 of them previously removed on the back 18. Pro shop located near hole 1, didn't visit but im sure you will find it useful to purchase DG items, Oh and one other Pro is that this course is FREE as stated in other reviews. No problems with any other DGer's so if you show up solo im sure it wont be a problem joining a group.
Cons: Too many Mandies..im the type of DGer who likes to use different routes and mandies limits me on doing so. Too wet!! Ive heard of alot of picnicers there but it wasnt bad when we were there. im sure this course could get very busy during good weather days, like summer.
Other Thoughts: if your in the area come play this course, well worth the drive as i drove an hour to get there to play with some really cool heads.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.