La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 377ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Regular Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

1    1/30/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 87  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is laid out on a very nice multi-use park. There is a small shop near the first tee where you can stock up on drinks or browse a limited selection of discs.

As a multi-use park, the course grounds are very well kept. The grass is mowed and the park is very clean.

By not playing directly over the pond or too close to the playground, the course avoids the heaviest traffic areas.

There is some nice use of elevation to add a bit of intrigue.
Cons: The layout is very wide open. Trees help a bit to force certain lines, but it's hard to get in any real trouble. Bad tee shots don't get punished particularly badly.

Although the course avoids the heaviest traffic areas, there is still a lot of pedestrian activity throughout the park that can disrupt play, or be in harms way on errant throws.

Being on a busy suburban park leaves the course very exposed. So you don't get the same "at peace" feel that you might find at other more secluded courses.

With no next tee signs and multiple tees visible from many pins, navigation can be a little tricky.
Other Thoughts: There's nothing particularly memorable to take away from this course. Being well maintained and clean makes it a nice place for a casual round. But there's no wow factor or real signature feel to set it apart from other similar style courses.

I certainly enjoyed playing here, but one time was enough for me.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 family outing

1    12/20/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: freakinwizzz
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice tee signs on a great layout of perfectly cut grass. challenging but also fun for all skill levels. my cousin played there and he doesn't even own a disc. lots of open holes and trees to throw through on a few holes. very fun overall don't miss out if your in the OC area.
Cons: not really any. only con i can think of is there was a little bit of trash an oddly dead birds in a few places. only got confused on once hole we threw to the wrong basket
Other Thoughts: i hope i can go back again soon!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Miracle at La Mirada

1    11/30/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing layout on a perfectly groomed and designed Regional Park. In fact, this is the best neighborhood park course I've ever played, including the one in Auburn, CA. I loved the elevation features on practically every hole. There is a great mix of hyser & anhyser drives, with even a few overhand options. Fair amount of mature trees that surely add to the shape and difficulty of each hole. The course absolutely maximizes and optimizes the space available. This is an amazing multipurpose park, even without the DGCs!
Cons: The only thing I could even possibly gripe about was the evidence of obvious litter on some teeboxes and around the baskets, especially since there are ample trash cans available.
Other Thoughts: These are the highest grades I've ever given to a course. I honestly couldn't find anything I disliked about it, along with many things I really liked. It's difficult to believe that this course is actually 35 years old. The only evidence was the large number of birds didn't even flinch when I went near them. Please see my Back 18 review for comparison to Front 18. I hooked a sidearm onto the street from teebox #7, which ended up clanking the underside of an X3 (sorry again, lady!)
==================
Uniqueness: A (absolute best example of suburban DG)
Difficulty: A (awesome elevation changes; perfect amount of trees)
Fun Factor: A+ (every hole felt challenging, rewarding & super fun)
Aesthetics: A+ (manicured grass & trees; nice lake in the middle; great teepads, signs & baskets)
---------------------
Overall: A+

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Overall good golf

1    7/10/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this was a truly nice experience. Good tee signs, Lovely clean park. Friendly locals. Good tee pads (or a path to throw from). Big park with other things to do but no issues with overlap from other park users. Played 9 alone and then hooked up w a pair of guys for the second nine. Nice folk.
Cons: I will pop back to this review if I can ever come up with one. Just a minor thing but fairways kind of overlap on 14 and 15. pair of 6 ppl parties on the course in front of us but happily encouraged us to play through.
Other Thoughts: Elevation of some kind on every hole, how common is that? Good mix of hole length... No crazy 800 footers (a waste when I see them) and no 150' footers to fill an unused space as we sometimes see. No real big signature hole stands out here, but all holes were worthy of the course. #1 is a nice downhill hyzer. #2 offered a double rolling hill profile that was unique. #3 was slight uphill and good fun. #4 was a annie mando and a basket in a tree area that was a choice to play your 2nd shot. Good stuff here. maybe my fave hole of the course. #5 is uphill to a big tree behind the basket. #6 was blind up and over the hill backed to the street but not an overthrow hazard really. #7no formal tee pad and basically shoots up the path, annie around the trees. #8 requires a low shot under the tree overhang. #9 is a beauty downhill sweeper. Really nice to float a disc all the way! #10 is a tough up hill bit not as uphill as 11 which is blind and up and over for a monster upshot. #12 is Looooooong, downhill and blind. Longer than you think it is. #13 is the double tree mando and once you are through the trees (easy to say that) t is a downhill slope to the basket. #14 is up to the basket on the slopw. Watch for a missed putt to roll way off (same for 16). #15 crosses 14 a bit but was not a big issue to basket below. 16 is a longer hole with the basket on the side slope. #17 shoots for the path to the basket. closest hole t any water risk and not much of a real risk here, really. #18 puts you back to the start, uphill, blind and to the big tree. All a good time and if typical of DG in Southern CA.... I need ot be back soon. Thank you!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Evening Round

1    5/13/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course with lots of varienty. Very cool locals and relaxed atmosphere. It's FREE (most of the other courses in the area charge).
Cons: Can be crowded with non-disc folks since it winds around a couple playgrounds and bike paths.
Other Thoughts: I was really surprised. I flew in for the weekend and was in La Mirada to see a show and just showed up to play a quick round. I did not realize what a treat I was in for. The locals that play the course every day were really good about pointing out the trouble spots and keeping me on track. That and a 25 cent map from the pro shop made for a quick round on a great course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I like it

1    4/29/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: arcechris21
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great to play after the back once your arms warmed up.
-Cool and Shady!
-Nice use of the terrain and placement of tees and holes.
Cons: -Too close to the street.
-Water hazard by hole 13(friend lost his putter because of head wind).
-Way too many families there (can't blame them nice place for a family BBQ).
-Waiting way to much.
Other Thoughts: I like the course a lot because of the course. However the amount of people there on a Friday around 1pm is kinda annoying always yelling "FORE" every time you throw as compared to the back. All in all i still want to go back to play but more for the back.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best!!!

5+    11/26/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: DookieHyzer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course that offers many challenges. There are several choices to be made in approach angles to each hole. Holes range from short to long, uphill to downhill, and open field to blind placements.Trees are both new growth placements and old well established trees with wide overhangs; really well done.
Cons: This course was real challenge on my younger kids that don't have the length on their drives yet.
Other Thoughts: I am so fortunate to live within a couple of miles of one of Californias premiere courses.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: puckdevil8
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is immaculate. It's such a nice and peaceful place to play with your friends or by yourself. Some of the pin placements make you say...what was the guy thinking, but overall...this is the best course I've played this year.
Cons: On the weekends, it's so crazy crowded...I get worried about hitting one of the people there and ruining their day. Then I see a beautiful girl walk by and nail my driver and all is better.
Other Thoughts: Some of the pins don't play to the distance they are listed on the placards. Overall though, a wonderful disc golfing experience. This place has made my new love of the game even that much better.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 La Mirada Front

1    8/26/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 215  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2010
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - La Mirada's Front 18 plays over rolling grassy hills dotted with large mature trees. Pines, various deciduous species, and palm trees constitute the main obstacles. Elevation also provides some challenging situations. Sapphire blue water comes into play on a couple of holes, punishing errant shots. Immaculately groomed and maintained.
- Mandatories galore force certain tunnel shots or eliminate the ability to simply take a massive hyzer route around all the obstacles. Mandos are well-marked, usually with large red arrows taped to tree trunks.
- Good mix of longer bomb 'em style holes and shorter, accuracy-needed ones.
- Decent signage shows all possible pin positions but not the current location.
- Disc shop on site. Bathrooms, trashcans, etc. located throughout.
Cons: - Inconsistent tees, although not as bad as the back 18's. Concrete stubs at the front of some pads provide awkward protection against foot-faults, at the risk of tripping. Some tees are not level in the least. As with the back 18, slick sidewalks are recruited as tee pads in several places; however, the front 18's tees are generally in better shape and easier to deal with.
- Plays close to roadways and parking lots.
Other Thoughts: - La Mirada has a very suburban feel. It is impossible to play a round without bumping into other park goers, although it doesn't create any real problems.
- Make sure you hit all of the many mandatories. This course punishes errant drives.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

1    7/11/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: EricArii
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is by far the nicest course I've played yet. The park has great signage with fun holes that are challenging yet playable. The grass and landscape is very well maintained, and the course is free to play.
Cons: Many visiting the park aren't there for the disc golf, and can get in the way. You have to be careful with bystanders.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.