La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Regular Tee



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
La Mirada

2-4    12/31/2012   1/4/2013
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This is one of the classic disc golf courses, and it's exciting to play for that fact alone.
-Friendly locals, and the course flows nicely. There will always be people playing here, and it helps that the people that play here the most are nice and welcoming.
-Beautiful city park with pleny of picnic tables and other activities for before or after your round.
-Fantastic elevation changes. You'll have a few flat holes, but the rolling hills on the fairways make you change your game up a bit.
-Fairly open course, but there's a good use of trees on most holes that mix things up and make you get tricky with your throws. Bonus: there are a good mix of trees, from palms to broad leaves to evergreens.
-Easy to read tee signs on every hole, and multiple basket positions on every hole.
-Nice pro shop on site that has a great deal: bring in your used plastic and they'll give you half of what they'll sell the discs for in store credit. That makes for a good way to trade what you have easily while at a good course.
Cons: -All the holes are pretty much the same length. For my taste, I think a great disc golf course is a course that has the most variety of holes possible, especially when it come to length. I would have liked to see a 700-800 footer or two mixed in, but for the most part, the holes hover between 250-350 feet, making this essentially a midrange/putter course.
-The grass is always soggy. I don't know if it's an irrigation issue or simply that grass shouldn't be grown in Southern California, but every time I've come here I've gotten mud on my shoes no matter how careful I am to avoid mud pits.
-There are multiple pin positions, but the tee signs don't mark which pin location is being used at a given time. This gets tricky on holes with blind spots.
-Some holes use the park's sidewalks as tee pads. It's not a big deal, but...
-A lot of people use this park that aren't disc golfers. Kids on bikes, couples on picnics, and people fishing in the pond are all obstacles at La Mirada.
-There are times when the course layout makes things tight and potentially dangerous, like at holes 14 and 15 where the fairways face each other. If you here "fore", pay attention.
Other Thoughts: You have to play here if you're in Southern California. This is one of the SoCal big 3, along with Morley Field in San Diego and the course at Huntington Beach. I'll play here every time I'm in town, but I think it's safe to say that the reputation La Mirada has built up over the years began before course designers got creative with their courses. Compared to other Championship-caliber courses out there like Idlewild in Kentucky and Water Works in Kansas City, La Mirada is pretty tame. But, a pilgrimage here isn't a waste of time. Happy discing!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rolling hills like the Shire

1    1/2/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Super cool locals (Thanks Patrick, both Johnny's, Greg, Andre) for showing us around
-Spacious
-Great tee signs
-Multiple basket positions
-Great concrete teepads (some on sidewalks)
-Beautiful scenery; tons of rolling hills, a pond in the middle, awesome trees, beautifully manicured especially for disc golf
-Lots of cool elevation changes with both uphill and downhill throws
-Interesting use of trees, tree lines, and mandos (trees, concrete gutters, light poles)
-Very little to no waiting when I went
-Local rules (tournament play, Golden state) more on this below
Cons: -Awesome tee pad signs with multiple basket position, but the basket being used isn't marked
-Some spots can get waterlogged and muddy, but very minor complaint
-Its a public park, so sometimes people are walking on the fairways (another minor complaint)
Other Thoughts: First impression is that this place is HUGE. You will never feel that you didn't get to air out your disc here. On top of that, elevation here adds to the lengths of the holes. Local rules are basically playing rivers vs lakes (some holes have concrete gutters running through them, so you can play either left or right of the gutter is a lake (ie OB) or you can just play rivers which is sidewalk and the gutter itself is OB). Golden state sounds awesome...basically playing from one teepad to the next next teepad's basket, which makes for monstrous par 4 and 5 holes.
I liked the front 18 and back 18 equally and if ranked with both combined, I'd give this place a 4.5. I believe a must play if you're in SoCal.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My FAVORITE To Date!

5+    1/1/2009   11/6/2012
Review By: joshualicari
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2012
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This spot will challenge you in every way and make you a better player. 36 holes of true grit.
Cons: Very easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: This is where I learned the game back in the day (2003ish so not that far back). It is hands down one of the finest courses in SoCal.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Southern Cal.

1    3/8/2011   7/31/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great weather in Sotuth Cal. Manicured park that uses everything to make it an experience. Not long but with some tight windows. Enjoyable.
Cons: Lots of others in the park just walking around. You have to be careful and watch. Nice and clean.
Other Thoughts: Classy course ... it's La Mirada!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Home course

5+    7/27/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Scenery
Well Manicured Grass
Very nice locals
Nice surrounding area
Relatively easy to follow
Good use of elevation
Good mix of short and long holes
Pin Placements Change first Friday of every month.
NEW TEEPADS!!!!!
Cons: On a public park where many people dont know there is a disc golf course in there.
Despite us adding trashcans around people still litter
Occasional 'Chuckers' that dont follow rules and dont know how to yell fore
Some dangerous blind holes or holes in semi-crowded areas.
Other Thoughts: Despite this being my home course and I love it very much there is much that i wish we could change. We are in the process of re-doing a bunch of teepads since some of the old ones are quite dangerous. The proshop has also been updated and there is more discs and me and my dad are knowledgable about many question you might have.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best course in LA/Orange counties

5+    6/26/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Between the trees, lake, and well-manicured grass, the course has a great feel to it. Very peaceful. There are some short holes that are nice for birdies (#1, 3, 6), but that have trees that don't make it too easy. And then there are some looong holes (#12, #16) that keep you coming back out of frustration.

My favorite holes are #2, which has double hills to navigate over and double trees to pass through, and #4 (when the pin is located in the middle of three tight trees). I am constantly frustrated by #10, 12, 13, and 16, but their challenge keeps me coming back.

In my opinion, this course (more so than any other in the area) is the easiest to play through. I play solo a lot and the locals are really cool about letting me play through. It's also really easy to skip around on #3 through #9 if you were to get behind some people that weren't letting you play through.

Also, for the parents out there, this course makes it very easy to push a stroller on, if you are lucky enough to have an infant that will sleep through a round.

The pro shop is a combo tennis/disc golf shop, and it's cool that the disc golf doesn't take a backseat. They are very helpful. Another plus to the course is having the back 18 right next door.
Cons: Pin placement isn't rotated enough for those of us that play multiple times each month.
Gets a little hot in the summer.
Permanently marshy on #13 and #14.
Lots of pedestrians/students walking/playing/picnicing unless you play during work/school hours.
Other Thoughts: #13 has double mandatories that give you a window of about 15 feet to shoot between. Normally, this would be a fun challenge. However, to add to the challenge, the hole has 30-40 feet of elevation drop with very low-hanging trees, so your driving window is crazy small. Also, the mandos occur about 60 feet from the tee box, further complicating things. I have lost four discs on #13, all of which came after I made it through the mandos, but hit one of the many low-hanging branches, causing the discs to roll all the way to the bottom of the hill (picking up speed along the way) before jumping into the lake. Not cool.

However, I have learned that this occurs so frequently that there are *two* guys that come daily with nets to scoop out any discs that fall in. They will call your number if it's written on the back and offer to sell it back to you for $5.

UPDATE: All in all, this is a very fun course to play. I just got back from playing 6 courses in Seattle/Whistler and this is nowhere near as challenging as them--because there is essentially no rough on this course, so I'm changing my rating from a 4.5 to a 4. Still, the course designers made it about as tough as it could be made.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/30/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is laid out on a very nice multi-use park. There is a small shop near the first tee where you can stock up on drinks or browse a limited selection of discs.

As a multi-use park, the course grounds are very well kept. The grass is mowed and the park is very clean.

By not playing directly over the pond or too close to the playground, the course avoids the heaviest traffic areas.

There is some nice use of elevation to add a bit of intrigue.
Cons: The layout is very wide open. Trees help a bit to force certain lines, but it's hard to get in any real trouble. Bad tee shots don't get punished particularly badly.

Although the course avoids the heaviest traffic areas, there is still a lot of pedestrian activity throughout the park that can disrupt play, or be in harms way on errant throws.

Being on a busy suburban park leaves the course very exposed. So you don't get the same "at peace" feel that you might find at other more secluded courses.

With no next tee signs and multiple tees visible from many pins, navigation can be a little tricky.
Other Thoughts: There's nothing particularly memorable to take away from this course. Being well maintained and clean makes it a nice place for a casual round. But there's no wow factor or real signature feel to set it apart from other similar style courses.

I certainly enjoyed playing here, but one time was enough for me.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 family outing

1    12/20/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: freakinwizzz
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice tee signs on a great layout of perfectly cut grass. challenging but also fun for all skill levels. my cousin played there and he doesn't even own a disc. lots of open holes and trees to throw through on a few holes. very fun overall don't miss out if your in the OC area.
Cons: not really any. only con i can think of is there was a little bit of trash an oddly dead birds in a few places. only got confused on once hole we threw to the wrong basket
Other Thoughts: i hope i can go back again soon!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Miracle at La Mirada

1    11/30/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing layout on a perfectly groomed and designed Regional Park. In fact, this is the best neighborhood park course I've ever played, including the one in Auburn, CA. I loved the elevation features on practically every hole. There is a great mix of hyser & anhyser drives, with even a few overhand options. Fair amount of mature trees that surely add to the shape and difficulty of each hole. The course absolutely maximizes and optimizes the space available. This is an amazing multipurpose park, even without the DGCs!
Cons: The only thing I could even possibly gripe about was the evidence of obvious litter on some teeboxes and around the baskets, especially since there are ample trash cans available.
Other Thoughts: These are the highest grades I've ever given to a course. I honestly couldn't find anything I disliked about it, along with many things I really liked. It's difficult to believe that this course is actually 35 years old. The only evidence was the large number of birds didn't even flinch when I went near them. Please see my Back 18 review for comparison to Front 18. I hooked a sidearm onto the street from teebox #7, which ended up clanking the underside of an X3 (sorry again, lady!)
==================
Uniqueness: A (absolute best example of suburban DG)
Difficulty: A (awesome elevation changes; perfect amount of trees)
Fun Factor: A+ (every hole felt challenging, rewarding & super fun)
Aesthetics: A+ (manicured grass & trees; nice lake in the middle; great teepads, signs & baskets)
---------------------
Overall: A+

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Overall good golf

1    7/10/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this was a truly nice experience. Good tee signs, Lovely clean park. Friendly locals. Good tee pads (or a path to throw from). Big park with other things to do but no issues with overlap from other park users. Played 9 alone and then hooked up w a pair of guys for the second nine. Nice folk.
Cons: I will pop back to this review if I can ever come up with one. Just a minor thing but fairways kind of overlap on 14 and 15. pair of 6 ppl parties on the course in front of us but happily encouraged us to play through.
Other Thoughts: Elevation of some kind on every hole, how common is that? Good mix of hole length... No crazy 800 footers (a waste when I see them) and no 150' footers to fill an unused space as we sometimes see. No real big signature hole stands out here, but all holes were worthy of the course. #1 is a nice downhill hyzer. #2 offered a double rolling hill profile that was unique. #3 was slight uphill and good fun. #4 was a annie mando and a basket in a tree area that was a choice to play your 2nd shot. Good stuff here. maybe my fave hole of the course. #5 is uphill to a big tree behind the basket. #6 was blind up and over the hill backed to the street but not an overthrow hazard really. #7no formal tee pad and basically shoots up the path, annie around the trees. #8 requires a low shot under the tree overhang. #9 is a beauty downhill sweeper. Really nice to float a disc all the way! #10 is a tough up hill bit not as uphill as 11 which is blind and up and over for a monster upshot. #12 is Looooooong, downhill and blind. Longer than you think it is. #13 is the double tree mando and once you are through the trees (easy to say that) t is a downhill slope to the basket. #14 is up to the basket on the slopw. Watch for a missed putt to roll way off (same for 16). #15 crosses 14 a bit but was not a big issue to basket below. 16 is a longer hole with the basket on the side slope. #17 shoots for the path to the basket. closest hole t any water risk and not much of a real risk here, really. #18 puts you back to the start, uphill, blind and to the big tree. All a good time and if typical of DG in Southern CA.... I need ot be back soon. Thank you!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.