La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #8 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Awesome

5+    3/4/2013   3/6/2013
Review By: hk chef
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful park that is well groomed. 2 awesome 18 hole courses. When so cal is windy this place is usually pretty calm. That's a HUGE plus. Lot of nice and helpful people for some of us novice players.
Cons: Quite a few holes in the ground out there. Just pay attention to where your walking and you should be fine. I've seen people take a spill though.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love this course. I play here 2 to 4 times a week. The front is usually crowded but the back is always open. I've read many complaints about the mud. It's really not that bad. The only mud issue I can think of would be hole 5 on the back 18. The basket is on a little slope and it can get slick when wet. It is very nice living 10 minutes away from here :-)

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Awesome !

5+    3/5/2010   3/5/2013
Review By: DonnyO
Played: 1065  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 40.6 Years
2 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Best course in SoCal with 36 holes or the Championship 18 ! Nice Grass through the whole course. Wish there was more tournaments here ! Top rated course with many pin positions !
Cons: Some Mud but getting better with course improvements !
Other Thoughts: Scenic !

2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 My FAVORITE To Date!

5+    1/1/2009   11/6/2012
Review By: joshualicari
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2012
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This spot will challenge you in every way and make you a better player. 36 holes of true grit.
Cons: Very easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: This is where I learned the game back in the day (2003ish so not that far back). It is hands down one of the finest courses in SoCal.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Miracle at La Mirada

1    11/30/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing layout on a perfectly groomed and designed Regional Park. In fact, this is the best neighborhood park course I've ever played, including the one in Auburn, CA. I loved the elevation features on practically every hole. There is a great mix of hyser & anhyser drives, with even a few overhand options. Fair amount of mature trees that surely add to the shape and difficulty of each hole. The course absolutely maximizes and optimizes the space available. This is an amazing multipurpose park, even without the DGCs!
Cons: The only thing I could even possibly gripe about was the evidence of obvious litter on some teeboxes and around the baskets, especially since there are ample trash cans available.
Other Thoughts: These are the highest grades I've ever given to a course. I honestly couldn't find anything I disliked about it, along with many things I really liked. It's difficult to believe that this course is actually 35 years old. The only evidence was the large number of birds didn't even flinch when I went near them. Please see my Back 18 review for comparison to Front 18. I hooked a sidearm onto the street from teebox #7, which ended up clanking the underside of an X3 (sorry again, lady!)
==================
Uniqueness: A (absolute best example of suburban DG)
Difficulty: A (awesome elevation changes; perfect amount of trees)
Fun Factor: A+ (every hole felt challenging, rewarding & super fun)
Aesthetics: A+ (manicured grass & trees; nice lake in the middle; great teepads, signs & baskets)
---------------------
Overall: A+

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/25/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: flash86
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely the best place to play in Southern California. The grass playing surface, lake, scattered trees, rolling hills and scenery in general set a great backdrop for some truly challenging holes. Hole placements change occasionally to give variety. There are two 18-hole courses - the Lakeside course and the Backside course. The 36 total holes can be combined to make an awesome 18-hole Championship course. The pro shop is well stocked and the course pro, Mike Williams, is very knowledgeable.
Cons: The course is very long. If you don't have a big arm, then you could be playing catch up to others who do. Be careful about friends who get tired quick. They might be limited to just one round out there. Some holes can get blocked up by non-disc golfers who are oblivious to letting you play through or refuse to get out of the way.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

7/7/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: joegraham
Played: 84  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 30.1 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Long, beautifully manicured, toughest course in SoCal. Great variety. Rollers are a must. Intense challenge for anyone. Great original layout of 27, now a beast of a course set at 18 for tournaments. Completely stocked pro shop.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: The Grandaddy of courses.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.