Disc Golf Store
La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Regular Tee



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
SoCal at its finest!

1    7/1/2009   7/14/2014
Review By: nwdiscgolfer
Played: 66  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 full 18 hole courses onsite. Beautiful rolling green fairways, concrete tee pads, excellent local golf scene. Variety of shots and distance requirements multiple basket positions on every hole.
Cons: Weekends can be tough with picnickers.
Other Thoughts: If your in SoCal it would be a mistake to miss this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

LaMa Lakeside

5+    5/17/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: The_Warwolf
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course isn't the longest around but includes a wide variety of challenging shots. With the large hill playing into the picture on the majority of the front 9 you'll find a decent amount of rick/reward opportunities.

The park is very well maintained and has readily available amenities. There really aren't any park goers to cause conflicts.

This is another must-play if you get the chance to visit. A very fun course.
Cons: The grass can get a little swampy, but really it's not bad.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think LaMa has a great setup, not to mention that it sports 36 holes if you include the backside.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Historical La Mirada Lakeside 18!!!

5+    9/20/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play here all the time, it's a great course. Lots of elevation changes. Long holes, short holes, uphill, downhill, aceable holes, nice locals. Restrooms and drinking water available. Pro-shop on site. La Mirada front 18 has a ton of history! Lots of shade and grass. Some great hole layouts. Baskets and tees are all in good shape. All holes clearly marked at tee pads. Baskets are sometimes moved so holes don't get stale.
Cons: Some muddy areas because of irrigation pipe problems. Pedestrian traffic and picnicers during busy times. Because of proximity to sidewalks and pedestrians, hole 1 and hole 18 have recently been shortened. Some see this as a con, some as a pro.
Other Thoughts: You for sure have to play this course. It's got everything. And that's not even counting the back 18, which is just as much a championship course as the front (lakeside) 18.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A nice cold December day

1    12/29/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pros: this was a truly nice experience. Good tee signs, Lovely clean park. Friendly locals. Good tee pads (or a path to throw from). Big park with other things to do but no issues with overlap from other park users. Played 9 alone and then hooked up w a pair of guys for the second nine. Nice folk.
Cons: Cons: not really any. only con i can think of is there was a little bit of trash an oddly dead birds in a few places. only got confused on once hole we threw to the wrong basket

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rolling hills like the Shire

1    1/2/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Super cool locals (Thanks Patrick, both Johnny's, Greg, Andre) for showing us around
-Spacious
-Great tee signs
-Multiple basket positions
-Great concrete teepads (some on sidewalks)
-Beautiful scenery; tons of rolling hills, a pond in the middle, awesome trees, beautifully manicured especially for disc golf
-Lots of cool elevation changes with both uphill and downhill throws
-Interesting use of trees, tree lines, and mandos (trees, concrete gutters, light poles)
-Very little to no waiting when I went
-Local rules (tournament play, Golden state) more on this below
Cons: -Awesome tee pad signs with multiple basket position, but the basket being used isn't marked
-Some spots can get waterlogged and muddy, but very minor complaint
-Its a public park, so sometimes people are walking on the fairways (another minor complaint)
Other Thoughts: First impression is that this place is HUGE. You will never feel that you didn't get to air out your disc here. On top of that, elevation here adds to the lengths of the holes. Local rules are basically playing rivers vs lakes (some holes have concrete gutters running through them, so you can play either left or right of the gutter is a lake (ie OB) or you can just play rivers which is sidewalk and the gutter itself is OB). Golden state sounds awesome...basically playing from one teepad to the next next teepad's basket, which makes for monstrous par 4 and 5 holes.
I liked the front 18 and back 18 equally and if ranked with both combined, I'd give this place a 4.5. I believe a must play if you're in SoCal.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in LA/Orange counties

5+    6/26/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Between the trees, lake, and well-manicured grass, the course has a great feel to it. Very peaceful. There are some short holes that are nice for birdies (#1, 3, 6), but that have trees that don't make it too easy. And then there are some looong holes (#12, #16) that keep you coming back out of frustration.

My favorite holes are #2, which has double hills to navigate over and double trees to pass through, and #4 (when the pin is located in the middle of three tight trees). I am constantly frustrated by #10, 12, 13, and 16, but their challenge keeps me coming back.

In my opinion, this course (more so than any other in the area) is the easiest to play through. I play solo a lot and the locals are really cool about letting me play through. It's also really easy to skip around on #3 through #9 if you were to get behind some people that weren't letting you play through.

Also, for the parents out there, this course makes it very easy to push a stroller on, if you are lucky enough to have an infant that will sleep through a round.

The pro shop is a combo tennis/disc golf shop, and it's cool that the disc golf doesn't take a backseat. They are very helpful. Another plus to the course is having the back 18 right next door.
Cons: Pin placement isn't rotated enough for those of us that play multiple times each month.
Gets a little hot in the summer.
Permanently marshy on #13 and #14.
Lots of pedestrians/students walking/playing/picnicing unless you play during work/school hours.
Other Thoughts: #13 has double mandatories that give you a window of about 15 feet to shoot between. Normally, this would be a fun challenge. However, to add to the challenge, the hole has 30-40 feet of elevation drop with very low-hanging trees, so your driving window is crazy small. Also, the mandos occur about 60 feet from the tee box, further complicating things. I have lost four discs on #13, all of which came after I made it through the mandos, but hit one of the many low-hanging branches, causing the discs to roll all the way to the bottom of the hill (picking up speed along the way) before jumping into the lake. Not cool.

However, I have learned that this occurs so frequently that there are *two* guys that come daily with nets to scoop out any discs that fall in. They will call your number if it's written on the back and offer to sell it back to you for $5.

UPDATE: All in all, this is a very fun course to play. I just got back from playing 6 courses in Seattle/Whistler and this is nowhere near as challenging as them--because there is essentially no rough on this course, so I'm changing my rating from a 4.5 to a 4. Still, the course designers made it about as tough as it could be made.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 family outing

1    12/20/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: freakinwizzz
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice tee signs on a great layout of perfectly cut grass. challenging but also fun for all skill levels. my cousin played there and he doesn't even own a disc. lots of open holes and trees to throw through on a few holes. very fun overall don't miss out if your in the OC area.
Cons: not really any. only con i can think of is there was a little bit of trash an oddly dead birds in a few places. only got confused on once hole we threw to the wrong basket
Other Thoughts: i hope i can go back again soon!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Overall good golf

1    7/10/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this was a truly nice experience. Good tee signs, Lovely clean park. Friendly locals. Good tee pads (or a path to throw from). Big park with other things to do but no issues with overlap from other park users. Played 9 alone and then hooked up w a pair of guys for the second nine. Nice folk.
Cons: I will pop back to this review if I can ever come up with one. Just a minor thing but fairways kind of overlap on 14 and 15. pair of 6 ppl parties on the course in front of us but happily encouraged us to play through.
Other Thoughts: Elevation of some kind on every hole, how common is that? Good mix of hole length... No crazy 800 footers (a waste when I see them) and no 150' footers to fill an unused space as we sometimes see. No real big signature hole stands out here, but all holes were worthy of the course. #1 is a nice downhill hyzer. #2 offered a double rolling hill profile that was unique. #3 was slight uphill and good fun. #4 was a annie mando and a basket in a tree area that was a choice to play your 2nd shot. Good stuff here. maybe my fave hole of the course. #5 is uphill to a big tree behind the basket. #6 was blind up and over the hill backed to the street but not an overthrow hazard really. #7no formal tee pad and basically shoots up the path, annie around the trees. #8 requires a low shot under the tree overhang. #9 is a beauty downhill sweeper. Really nice to float a disc all the way! #10 is a tough up hill bit not as uphill as 11 which is blind and up and over for a monster upshot. #12 is Looooooong, downhill and blind. Longer than you think it is. #13 is the double tree mando and once you are through the trees (easy to say that) t is a downhill slope to the basket. #14 is up to the basket on the slopw. Watch for a missed putt to roll way off (same for 16). #15 crosses 14 a bit but was not a big issue to basket below. 16 is a longer hole with the basket on the side slope. #17 shoots for the path to the basket. closest hole t any water risk and not much of a real risk here, really. #18 puts you back to the start, uphill, blind and to the big tree. All a good time and if typical of DG in Southern CA.... I need ot be back soon. Thank you!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best!!!

5+    11/26/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: DookieHyzer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course that offers many challenges. There are several choices to be made in approach angles to each hole. Holes range from short to long, uphill to downhill, and open field to blind placements.Trees are both new growth placements and old well established trees with wide overhangs; really well done.
Cons: This course was real challenge on my younger kids that don't have the length on their drives yet.
Other Thoughts: I am so fortunate to live within a couple of miles of one of Californias premiere courses.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: puckdevil8
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is immaculate. It's such a nice and peaceful place to play with your friends or by yourself. Some of the pin placements make you say...what was the guy thinking, but overall...this is the best course I've played this year.
Cons: On the weekends, it's so crazy crowded...I get worried about hitting one of the people there and ruining their day. Then I see a beautiful girl walk by and nail my driver and all is better.
Other Thoughts: Some of the pins don't play to the distance they are listed on the placards. Overall though, a wonderful disc golfing experience. This place has made my new love of the game even that much better.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.