La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Regular Tee



Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 my favorite cali course

5+    8/15/1990   1/30/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 184  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.9 Years
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located in a city park, La Mirada is exquisitely cared for. How often do you hear complaints of the grass being overwatered? The palm trees and finely cut grass give a distinctly country club feel in a public park. The pro shop is in the heart of the two courses and is surrounded by tennis courts. There's a lake which comes into play in a couple configurations. And the rolling hills make for some sweet use of elevation. Not severe, but enough to create a good challenge.
Cons: Being in a public park, there is ample opportunity for conflicts with walkers, bikers, picnicers, sunbathers, you name it. It's about the only thing that keeps La Mirada from being rated a 5 - is that it's not exclusive to DG. But if it was, it probably wouldn't enjoy the servicing that it does now.
Other Thoughts: It's been a long time since I played this course, but it left quite an impression. Last time I was there, there were 27 holes available to play, Dan Mangone still ran the pro shop, and Scott Stokely was chunking an Aviar w/ a 71 mold stamp on it.
It's a plus to hear that new signs have been installed and also nine more holes. If you are passing through LA and fail to play La Ma - you have made a mistake.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 The Place To Be

1    12/2/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 18 at La Mirada is a really fun course to play. It does play very technical in that there are gaps to hit on many holes. There is a good variety in length and shot type. The tee signs are very helpful and have recently been updated. The local club does a good job keeping the course changing on a regular basis and keeping signs in good condition. Most tee pads are still in good condition as well. The park is really well maintained. This 18 plays around a beautiful lake and makes really good use of the land features and trees.
Cons: The pedestrian traffic is very heavy on the first three holes and most of the time players will play the front 18 creating lots of Disc traffic as well. Tee pads are inconsistent as far as size is concerned. There are just a couple of places where finding the next tee might be a challenge, 7 to 8 and 16 to 17.
Other Thoughts: Having made La Mirada my home course for the past several months, it has been a treat getting to know the large and helpful local scene here. There is at least one 1000+ rated player that plays here regularly (SuperDave) and several that are right behind him as well. This is the original course that was put in here at La Mirada and is usually played as is. The pro shop recently changed ownership and the current owners are very much tennis people. They do sell discs but their prices are steep.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.2 Years
1 Helpful / 25 Not
Pros: It's La Mirada,My home town and course.I was THERE when it all began.
Cons: LOL Too many too list
Other Thoughts: Give me a month and it would be the way it should be,T Pads,Signs,etc.
Get it together Willy.This course should be the Cadillac.The Crown Jewel.
tommypitchfordjr@yahoo.com for rates on how to make it right .(Or Complaints)

1 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/25/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: flash86
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.6 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely the best place to play in Southern California. The grass playing surface, lake, scattered trees, rolling hills and scenery in general set a great backdrop for some truly challenging holes. Hole placements change occasionally to give variety. There are two 18-hole courses - the Lakeside course and the Backside course. The 36 total holes can be combined to make an awesome 18-hole Championship course. The pro shop is well stocked and the course pro, Mike Williams, is very knowledgeable.
Cons: The course is very long. If you don't have a big arm, then you could be playing catch up to others who do. Be careful about friends who get tired quick. They might be limited to just one round out there. Some holes can get blocked up by non-disc golfers who are oblivious to letting you play through or refuse to get out of the way.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 First Course I Played Married

1    10/21/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 154  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 20.2 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is what disc courses should strive to be! The pro shop had everything disc related (I picked up a nice avenger ESP as I was only traveling with a mid-range and putter, and it was only 15 bucks). Tee pads on every hole, although some were incorporated into sidewalks. I got to talking to the shop pro and he told me they just dropped 2500 bucks into new signs for all 36 holes, and I believe it, the signs are great. We only got to play the Lakeside course, but my new wife and I loved the length and the scenery, playing around the lake with all the ducks and stuff, I was expecting more duck poo, but didn't have any issues with the stuff. The baskets were super nice too, although they were often mis-labeled. Great elevation, not too severe, but still it was there, made for a nice walk through a nice park. I really liked how they used the trees to guard baskets, nothing was just a wide open straight shot, there was thought put into every single hole on the front side...oh yeah, maps at the pro shop are very helpful, very, very helpful...and there is a full array of ammenities at the pro shop/restrooms/club house.
Cons: 2 cons:
-Lots of the baskets were labeled with different numbers than they actually were...not a big deal if you got a map.
- the course is over-watered, not that big of a deal, the course pro guy said, "Even though we're in a drought the parks department insists on overwatering this place!"...this isn't a big deal to me, but the wife thought it was a little messy
Other Thoughts: We're from NC, got married in LA on Saturday and I was able to talk her into playing this course on Tuesday. My arguement, we're 3000 miles from home, when am I gonna get another chance?...now I wish I could have talked her into playing the full 36!!!...I only hope I can get back out there to play the back side! GREAT COURSE...I used to think DeLaVeaga was the best Cali course, but this one is right there giving it a run for it's money!

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 

7/7/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: joegraham
Played: 97  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 31.2 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Long, beautifully manicured, toughest course in SoCal. Great variety. Rollers are a must. Intense challenge for anyone. Great original layout of 27, now a beast of a course set at 18 for tournaments. Completely stocked pro shop.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: The Grandaddy of courses.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 LaMa's New Back 18 a Must Play!

5/25/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: nexanimal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2008
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This review is only for the "back 18" newer course at La Mirada. For the "front 18," we agree with previously posted comments. That's a great course -- but we love the back 18 more for many reasons:
- it's more wooded, which not only makes it more challenging, but also cooler on a sunny day
- it's harder. The holes are longer overall (6440' vs 6050'), and include several long blind tee shots to the right and left
- 7 and 15 are monster holes at 640' and 540' and 6 is deceptive with the pin in plain view at the end of a wide fairway but 420' away
- favorite holes 3-4-5, which shoot down-up-down the same hill, with 8-9-10 also fun shooting back and forth thru a thicket of trees
- hole 11 is a virtual tunnel: it's located on a grass strip 30' wide between a sidewalk/busy street and a parking lot, with the pin unobstructed straight ahead at 290'. Keeping your disc on the grass here is as difficult as shooting down any narrow tree tunnel, with the added disadvantage that you hook your shot, your disc (or you, chasing it) could be run over by an oncoming car. Straight shots only on 11
Cons: - the course is new, so tee markers are absent and the baskets have random numbering -- a volunteer project is in the works to make new tee signs for both courses. One or two tees are also still dirt, but most are already concrete
- not necessarily a con, but worth mentioning, some of the tees are on the sidewalk. If you play neighborhood pitch n putt courses you're already used to minimalist markings -- in this case, look for taped corners on the sidewalk about where you expect the tee to be. Be sure to get a map at the pro shop (soft copy not currently available to post)
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. The first three holes shoot around a busy area of the park that includes the racquetball courts and kiddie playground, so expect to wait occasionally for the traffic to clear. We played on a busy holiday weekend, and it was a minimal issue. Starting with hole 4, the course plays through an area of the park that is lightly used, and includes a great little canyon with hole 6 in the middle.

This is a long course, and if you shoot much over par you're likely to be tired at the end of the round. If you want to play both 18-hole courses in the same day, allow a generous rest period in between. The pro shop has a great inventory of Innova, Discraft, and special edition discs, and more importantly, ice cream and sodas to enjoy while resting from La Mirada's "back 18."

Play this course as soon and as often as you can

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 My Home course

3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: Takeichi
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long grassy fairways, many different shots to make. a must for socal trips. huge proshop for your disc needs. it currently has 2 18 hole courses in stalled; the lakeside and the backside.

The lakeside course is a longer and slightly less technical course around the lake side of the park, holes 6, 7, 9, 10, 12-16 are the highlights of the park mainly these are the deal breakers of the casual score or round

The backside course is a mixed course of distance and technical shots. shooting the par is easier than the lakeside due to the 2 4 pars making the course par a 56. it's mildly wooded course with the infamous hole 4 as reviewed in the DGM. my favorite holes in the back 2, 4, 6, 11, 13, 14, 18,
Cons: lots of people on the weekends. mainly by the ridge of the lakeside hole 1, anywhere in the shade on 10, the ridge by 16, by the lake on 12 and 13
Other Thoughts: 5/12/2008 Golden state layout will be coming in a few weeks i'm guessing and i'll write a review of the super course 18 when it gets installed.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 You Could Play This Course Barefooted!

8/21/2005   3/13/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 730  Reviewed: 681  Exp: 37.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's set in a beautiful park with a pond, some nice little hills and a lush, green carpet of grass to walk on. There's a little store there to buy discs and other non-essentials. The orginal 18 holes play through the lovely picnic areas of the park. Rollers will help your score on this course. Out of bounds are usually the borders of the park. Sometimes you teeing off from the sidewalk, that can get a little confusing.
Cons: This park can get crowded. People will park themselves with a blanket right in the middle of a fairway. We lost a disc down near the big pond when a group of non-players pleaded insanity as to the whereabouts of our disc, even though it must have just missed them. I'm sure they snatched it after we left. Never trust a non-golfer! Also the course is not exactly easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: Okay, it has a couple of flaws but it's so beautiful and fun to play. Get up early and play before the crowds move in. It's an American classic and should be sipped not gulped. There's also another nine holes located in another section of the park. We ran out of time and were unable to play it. I understand it's much longer than the first 18 with some par 4's and 5's. Next time!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Best in So Cal

3/1/2008   3/2/2008
Review By: ddevine
Played: 128  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 36.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, especially during the week when the pedestrian traffic is not so high. The regular 27 hole layout requires a wide variety of tee shots. Lots of deuces, but you have to earn them. The 18 hole layout is spectacular and puts a premium on long, well placed drives and smart decision making. La Ma is definitely for long throwers! Pro shop with discs and snacks.
Cons: A public park with occasional heavy pedestrian traffic. Some of the tee pads need to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: I live 90 miles from the course and consider the drive well worth it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.