La Mirada, CA
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Regular Tee



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One of the Best!!!

5+    11/26/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: DookieHyzer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course that offers many challenges. There are several choices to be made in approach angles to each hole. Holes range from short to long, uphill to downhill, and open field to blind placements.Trees are both new growth placements and old well established trees with wide overhangs; really well done.
Cons: This course was real challenge on my younger kids that don't have the length on their drives yet.
Other Thoughts: I am so fortunate to live within a couple of miles of one of Californias premiere courses.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: puckdevil8
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is immaculate. It's such a nice and peaceful place to play with your friends or by yourself. Some of the pin placements make you say...what was the guy thinking, but overall...this is the best course I've played this year.
Cons: On the weekends, it's so crazy crowded...I get worried about hitting one of the people there and ruining their day. Then I see a beautiful girl walk by and nail my driver and all is better.
Other Thoughts: Some of the pins don't play to the distance they are listed on the placards. Overall though, a wonderful disc golfing experience. This place has made my new love of the game even that much better.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 La Mirada Front

1    8/26/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2010
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - La Mirada's Front 18 plays over rolling grassy hills dotted with large mature trees. Pines, various deciduous species, and palm trees constitute the main obstacles. Elevation also provides some challenging situations. Sapphire blue water comes into play on a couple of holes, punishing errant shots. Immaculately groomed and maintained.
- Mandatories galore force certain tunnel shots or eliminate the ability to simply take a massive hyzer route around all the obstacles. Mandos are well-marked, usually with large red arrows taped to tree trunks.
- Good mix of longer bomb 'em style holes and shorter, accuracy-needed ones.
- Decent signage shows all possible pin positions but not the current location.
- Disc shop on site. Bathrooms, trashcans, etc. located throughout.
Cons: - Inconsistent tees, although not as bad as the back 18's. Concrete stubs at the front of some pads provide awkward protection against foot-faults, at the risk of tripping. Some tees are not level in the least. As with the back 18, slick sidewalks are recruited as tee pads in several places; however, the front 18's tees are generally in better shape and easier to deal with.
- Plays close to roadways and parking lots.
Other Thoughts: - La Mirada has a very suburban feel. It is impossible to play a round without bumping into other park goers, although it doesn't create any real problems.
- Make sure you hit all of the many mandatories. This course punishes errant drives.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

1    7/11/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: EricArii
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is by far the nicest course I've played yet. The park has great signage with fun holes that are challenging yet playable. The grass and landscape is very well maintained, and the course is free to play.
Cons: Many visiting the park aren't there for the disc golf, and can get in the way. You have to be careful with bystanders.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Classic old-school style course

1    5/11/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Beautiful park setting with lush green grass and scenic trees. Boatloads of elevation in play on this course along with a variety of lefty vs. righty holes. Big concrete tee pads. Up to six pin positions on some holes which are actually routinely rotated by the local club provide a constantly changing course. Fantastic tee signs with tape indicating the current pin position. Awesome locals: I was playing solo and every group I came up to let me play through without me even asking. Restrooms, drinking fountain, and a minimalistic pro-shop on site. Practice basket by the pro-shop.
Cons:
Sadly, almost all of the holes I laser measured were pretty far off of the posted distances. I'm not sure if that's because pin sleeves have been moved through the years and signs not updated, but it was disappointing for such a storied course. When I played at least one (#10) basket was in a pin position for another hole (#11A)... really guys? With six positions on a hole you still have to go put a basket somewhere else?? That doesn't help first timers trying to figure out the course. Beware non-disc golfers relaxing in the park close to some fairways.
Other Thoughts:
I was thinking that the water would come into play but it never really does; that's probably a good thing considering the number of non-disc golfers hanging out around the lake.

I'm not sure if this is a pro or a con, so it's going into "other": this course didn't seem hard enough. What I mean is I carded a lot of 3's. If you had a bad tee shot you could almost always make up the difference on the upshot. The only 4's I took were because of my poor putting. Seems like the challenge of this course is to make tee shots that put you in birdie putt position. That's complicated for the first timer staring at multiple pin positions and incorrect distances.

I'm assuming there's a tourney/safari layout that is played which causes the Pro players to adore this course so much.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Not as good as advertised

1    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 19.6 Years
9 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Overall the park is nice and the course is fun. The park is well taken care of considering the number of people in the park. The grass was well mowed and there are tee signs on each hole. The layout is fun and you should expect to shoot well under par on this course.

Nice elevation changes
Cons: There are homeless people sleeping on the fairway, near the baskets, on near tee signs.

There are people everywhere. Setting up shop right in the fiarways.

The design is old and not designed for today's long range discs. I played this course with a flash, a leopard, and a putter and shot 6 down w/ a circle 5 and I'm not that good. I would consider this course a pitch and put. Typically for courses this short I like tigher lines, this course is wide open with easy gaps to hit.
Other Thoughts: Reading the reveiws I expected an eipc course. This wouldn't even crack the top 20 courses within 2 hours of my house in San Antonio. I bet the course is more fun during the week when there aren't hundreds of people in the park.

Don't get me wrong, this course is fun and if you are in the area you should definately play it, but it isn't as good as the others who've reviewed here make it out to be.

9 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

2-4    3/29/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: DuXterra
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete pads are nice to throw from.
Great long holes to make you really throw your best.
Well maintained
Friendly people
Plays around a nice pond
Cons: Not well marked anymore where pins will be
Baskets are not marked well confusing players
Lots of people walking around
Pro shop has gone downhill, used to have tons of discs and was run by a great guy but not anymore.
Other Thoughts: Although not as nice as the last time I played 4 years ago the front 18 is still one of my favorite places to play. Its in a great park and has some fantastic holes. Its well maintained but still could be better. I recommend this to anyone who has the chance to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Professional Caliber, Possibly the Best in Socal

5+    2/7/2010   2/20/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Solid concrete pads on almost every hole (some holes tee off from a sidewalk edge
Elevation change on practically every hole. Up down, gradual, drastic, you name it. The park is located among a swath of large rolling hills and the layout makes the most of it
Multiple pin positions that change regularly
Multiple course layouts (18 and "Socal 9" ultra long layout)
Baskets are not brand new but are well maintained
Well mowed and well manicured fairways and trees
DTWorld (Discovering the World) is only 3 miles away and has the best selection of discs around.
FREE to play!
Maps available in the pro shop (at least that's what I heard, I haven't used a map here in 10 years)
Lots of variety in length - holes play 200 foot up to 500 foot.
Great Local scene and most players are very friendly with excellent etiquette.

Cons:
Plenty of people oblivious to disc golf inhabit the park, especially on weekend days. Initially this seems like a "disc golf exclusive area", but the fishermen and picnickers tend to be completely clueless. I have played a several rounds where my disc has been tossed back to me at least twice.
Course is not freeway close or centrally located
Pro Shop is not disc golf knowledgable and has overpriced discs for sale regularly. There was an ownership change in 2008-09 and things have gone downhill since then. It is now focused almost solely on tennis.
Baskets do not have numbers, making some holes confusing, especially for first timers here. Bring a guide your first time if possible.
Some "walkbacks" to next holes interrupt the logical flow. Especially apparent on the 6 to 7 and 7 to 8 transition, as well as the 10 to 11 transition.
Place turns into an oven in the summertime. Expect temps 10 to 15 degrees hotter than the beach.
Sewer system runs shallow in the ground and can cause soggy conditions when it rains. Especially on Hole 16.
Other Thoughts:
La Mirada: the monster L.A. area course that has been home to plenty of professional caliber championships. It is no wonder that so many top pro's have this course listed in their all time favorites. The serious disc golfers truly come out to play at LaMa, and it should be known that this is not a beginner course. You need to bring out the big guns on plenty of holes here, and more often than not you are playing to a basket that is 300+.

The elevation changes among the rolling hills are the feature that sets this course apart from any others. Especially the large hill that houses holes 7 through 13 - it is a monster. Get ready to get plenty of exercise climbing up and down this monster. My personal favorite is the "ascension of the cornice" on Hole # 11, one of the hardest uphill holes known to man. You will truly feel like a glutton for punishment after finishing a round here.

This is probably my favorite Socal course, and it manages to challenge me every time I play it. Although the Back 18 course onsite is also a great course, I prefer the Front 18 and think that more attention is paid to it by both the park maintenance as well as players. It is routinely 3 times more crowded than the back. Some prefer the length and variety of the back , but the hills aren't as big and it is more of a "big arm" layout. There are plenty of make-able birdies on the front, but the back is far more unforgiving.

Signature holes tend to be # 1, # 12, # 13, and # 15. Wait a second, are those all downhill shots? The downhill holes are absolutely epic on this course. The shot "from the gym" on # 15 is one of the most drastic elevation drops I have ever seen on a 300 foot hole. The tee is located on quite a hill. # 13 is ultra tricky lakeside (not listed as a water hazard here but it definitely is). The mando is between 2 palm trees at the top of the hill and is near impossible to navigate for some.

Overall, a great course. It has its flaws but the good points far outweigh the bad points.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 So Cal Classic

5+    2/12/2010   2/12/2010
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2011
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Of all the So Cal courses, this is the best. Here's why.

Site: Central to the LA/OC metro area, nice suburban neighborhood. Major brick-and-mortar DG retail outlet about two miles away.

Park: Clean, green, and groomed. Multiple activities (water park, ball golf course, tennis, handball, baseball, etc) a short walk away.

Course: Fair and open, plays around a lake and (holes 7-12) some serious slopes. Trees provide challenge without the well-known "pinball" effect. Multiple pin placements with baskets changed regularly.

When you're done here, you know you've played a good round but you never feel like the course ate you up and spit you out.
Cons: A few dings to keep it from getting 5 discs:

"Pro shop" mainly serves the tennis players (DTW just down the road though).

Can get crowded on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: There's another 18-hole DG course within walking distance - 2x the fun :-)

If you're coming to So Cal, this is a must play. Lots of friendly locals to show you around - plan on 1 hours for a round.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best!

1    2/12/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 71  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all:
- Variety of distances
- Elevation changes
- Good mix of obstacles and Mando's
- Multiple pin locations
- Well maintained
- Free
- Not overcrowded

This is an awesome course that offers a balance of technical holes as well as a good number of opportunities to air it out. Keep the distance driver handy, there are plenty of 350+ ft holes.

Cons: The course can be a bit confusing if you are visiting for the first time. A BUNCH OF THE BASKETS HAD THE WRONG NUMBER ON THEM!!. If you are playing this course for the first time definitely join in with some locals (who will most likely be happy to help). There are no signs pointing you to the next tee. You also have plenty of opportunities to yell FORE as some fairways tend to overlap, but everyone is pretty chill. And lastly there are some people in the park that are totally oblivious that this is a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutely worth the drive. The course offers a good challenge and a great atmosphere. But as a first timer you will definitely need either a course map, local guide or both.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.