La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Regular Tee



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
One of my favorites!

5+    7/6/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: T_Birdman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 42.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent layout, great terrain, Pro shop on site, just a fun course!
Cons: Some muddy and slippery slopes, weekends can be crowded, parking can be tough at times.
Other Thoughts: Front or back courses are good for both beginners and seasoned players, never have I been disappointed while playing here!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My Home course

5+    7/27/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Scenery
Well Manicured Grass
Very nice locals
Nice surrounding area
Relatively easy to follow
Good use of elevation
Good mix of short and long holes
Pin Placements Change first Friday of every month.
NEW TEEPADS!!!!!
Cons: On a public park where many people dont know there is a disc golf course in there.
Despite us adding trashcans around people still litter
Occasional 'Chuckers' that dont follow rules and dont know how to yell fore
Some dangerous blind holes or holes in semi-crowded areas.
Other Thoughts: Despite this being my home course and I love it very much there is much that i wish we could change. We are in the process of re-doing a bunch of teepads since some of the old ones are quite dangerous. The proshop has also been updated and there is more discs and me and my dad are knowledgable about many question you might have.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Professional Caliber, Possibly the Best in Socal

5+    2/7/2010   2/20/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Solid concrete pads on almost every hole (some holes tee off from a sidewalk edge
Elevation change on practically every hole. Up down, gradual, drastic, you name it. The park is located among a swath of large rolling hills and the layout makes the most of it
Multiple pin positions that change regularly
Multiple course layouts (18 and "Socal 9" ultra long layout)
Baskets are not brand new but are well maintained
Well mowed and well manicured fairways and trees
DTWorld (Discovering the World) is only 3 miles away and has the best selection of discs around.
FREE to play!
Maps available in the pro shop (at least that's what I heard, I haven't used a map here in 10 years)
Lots of variety in length - holes play 200 foot up to 500 foot.
Great Local scene and most players are very friendly with excellent etiquette.

Cons:
Plenty of people oblivious to disc golf inhabit the park, especially on weekend days. Initially this seems like a "disc golf exclusive area", but the fishermen and picnickers tend to be completely clueless. I have played a several rounds where my disc has been tossed back to me at least twice.
Course is not freeway close or centrally located
Pro Shop is not disc golf knowledgable and has overpriced discs for sale regularly. There was an ownership change in 2008-09 and things have gone downhill since then. It is now focused almost solely on tennis.
Baskets do not have numbers, making some holes confusing, especially for first timers here. Bring a guide your first time if possible.
Some "walkbacks" to next holes interrupt the logical flow. Especially apparent on the 6 to 7 and 7 to 8 transition, as well as the 10 to 11 transition.
Place turns into an oven in the summertime. Expect temps 10 to 15 degrees hotter than the beach.
Sewer system runs shallow in the ground and can cause soggy conditions when it rains. Especially on Hole 16.
Other Thoughts:
La Mirada: the monster L.A. area course that has been home to plenty of professional caliber championships. It is no wonder that so many top pro's have this course listed in their all time favorites. The serious disc golfers truly come out to play at LaMa, and it should be known that this is not a beginner course. You need to bring out the big guns on plenty of holes here, and more often than not you are playing to a basket that is 300+.

The elevation changes among the rolling hills are the feature that sets this course apart from any others. Especially the large hill that houses holes 7 through 13 - it is a monster. Get ready to get plenty of exercise climbing up and down this monster. My personal favorite is the "ascension of the cornice" on Hole # 11, one of the hardest uphill holes known to man. You will truly feel like a glutton for punishment after finishing a round here.

This is probably my favorite Socal course, and it manages to challenge me every time I play it. Although the Back 18 course onsite is also a great course, I prefer the Front 18 and think that more attention is paid to it by both the park maintenance as well as players. It is routinely 3 times more crowded than the back. Some prefer the length and variety of the back , but the hills aren't as big and it is more of a "big arm" layout. There are plenty of make-able birdies on the front, but the back is far more unforgiving.

Signature holes tend to be # 1, # 12, # 13, and # 15. Wait a second, are those all downhill shots? The downhill holes are absolutely epic on this course. The shot "from the gym" on # 15 is one of the most drastic elevation drops I have ever seen on a 300 foot hole. The tee is located on quite a hill. # 13 is ultra tricky lakeside (not listed as a water hazard here but it definitely is). The mando is between 2 palm trees at the top of the hill and is near impossible to navigate for some.

Overall, a great course. It has its flaws but the good points far outweigh the bad points.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 challenging course

1    4/18/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: park is nice, grass, hills, tree, blind shots, short and long shots, elevation changes, water fountains here and there
Cons: some dog traffic, but its a park, misnumbered i dont know if i shot into the right basket on a few occasions. but oh well
Other Thoughts: dont rely on the back 18 maps that are downloadable from this page. the course is different now. it didnt help me but i managed to make it all the way. i guess the shop has the new map.

great course i would go if i were you

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of SoCal's Best

2-4    12/2/2008   3/2/2009
Review By: tdluxon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of fun holes, including some that really test the player's ability to go deep. The course is in a park which is beautifully maintained, and fairly scenic (for L.A.). Also, the final 9 holes, are referred to as "championship holes," and are all very long (500 ft +, with one hole over 800 ft.), challenging and fun. Also, the course is free to play, and considering how good of a course it is, it is not crowded at all.
Cons: It is mostly an open grassy area, so some of the holes don't have much in the way of obstacles... its kinda like throwing on a empty football field. The only other thing that was a problem (slight) was that the park is not used exclusively for disc golf, so there are sometimes people wandering around the fairways obliviously or sunbathing while you are trying to play. Not a big deal though. Also, the course is pretty flat, so there aren't many shots with elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play in the LA area. Also, it is close to the 5, so if you are driving through LA, it is a nice place to stop off. If you are playing for the 1st time, stop by the Park Headquarters, and they will give you a map to the course which will help you find your way around.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 my favorite cali course

5+    8/15/1990   1/30/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.1 Years
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located in a city park, La Mirada is exquisitely cared for. How often do you hear complaints of the grass being overwatered? The palm trees and finely cut grass give a distinctly country club feel in a public park. The pro shop is in the heart of the two courses and is surrounded by tennis courts. There's a lake which comes into play in a couple configurations. And the rolling hills make for some sweet use of elevation. Not severe, but enough to create a good challenge.
Cons: Being in a public park, there is ample opportunity for conflicts with walkers, bikers, picnicers, sunbathers, you name it. It's about the only thing that keeps La Mirada from being rated a 5 - is that it's not exclusive to DG. But if it was, it probably wouldn't enjoy the servicing that it does now.
Other Thoughts: It's been a long time since I played this course, but it left quite an impression. Last time I was there, there were 27 holes available to play, Dan Mangone still ran the pro shop, and Scott Stokely was chunking an Aviar w/ a 71 mold stamp on it.
It's a plus to hear that new signs have been installed and also nine more holes. If you are passing through LA and fail to play La Ma - you have made a mistake.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 First Course I Played Married

1    10/21/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 144  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.3 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is what disc courses should strive to be! The pro shop had everything disc related (I picked up a nice avenger ESP as I was only traveling with a mid-range and putter, and it was only 15 bucks). Tee pads on every hole, although some were incorporated into sidewalks. I got to talking to the shop pro and he told me they just dropped 2500 bucks into new signs for all 36 holes, and I believe it, the signs are great. We only got to play the Lakeside course, but my new wife and I loved the length and the scenery, playing around the lake with all the ducks and stuff, I was expecting more duck poo, but didn't have any issues with the stuff. The baskets were super nice too, although they were often mis-labeled. Great elevation, not too severe, but still it was there, made for a nice walk through a nice park. I really liked how they used the trees to guard baskets, nothing was just a wide open straight shot, there was thought put into every single hole on the front side...oh yeah, maps at the pro shop are very helpful, very, very helpful...and there is a full array of ammenities at the pro shop/restrooms/club house.
Cons: 2 cons:
-Lots of the baskets were labeled with different numbers than they actually were...not a big deal if you got a map.
- the course is over-watered, not that big of a deal, the course pro guy said, "Even though we're in a drought the parks department insists on overwatering this place!"...this isn't a big deal to me, but the wife thought it was a little messy
Other Thoughts: We're from NC, got married in LA on Saturday and I was able to talk her into playing this course on Tuesday. My arguement, we're 3000 miles from home, when am I gonna get another chance?...now I wish I could have talked her into playing the full 36!!!...I only hope I can get back out there to play the back side! GREAT COURSE...I used to think DeLaVeaga was the best Cali course, but this one is right there giving it a run for it's money!

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 My Home course

3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: Takeichi
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long grassy fairways, many different shots to make. a must for socal trips. huge proshop for your disc needs. it currently has 2 18 hole courses in stalled; the lakeside and the backside.

The lakeside course is a longer and slightly less technical course around the lake side of the park, holes 6, 7, 9, 10, 12-16 are the highlights of the park mainly these are the deal breakers of the casual score or round

The backside course is a mixed course of distance and technical shots. shooting the par is easier than the lakeside due to the 2 4 pars making the course par a 56. it's mildly wooded course with the infamous hole 4 as reviewed in the DGM. my favorite holes in the back 2, 4, 6, 11, 13, 14, 18,
Cons: lots of people on the weekends. mainly by the ridge of the lakeside hole 1, anywhere in the shade on 10, the ridge by 16, by the lake on 12 and 13
Other Thoughts: 5/12/2008 Golden state layout will be coming in a few weeks i'm guessing and i'll write a review of the super course 18 when it gets installed.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 You Could Play This Course Barefooted!

8/21/2005   3/13/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's set in a beautiful park with a pond, some nice little hills and a lush, green carpet of grass to walk on. There's a little store there to buy discs and other non-essentials. The orginal 18 holes play through the lovely picnic areas of the park. Rollers will help your score on this course. Out of bounds are usually the borders of the park. Sometimes you teeing off from the sidewalk, that can get a little confusing.
Cons: This park can get crowded. People will park themselves with a blanket right in the middle of a fairway. We lost a disc down near the big pond when a group of non-players pleaded insanity as to the whereabouts of our disc, even though it must have just missed them. I'm sure they snatched it after we left. Never trust a non-golfer! Also the course is not exactly easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: Okay, it has a couple of flaws but it's so beautiful and fun to play. Get up early and play before the crowds move in. It's an American classic and should be sipped not gulped. There's also another nine holes located in another section of the park. We ran out of time and were unable to play it. I understand it's much longer than the first 18 with some par 4's and 5's. Next time!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Best in So Cal

3/1/2008   3/2/2008
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, especially during the week when the pedestrian traffic is not so high. The regular 27 hole layout requires a wide variety of tee shots. Lots of deuces, but you have to earn them. The 18 hole layout is spectacular and puts a premium on long, well placed drives and smart decision making. La Ma is definitely for long throwers! Pro shop with discs and snacks.
Cons: A public park with occasional heavy pedestrian traffic. Some of the tee pads need to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: I live 90 miles from the course and consider the drive well worth it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.